Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

Pockets of resilience in China’s bond markets amid uncertainty

3 March 2022

Paula Chan, Senior Portfolio Manager, Asia Fixed Income

Isaac Meng , Portfolio Manager, Asia Fixed Income

Russia's invasion of Ukraine has driven a broad sell-off in risk assets. In this investment note, Paula Chan (Senior Portfolio Manager, Asia Fixed Income) and Isaac Meng (Portfolio Manager, Asia Fixed Income) outline their key observations and explain why they believe China onshore bonds and the Chinese renminbi (CNY) show resilient fundamentals in this current environment.

 

With the invasion of Ukraine, we have seen a broad sell-off in risk assets and increased equity and credit market volatility.

Update on China’s credit markets

In the China US-dollar-denominated (USD) credit market, benchmark investment-grade names saw spreads widen by 5 to 15 basis points (bps) while high-yield (HY) bonds sold off on weak macro sentiment and company-specific news. Some property issuances were also being marked lower by as much as 10 to 15 points.1

Onshore China bonds and CNY show resilience

Meanwhile, onshore China bonds remained stable compared to China USD bonds and continued to show relatively resilient performance. Similarly, the CNY maintained its strength against the USD, hovering at around USD/CNY 6.33 despite emerging-market (EM) currencies being generally weaker against the USD.In contrast to other EM currencies, the CNY retained its strength amid market uncertainty due to relatively low inflation and positive real rates, which helped attract bond inflows.

A more defensive approach amid uncertainty

Amid heightened market uncertainty, we believe in taking a more defensive approach to portfolios with exposure to China USD credit. We have also been less positive on higher beta (risk-sensitive) names and more positive on higher-quality credits since the lead up to the current crisis. We are less positive on selected property names in the China USD credit space in recent weeks due to ongoing volatility in the sector.

Overall, we believe in taking a more cautious approach to the property sector for the time being, as government support has been relatively measured thus far, and it will take more time before we see a more concrete recovery in the sector. Meanwhile, sentiment toward the real estate sector remains weak, and its performance is expected to be volatile in the near term.

Diversification opportunities exist within the China bond space. In our view, we believe exposures to onshore China government bonds (CGBs) and China policy bank bonds can provide investors with diversification and may help manage portfolio risks and potentially benefit from lower onshore rates in the current environment. 

Furthermore, we think China's onshore rates could head lower, as more monetary easing should support the Chinese economy while trade remains robust. In contrast to developed market (DM) economies that are hiking rates, China maintains a dovish monetary policy while the economy is expected to rebound in the second half of 2022. As a result, we expect the China bond asset class to be well supported and backed by positive flows from global investors.

The near-term outlook for China’s bond market

Overall, negative market sentiment and heightened volatility are likely to persist in the short term amid geopolitical tensions, particularly in the China USD credit space. Investors remain side-lined, and investment flows are relatively muted. We will closely monitor any impact the crisis may have on China’s economy, including the potential for higher inflation as commodity prices are expected to rise.

Due to the relative strength of the Chinese economy and its robust trade position, we maintain our view that the China fixed income asset class will continue to offer global investors diversification benefits and the potential to outperform other DM and EM bond segments this year.

Conclusion

While heightened market volatility and weaker sentiment may continue in the short term, we believe that taking a more defensive approach to China USD credit and the property sector can help manage risks. We see resilient fundamentals in onshore China bonds and the CNY. We expect a rebound in China’s economy in the second half of 2022 and further monetary easing to attract inflows from global investors into the China bond market.

 

Download full PDF

 


Manulife Investment Management data as of 24 February 2022.

Bloomberg, as of 24 February 2022.

  • The Fed remains hawkish, but easing could occur before the end of 2023

    The Fed’s decision to raise US interest rates by 75 basis points to a target range of 3%-3.25% was well priced into the markets.We describe the factors contributing to the Fed’s increasingly hawkish tone and explain why easing could occur before the end of 2023.

    Read more
  • The high-yield market isn't signaling a recession

    Through the interest-rate volatility and higher inflation so far in 2022, we haven't seen a reason to abandon high yield. If anything, the higher-quality segment of this market could provide a welcome boost to a portfolio's risk-adjusted return potential.

