Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Manulife Financial Planning Manager

Whether you’re getting married in three to five years’ time, or preparing for a comfortable retirement 30 to 40 years later, it makes sense to grow your savings through a sound financial plan over time. This way, you are better-placed to achieve the desired amount over the target timeframe.

While it may be tempting to dabble in equities, or trade in forex with hopes to make an easy return, they are neither effective nor systematic ways to manage your money. This is especially true when investing over a long period or during periods of economic uncertainty.

To be a step closer in achieving your goals, you may need to construct a portfolio that takes into account asset allocation, risk management and capital appreciation.

Generally speaking, portfolios can be classified into three types – growth, balanced and conservative. The difference between the three lies mainly in the proportion of risk assets (e.g. equities) in the portfolio.

Equities are potentially more volatile. Generally, the higher the proportion of equities in the portfolio, the higher the potential gains (or losses). For the sake of simplicity, we shall focus our discussion on equities and bonds.

What are the key types of portfolios?

Growth portfolio: The key objective of this portfolio is to achieve long-term capital appreciation. To maximise potential returns, assets are allocated mainly into equities, usually of a proportion between 60% and 100%. It is suitable for investors who are more aggressive and have a higher risk tolerance.

Balanced portfolio: With a goal of achieving balanced long-term capital appreciation, asset allocation is not concentrated on just equities or a single asset class. Instead, instruments with lower volatility (such as investment grade bond funds with regular income distribution features, exchange-traded funds (ETFs), money market funds and cash deposits) are used to balance the overall volatility of the portfolio. It is therefore suitable for investors who can tolerate a medium level of risk, and are aiming to strike a balance between risks and returns.

Conservative portfolio: The objective of this portfolio is to seek steady growth and control downside risks. With stability as a key focus, this portfolio type holds a smaller proportion of equities, typically not exceeding 20% to 30%, so as to minimise volatility. Conservative portfolios are suitable for investors who are more conservative and cannot tolerate large investment losses.

Asset ratios in the three aforementioned portfolios are for reference only. These classifications are not standardised; the risk profile of a portfolio depends largely on the largest asset class in the portfolio.

How have these portfolios performed in the past?

An investor’s investment horizon is different at various life stages, ranging from anything between 3-5 years and 30-40 years. It can also span multiple economic cycles. As shown in the table below,  portfolios with a higher proportion of bonds can buffer downside during economic downturns. In other words, it potentially helps investors to better manage downside risks.  

However, when the economy recovers, equities tend to outperform bonds due to better corporate earnings, improved corporate and consumer confidence, as well as higher risk appetite in investment markets. As a result, equity markets attract more capital inflows. In this part of the market cycle, the overall return is higher for portfolios with a greater proportion of equities.

Looking at the performance of the MSCI World Total Return (USD) Index and Bloomberg Barclays Global Aggregate Bond Index (USD hedged), the value of growth portfolios rose more than 160% in the last economic upcycle; balanced portfolios holding equal proportions of equities and bonds rose slightly less (approximately 120%) while conservative portfolios with only 20% of equity holdings gained 83%.

Yet when the economy is not doing well, equities often perform worse than bonds and this in turn drags down the portfolio’s overall performance. Growth portfolios lost nearly 30% in the last economic downturn; balanced portfolios, with 30 percentage points more bond holdings than growth portfolios, fell less (approximately 16%) while conservative portfolios with almost 80% holdings in bonds fell around 2%.

What are the different instruments available for investors?

In order to effectively manage risks and achieve capital appreciation, investors should consider the different instruments available.

To gain exposure into equities, investors can look into single stock or various equity funds. For example, investors can consider global or regional equity funds, sector-specific equity funds, or even ETFs which track equity asset performance.

It is worth noting that while these instruments belong to the same asset class, their risk levels vary. For example, a single stock or single-market equity fund is generally riskier than a global equity fund.

Similarly, there are also many types of bond instruments. They include government bonds, investment-grade bonds, high-yield bonds, preferred securities2 as well as bonds denominated in different currencies, or from different markets, regions and sectors.

Apart from equities and bonds, investors may add on other assets such as foreign currencies, real estate and commodities into their portfolios according to their actual needs, so as to further balance between risk and return.

How should investors start constructing their investment portfolios?

There are two ways to construct a portfolio:

  1. Multi-asset funds: These funds make flexible allocations across different asset classes, adjusting for factors such as investment objectives and market risks. These portfolios are usually made up of dozens of holdings, offering growth, balanced and conservative options, or different options for various retirement objectives, with a range of equity-to-bond ratios for investors to choose from.

    Another type of multi-asset fund is “fund-of-funds”, which invests into other funds. By investing in a basket of funds, it may hold up to hundreds of securities, which further helps to diversify risks.

  2. Self-constructed portfolio: Investors may also choose to construct their own portfolios by buying different asset classes directly through personal investment accounts. The investor handles the entire process, from screening and trading to asset allocation.

