Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

Diversification

9 October, 2017

There is no free lunch.

But Diversification comes close in investing.

 

In fact, the idea of diversification­­ as the closest thing  to a “free lunch” for investors has been popularized since the 1950s1 when a diversified portfolio was shown to have the ability to optimize returns with lower volatility in the long run2.

Many studies done over the years have also shown that divergence in the performance of portfolios can be attributed to asset allocation2.

  • 5 benefits of ESG investing

    The demand for ESG investing is surging, as investors in different life stages align their personal values to their financial goals. We list the five benefits of ESG investing.

    Read more
  • Dollar cost averaging: An easier way to navigate volatile markets

    If investors wish to reduce volatility and benefit from long-term growth when the markets move up and down, the passive strategy of dollar cost averaging may be a feasible choice.

    Read more
  • Sustainable investing: unpacking the corporate governance factor in ESG

    Corporate governance practices determine a company’s approach to building stakeholder value, including how it seeks to mitigate risks and pursue opportunities related to the environmental and social factors.

    Read more
See all

DIVERSIFICATION: WHY YOU SHOULD NEVER PUT ALL YOUR EGGS IN ONE BASKET

 

While risk is inherent in investments, it does not mean that we should be taking additional risks blindly just to enhance our investment returns. Every asset class has its own risk and reward characteristics; they perform differently depending on the point of the economic cycle.

By putting different asset classes together in one portfolio, the variability of each asset class will matter less, while the overall portfolio volatility will be reduced.

Such, is the beauty of diversification.

PUT THE RIGHT NUMBER OF EGGS IN DIFFERENT BASKETS 

 

So, does this mean we should put as many asset classes as possible into one portfolio?

Definitely not so; asset allocation is the process of constructing the optimal investment portfolio, with different asset classes and weightage, according to an individual‘s investment objectives and risk tolerance. 

The portfolio should then maximise returns for the individual’s level of risk tolerance. This whole process is akin to allocating an optimal amount of eggs within different combinations of baskets. Simply put, investing in a single asset is typically insufficient to meet investment objectives. But by expanding the investment universe from a single asset to different asset classes and from local to international markets, the risk of over concentration in a single asset is reduced. 


Calendar year returns of different asset classes3

 

P5Rs: THE FIVE STEPS OF ASSET ALLOCATION 

 

Risk: Know your risk tolerance 

Our needs change as we go through different life stages, and it is important to understand and evaluate our unique risk tolerance. In general, young investors usually have more time on their side and can tolerate higher risk, while middle-aged investors face greater financial pressures and can tolerate only moderate risk. Senior investors, on the other hand, lack stable sources of income and should therefore focus on capital preservation.

 

Return: Setting expected income objectives

Before constructing the portfolio, investors should also consider their expected returns as this would largely influence the asset allocation.

 

Right mix: Portfolio construction 

When it comes to constructing a portfolio, investors are essentially making decisions on how to allocate their capital among different asset classes, in a way that maximizes the potential of investment returns, while ensuring that it fits the unique risk profile. Key areas to consider would include: the associated investment risks, what the investment can do for you, what to invest within each asset class, and the right manager for your portfolio.

 

Rebalancing: Disciplined portfolio management 

After a portfolio is established, should investors hold on to it without giving it much thought?

This is one common mistake to avoid; after all, markets are subject to fluctuations, and different asset classes perform differently depending on the market cycle. If left unmonitored, the initial weighting of the asset classes can change over time, resulting in a portfolio that may not be in line with the intended risk profile.

Therefore, portfolios should be rebalanced in a disciplined manner. When asset allocation weightings deviate from the initial asset mix (i.e. too high or too low), adjustments should be made. Better-performing assets may be sold to fund the purchase of underperforming assets at low price points, maintaining the original allocation weightings of the portfolio.

This risk management mechanism of “buying low, selling high” also instills discipline within investors by getting them to stay within their risk tolerance, instead of drifting away from their intended asset allocation. The asset allocation should be examined regularly, be it monthly, quarterly or annually. Deviations from the target allocation should be rebalanced to restore the target weighting.

 

Review: Choose investment products and managers wisely 

It is also important to evaluate your needs or changes in financial goals depending on the current stage in life and adjust asset allocation accordingly. One good practice is to review the past performance of various asset classes in your portfolio to determine whether they have met their investment targets.

