Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

Local Government Financing Vehicles – the bright spot in China credit 

9 June 2022

Judy Kwok, Head of Greater China Fixed Income Research

Jane Pan, Director, China Fixed Income Research

Despite market volatility and weakness in Asia’s credit markets, especially the sharp downturn for China properties, the Investment Grade China Local Government Financing Vehicle (IG LGFV)1 sector in the offshore market has delivered relatively resilient performance and recorded a significant increase in net issuance over the year to date. In this investment note, Judy Kwok, Head of Greater China Fixed Income Research and Jane Pan, Director, China Fixed Income Research, highlight the positive drivers behind this bright spot in the China credit space.

With the recent challenging environment in fixed income as global rates have surged, coupled with a prolonged downturn in Asian credits led by the volatile Chinese property sector, investors may be actively searching the region for attractive investment options.

Local Government Financing Vehicles in China (LGFVs), which number around 10,000 in almost every region, may not be as well-known or well-accepted as other asset classes (See the Appendix for background information on LGFVs). In previous years, the opaqueness of some issuers, along with concerns over a mounting maturity wall may have kept some investors away.

We believe, however, that global investors should take a fresh look at LGFVs for several reasons. Those in the investment-grade (IG) space have demonstrated resilient performance thus far in 2022 amid a difficult economic environment. In addition, it is the only corporate issuer to record a year-on-year net issuance increase. Finally, we believe the asset class should benefit from several near-term policy tailwinds moving forward.

  • Resilient performance

As seen in Chart 1, the China IG LGFV sector registered a total return of -2.9% and an excess return of 1.16% YTD over the US Treasury, making it the best-performing segment in the China IG complex. The sector’s spread has also tightened by more than 40 basis points YTD, which is close to levels last seen in late 2017 and early 20182.

Chart 1: China Investment-grade performance by segment year-to-date3

China Investment-grade performance by segment year-to-date

Looking forward to the second half of 2022 and beyond, we expect the IG LGFV sector’s performance to continue. This could be supported by solid demand from Chinese investors attracted by the yield differentials between the onshore and offshore markets and low supply from state-owned enterprises (SOEs).

  • Significant increase in net-issuance

Among the IG corporate issuers in China, IG LGFV is a market segment that recorded a year-on-year increase in net issuance: US$12 billion in the first four months of 2022 vs US$3 billion in the same period last year. This sharply contrasts with IG-rated privately owned enterprises (POEs) that saw US$1 billion of net redemption in the first four months of 2022 vs US$12 billion of net issuance in the same period last year4.

At the same time, the Asian US dollar bond market net issuance fell by 91% to US$7 billion in the first four months of 2022, with mainland China recording US$11 billion of net redemptions – in sharp contrast to net issuance of US$30 billion in the first four months of 2021.

Local governments more reliant on LGFVs, and more supportive policies are expected

Overall, the economic and policy backdrop for the IG LGFV sector also remains supportive. A reduction in LGFV revenue from land sales should be mitigated by stronger support from financial institutions, larger central-government transfers, better earnings from increased infrastructure spending, and the accelerated issuance of local government special bonds. That said, we believe the mandate to control local government “off-balance-sheet debt”5 will remain as some of the debts are too large and strategic to fail.

  • Local government fiscal revenue is expected to be lower

We think consolidated fiscal income of local governments for 2022 is likely to fall. For 2022, the collective forecast6 of 31 provincial governments is a 3% growth in consolidated fiscal income (5% growth for general budgetary revenue, 18% growth for transfer payments from central government7 and a 10% decline for government fund income). This estimate was made before the Shanghai lockdown and, as such, is probably optimistic.

Chart 2: Local government revenue sources, 2022

Local government revenue sources, 2022

HSBC, as of end of 2021.

  • Lower land sales will pressure local government fiscal profiles

Restrictions on property-developer financing and the enforcement of stricter auction rules had already weakened a key source of income for local governments last year (Chart 2), triggering a decline in land-sale revenue in more than half of China's provinces in 2021.

