Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

 

Sometimes we all need to step outside for a moment, take some air and review the situation with a calm head and a clear focus. This is undoubtedly true right now, as the economic disruption and market volatility generated by the pandemic plus the associated negative news flow is creating a barrier that makes it harder to see the bigger picture. 

Let’s pause, then, and look at the facts from an Asian perspective. The first thing to point out is that Asia, as a region, is not homogenous, and recent events from trade tensions to the pandemic have affected different markets in a variety of ways. The truth is, the picture is not universally negative. In our view it is to say that some markets, such as Hong Kong and Singapore, endured greater short-term pain than others. But it may also surprise you to know that some markets (China, Vietnam and Indonesia) should emerge from the “crisis” with their GDP for 2020 in positive, or close to positive, territory (see chart below). 

080520_WhyAsia_GDPGrowth_AsiaVsMajorDevelopedMarkets_Infographic_EN_Op3
  • Will the Fed's approach to interest-rate hikes trigger a U.S. recession?

    Concerns about recession risks are rising amid seemingly persistent inflation and rising interest rates. Find out to what extent these fears are warranted.

    Read more
  • How is the surging US dollar affecting Asian currencies?

    We draw insights from our pan-Asia fixed income and equity teams, who examine the impact of US-dollar strength and what this means for currencies in the region.

    Read more
  • China rolls out measures to support economic growth

    We believe that the latest supportive measures reiterate China’s stance on economic stability and see opportunities in China and Hong Kong equities that could benefit from these policy actions.

    Read more
See all

Once we move into 2021, it seems most markets in Asia will likely enjoy robust GDP growth, led again by the emerging territories that will be bolstered by the strength of their underlying economic fundamentals. 

Although GDP is a measure of what has gone before, and investors invariably look to the future, a period of healthy growth does instil confidence. It can encourage people to participate in the market – especially when they see economic expansion resulting in improving company earnings and, consequently, rising prices.

In our view it is also true to say that a flourishing portfolio is a well-diversified one. Currently, many people prefer to invest in their home market, as this is where their comfort zone lies. However, with confidence rising in the economic prospects and diversity of the wider Asian region, we believe investors now have an opportunity to spread their wings and explore other markets. We expect this would deliver greater portfolio diversification through exposure to different markets, asset classes, sectors and industries.

Earlier, we noted that despite a lack of clarity on the bigger picture, our daily lives will still go on. As such, one should remain cool and calm to face any challenges, plan for the future, and maintain diversification. 

 

1 Source: Government websites, as of 22 July 2020. International Monetary Fund – World Economic Outlook Update, April 2020 and June 2020. 2020 Q1 actual GDP: Vietnam: 3.82%; India: 3.1%; Indonesia: 2.97%; Taiwan: 1.59%; South Korea: 1.4%; Malaysia: 0.7%; Philippines: -0.2%; Singapore: -0.3%; Japan: -0.6%; Thailand: -1.8%; Euro area: -3.6%; US: -5%; China: -6.8%; Hong Kong: -8.9%.  All figures show year-on-year change, with the exception of US, Euro area and Japan 2020 Q1 GDP showing quarter-on-quarter change. The information in this material may contain projections or other forward-looking statements regarding future events, targets, management discipline or other expectations, and is only as current as of the date indicated. There is no assurance that such events will occur, and may be significantly different than that shown here. The information in this material including statements concerning financial market trends, are based on current market conditions, which will fluctuate and may be superseded by subsequent market events or for other reasons. 

  • How much do you know about rates?

    Recognise the different terms related to interest rates and understand how much yield global government bonds can offer.

    Read more
  • Four essential keywords related to interest rates

    Central banks in some emerging and Asian markets have started to hike rates, but deposit rates may not necessarily move in tandem. This would gradually erode depositors’ purchasing power in an inflationary environment. To achieve potential returns that beat inflation, deposit-focused investors should base any investment decisions on their risk tolerance levels and wealth management objectives.

    Read more
  • Why demographic change requires a new set of cards

    Many Asian governments are considering incentives to encourage larger families. These evolving policies will be vitally important, as the region looks to sustain a fast-greying population.

