Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

Important Notes:

  1. Manulife Global Fund – Global Multi-Asset Diversified Income Fund (“Manulife Global Multi-Asset Diversified Income Fund” or the “Fund”) invests in a diversified portfolio of equity, equity-related, fixed income and fixed income-related securities of companies and/or governments globally (including emerging markets), which exposes investors to fixed income and equity (including REITs) market risk, and geographic concentration and currency risk.
  2. The relevant distributing class of the Fund does not guarantee distribution of dividends, the frequency of distribution and the amount/rate of dividends. Dividends may be paid out of income, realized capital gains and/or out of capital of the Fund in respect of Inc share class(es). Dividends may be paid out of realized capital gains, capital and/or gross income while charging all or part of their fees and expenses to capital (i.e. payment of fees and expenses out of capital) in respect of MDIST (G) and R MDIST (G) share class(es).  Dividends paid out of capital of the Fund amounts to a return or withdrawal of part of the amount of an investor’s original investment or from any capital gains attributable to that original investment and may result in an immediate decrease in the net asset value per share in respect of such class(es) of the Fund.
  3. The Fund invests in emerging markets, which may involve increased risks and special considerations not typically associated with investment in more developed markets, such as likelihood of a higher degree of volatility, lower liquidity of investments, political and economic uncertainties, legal and taxation risks, settlement risk, custody risks and currency risks/control.
  4. The Fund’s investment in fixed income and fixed income-related securities, as well as cash and cash equivalents, is subject to high yield bond risk, credit/counterparty risk, interest rate risk, sovereign debt risk, valuation risk and credit rating and downgrading risk.
  5. The Fund  intends to use financial derivative instruments (“FDIs”) for investment, efficient portfolio management and/or hedging purposes. The use of FDIs exposes the Fund to additional risks, including volatility risk, management risk, market risk, credit risk and liquidity risk.
  6. Investment involves risk. The Fund may expose its investors to capital loss. Investors should not make decisions based on this material alone and should read the offering document for details, including the risk factors, charges and features of the Fund and its share classes.
  7. Given RMB is currently not a freely convertible currency,  payment of redemptions and/or dividend payment in RMB may be delayed due to the exchange controls and restrictions applicable to RMB. As offshore RMB (CNH) will be used for the valuation of RMB denominated Class(es), CNH rate may be at a premium or discount to the exchange rate for onshore RMB (CNY) and there may be significant bid and offer spreads and thus the value of the RMB denominated Class(es) will be subject to fluctuation.  Any devaluation of RMB could adversely affect the value of investors’ investments in the RMB denominated Class(es) of the Fund.
Read more Show less

An income-oriented solution in a higher-yielding environment

10 January 2022

John Addeo, Chief Investment Officer, Global Fixed Income
 

As we move into 2022, the pace of recovery is difficult to predict, given the sheer number of variables to consider. Data has seen pockets of improvement, but areas of weakness remain. However, all indications point to an extended period of low interest rates and continued government support to put the global economy back on a positive trajectory. We think the environment should prove favourable for income-oriented solution like the Manulife Global Multi-Asset Diversified Income Fund, as investors continue to seek income, but tactical positioning in three different sleeves (fixed income, equity and options) would be key to generating performance returns.

 

This is a challenging environment for global markets – growth and earnings could disappoint due to logistical challenges, and there is pressure on policymakers to reduce stimulus in the face of rising and less transitory inflation. 

Indeed, the inflationary backdrop is worth considering. We’ve seen reasonably strong job creation; however, the labour market is still tight, which is leading to wage inflation. Looking ahead, we think above trend inflationary pressures will remain in place for longer than people have originally hoped, but these are not expected to be permanent.

Accommodative policy remains supportive even as tapering begins 

Across the largest developed markets, fiscal tailwinds are likely to start to fade as the US Federal Reserve (the Fed) began tapering in November 2021. Meanwhile, the Bank of England raised interest rates in December 2021. 

In the US, Jerome Powell will be entering his second term as Fed Chair, which we believe will be positive for the market, as he takes a pragmatic and thoughtful approach to inflation. For example, Powell is data dependent when considering rate-hike decisions, taking a less hawkish stance. The quality of economic data over the coming months is more likely to determine how the Fed’s tapering is conducted and help guide the market’s reaction.