What’s more, work with the right investment manager. Choose your manager wisely by evaluating the performance, philosophy and risk control principles. 


1 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences recipient Harry Markowitz popularised the concept of “diversification” and “asset allocation” in 1952. (http://www.nobelprize.org/nobel_prizes/economic-sciences/laureates/1990/press.html)

2 Financial Analysts Journal: “Determinants of Portfolio Performance” (May/June 1991); “Determinants of Portfolio Performance II: An Update” (Jan/Feb 1995); “The Equal Importance of Asset Allocation and Active Management”. March/April 2010.

3 Data source: Bloomberg, Manulife Asset Management, data as of 31 December 2017, total returns in US dollar. US Bonds are represented by Bloomberg Barclays US Aggregate Index. Asian Bonds are represented by 50% JPMorgan Asia Credit Index + 50% HSBC Asian Local Bond Index (2007 to 2012)/Markit iBoxx Asian Local Bond Index (2013 to 2017); Global high yield bonds are represented by Bloomberg Global High Yield Corporate Bond Index. EM Bonds are represented by JPMorgan EMBI Global Core Index. Japan Equities are represented by MSCI Japan Index. US Equities are represented by S&P 500 Index. European Equities are represented by MSCI Europe Index. Greater China Equities are represented by MSCI Golden Dragon Index. Asia Pacific ex-Japan Equities are represented by MSCI Asia Pacific ex-Japan Index. EM Equities are represented by MSCI Emerging Markets Index. Past performance is not indicative of future performance.

  • 5 benefits of ESG investing

    The demand for ESG investing is surging, as investors in different life stages align their personal values to their financial goals. We list the five benefits of ESG investing.

    Read more
  • Dollar cost averaging: An easier way to navigate volatile markets

    If investors wish to reduce volatility and benefit from long-term growth when the markets move up and down, the passive strategy of dollar cost averaging may be a feasible choice.

    Read more
  • Sustainable investing: unpacking the corporate governance factor in ESG

    Corporate governance practices determine a company’s approach to building stakeholder value, including how it seeks to mitigate risks and pursue opportunities related to the environmental and social factors.

    Read more
See all
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

分散投資

9/10/2017 

世上沒有免費午餐。

但「分散投資」 被視為接近 免費的午餐。

 

 自1950年代以來,市場便出現分散投資是接近「免費午餐」 的說法1 。因為研究證實,長遠而言分散的投資組合能夠優化長線回報,同時降低波幅,而資產配置是投資組合 表現分歧的主因之一2 。

  • 輕鬆駕馭波動市 善用平均成本法

    面對波動市況,如投資者想減低波幅,參與具長線增長潛力的投資,或可考慮採取全自動的投資策略 ── 平均成本法。

    閱讀更多
  • 可持續投資:剖析ESG的企業管治因素

    企業管治措施釐定一家公司建立持份者價值的方針,包括如何致力緩解風險,以及追求與環境和社會因素相關的機會。

    閱讀更多
  • 甚麼是漂綠

    隨著民眾對氣候變化和社會議題的意識提升,更多投資者希望能夠投資於對社會和環境產生正面影響的基金。因此,可持續投資產品的需求正迅速增長。

    閱讀更多
查看全部

分散投資:別將所有雞蛋 放入同一籃子 的原因

 

雖然投資涉及風險,但這不代表投資者應只為提升投資回 報,而盲目增加風險。每類資產都有其自身的風險與回報 特點,表現亦會因經濟周期而各異。

將不同資產類別放在同一個投資組合裏,每類資產變動所 帶來的影響就會減少,從而降低整體投資組合的波幅。

這正是分散投資的優點。 

在不同籃子 放入適量雞蛋

 

由此來看,一個投資組合是否包含愈多資產類別便愈好?