Comparing the two options, the first option is managed by professionals. Therefore, it saves investors the hassle of figuring out the right combination of holdings. It also holds a scale advantage and some of the funds offer access to investment tools used by global retail and institutional investors. This option is relatively easier than managing a portfolio on your own.

If you have any questions about portfolio construction, or any specific requirements, please speak with your financial advisor. 

 

  • Refresh your income playlist

    Have you ever listened to songs from your music playlist and thought, “Not again!”?

    Read more
  • Dollar Cost Averaging

    Investors employ various strategies to maximise their chances of getting the best returns.

    Read more
  • Diversification

    There is no free lunch. But Diversification comes close in investing.

    Read more
See all

1  Source: Bloomberg, as of 30 June, 2020. Total returns in USD. Equities are represented by MSCI World Total Return (USD) Index; while bonds are represented by Bloomberg Barclays Global Aggregate Bond Index (USD hedged), assuming monthly rebalancing for each portfolio. The periods of economic cycles were based on the US economic cycle stated by the US National Bureau of Economic Research. Past performance is not indicative of future performance. The information above is for reference only. Investors cannot invest directly in an index.

2 Preferred securities are fixed-income instruments with equity-like features.

 

This material was prepared solely for informational purposes and does not constitute a recommendation, professional advice, an offer, solicitation or an invitation by or on behalf of Manulife Investment Management to any person to buy or sell any security. This material should not be viewed as a current or past recommendation or a solicitation of an offer to buy or sell any investment products or to adopt any investment strategy. Nothing in this material constitutes investment, legal, accounting or tax advice, or a representation that any investment or strategy is suitable or appropriate to your individual circumstances, or otherwise constitutes a personal recommendation to you. Past performance is not an indication of future results.

  • Refresh your income playlist

    Have you ever listened to songs from your music playlist and thought, “Not again!”?

    read more
  • Dollar Cost Averaging

    Investors employ various strategies to maximise their chances of getting the best returns.

    read more
  • Diversification

    There is no free lunch. But Diversification comes close in investing.

    read more
see all
We welcome your feedback

We'd love to hear what you think of our new website. Please let us know your feedback in our 1 minute survey >>

View more
We welcome your feedback

We'd love to hear what you think of our new website. Please let us know your feedback in our 1 minute survey >>

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

 

你有甚麼人生大計?不論你計劃在三至五年後結婚,還是部署三、四十年後退休,共同願望相信是用作理財規劃的資金,能夠隨著時間而增值至預設金額。比較隨心所欲的一群,可能會透過股票投資或買賣外幣的方法,但這樣未必能有效及系統性地管理資金;特別是關乎到投資年期較長、經濟前景正值不明朗之時,你或許更需要建構一個集資產配置、風險管理、資本增值於一身的投資組合,才有望穩步邁進目標。

一般來說,投資組合可大致分為三種:增長型、均衡型及保守型,主要分別在於風險資產(常見例如股票)的投資比例高與低。一般而言,股票的潛在波幅較高,因此當股票比重愈高,投資組合價值出現潛在回報/虧損的機會愈大。為方便解說,我們集中討論股票及債券兩類資產。

投資組合有何主要類型?

增長型投資組合:以長期資本增值為首要目標。為了達到最大潛在回報,資產配置方面會側重股票投資,投資的比例可高達60%至100%,適合投資取向比較進取、風險承受能力較高的投資者。

均衡型投資組合: 以達致均衡的長期資本增長為目標,資產配置不會側重股票或單一資產類別,並透過加入波幅較低的投資工具(例如提供定期收益的投資級別債券基金、交易所買賣基金、貨幣市場基金及現金存款),調節整體組合的波幅,因此適合能夠承受中度風險、希望平衡風險與回報的投資者。

保守型投資組合:以尋求平穩增長及控制市場下跌風險為目標。為了追求「平穩」,這類組合的資產配置會持有較低的股票比重,佔組合比例一般不超過20%-30%,藉此盡量減低組合價值的波動。保守型投資組合適合投資取態相對保守、不能承受較大投資虧損的投資者。

各種資產類別佔上述三種投資組合的比例,僅供說明參考,並沒有劃一的標準,但簡單而言,比例最大的資產類別,決定了投資組合的風險取向。

投資組合在過去表現如何?