We think the Fed’s monetary policy will remain highly accommodative with a slow and gradual approach to rate hikes, which we expect sometime in 2022. Against this backdrop, we believe the Fund is well positioned to benefit from the re-opening theme and capture higher yields given its diversified income-oriented objective. This environment should prove favourable as investors continue to seek income.

Fixed Income: Emerging-market credits look compelling

The Fund’s strategically neutral asset allocation is broadly 50% fixed income, 25% global equities and 25% option-writing strategy. From this, the underlying yield generated from fixed income (developed and emerging market credits and sovereigns) is just over 6%, preferred securities approximately 6.7%, whilst the dividend yield of the global equities portion is around 1.7%. The option premium is approximately 100-150bps per month. The Fund’s latest distribution yield is 7.19%1

In 2022, fixed income credit remains a key income source for the Fund, in particular, we think that Developed Market high-yield and Emerging-market credits (accounting for approximately 22% and 17% of the overall Fund) will provide the most significant investment opportunities. 

US high-yield outperformed emerging-market credits in 2021, driven, in part, by demand for developed-market issues, where fundamentals are improving. As such, spreads remain relatively tight.

However, we have seen a lot of capital flow seeking opportunities, so the outlook for US high-yield remains balanced. We expect uncertainty to remain in the coming months but believe investors are generally being compensated for the risks. We believe that defaults have peaked and the trailing 12-month default rate will remain stable to lower.

More broadly, income-seeking investors are chasing credits in the broader emerging market space, as well as Asia. The situation here is more complex, as spreads are compelling, especially in Asia, where a shorter duration, higher-quality market versus broad emerging market, mean that credit spreads could be 60 to 100 basis points cheaper relative to high-yields. This is mainly driven by the property sector in China, where the market is pricing in default rates we won’t see in the wider credit market. 

We think that widening credit spreads, recently experienced, in emerging markets present attractive opportunities in the fixed income sleeve, and this should be a significant performance contributor in 2022. The idea of trade-off plays between emerging-market and developed-market credits depends on whether we can uncover opportunities at an individual security level.

Equities: Tilted towards the US  

Equities have been a key performance driver over the year, with developed-market stock exposure dominating the equity sleeve. 

Equity exposure is tilted towards the US (74% of the equity sleeve). One of the drivers here is our confidence in the country’s vaccine rollout programme. Specifically, our US positioning is a balanced blend between growth and non-growth stocks, albeit with a slight value tilt. These market and sector allocations reflect our bottom-up approach to security selection, whereby we focus on individual company fundamentals. Ultimately, this stance has helped the Fund, given the outperformance of US equities over emerging markets and Asia during 2021.

While many equities have corrected significantly from their recent highs, we are still comfortable with our current allocation versus fixed income and options. The Fund’s primary objective is to deliver a high level of income, and we do not think that equity markets will deliver overly excessive returns in 2022. 

Option Writing: Expected higher premiums due to rising interest rates

Through option writing, we remain committed to managing downside risk when appropriate and harvesting consistent premiums to enhance the Fund’s yield. Option writing (covered calls and collateralised puts) allows the Fund to forego some future equity upside in order to generate income today. 

Option premiums are related to volatility. In the near term, we have two COVID-related concerns that may trigger a spike in volatility – namely, new variants and further developments with the Omicron strain, which could impact our ability to collect premiums. 

We view the market through a long-term security-selection lens, which means we’re better placed to predict short-term bouts of volatility. The Fund is able to tactically adjust the option strike rate as well as lean towards more or less equities with a call writing structure. If we’re really bullish, we can stop writing covered calls altogether in order to participate fully in equity upside.

The lasting impact of COVID-19 on the global economy is not the only factor to monitor. We believe that rising geopolitical tensions, decelerating post-stimulus growth rates, supply-chain disruptions, and the general deglobalisation trend raise questions about the future trajectory of global debt and equity markets.

Conclusion: Tactical positioning is key

Overall, the Fund is positioned to generate a high sustainable income yield as well as being tilted towards capturing higher rates. Tactical positioning will become more prevalent as we move into 2022, allowing us to nimbly increase and decrease the risk profile of the Fund, as well as add yield opportunities when they arise. The trade-off between generating yield, which is the primary objective of the Fund, and capital appreciation through tactical equity allocations or options writing will be a vital determinant of the Fund’s performance in 2022.