For 2022, revenue growth from land sales conducted by local governments will likely remain sluggish (our base case is for a 20% year-on-year fall in income from land sales)8. This will reduce an essential source of local-government income, compelling them to rely more on central-government transfers and raise additional debt to finance countercyclical infrastructure spending. Some local governments may need to rely more on LGFVs for financing infrastructure investments while having fewer resources to support them. Besides, lower revenue from land sales will significantly impact regions with less diversified economies and a greater reliance on fixed-asset investment. It will also hit areas experiencing ongoing population outflows given the deduced demand for urban land.9

  • Expect more supportive policies for LGFVs

We believe, the shortfall of fiscal revenue due to weaker land sales and zero-covid policies could be filled by:

  1. Financing support from national and local financial institutions
  2. A cut in fiscal spending or even sales of government assets
  3. A further step-up of transfer payment from central government, potentially through another special CGB issuance
  4. Additional infrastructure spending, partially through the accelerated issuance of local government special bonds, could increase tax revenue for local governments.

As a result of difficult economic conditions, initiatives to deleverage LGFVs are likely to be put on hold for the rest of the year to ensure that 2022 GDP targets are met.

  • A boost in infrastructure spending could benefit LGFVs

Although China’s growth slowed down to 4.8% in the first quarter of this year (vs the 2022 GDP growth target of “around” 5.5%), infrastructure investment accelerated to 8.5% during the same period (versus 0.4% in 2021). We expect infrastructure-related budget spending and credit to grow by double-digits in 2022 through accelerated issuance of local government specials bonds, pushing infrastructure investment growth to over 10%.

Conclusion

In the past, the risk-reward tradeoff for LGFVs may have seemed less attractive among other alternatives in the China credit universe. Along with a rapidly shifting domestic economic environment, however, a resilient year-to-date performance, coupled with the increasing importance of the sector, and supportive policy tailwinds, might allow some to discover a diamond in the rough.

Appendix: Background on Local Government Financing Vehicles

  • What are LGFVs?

LGFVs were first established to provide funding for local infrastructure upgrades and prepare parcels of land for sale to property developers. They subsequently expanded into other areas of business related to urban development, such as transportation, utilities, and social housing. LGFVs have ventured into more commercial companies in recent years, including trading, property development, industrials, and finance. As of today. approximately 3,000 local governments issue RMB bonds; 166 issue dollar bonds in the offshore market.

  • How much debt do LGFVs have?

According to their financial reports, LGFV bond issuers had about RMB$45 trillion of interest-bearing debt outstanding as of 2020. This was equivalent to 41% of China’s GDP in 2020, up from 33% in 2016. As of December 2021, LGFVs had RMB$12.6 trillion of bonds outstanding, equivalent to 52% of China’s RMB corporate bonds, up from 35% in 2016. Furthermore, LGFVs now have a sizeable presence in the Asian dollar-bond market, breaking down into IG, high-yield and non-rated segments (see Chart 3) – with US$67 billion outstanding as of 7 March 2022. This was issued by 166 key LGFV dollar-bond issuers (about 6% Asian US dollar bonds and 13% China US dollar bonds)

Chart 3: Ratings of LGFVs10

Ratings of LGFVs

 

 

Download full PDF

 


 

1. Initially, local governments in China were not permitted to issue debt in their own name, so they created LGFVs to raise funds from the market on their behalf.

2. Barclays Research, 12 May 2022. Spreads are over US Treasuries.

3. Barclays Research, 12 May 2022.

4. On the other hand, high-yield (HY) LGFVs experienced a net redemption of US$421 million in the first four months of 2022 versus a net redemption of US$313 million in the same period last year.

5. Some of the debt raised by LGFVs are kept off the balance sheets of local authorities but carries an implicit government guarantee of repayment.

