Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

From moderate policy tightening to easing: China bond market continues to provide opportunities

16 December 2021

Paula Chan, Senior Portfolio Manager, Fixed Income

Isaac Meng, Portfolio Manager, Fixed Income

 

In this 2022 outlook, Paula Chan, Senior Portfolio Manager, Fixed Income, and Isaac Meng, Portfolio Manager, Fixed Income, outline why they believe China fixed income can continue to benefit from several key drivers.

As we approach the end of 2021, our constructive view on the Chinese onshore bond market at the beginning of the year has played out, despite a generally challenging environment for global fixed income markets due to rising interest rates. Going forward, we believe that China bonds should continue to benefit from several key drivers, namely the call to re-engage policy easing, sustainable currency strength, and their diversification benefits for global investors.

China bonds (based on the Bloomberg Global Aggregate China TR Bond Index) have outperformed other major bond categories, gaining +6.99% over the year to date – as of 30 November 2021, in US dollar (USD) terms. (see Chart 1).

Chart 1: Major bond market returns in 2021

Source: Bloomberg, data as of 30 November 2021. Past performance does not guarantee future results. It is not possible to invest directly in an index.

 

Related market moves:

  • The Bloomberg Global Aggregate China TR Index has returned +4.2% in local terms (YTD to 30 November)
  • The onshore renminbi (CNY) has appreciated by approximately +2.6% to 6.36 against the USD over the same period.
  • Chinese government bond (CGB) 10-year yields declined by 28 basis points (bps) to 2.86% from the beginning of 2021 to the end of November 2021
  • As US Treasury yields increased, the premium or yield pick-up in 10-year CGBs versus US Treasuries also narrowed by 81 bps to 1.42%.

China bond premium can attract yield-seeking investors

The strong absolute and relative performance of Chinese bonds in 2021 can be attributed to the Chinese government maintaining a tighter monetary and fiscal stance that has helped CGBs retain an attractive yield level relative to other global government bond yields. Since the pandemic began in the first half of 2020, the People’s Bank of China (PBOC) has cut the 7-day reverse repo rate by only 30 bps to 2.2%. Unlike many global peers, the PBOC has refrained from implementing quantitative easing and has, therefore, preserved the capacity or policy room to ease monetary policy at a later stage. Accordingly, CGBs stand out with the bond curve offering a positive yield spread of between 150-200 bps above G7 sovereign bonds, given policy rates for G7 countries are negative or zero-bound with deeply negative real bond yields.

The changing shape of monetary and fiscal policies

In terms of fiscal policy, China is the only major economy in the G201 to meaningfully tighten in 2021. Over the year, China’s fiscal impulse turned to -2.5% of GDP. The net issuance of government bonds (CGBs, local government financing, policy bank) declined by CNY 2.8 trillion over the first three quarters and is expected to be around CNY 2.4 trillion less than 2020 overall2. Moderate fiscal tightening has capped domestic demand and prices, while lower bond supplies have helped flatten the long end of the yield curve.

On the currency front, the CNY has appreciated by +2.6% against the USD and +8.3% against the CFETS currency basket, which measures CNY value against a trade-weighted basket of foreign currencies. The strength of the CNY has been underpinned by China’s record trade surplus of over US$650 billion as China’s economy benefitted from its resilient industrial supply chains, which have helped mitigate stagflation headwinds.

Overall, we think both China bonds and the CNY remain attractive given the above factors with ample risk-premium attached to China local bonds and the currency.

2022 macro themes: Policy easing, impact of COVID developments, and US rate normalisation

Looking ahead to 2022, we will closely watch the following three key macro themes and their implications.

1. Weakening of Chinese domestic demand: A call to re-engage policy easing

Chinese policymakers calibrated the 2022 economic planning at the annual Central Economic Work Conference on 10th December, where GDP growth and inflation targets, monetary policy, and fiscal budget objectives were agreed upon. We believe that sustaining a benign macro environment with stable growth and financial stability will be paramount ahead of the 20th Party Congress due to be held in the second half of 2022. The Party Congress is held every five years and is responsible for formally approving the membership of the Central Committee, which comprises the top leaders of the Communist Party of China.

Given the weaker economic data experienced in the second half of 2021, we believe there is a strong case for some moderate loosening of China’s monetary and fiscal stance, while additional credit and regulatory easing can be expected to provide relief to cushion the impact of the downturn in the property sector on the broader Chinese economy.

On 6th December, the PBOC made a broad-based 50 bps cut in the reserve requirement ratio (RRR) as widely expected by the market after the recent speech by Premier Li when he indicated that the RRR would be cut to support the real economy amid increasing signs of downside risk. According to the central bank, this will unlock CNY 1.2 trillion of long-term funding. We see the move as a clear sign of policy easing to address negative developments in the economy, while further monetary easing can still be expected in early 2022.

Chart 2: China government bonds stands out with positive yield spread

Source: Bloomberg, data as of 30 November 2021. Past performance does not guarantee future results. It is not possible to invest directly in an index.

