Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

 

Income investing: The secret to financial health


Key takeaways

  • Income investments can generate cash flow that may help to ease any financial burdens – this is important for retirees
  • Those still working can achieve potentially greater returns by reinvesting their income payments – a reminder to perform regular portfolio reviews

 

The sudden emergence of COVID-19 has left a major dent in the global economy. To comply with regulatory requirements, some international banks cut or even suspended their dividend payouts last year without warning1.  As a result, many investors who rely on dividends have been left in the lurch. How important is income to investors?

 

Bruno Lee, Regional Head of Retail Wealth Distribution, Wealth & Asset Management, Asia at Manulife Investment Management points out that global central banks have been implementing quantitative easing measures for years. This attempt to stimulate the economy by substantially increasing money supply has prolonged the low-rate environment, which, in turn, makes it harder for investors to generate income (It can take the form of cash dividend, interest, or coupon payments, while it doesn’t come from buying or selling assets).

Income serves as an additional source of cash that allows investors to manage their daily expenses, for example. Something that is especially important for retirees, as they generally have to rely on their savings in the absence of a salary from paid employment. A steady investment income can also help to create an “alternative salary” by reversing the net cash outflow situation, which, in turn, alleviates the financial burden. 

Younger people and those with established careers already have a regular salary, so they are probably more focused on capital gains. That’s why an investment tool that offers income payouts is not necessarily their first choice. 

In fact, the purchase of income-paying assets actually serves two functions: firstly, income can be reinvested to achieve greater potential returns (potential income plus capital gains). Secondly, it serves as a reminder to review one’s portfolio regularly.

Regular portfolio health checks: a reminder

Investors may be unaware that besides acting as an additional cash source, income-focused investments help to reinforce effective wealth management.

Lee believes that it is common for investors to neglect wealth management due to their hectic work schedules or lifestyles. Investing in assets that offer regular dividends can, therefore, provide a cordial reminder when any payouts are made. In Lee’s experience, whenever a distribution is received, the amount is directly deposited into his cash account and he gets a notification with details of that transaction. His account balance continues to rise with each payment. This has the effect of highlighting any idle assets and, consequently, the need to review his portfolio. Lee can then decide whether reinvestment is required – a cycle that allows him to remain a disciplined investor.

Lee reveals more about his strategy: “I hold different types of funds with regular payouts. When, after a few months, the accumulated income reaches a certain level, I would consider how to reinvest the newly gained capital. For instance, I can increase my current holdings or look for investment opportunities in other equity funds during a sell-off.”

In terms of investment allocation, Lee says investors may consider taking a conservative approach for the principal coupled with flexible asset allocation according to the investor’s risk tolerance, lifecycle stage, and wealth-management objectives. As for the additional income, more aggressive investors can select higher-risk tools in the pursuit of better potential returns, as it accounts for only a small proportion of the portfolio’s total value. 

(Income Series, Part 1 of 3) 

Click here to discover the income sources available in the market. 

Click here and learn how to include income tools in your asset allocation.

1 Source: Prudential Regulation Authority (PRA) of Bank of England (BoE), 31 March, 2020; European Central Bank (ECB), 28 July, 2020; Bloomberg, 14 October, 2020. The PRA of BoE requested local banks to suspend cash dividend payouts and share buybacks until 2020 year-end, and the situation will be reviewed in Q4 2020. The ECB requested regional banks to suspend cash dividend payouts and share buybacks until 1 January, 2021. Statistics from Bloomberg show that 28% of Asia Pacific companies have announced dividend suspension or cuts.

  • Will the Fed's approach to interest-rate hikes trigger a U.S. recession?

    Concerns about recession risks are rising amid seemingly persistent inflation and rising interest rates. Find out to what extent these fears are warranted.

    Read more
  • How is the surging US dollar affecting Asian currencies?

    We draw insights from our pan-Asia fixed income and equity teams, who examine the impact of US-dollar strength and what this means for currencies in the region.

    Read more
  • China rolls out measures to support economic growth

    We believe that the latest supportive measures reiterate China’s stance on economic stability and see opportunities in China and Hong Kong equities that could benefit from these policy actions.

    Read more
See all
  • How much do you know about rates?

    Recognise the different terms related to interest rates and understand how much yield global government bonds can offer.

    Read more
  • Four essential keywords related to interest rates

    Central banks in some emerging and Asian markets have started to hike rates, but deposit rates may not necessarily move in tandem. This would gradually erode depositors’ purchasing power in an inflationary environment. To achieve potential returns that beat inflation, deposit-focused investors should base any investment decisions on their risk tolerance levels and wealth management objectives.

    Read more
  • Why demographic change requires a new set of cards

    Many Asian governments are considering incentives to encourage larger families. These evolving policies will be vitally important, as the region looks to sustain a fast-greying population.