6. Local governments disclose their fiscal revenue forecasts for each year.

7. According to the Government Work Report, transfer payments from the central government to local authorities will jump by 18% this year to RMB$9.8 trillion. This is one of the largest year-on-year increases in the past decade.

8. Thirty-one provincial governments have budgeted for RMB$7.7 trillion of land-sale income in 2022, down 11% year on year. Among the provinces that generate the most revenue from land sales, Zhejiang estimates a 23% decline from 2021, Jiangsu -19%, while Guangdong was flat.

9. More developed provinces in coastal China and provincial capitals will see a smaller impact because their local governments have a wider range of fiscal revenue to draw upon. The most vulnerable provinces are Inner Mongolia, Shanxi, Gansu, Heilongjiang, Jilin, and Liaoning.

10. HSBC Research, March 2022.

 

  • Will the Fed's approach to interest-rate hikes trigger a U.S. recession?

    Concerns about recession risks are rising amid seemingly persistent inflation and rising interest rates. Find out to what extent these fears are warranted.

    Read more
  • How is the surging US dollar affecting Asian currencies?

    We draw insights from our pan-Asia fixed income and equity teams, who examine the impact of US-dollar strength and what this means for currencies in the region.

    Read more
  • China rolls out measures to support economic growth

    We believe that the latest supportive measures reiterate China’s stance on economic stability and see opportunities in China and Hong Kong equities that could benefit from these policy actions.

    Read more
See all
  • Will the Fed's approach to interest-rate hikes trigger a U.S. recession?

    Concerns about recession risks are rising amid seemingly persistent inflation and rising interest rates. Find out to what extent these fears are warranted.

    read more
  • How is the surging US dollar affecting Asian currencies?

    We draw insights from our pan-Asia fixed income and equity teams, who examine the impact of US-dollar strength and what this means for currencies in the region.

    read more
  • China rolls out measures to support economic growth

    We believe that the latest supportive measures reiterate China’s stance on economic stability and see opportunities in China and Hong Kong equities that could benefit from these policy actions.

    read more
see all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

地方政府融資平台 — 中國信貸市場的亮點 

09/06/2022

大中華區定息產品投資研究部主管 郭張德美

中國定息產品投資研究部總監 潘晶晶

雖然亞洲信貸市場表現波動和疲弱,尤其是中國房地產市場急劇下滑,但離岸市場的投資級別中國地方政府融資平台1板塊表現相對強韌,年初至今的淨發行量大幅增加。在今期投資通訊,大中華區定息產品投資研究部主管郭張德美及中國定息產品投資研究部總監潘晶晶強調這個中國信貸市場亮點背後的正面動力。

 

由於全球利率飆升,固定收益市場近期面對重重挑戰:加上中國房地產業波動令亞洲信貸長時間持續低迷,投資者可能正積極發掘區內具吸引力的投資選擇。

中國地方政府融資平台幾乎遍布每個地區,合共約10,000家,但這些平台可能不像其他資產類別般廣為人知或被接受(有關地方政府融資平台的背景資料,請參閱附錄)。過去數年,部份發行人缺乏透明度,加上到期日陸續臨近,令人憂慮,可能使部份投資者卻步。

不過,基於以下多個原因,我們相信全球投資者應重新審視地方政府融資平台。在艱難的經濟環境下,投資級別地方政府融資平台債券在2022年初至今表現強韌,更成為唯一淨發行量錄得按年增長的企業發行人。我們認為這項資產類別今後有望受惠於若干短期政策利好因素。

  • 表現強韌

如圖1所示,中國投資級別地方政府融資平台債券年初至今的總回報為 -2.9%,相對美國國庫債券的超額回報為1.16%,是表現最好的中國投資級別債券。年初至今,地方政府融資平台債券的息差亦收窄超過40點子,接近2017年底和2018年初的水平。2

圖1:按領域劃分中國投資級別債券年初至今表現3

按領域劃分中國投資級別債券年初至今表現

展望2022年下半年及之後,我們預期投資級別地方政府融資平台債券將繼續表現出色,可能受到在岸和離岸市場的息差以及國有企業債券供應不足導致中國投資者需求殷切所支持。