2. COVID developments: The Omicron variant and evolution of pandemic stagflation supply shocks

While we are close to two years into the pandemic, there are still no signs of a clear ending in sight. Recently, risk markets have been roiled by the discovery of the Omicron variant and the uncertainty surrounding its impact on global growth. Economic data for the Chinese economy remains lacklustre, and a deeper pandemic could result in further stagflation supply shocks that would have important consequences on investors’ risk appetites and could drive their exposure to Chinese bonds in the short term.

3. Interest rate normalisation: An exit of pandemic stimulus, Fed tapering, and the path to higher rates

The Fed has proactively signalled its intention to increase the speed of tapering to exit its pandemic stimulus while the market is also currently pricing in two 25 bps rate hikes in the second half of 2022. Clearly, this will be an important theme for all asset classes and directly impact the attractiveness of Chinese bond yields versus US bond yields and determine the relative value of the CNY against the USD.

Our outlook for 2022: Duration, currency, and credit

To summarise, our baseline 2022 outlook for China bonds is as follows:

  • We think China onshore bonds are projected to provide low- to mid-single-digit returns for investors, with the PBOC to take moderate easing measures, including cutting repo rates by 10-20 bps. At the same time, the government’s fiscal stance will likely turn moderately expansionary.
  • Due to the increasing divergence in global macro-policy cycles, we expect China onshore bonds to maintain their low correlation to other fixed income markets and continue to provide potential diversification benefits for global fixed income portfolios.
  • CNY strength could continue into early 2022 due to China maintaining an elevated trade surplus, while foreign investor flows into onshore bonds remain strong. The strength of the CNY should also help create a window for the PBOC to ease monetary policy even when the Fed is embarking on a gradual interest rate normalisation.
  • Given the importance of the property sector as a key driver to China’s GDP growth, we believe the government will be cautious to avoid triggering a macro hard landing while continuing to reform the sector. We think the government has enough tools to stimulate this sector and ensure the non-real-estate segment remains intact, such as tax cuts for SMEs, PBOC’s lending facilities, and local government special bond issuances. With respect to onshore credit, we have seen very little contagion to non-property sectors following the volatility in the property sector while investor support for high quality SOE names remains in-tact.

From a positioning perspective, we believe investors can benefit from the following:

  • There is value in the intermediate and long-end of the yield curve to add duration both on an outright basis and relative to US rates.
  • We expect the CNY to remain relatively stable against the USD in the near term, as the currency should be anchored by a strong balance of payment flows. For portfolios where the CNY exposure is actively managed, this will be calibrated depending on developments related to COVID and on the extent of the divergence between PBOC and Fed monetary policies.
  • For credit, we see attractive valuations for high-quality names after the recent sell-off in September and October 2021 due to the volatility in the property sector.

To conclude, China bonds are expected to remain attractive in 2022, buoyed by potential moderate policy easing, China’s divergent macro-policy cycle versus other major economies, as well as sustainable strength in the CNY which has been supported by China’s elevated trade surplus and persistent investor inflows.

 

Download full PDF

 


Manulife Investment Management, as of December 2021.

2 WIND, Manulife Investment Management, as of December 2021.

  • Global Macro Outlook Q2 2022: An unexpected turn of events

    Mounting inflationary pressure, soaring Geopolitical tensions, and rising interest rates—recent developments have necessitated a reassessment of growth. We examine how they might shape global capital markets in the coming months.

    Read more
  • Long-term structural strengths and resilience of Indian economy to continue despite cyclical challenges

    Although significant cyclical challenges will likely persist in India over the short-term, the longer-term story based on deepening formalisation and a growing digital economy and manufacturing base remains intact.

    Read more
  • Global Healthcare: Spotlight continues to shine on the sector

    We discuss our recent findings regarding the COVID-19 pandemic and outline why the healthcare sector’s underlying fundamentals warrant a long-term allocation.

    Read more
See all
  • Global Macro Outlook Q2 2022: An unexpected turn of events

    Mounting inflationary pressure, soaring Geopolitical tensions, and rising interest rates—recent developments have necessitated a reassessment of growth. We examine how they might shape global capital markets in the coming months.

    read more
  • Long-term structural strengths and resilience of Indian economy to continue despite cyclical challenges

    Although significant cyclical challenges will likely persist in India over the short-term, the longer-term story based on deepening formalisation and a growing digital economy and manufacturing base remains intact.

    read more
  • Global Healthcare: Spotlight continues to shine on the sector

    We discuss our recent findings regarding the COVID-19 pandemic and outline why the healthcare sector’s underlying fundamentals warrant a long-term allocation.

    read more
see all
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

政策由適度緊縮轉為寬鬆:中國債券市場持續提供機遇

22/12/2021

陳珮珊,定息產品高級組合經理

孟原,定息產品組合經理

 