  • Global Macro Outlook Q2 2022: An unexpected turn of events

    Mounting inflationary pressure, soaring Geopolitical tensions, and rising interest rates—recent developments have necessitated a reassessment of growth. We examine how they might shape global capital markets in the coming months.

    Read more
  • Long-term structural strengths and resilience of Indian economy to continue despite cyclical challenges

    Although significant cyclical challenges will likely persist in India over the short-term, the longer-term story based on deepening formalisation and a growing digital economy and manufacturing base remains intact.

    Read more
  • Global Healthcare: Spotlight continues to shine on the sector

    We discuss our recent findings regarding the COVID-19 pandemic and outline why the healthcare sector’s underlying fundamentals warrant a long-term allocation.

    Read more
See all

Download full PDF

 


1  Source: Morningstar, Manulife Investment Management. Distribution yield applies only to AA (USD) MDIST (G) class, as of 1 December 2021. Dividend rate is not guaranteed. Dividends may be paid out of capital. Refer to important note 2. Please note that a positive distribution yield does not imply a positive return. Annualised yield = [(1+distribution per unit/ex dividend NAV)^distribution frequency]–1, the annualised dividend yield is calculated based on the latest relevant dividend distribution with dividend reinvested, and may be higher or lower than the actual annual dividend yield. Please refer to www.manulifefunds.com.hk for the historical distribution yield records. Information about the asset allocation and portfolio holdings is historical and is not indication of the future composition. Due to rounding, the total may not be equal to 100%. Diversification or asset allocation does not guarantee a profit nor protect against loss in any market. 

 

  • Global Macro Outlook Q2 2022: An unexpected turn of events

    Mounting inflationary pressure, soaring Geopolitical tensions, and rising interest rates—recent developments have necessitated a reassessment of growth. We examine how they might shape global capital markets in the coming months.

    Read more
  • Long-term structural strengths and resilience of Indian economy to continue despite cyclical challenges

    Although significant cyclical challenges will likely persist in India over the short-term, the longer-term story based on deepening formalisation and a growing digital economy and manufacturing base remains intact.

    Read more
  • Global Healthcare: Spotlight continues to shine on the sector

    We discuss our recent findings regarding the COVID-19 pandemic and outline why the healthcare sector’s underlying fundamentals warrant a long-term allocation.

    Read more
See all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

重要事項:

  1. 宏利環球基金-環球多元資產入息基金(「宏利環球多元資產入息基金」或「本基金」) 投資於全球各地公司及/或政府(包括新興市場)的股票、股票相關、固定收益及固定收益相關證券的多元化投資組合,會使投資者承受固定收益及股票 (包括房地產投資信託基金) 市場風險,地域集中及貨幣風險。
  2. 本基金相關的派息類別並不保證會作出股息分派、分派的頻次及股息款額或派息率。本基金可從收益類別股份的收益、已變現資本收益及/或從資本撥付股息。本基金可從每月派息(G)或R每月派息(G)的類別股份的已變現資本收益、資本及╱或總收益撥付股息,並從資本扣除全部或部分費用及開支(即從資本撥付費用及開支)。從本基金資本中撥付股息等於退回或提取投資者原本投資額的一部分或該原本投資額應佔的任何資本收益。此舉可能導致本基金該類別的每股資產淨值即時減少。
  3. 本基金投資於新興市場,可能承受較完善發展的金融市場沒有的特殊因素及額外風險。例如較高波動性,較低流通性,政治及經濟的不穩定性,法律及稅務風險,結算風險,保管風險及貨幣風險/控制。
  4. 本基金投資於固定收益及固定收益相關證券,以及現金或等同現金形式,會承受高息債券風險,信用/交易對手風險,利率風險,主權債務風險,估值風險,及信用評級及降級風險。
  5. 本基金擬使用金融衍生工具作投資、有效管理投資組合及╱或對沖目的。金融衍生工具的使用導致本基金承受額外風險,包括波動風險、管理風險、市場風險、信用風險及變現風險。
  6. 投資涉及風險。本基金的投資者或須承受資本虧損。投資者不應只單靠本資料而作出投資決定,而應仔細閱讀銷售文件,以獲取詳細資料,包括本基金及其股份類別的風險因素、收費及產品特點。
  7. 人民幣目前並非可自由兌換的貨幣,以人民幣支付贖回款項及/或股息款項可能由於適用於人民幣的匯兌管制及限制而延遲。由於離岸人民幣(CNH)將用於人民幣計價類別的估價,因此CNH匯率與在岸人民幣(CNY)匯率相比可能存在溢價或折讓,買價或賣價之間並可能存在顯著差價,因此人民幣計價類別的價值將受波動影響。人民幣一旦貶值,有可能對投資者於基金的人民幣計價類別的投資的價值構成不利影響。
閱讀更多 顯示較少