    Read more
See all
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者
910683688

我們偶爾需要短暫抽離,吸一口新鮮空氣,並以冷靜及清晰的思維審時度勢。目前正是這個時刻,因為2019新型冠狀病毒疫情導致經濟下滑和市場波動,加上相關負面消息不斷,令我們難以看清全局。 

讓我們從亞洲的角度分析當前形勢。首先,綜觀整個亞洲區,各地情況不一,而近期的貿易磨擦以至疫情大流行,對不同市場帶來多方面的影響。然而,實況並非一面倒負面。相比其他地區,香港及新加坡等市場承受較大的短期衝擊。不過可能令您感到詫異的是,部份市場(中國、越南和印尼)在這次危機過後,2020年國內生產總值(GDP)料仍能呈現正增長,或接近正增長(見下圖)。 

080520_WhyAsia_GDPGrowth_AsiaVsMajorDevelopedMarkets_Infographic_TC_Op3

踏入2021年,大部份亞洲市場的國內生產總值預計將可能出現強勁反彈,而受惠於經濟基本因素優勢的新興地區,表現有望再度領先。

雖然國內生產總值反映過去的表現,但要是投資者看到未來的經濟持續健康增長,便會逐漸開始對市場產生信心。這可鼓勵投資者參與投資市場,尤其是他們看到經濟擴張導致公司盈利改善,繼而令資產價格上升。

我們認為,建立多元分散的投資組合,才稱得上健康。目前不少人側重投資於本土市場,因在自己居住地找到安全感。不過,隨著市場對亞洲廣泛地區的經濟前景及多樣性特質的信心上升,投資者現在有機會進行分散投資,即是將資金分布在不同的市場、資產類別及行業,達至投資組合進一步分散。

在文章開首曾提到,即使宏觀大局模糊,我們的日常生活還會繼續。投資者宜沉著面對挑戰,繼續積極為未來作部署,為投資組合作分散配置。

 

1 資料來源:各地政府網頁,截至2020年7月22日。國際貨幣基金組織 ─ 世界經濟展望,2020年4月及2020年6月。2020年第一季實質GDP:越南:3.82%;印度:3.1%;印尼:2.97%;台灣:1.59%;南韓:1.4%;馬來西亞:0.7%;菲律賓:-0.2%;新加坡:-0.3%;日本:-0.6%;泰國:-1.8%;歐元區:-3.6%;美國:-5%;中國:-6.8%;香港;-8.9%。除美國、歐元區及日本2020年第一季實質GDP為按季變動外,其餘均為按年變動。本文件的部份資料可能包含就日後發生的事件、目標、管理規定或其他估計所作出的預測或其他前瞻性陳述。該等事件並不一定會發生,並可能與本文件所載的情況存在重大差異。本文件載有關於金融市場發展趨勢的陳述乃按照現時的市況作出,有關市況會出現變化,並會因市場隨後發生的事件或其他原因而改變。

  • 利率知多少?

    辨識與利率相關的詞彙,了解環球政府債券孳息率之間的差異。

    閱讀更多
  • 四個與「利率」相關的關鍵字 你要知

    部份新興市場及亞洲央行開始加息,但存款利率未必跟升,存戶的購買力在通脹環境下逐漸被蠶食 。存款為主的投資者,可根據風險承受能力及理財目標進行投資,以求取得高於通脹的潛在回報。

    閱讀更多
  • 應對人口結構轉變 打「生育牌」需新思維

    多個亞洲政府正考慮推出措施,鼓勵家庭生育。政策不斷演變,對維持亞洲各地同步急速老化的人口至關重要。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 利率知多少?

    辨識與利率相關的詞彙,了解環球政府債券孳息率之間的差異。

    閱讀更多
  • 四個與「利率」相關的關鍵字 你要知

    部份新興市場及亞洲央行開始加息,但存款利率未必跟升,存戶的購買力在通脹環境下逐漸被蠶食 。存款為主的投資者,可根據風險承受能力及理財目標進行投資,以求取得高於通脹的潛在回報。

    閱讀更多
  • 應對人口結構轉變 打「生育牌」需新思維

    多個亞洲政府正考慮推出措施,鼓勵家庭生育。政策不斷演變,對維持亞洲各地同步急速老化的人口至關重要。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
確認