當然不是。 資產配置是一個建構最合適投資組合的過程, 因應投資者個別的投資目標和風險承受能力,利用不同資 產類別和比重建構組合,在符合有關風險水平的情況下, 旨在爭取最大回報。整個過程就如同把適當數目的雞蛋, 放進不同的籃子組合。

簡而言之,投資於單一資產通常難以滿足投資目標。然而, 將投資範疇由單一資產擴大到不同資產類別,由本地市場 擴展至國際市場,可以減低過度集中於單一資產所帶來的 風險。


各種資產類別之年度回報3

 

diversification

5Rs: 資產配置 五部曲

 

風險(Risk):認清本身風險承受能力

財務需要會隨著不同的人生階段而改變,因此認清和評估 個人的風險承受程度非常重要。年紀較輕者,通常有較多 的時間承擔較高的風險;中年人的財務壓力較大,只宜承 擔中度風險;長者缺乏固定收入,因此投資理財應以保本 為重。

 

回報(Return):訂立預期收益目標 

投資者在建構投資組合前,先要確立預期回報,因這會大 幅影響資產配置的方式。

 

適當配置(Right mix):建構投資組合

在建構投資組合時,投資者所作的決定,基本上是如何將 資金分配至不同資產類別,從而把潛在回報提升至最高, 同時確保符合其自身的風險水平。 作出決策時需要考慮的因素包括:相關投資風險、投資帶 來的回報、每種資產類別中應投資甚麼,以及為組合選擇 合適的投資經理。

 

再平衡調配(Rebalancing):紀律性組合管理

建立投資組合之後,是否就從此長期持有,毋須理會了? 這是一個投資者經常會犯的錯誤;市場不時波動,各類資 產的表現會因應市場周期而有所不同。假若閒置不管,各 類資產的比重將隨時間變化,有可能使投資組合不再符合 當初設定的風險水平。

因此,投資組合需以有紀律的方式再平衡調配。當資產分 配情況偏離最初配置的比例(即過高或過低時),就應該 進行修正。賣掉表現較好的資產,將套現所得資金趁低吸 納表現較遜色的資產,使投資組合配置回復原先設定的 比例。

這個「低買高賣」的風險管理機制,可以提醒投資者保持 紀律,維持組合風險於他們可承受的範圍之內,而非偏離 最初設定的資產配置。投資者應該定期檢視資產配置,例 如每月、每季或每年一次。一旦發現偏離目標配置,便進 行再平衡調配,調整至原來目標比例。 

 

定期檢討(Review):慎選投資產品和投資經理

根據目前的人生階段去評估個人需要或財務目標變化,從 而調整資產配置比例亦相當重要。其中一個方法是回顧投 資組合內各類資產的表現,是否能達到自己的投資目標。

此外,選擇合適的投資經理至為重要。挑選投資經理時, 投資者應根據其表現、理念和風險管理原則進行評估。 


1 在1952年,諾貝爾經濟學獎得主馬科維茨(Harry Markowitz)提倡「分散投資」及「資產配置」的概念。(http://www.nobelprize.org/nobel_prizes/economic-sciences/laureates/1990/press.html)

2 Financial Analysts Journal: “Determinants of Portfolio Performance”(1991年5月/6月);“Determinants of Portfolio Performance II: An Update”(1995年1月/2月);“The Equal Importance of Asset Allocation and Active Management”。2010年3月/4月。

3 資料來源:彭博資訊、宏利資產管理,數據截至2017年12月31日,按指數(美元計)的總回報計算。美國債券以彭博巴克萊美國綜合債券指數代表;亞洲債券以50% 摩根大通亞洲信貸指數+50% 匯豐亞洲本地 債券指數(2007-2012)/Markit iBoxx 亞洲本地債券指數(2013-2017) 代表;環球高收益債券以彭博全球高收益企業債券指數代表;新興市場債券以摩根大通新興市場債券指數代表;日本股票以MSCI明晟日本指數 代表;美國股票以標準普爾500指數代表;歐洲股票以MSCI明晟歐洲指數代表;大中華股票以MSCI明晟金龍指數代表;亞太(日本除外)股票以MSCI明晟亞太(日本除外)指數代表;新興市場股票以MSCI明晟新 興市場指數代表。過往表現並非日後表現的指標。 

  • 輕鬆駕馭波動市 善用平均成本法

    面對波動市況,如投資者想減低波幅,參與具長線增長潛力的投資,或可考慮採取全自動的投資策略 ── 平均成本法。

    閱讀更多
  • 可持續投資:剖析ESG的企業管治因素

    企業管治措施釐定一家公司建立持份者價值的方針,包括如何致力緩解風險,以及追求與環境和社會因素相關的機會。

    閱讀更多
  • 甚麼是漂綠

    隨著民眾對氣候變化和社會議題的意識提升,更多投資者希望能夠投資於對社會和環境產生正面影響的基金。因此,可持續投資產品的需求正迅速增長。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
確認