  • 淨發行量顯著增長

綜觀中國投資級別企業發行人,投資級別地方政府融資平台債券錄得淨發行量按年大幅增長:2022年首四個月為120億美元,對比去年同期為30億美元。這與投資級別民營企業債券形成鮮明對比:後者在2022年首四個月錄得10億美元淨贖回金額,對比去年同期的淨發債金額為120億美元4

另一方面,亞洲美元債券市場在2022年首四個月的淨發行量下降91%至70億美元,其中,中國內地的淨贖回金額為110億美元,與2021年首四個月的淨發行量300億美元形成強烈對比。

地方政府更依賴地方政府融資平台,預期將加推政策支持

整體來說,投資級別地方政府融資平台債券繼續受到經濟和政策環境支持:金融機構加大支持力度、中央對地方轉移支付增加、基建開支增加令盈利改善,以及加快發行地方政府專項債券等,應能緩減土地出讓收入減少的影響。儘管如此,我們認為控制地方政府「表外債務」5的任務不變,因為部份債務規模過大,而且具有戰略性意義,根本不可能倒下。

  • 地方政府財政收入料將下降

我們認為2022年地方政府綜合財政收入可能會下降。在2022年,31個省政府的綜合預測6是綜合財政收入增長3%(一般財政預算收入增長5%、中央對地方轉移支付增長18%7、政府性基金收入下降10%)。由於上述估計是在上海實施封城措施之前進行,因此可能偏向樂觀。

圖2:2022年地方政府收入來源

2022年地方政府收入來源

  • 土地出讓收入下降令地方政府面對財政壓力

去年,政府對房地產開發商融資實施限制,並收緊拍賣規則,削弱地方政府的一項重要收入來源(圖 2),導致中國過半省份在2021年的土地出讓收入減少。

於2022年,地方政府的土地出讓收入增長可能會保持低水平(我們的基本情況預測土地出讓收入按年下降20%)8。這將削減地方政府的重要收入來源,令地方政府不得不更依賴中央轉移支付,並進一步籌集債務,為反周期基建開支融資。由於提供支持的資金來源減少,部份地方政府可能需要更依賴地方政府融資平台,為基建投資融資。此外,對經濟多元化程度較低和較倚賴固定資產投資的地區來說,土地出讓收入減少將帶來重大影響。鑑於對城鎮土地的需求減少,土地出讓收入下降亦將打擊人口持續外流的地區。9

  • 預期為地方政府融資平台加推政策支持

土地出讓轉弱和清零防疫政策令各地財政收入不足,我們認為可以透過以下方式填補有關短缺:

  1. 國家和地方金融機構提供融資支持
  2. 削減財政開支甚至出售政府資產
  3. 可能透過再度發行中央政府專項債券,進一步加大中央對地方轉移支付的力度
  4. 透過加快發行地方政府專項債券,為額外的基建開支提供部份資金,或可增加地方政府的稅收。

面對困難的經濟狀況,為確保實現2022年國內生產總值目標,地方政府融資平台去槓桿的措施很可能會在今年餘下時間暫時擱置。

  • 基建開支增加可能有利地方政府融資平台

雖然今年第一季中國經濟增長放緩至4.8%(對比2022年國內生產總值增長目標為5.5%「左右」),但基建投資增長在同期加快至8.5%(對比2021年的0.4%)。我們預期2022年基建相關預算支出和信貸,將會通過加快發行地方政府專項債券而實現雙位數增長,推動基建投資增長超過10%。

總結

過去,在中國信貸領域的其他替代投資選項中,地方政府融資平台的風險回報水平似乎相對欠缺吸引力,伴隨中國經濟環境迅速轉變,地方政府融資平台年初至今的表現穩健,加上該板塊重要性日益提升,而且獲利好政策因素支持,或可讓一些投資者發掘「深藏不露」的投資機遇。

附錄:地方政府融資平台的背景資料

  • 何謂地方政府融資平台?

