Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

 

Understand income-source risks before asset allocation

Key takeaways

  • To master the art of asset allocation, you should understand the risks associated with each income source. Consider your attitude towards risk then establish wealth-management objectives, as this will help you to identify the most suitable asset-allocation tools
  • When constructing an investment portfolio, it's vital to diversify your investments rather than focus on a single equity, bond, or fund

 

Choosing the right sources of income from the wide variety of options available in the market may seem daunting to many investors. To construct an optimal investment portfolio with income exposure, Bruno Lee, Regional Head of Retail Wealth Distribution, Wealth & Asset Management, Asia at Manulife Investment Management believes that investors should first understand the risks associated with each income source then consider their own risk tolerance level and wealth-management objectives.

Diverse sources of income, different types of risks

Understanding the different types of income sources in the market is only the first step towards generating additional cash. Therefore, to identify the suitable investment tools, it is important to consider each source of risk, one by one. 

Bonds: credit risk

The most significant risk associated with corporate bonds is credit risk. This occurs when issuers cannot fulfil the terms of a bond and fail to pay coupons or return the principal on time – commonly known as a bond default. To establish the level of credit risk, investors should understand various factors, such as how the issuer performs under different economic conditions and the size of its business. It's also helpful to know about the issuer's profitability and financial health. The extent of these risk factors is reflected by indicators, such as credit ratings and yields, and could serve as useful reference points when investing in single bonds.

The risks related to bond funds, which invest in a basket of bonds, can be determined by assessing each bond's investment objectives, average credit ratings, and risk indicators. Lee uses investment-grade bond funds as an example, pointing out that while these are considered less risky than high-yield bond funds, they come with a lower yield. Meanwhile, the risk (yield) of emerging-market (i.e., Asian emerging markets) bond funds is higher than bond funds from developed markets, such as Europe and the US.

Preferred securities: a combination of equity and bond risk

Some companies also issue preferred securities, which feature characteristics of both equities and bonds. Therefore, investing in preferred securities bears the risks of these two asset classes simultaneously, which could include the credit and interest-rate risk of bond investments, as well as the volatility risk of equities.

REITs: property-market risk 

Real Estate Investment Trusts (REITs), which have risen to prominence in recent years, invest primarily in real estate that generates a recurring rental income. While real estate assets are generally inflation resistant, and REITs are required by law to distribute the majority of their income as dividends, investors have to bear the risks associated with property markets. These can include changes in property prices (asset-price volatility), interest rate trends, and profitability, which are all affected by geographical location, asset type, occupancy rate, and fluctuations in rental income.

Multi-asset funds: risk depends on asset-class coverage

In the case of multi-asset funds, risk is determined by the various asset classes in a portfolio. Lee points out that besides investing in stocks, bonds, REITs, and preferred securities, some funds also generate income by including options. Holding these funds, therefore, means that investors have to bear the credit risk of options issuers.

Dividend yield is not the sole indicator 

When selecting investment tools to help meet their personal wealth management needs, investors would generally consider factors other than risk, such as dividend levels and past performance. However, Lee notes that while some funds offer an attractive dividend income, this should not be used as the sole indicator of that fund's selection. 

Instead, attention should be paid to total returns, where dividend return is combined with a change in fund prices to provide a more comprehensive picture. "The investment return of some portfolios may not support the payment of high dividends. The dividends of these funds may need to be partially paid out of capital, which immediately reduces their net asset value," observes Lee.

Diversification increases the chances of earning income

Apart from understanding the sources of risk and total return, investors also need to evaluate their own risk profiles and choose investment tools that match their risk tolerance level. When investors plan to construct a portfolio by themselves, Lee highlights that it's vital to remember diversification: "It's important to diversify investments and not focus on a single equity, bond, or fund. An income-focused investment portfolio should consist of at least three-to-five different types of funds or investments."