孳息率趨升下的收益為本方案

10/1/2022 

 環球固定收益首席投資總監John Addeo

 

踏入2022年,鑑於需要考慮的變數繁多,經濟復甦的步伐難以預測。經濟數據有所改善,但仍有部份領域表現疲弱。不過,所有跡象都顯示低息環境將會持續,而且政府亦會繼續提供支持,以推動全球經濟重回正軌。隨著投資者繼續追求收益,我們認為上述環境應有利於宏利環球多元資產入息基金等收益為本方案,但於三個不同資產類別部份(固定收益、股票和期權)的戰術性配置,將會成為締造表現回報的關鍵。

 

對環球市場來說,這是一個充滿挑戰的環境。物流備受衝擊或會令增長和盈利表現令人失望,而在通脹升溫和較為持久的情況下,政策官員面臨縮減刺激措施的壓力。

通脹環境確實值得關注。雖然新增就業職位相當強勁,但勞工市場仍然緊絀,促使工資上漲。展望未來,我們認為通脹高於長期趨勢的壓力,將較市場人士最初預期的持久,但預計不會恒常存在。

即使開始減少買債     寬鬆政策仍繼續提供支持

隨著聯儲局在2021年11月起減少買債,全球最大型已發展市場財政政策所衍生的有利因素,可能開始減弱。此外,英倫銀行於2021年12月加息。

美國方面,聯儲局主席鮑威爾將展開第二個任期,我們認為這對市場有利,因為他對通脹採取務實和深思熟慮的方針。舉例說,鮑威爾在作出加息決定時取決於數據,立場相對沒那麼強硬。未來數月的經濟數據表現,更有可能決定聯儲局減少買債的步伐,並牽引著市場的情緒。

我們認為聯儲局將維持高度寬鬆的貨幣政策,以緩慢漸進的方法加息,預期當局於2022年的某個時候才會調高利率。本基金旨在獲取多元化收益,我們認為在此環境下,本基金具備有利條件,以受惠於經濟重啟的主題,並把握孳息率上升的優勢。鑑於投資者持續追求收益,這個環境有望提供支持。

固定收益:新興市場信貸具吸引力

本基金的策略性中性資產配置大致為50%固定收益、25%環球股票及25%期權策略。來自固定收益(已發展和新興市場信貸及主權債券)產生的相關收益率略高於6%,優先證券的收益率約為6.7%,環球股票部份的股息率則約為1.7%。每月期權金約100至150點子。本基金最新的派息率為7.19%1

於2022年,固定收益信貸仍是本基金的主要收益來源。具體來說,我們認為已發展市場高收益債券和新興市場信貸(佔本基金整體投資約22%和17%)將提供最重要的投資機會。

回顧2021年,美國高收益債券表現優於新興市場信貸,部份原因是受惠於投資者對已發展市場債券的需求,因為有關市場的基本因素逐步改善。因此,息差仍相對偏窄。

然而,市場一直有大量資金流在物色機遇,因此美國高收益債券前景保持平衡。我們預期未來數月市場仍存在不確定因素,但認為投資者普遍已就承險獲得補償。我們相信違約率已見頂,過去12個月的歷史違約率將維持穩定至較低水平。

整體而言,尋求收益的投資者正在廣泛新興市場和亞洲追逐信貸。這裏呈現的市況較為複雜,亞洲市場提供的息差尤其具吸引力。與廣泛新興市場比較,即使亞洲區內一些存續期較短、質素較高的市場,其信貸息差可能較高收益債券低60至100點子。這主要受中國房地產行業信貸所影響,市場價格所反映的違約率難以在廣泛信貸市場出現。

近日新興市場信貸息差擴闊,我們認為這為固定收益部份提供具吸引力的機會,有望在2022年為本基金表現帶來重大貢獻。在新興市場和已發展市場信貸之間選擇投資對象時,我們會視乎能否在個別證券層面發掘機遇。