地方政府融資平台最初成立的目的是為地方政府的基建升級項目提供資金,並準備將土地出讓給房地產開發商。融資平台隨後擴展至與城鎮發展相關的其他業務領域,例如交通、公用事業和社會住房,近年甚至涉足更多商業公司,包括貿易、房地產開發、工業和金融。時至今天,約3,000個地方政府發行人民幣債券;另有166個地方政府在離岸市場發行美元債券。

  • 地方政府融資平台有多少債務?

根據地方政府融資平台的財務報告,截至2020年,債券發行人的已發行附息債務約為45萬億元人民幣,相當於2020年中國國內生產總值的41%,高於2016年的33%。截至2021年12月,地方政府融資平台已發行債券規模為12.6萬億元人民幣,相當於中國人民幣企業債券的 52%,高於2016年的35%。此外,現時地方政府融資平台在亞洲美元債券市場佔相當大的份額,包括投資級別、高收益和無評級債券(見圖 3)。截至2022年3月7日,已發行債券總值670億美元,由166家主要地方政府融資平台美元債券發行人發行(約6%亞洲美元債券和13%中國美元債券)。

圖3:地方政府融資平台債券評級10

地方政府融資平台債券評級

 

 

下載全份文件

 


 

1. 最初,中國地方政府不獲批準以本身名義發行債券,因此設立了地方政府融資平台,以代表其自身在市場籌集資金。

2. 巴克萊研究,2022年5月12日。與美國國庫債券之間的息差。

3. 巴克萊研究,2022年5月12日。

4. 另一方面,高收益地方政府融資平台債券在2022年首四個月錄得4.21億美元淨贖回金額,對比去年同期的淨贖回金額為3.13億美元。

5. 地方政府融資平台籌集的部份債務尚未計入地方政府的資產負債表,但附帶政府的隱性償債擔保。

6. 地方政府披露每年的財政收入預測。

7. 根據政府工作報告,今年中央對地方轉移支付將急增18%至9.8萬億元人民幣,是過去十年內最大的按年增長之一。

8. 31個省政府的2022年土地出讓收入預算為7.7萬億元人民幣,按年下降11%。在土地出讓收入最多的省份之中,估計浙江較2021年下降23%,江蘇下跌19%,廣東則持平。

9. 中國沿海發展較成熟的省份和省會城市受到的影響較小,因為有關地方政府可利用的財政收入範圍較廣闊。表現最脆弱的省份是內蒙古、山西、甘肅、黑龍江、吉林和遼寧。

10. 滙豐研究,2022年3月

 

  • 聯儲局的加息方針會否引發美國經濟衰退?

    在通脹看似持續、利率不斷上漲之際,關於衰退風險的顧慮正在加劇。探究這些顧慮的合理程度。

    閱讀更多
  • 美元飆升如何影響亞洲貨幣?

    我們的泛亞洲固定收益和股票團隊分享見解,審視美元走強所帶來的影響,以及對區內貨幣的意義。

    閱讀更多
  • 中國推出支持經濟增長的措施

    我們相信,最新支持性政策最新舉措重申中國對保持經濟穩定的立場不變,中港股市料將有機會受惠於這些支持性政策行動。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 聯儲局的加息方針會否引發美國經濟衰退?

    在通脹看似持續、利率不斷上漲之際,關於衰退風險的顧慮正在加劇。探究這些顧慮的合理程度。

    閱讀更多
  • 美元飆升如何影響亞洲貨幣?

    我們的泛亞洲固定收益和股票團隊分享見解,審視美元走強所帶來的影響,以及對區內貨幣的意義。

    閱讀更多
  • 中國推出支持經濟增長的措施

    我們相信,最新支持性政策最新舉措重申中國對保持經濟穩定的立場不變,中港股市料將有機會受惠於這些支持性政策行動。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認