各人選擇投資年期,每個階段各有不同,短則三至五年,長則三、四十年,期間每每橫跨多於一個經濟周期。從下表所見,持有較多債券投資的投資組合,於經濟周期回落期間,發揮了緩衝組合價值下跌的功用,換言之,可望協助投資者達到管理風險的目標。

然而,當經濟走出谷底並開始復甦之時,股票表現一般較債券為佳,原因可能包括企業盈利改善、企業和消費者信心改善、投資市場的風險胃納上升等等,導致流入股票市場的資金增加。在此周期中,投資組合中若果有較大比重的股票,整體回報愈高。

以MSCI明晟世界總回報(美元)指數及彭博巴克萊全球綜合債券總回報指數(美元對沖)作為模擬參考,增長型投資組合在對上一個經濟上升周期升逾1.6倍,股債各佔一半的均衡型投資組合升幅較少(1.2倍),股票比重只有20%的保守型投資組合則錄得約83%的回報。

不過,一旦遇上經濟逆轉,股票表現便往往不及債券,反而會拖累投資組合的整體回報。增長型投資組合在對上一個經濟下行周期時,跌幅近三成;至於債券投資比重較增長型組合多30個百分點的均衡型投資組合,跌幅收窄至約16%,債券比重高達八成的保守型投資組合跌約2%。

有哪些投資工具?

要有效分散風險及資本增值,便需要借助多項投資工具。

股票除了指單一股票外,還包括各種股票基金:環球股票基金、市場或地區性股票基金、行業股票基金等,甚至是追蹤股票資產的交易所買賣基金。

要留意的是,即使同屬一種資產類別,風險水平也可能截然不同,例如單一股票及單一市場股票基金,風險一般高於環球股票基金。

債券投資的種類繁多,計有政府債券、投資級別債券、高收益債券、優先證券2外,也有按計價貨幣、市場、地區、行業劃分的債券。

除股票和債券這對孖寶之外,投資者可因應實際需要,加入外幣、房地產、商品等資產,可望進一步平衡風險與回報。

怎樣建構投資組合?

建構投資組合有兩種方法:

  1. 多元資產配置基金:這類基金根據本身的投資目標、市場風險等因素,靈活將資金配置於多種資產類別。投資組合內一般包含最少數十隻持倉,按照不同的股債等資產的比重,提供增長型、均衡型、保守型基金,或按年齡劃分、專為退休目標而設的人生階段基金。

    另一類多元資產配置基金則屬於「基金中的基金」,主要將資產投資在其他基金。透過投資於一籃子的基金,組合內所有基金加起來的持倉可能多達數百隻,可望助進一步分散風險。

  2. 自行建立組合:利用個人投資戶口,直接買入不同資產類別的投資工具,從篩選、買賣以至資產配置,由投資者一手包辦。

兩者比較之下,前者的投資組合由專家代勞,投資者省卻「左砌右砌」的麻煩,而且具有規模優勢,部份更可涉獵全球零售及機構投資者層面的投資工具,相比後者自行管理組合較輕鬆。

如投資者對建構投資組合有疑問,或有特別財務需求,可向理財顧問尋求專業意見。

  • 輕鬆駕馭波動市 善用平均成本法

    面對波動市況,如投資者想減低波幅,參與具長線增長潛力的投資,或可考慮採取全自動的投資策略 ── 平均成本法。

    閱讀更多
  • 可持續投資:剖析ESG的企業管治因素

    企業管治措施釐定一家公司建立持份者價值的方針,包括如何致力緩解風險,以及追求與環境和社會因素相關的機會。

    閱讀更多
  • 甚麼是漂綠

    隨著民眾對氣候變化和社會議題的意識提升,更多投資者希望能夠投資於對社會和環境產生正面影響的基金。因此,可持續投資產品的需求正迅速增長。

    閱讀更多
查看全部

1  資料來源:彭博資訊,截至2020年6月30日,以美元總回報計算。股票以MSCI明晟世界總回報(美元)指數代表,債券以彭博巴克萊全球綜合債券總回報指數(美元對沖)代表。各投資組合每月一次進行重設比重。經濟周期的期間根據美國國家經濟研究局所訂定的美國經濟周期。過往表現並非未來業績的指標。以上資料僅供參考,投資者不能直接投資指數。

2 優先證券是具有股票特點的固定收益工具。

 

本文件的資料僅供參考,並不構成代表宏利投資管理向任何人士提出買賣任何證券的建議、專業意見、要約或邀請。本文件的資料不得視為現時或過去的建議,或游說買賣任何投資產品或採納任何投資策略的要約。本文件所載的所有資料概不構成投資、法律、會計或稅務意見,或任何投資或策略適用於閣下個別情況的聲明,或構成向閣下提出的個人建議。 過往回報並不預示未來業績。

  • 輕鬆駕馭波動市 善用平均成本法

    面對波動市況,如投資者想減低波幅,參與具長線增長潛力的投資,或可考慮採取全自動的投資策略 ── 平均成本法。

    閱讀更多
  • 可持續投資:剖析ESG的企業管治因素

    企業管治措施釐定一家公司建立持份者價值的方針,包括如何致力緩解風險,以及追求與環境和社會因素相關的機會。

    閱讀更多
  • 甚麼是漂綠

    隨著民眾對氣候變化和社會議題的意識提升,更多投資者希望能夠投資於對社會和環境產生正面影響的基金。因此,可持續投資產品的需求正迅速增長。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
確認