    Read more
See all
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

 

錢到用時方恨少?
收益投資要知曉

 

內容重點

  • 收益投資能創造現金流,減輕財政壓力,對退休人士尤其重要
  • 在職人士買入有息派的資產,可將收益再投資,達到「錢搵錢」的效果,同時提醒自己定期審視投資組合

 

2019新型冠狀病毒來襲,嚴重打擊環球經濟。去年有國際性銀行因應監管機構要求,突然宣布減少派息,甚至不派股息1,令一眾「食息一族」大失預算。究竟收益對投資者有多重要?

 

宏利投資管理亞洲區財富及資產管理零售業務部區域主管李錦榮指出,環球央行推行量化寬鬆措施多年,大量增加貨幣供應以刺激經濟,卻同時令低息環境持續,增加了獲取收益(指投資期內獲得的現金股息、利息或票息收入,並不包括透過買賣資產取得的回報)的難度。

事實上,收益為投資者帶來額外收入,應付日常開支。這對退休人士尤其重要,因為他們沒有工作收入,大多靠着儲蓄支撐生活。若他們透過投資獲取較為固定的收益,便能變相為自己創造收入現金流,扭轉「有出無入」的情況,減輕財政壓力。

對於擁有固定收入的年輕人或在職人士來說,或較著重取得資本增值,因此,投資工具是否提供收益分派,可能並非其首要考慮,但買入有息派的資產有兩個作用:一、將收益所得再投資,賺取更多潛在回報(潛在收益+資本增值),達到「錢搵錢」的效果;二、提醒自己定期審視投資組合。

提醒投資者定期審視投資組合

然而,投資者可能未必留意到,以收益為目標的投資不僅能提供額外收入來源,而且具備理財提示的重要作用。

李錦榮表示,投資者經常面對一個很重要的難題,便是因忙於工作而忽略理財。若投資於有定期派息回報的資產,則派息時有如「溫馨提示」。以他的個人經驗來說,每當所投資的工具派息,金額會直接存入其現金帳戶,並同時收到交易通知,交代該次派息詳情。眼見帳戶結餘不斷上升,以及一封又一封的派息通知書,猶如一個定期提示,提醒自己多了閒資,應該重新審視其投資組合,並衡量是否有再投資的需要,這個循環漸漸讓自己養成一個良好的投資紀律。

他進一步分享箇中的秘訣:「我持有不同類型、提供定期派息的基金,數個月後,當派息收益累積到了一個相當的水平,我又會考慮如何利用這筆新進帳的資金再投資,例如增持現有基金,或考慮趁低吸納股票類型的基金。」李錦榮說。

部署方面,李錦榮指投資本金部份可考慮採取較審慎的投資策略,按投資者可承受的風險、人生階段及理財目標,進行靈活的資產配置。至於從派息所得的額外收益,由於金額相對投資組合總值的比例不高,進取的投資者可選擇一些風險較高的投資工具,爭取較佳潛在回報。 

(收益系列‧三之一)

想知道市場上有哪些收益工具的選擇,請按此

想了解在進行資產配置時,如何加入收益的元素,請按此

1 資料來源: 英倫銀行旗下審慎監管局,2020年3月31日;歐洲央行,2020年7月28日;彭博資訊,2020年10月14日。英倫銀行旗下審慎監管局要求當地銀行暫停派發現金股息及回購股份至2020年底,今年第四季再作檢討。歐洲央行則要求區內銀行暫停派發現金股息及回購股份至2021年1月1 日。據彭博資訊的統計,28%亞太公司今年宣布暫停或削減派息。

  • 利率知多少?

    辨識與利率相關的詞彙,了解環球政府債券孳息率之間的差異。

    閱讀更多
  • 四個與「利率」相關的關鍵字 你要知

    部份新興市場及亞洲央行開始加息,但存款利率未必跟升,存戶的購買力在通脹環境下逐漸被蠶食 。存款為主的投資者,可根據風險承受能力及理財目標進行投資,以求取得高於通脹的潛在回報。

    閱讀更多
  • 應對人口結構轉變 打「生育牌」需新思維

    多個亞洲政府正考慮推出措施,鼓勵家庭生育。政策不斷演變,對維持亞洲各地同步急速老化的人口至關重要。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 利率知多少?

    辨識與利率相關的詞彙,了解環球政府債券孳息率之間的差異。

    閱讀更多
  • 四個與「利率」相關的關鍵字 你要知

    部份新興市場及亞洲央行開始加息,但存款利率未必跟升,存戶的購買力在通脹環境下逐漸被蠶食 。存款為主的投資者,可根據風險承受能力及理財目標進行投資,以求取得高於通脹的潛在回報。

    閱讀更多
  • 應對人口結構轉變 打「生育牌」需新思維

    多個亞洲政府正考慮推出措施,鼓勵家庭生育。政策不斷演變,對維持亞洲各地同步急速老化的人口至關重要。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
確認