    Read more
  • U.S. banks’ fundamentals continue to strengthen despite the economic slowdown

    The latest quarterly earnings reports from U.S. regional banks confirm the favorable investment outlook as loan growth and an improved interest-rate environment provide a tailwind for the industry, in our view.

    Read more
See all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

不明市況下中國債市展現韌性   

03/03/2022

亞洲定息產品高級組合經理 陳珮珊

亞洲定息產品組合經理 孟原

俄羅斯入侵烏克蘭,市場波動加劇,促使投資者廣泛地拋售風險資產。在本期投資通訊中,亞洲定息產品高級組合經理陳珮珊和亞洲定息產品組合經理孟原闡述對市況最新觀點,並解釋為何他們相信在現時環境下,中國在岸債券及和人民幣展現具靭性的基本因素。

 

隨著俄羅斯入侵烏克蘭,投資者廣泛地拋售風險類型資產,而且股票和信貸市場波幅上升。

中國信貸市場最新發展

以美元計價的中國信貸市場方面,基準投資級別債券息差擴闊5至15基點,而宏觀經濟氣氛疲弱和個別公司消息則令高收益債券遭到拋售。部份房地產公司債券亦一度下跌最多10至15基點 1

在岸中國債券和人民幣展現韌性

此外,與中國美元債券比較,在岸中國債券保持穩定,繼續展現相對具韌性的表現。同樣,雖然新興市場貨幣兌美元匯價普遍轉弱,但人民幣兌美元維持強勢,美元兌在岸人民幣在6.33的水平附近徘徊2。有別於其他新興市場貨幣,離岸人民幣在市況欠明朗下保持強勢,因為通脹相對較低和正數的實質利率,有助吸引債券資金流入。

不明市況宜採取較防守性策略

由於市場不明朗因素增加,我們相信,持有按美元定價的中國信貸組合中,宜採取較防守性的配置。早在俄烏危機爆發前,我們一直對啤打系數較高(風險敏感度較高、波動較市場大的資產)的信貸持較負面的觀點,並對質素較高的信貸持較正面的觀點。鑑於房地產業持續波動,我們在最近數周對特定的相關企業美元信貸亦看得較負面。

整體而言,我們相信目前宜對房地產業採取較審慎的策略,因為至今政府的支持政策相對適度,預計需要更多時間才能出現較明顯的行業復甦。同時,圍繞房地產業的市場情緒仍然疲弱,短期表現料波動。

中國債市具備分散投資的機遇。我們認為,作出中國在岸政府債券和中國政策性銀行債券的配置,可為投資者提供分散投資的好處和有助管理投資組合風險,並於在岸利率下跌時潛在受惠。

此外,中國貿易狀況維持穩健,加上當局推出更多貨幣寬鬆措施,有望為國內經濟提供支持,因此我們認為中國在岸利率將會進一步下降。有別於已發展市場經濟體的加息行動,中國的貨幣政策立場仍然溫和,預期經濟將在2022年下半年反彈。因此,我們預期環球投資者的資金流入中國債市,將為中國債券這一資產類別提供充分支持和後盾。

中國債市的短期前景

整體而言,在地緣政治緊張局勢下,市場氣氛向淡和波動加劇的情況可能在短期持續,以中國美元信貸領域尤甚。投資者保持觀望態度,因此資金流相對放慢下來。我們將密切監察這次危機可能對中國經濟帶來的影響,包括預期商品價格上漲可能帶動通脹升溫。

鑑於中國經濟實力相對強勁,加上貿易地位穩健,我們仍然認為,中國固定收益資產類別繼續為環球投資者提供分散投資優勢,今年該類資產的表現亦有望優於其他已發展市場和新興市場債券。

總結

短期來說,市況波幅增加的環境或會持續,市場氣氛亦可能繼續轉弱,因此我們相信,在按美元定價的中國信貸及房地產業的配置上採取較防守性策略,有助管理風險。我們察看中國在岸債券和離岸人民幣展現具韌性的基本因素。中國經濟預期在2022年下半年反彈,而當局推出進一步貨幣寬鬆措施,將吸引環球投資者資金流入中國債券市場。

 

下載全份文件

 


宏利投資管理,數據截至2022年2月24日。

彭博資訊,數據截至2022年2月24日。

  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認