股票:側重於美國

過去一年,股票一直是帶動表現的主要因素,本基金的股票部份以已發展市場股票為主。

股票投資側重於美國(佔股票部份的74%),其中一個原因是我們對美國的疫苗接種計劃充滿信心。具體而言,我們的美國配置均衡混合增長和非增長股,但略為側重於價值股。這些市場和行業配置反映我們「由下而上」的證券選擇策略──專注於個別公司的基本因素。鑑於美股在2021年表現領先新興市場和亞洲,上述策略最終有利本基金。

儘管許多股票已從近期高位大幅調整,但我們仍對現時的股票對比固定收益和期權配置感到安心。本基金的主要目標是提供高水平收益,但我們認為股市不會在2022年提供太多超額回報。

期權:由於利率上升     期權金料將增加

我們透過期權策略,繼續致力在適當時候管理下行風險,並賺取持續穩定的期權金,以提高本基金的收益。期權(備兌認購期權和抵押認沽期權)可讓本基金放棄一些未來股票上升空間,以期在今天產生收益。

期權金與波幅有關。短期來說,兩項與疫情相關的憂慮或會引發波幅飆升:新變種病毒和Omicron病毒株的進一步發展,這可能影響我們賺取期權金的能力。

我們透過長線證券選擇的角度來審視市場,因此具備較佳條件,預測短期市況波動。本基金能夠在戰術上調整期權行使價,以及或多或少側重於具有認購期權結構的股票。若我們確實看好後市,可完全停止行使備兌認購期權,以全面參與股票升勢。

疫情對環球經濟的持久影響只是我們需要監察的因素之一。我們認為地緣政治緊張局勢加劇、縮減刺激措施後增長率放緩、供應鏈干擾以及去全球化的普遍趨勢,令人質疑環球股債市場的未來發展。

總結:戰術性配置是關鍵

整體而言,本基金作好部署締造可持續的高收益,以及側重於把握利率上升的優勢。踏入2022年,戰術性配置將更為盛行,使我們能夠靈活地增減本基金的風險,並在收益機遇湧現時加以把握。本基金的主要目標是締造收益,亦會透過戰術性股票配置或期權策略實現資本增值,而在兩者之間投資取捨,將成為在2022年影響本基金表現的重要決定因素。

  • 全球宏觀展望2022年第2季:形勢變化 出乎意料

    通脹壓力攀升、地緣政治摩擦增加及息口上升,最近事態發展令人不得不重新評估經濟增長的前景。我們剖析這些事件如何未來數月影響環球資本市場。

    閱讀更多
  • 儘管面臨周期性挑戰,印度經濟保持長期結構性優勢和抗逆力

    儘管印度短期內可能持續面對重大周期性挑戰,但經濟正規化持續深化和數碼經濟增長的長期主題保持不變。

    閱讀更多
  • 環球康健護理業:繼續成為市場焦點

    我們就新冠病毒的最新研究發現進行探討,並說明為何康健護理業的基本因素值得長期配置。

    閱讀更多
查看全部

下載全份文件

 


1  資料來源:晨星、宏利投資管理。派息率只適用於AA(美元)每月派息(G)類別,截至2021年12月1日。股息率不獲保證。派息可從資本支付。注意重要事項2。正數派息率並不意味可取得正回報。年度化股息率= [(1+每單位派息/除息日資產淨值)^每年派息次數]–1,年度化派息率乃基於最近一次相關派息計算及假設收益再撥作投資,可能高於或低過實際全年派息率。有關過往的年度化派息紀錄,請參閱www.manulifefunds.com.hk。有關資產配置及投資組合持倉的資料是歷史信息,並不代表未來。數字經修正後,總計可能並不相等於100%。分散投資或資產配置並不保證在任何市場取得利潤或保障免於虧損。

 

  • 全球宏觀展望2022年第2季:形勢變化 出乎意料

    通脹壓力攀升、地緣政治摩擦增加及息口上升,最近事態發展令人不得不重新評估經濟增長的前景。我們剖析這些事件如何未來數月影響環球資本市場。

    閱讀更多
  • 儘管面臨周期性挑戰,印度經濟保持長期結構性優勢和抗逆力

    儘管印度短期內可能持續面對重大周期性挑戰,但經濟正規化持續深化和數碼經濟增長的長期主題保持不變。

    閱讀更多
  • 環球康健護理業:繼續成為市場焦點

    我們就新冠病毒的最新研究發現進行探討,並說明為何康健護理業的基本因素值得長期配置。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認