A very different approach is required when choosing to invest in a multi-asset fund. "These funds invest in a wide range of asset classes and possess the characteristics of risk diversification. They can serve as the core of an income investment portfolio and should account for a proportion larger than that of any single asset class fund, going up to one third or even half," explains Lee.

 

 

Dig deeper to learn before you earn

Besides acting as an additional cash source, income-focused investments help to reinforce effective wealth management. However, there is a wide variety of income sources in the market, so it is necessary to understand their characteristics, income volatility, and risk levels. This should be combined with a consideration of their own personal risk tolerance and wealth-management objectives to filter the most suitable investment tools for asset allocation. For investors interested in income investing, why not spend time finding out more during the holiday.

(Income Series, Part 3 of 3)

Click here to learn more about the importance of income investing.

Click here to discover the income sources available in the market. 

1 For illustrative purpose only. It does not represent the allocation of any portfolios.

  • Will the Fed's approach to interest-rate hikes trigger a U.S. recession?

    Concerns about recession risks are rising amid seemingly persistent inflation and rising interest rates. Find out to what extent these fears are warranted.

    Read more
  • How is the surging US dollar affecting Asian currencies?

    We draw insights from our pan-Asia fixed income and equity teams, who examine the impact of US-dollar strength and what this means for currencies in the region.

    Read more
  • China rolls out measures to support economic growth

    We believe that the latest supportive measures reiterate China’s stance on economic stability and see opportunities in China and Hong Kong equities that could benefit from these policy actions.

    Read more
See all
  • How much do you know about rates?

    Recognise the different terms related to interest rates and understand how much yield global government bonds can offer.

    Read more
  • Four essential keywords related to interest rates

    Central banks in some emerging and Asian markets have started to hike rates, but deposit rates may not necessarily move in tandem. This would gradually erode depositors’ purchasing power in an inflationary environment. To achieve potential returns that beat inflation, deposit-focused investors should base any investment decisions on their risk tolerance levels and wealth management objectives.

    Read more
  • Why demographic change requires a new set of cards

    Many Asian governments are considering incentives to encourage larger families. These evolving policies will be vitally important, as the region looks to sustain a fast-greying population.

    Read more
See all
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

 

了解收益風險來源
掌握資產配置哲學

內容重點

  • 要全面掌握資產配置哲學,須先了解各項收益工具的風險來源,並結合個人風險承受能力及理財目標,篩選出合適自己的工具
  • 建立投資組合時,要注意分散風險,不要押注在單一股票、債券或基金

 

「收益」投資工具五花百門,投資者經常遇到不知從何入手和選擇的難題。宏利投資管理亞洲區財富及資產管理零售業務部主管李錦榮認為,投資者宜先了解各投資工具的風險來源,再結合個人風險承受能力及理財目標,方能把「收益」部份配置到適合的投資組合。

收益出路五花百門    風險來源不盡相同

認識市場上各種收益投資工具,只是邁向取得額外收入為目標的第一步,之後仍需逐一了解箇中的風險來源,判別哪些工具適合自己。

債券:信貸風險

以企業債券為例,投資者承受最大的風險是信貸風險,即發債人未能履行債券條款 (即違約),例如未能如期支付票息或本金。要判別信貸風險的高與低,可留意幾項因素:發債人的行業周期性、業務規模、盈利能力、財務狀況等,有關情況應反映在信貸評級及孳息率等客觀指標上,在投資單一債券時可作為參考。

至於包含一籃子債券資產的債券基金,要評估其風險來源,可參照基金的投資目標、平均信貸評級、基金風險指標等資訊。李錦榮舉例說,達到投資級別的債券基金,其風險較非投資級別的高收益債券基金為低,但前者所提供的孳息率亦會相對較低。另外,新興市場債券基金(例如:亞洲新興市場)的風險(孳息率)則高於成熟市場債券基金,例如歐美、日本債券基金。

優先證券:包含股票及債券風險

部份企業除了發行股票及債券外,更會發行優先證券。優先證券兼備股票及債券的特質,投資者需同時承擔該兩種資產類別的風險,如債券投資的信貸、利率風險,來自股市上落波動等風險。

房地產信託基金:樓市風險

近年流行的房地產投資信託基金,以可產生定期租金收入的房地產項目作為主要投資。雖然在一般情況下,房地產有抗通脹作用,房託基金亦需按法例將大部份收入派息,但投資者仍要承受與樓市相關的風險,包括樓價波動(資產價格波動)、利率走勢、盈利能力等(取決於地理位置、資產種類、出租率、加租幅度)。

多元資產基金:風險視乎組合涵蓋的資產類別

至於多元資產基金,其風險來源則取決於組合涵蓋的資產類別。李錦榮表示,這類基金除了投資於股票、債券、房地產信託基金、優先證券外,有些還會透過買入期權賺取收益,基金持有人因此要承受期權發行機構的信貸風險。

派息率非全面參考指標

除了風險,投資者通常會參考投資工具的派息水平、過往回報表現等資料,從中選取能配合個人理財需要的資產。李錦榮提醒投資者,個別基金雖提供可觀的派息收益,但派息率高低並非唯一參考指標,反而應該着眼於總回報,即結合派息回報及基金價格變動的情況,以作出全面比較。「部份組合的投資收益未必能支持派高息,基金可能要提取部份資本填補,令資產淨值即時減少。」

分散投資 增加獲取收益機會  

了解風險來源及總回報後,投資者還需要進行風險取向的評估,篩選出符合其風險承受能力的投資工具,成為投資組合的「候選名單」。李錦榮特別提醒投資者,假如投資者親自動手「砌餅仔」建立組合,必須緊記分散投資。

「注意分散風險,不要押注在單一股票、債券或基金,以收益為目標的投資組合內最適宜持有至少三至五隻不同類型的基金或投資。」若選擇多元資產基金這類「現成投資組合」的工具,策略上則有所不同。「這類基金投資於多種資產類別,具備分散風險特質,可以作為收益投資組合的核心部份,投資比重可以較單一資產類別的基金多一些,佔組合三分一甚至一半。」李錦榮解釋說。

 

鑽研求「益」

收益投資不僅能提供額外收入,而且具備理財提示的重要作用。然而,收益工具五花八門,投資前須「先求知」,仔細認識各類工具的特性、收益的波動性及風險來源,再結合個人的風險承受能力及理財目標,篩選出合適自己的工具進行資產配置。有興趣的投資者,不妨趁假期花點時間研究一下。


(收益系列‧三之三)

想了解收益投資的重要性,請按此

想知道市場上有哪些收益工具的選擇,請按此

1 僅供說明之用,並不代表任何投資組合的配置。

  • 利率知多少?

    辨識與利率相關的詞彙,了解環球政府債券孳息率之間的差異。

    閱讀更多
  • 四個與「利率」相關的關鍵字 你要知

    部份新興市場及亞洲央行開始加息,但存款利率未必跟升,存戶的購買力在通脹環境下逐漸被蠶食 。存款為主的投資者,可根據風險承受能力及理財目標進行投資,以求取得高於通脹的潛在回報。

    閱讀更多
  • 應對人口結構轉變 打「生育牌」需新思維

    多個亞洲政府正考慮推出措施,鼓勵家庭生育。政策不斷演變,對維持亞洲各地同步急速老化的人口至關重要。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 利率知多少?

    辨識與利率相關的詞彙,了解環球政府債券孳息率之間的差異。

    閱讀更多
  • 四個與「利率」相關的關鍵字 你要知

    部份新興市場及亞洲央行開始加息,但存款利率未必跟升,存戶的購買力在通脹環境下逐漸被蠶食 。存款為主的投資者,可根據風險承受能力及理財目標進行投資,以求取得高於通脹的潛在回報。

    閱讀更多
  • 應對人口結構轉變 打「生育牌」需新思維

    多個亞洲政府正考慮推出措施,鼓勵家庭生育。政策不斷演變,對維持亞洲各地同步急速老化的人口至關重要。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
確認