在本2022年前景展望中,定息產品高級組合經理陳珮珊和定息產品組合經理孟原剖析為何他們認為中國固定收益能繼續受惠於多股主要動力。

雖然利率上升令環球固定收益市場普遍面對嚴峻環境,但臨近2021年底,我們於年初對中國在岸債市所持的樂觀看法已成為事實。展望未來,我們認為中國債券應會繼續受惠於多股主要動力:市場對政府再度放寬政策的訴求、人民幣持續走強,以及中國債券為環球投資者帶來的分散投資優勢。

中國債券(根據彭博環球綜合中國債券總回報指數)表現優於其他主要債券類別,2021年初至11月30日以美元計錄得6.99%的升幅。(見圖1)。

圖1:2021年主要債市回報

資料來源:彭博資訊,數據截至2021年11月30日。過往表現並非未來業績的保證。投資者不可直接投資於指數。

 

相關市場走勢:

  • 彭博環球綜合中國債券總回報指數以本幣計升4.2%(年初至11月30日)
  • 在岸人民幣兌美元匯價於同期升值約2.6%至6.36的水平
  • 自2021年初至11月底,10年期中國政府債券孳息率下跌28基點至2.86%
  • 隨著美國國庫債券孳息率上升,10年期中國政府債券相對美國國庫券的溢價(或正息差)亦收窄81基點至1.42%

中國債券的溢價能夠吸引追求收益的投資者

中國債券在2021年的絕對和相對表現強勁,是由於中國政府維持偏緊的貨幣和財政措施,有助中國政府債券較其他環球政府債券保持吸引的孳息率水平。自疫情於2020年上半年爆發以來,中國人民銀行(人行)僅把七天逆回購利率下調30基點至2.2%。有別於環球多地央行,人行並無實施量化寬鬆政策,因此仍有能力或政策空間,可在較後階段放寬貨幣政策。因此,鑑於七國集團(G7)的政策利率處於負數或零水平,債券實質孳息率更處於深度負數區間,中國政府債券脫穎而出,提供較七國集團主權債券高150至200基點的正息差。

貨幣和財政政策持續變化

就財政政策而言,綜觀20國集團,中國是唯一在2021年顯著收緊政策的主要經濟體1。年內,中國政府的開支及稅收等變動跌至相當於國內生產總值的-2.5%。首三季的政府債券(中國政府債券、地方政府融資、政策性銀行)淨發債金額減少2.8萬億元人民幣,而且預期總發債金額較2020年減少約2.4萬億元人民幣2。內地政府適度收緊財政政策,令內需和物價受到約束,而債券供應減少,則有助長債孳息曲線趨於平坦。

貨幣表現方面,人民幣兌美元匯價升值2.6%,兌中國外匯交易中心貨幣籃子匯價(量度人民幣兌一個貿易加權外匯籃子的價值)更升8.3%。中國工業供應鏈表現強韌,有助緩減滯脹的不利因素,使經濟受惠,帶動內地錄得超過6,500億美元的貿易順差紀錄新高,為人民幣走強提供支持。

整體而言,鑑於上述因素,加上中國債券和人民幣的風險溢價適中,我們認為兩者仍具有吸引力。

2022年宏觀主題:政策放寬、疫情發展的影響及美國利率正常化

展望2022年,我們將密切關注以下三大主要宏觀主題及相關影響。

1.      中國內需轉弱:市場對政府再度放寬政策的訴求

中國政府在12月10日召開年度中央經濟工作會議,政策官員在會上協定2022年的經濟規劃,包括國內生產總值增長和通脹目標、貨幣政策和財政預算目標。我們相信,在2022年下半年召開二十大黨代表大會前,內地政府的最重要目標,是維持穩定增長和穩定金融市場的利好宏觀環境。黨代表大會每五年召開一次,負責正式批准由中國共產黨最高領導層組成的中央委員會的成員。

鑑於2021年下半年的經濟數據轉弱,我們認為中國有充分理由適度放寬貨幣和財政政策,而額外的信貸和監管寬鬆措施有望提供緩衝,抵禦中國房地產業衰退對廣泛經濟造成的影響。

國務院總理李克強在近期發表的演說表示,鑑於越來越多跡象顯示實質經濟面臨下行風險,因此將會降低存款準備金率以支持經濟,其後於12月6日,人行一如市場普遍預期全面下調存款準備金率50基點。據人行表示,此舉將會釋放1.2萬億元人民幣的長期資金。我們認為降準是人行為應對負面經濟發展而放寬政策的一個明確跡象,預期在2022年初仍會有貨幣寬鬆政策出台。

圖2:中國政府債券表現出色,並提供正息差

資料來源:彭博資訊,數據截至2021年11月30日。過往表現並非未來業績的保證。投資者不可直接投資於指數。

2. 疫情發展:Omicron變種病毒和疫情帶來供應衝擊,導致滯脹出現

雖然疫情已持續接近兩年,但仍無明確跡象顯示即將結束。最近,Omicron變種病毒的出現,加上其對環球經濟增長影響的不明朗因素,為風險資產市場帶來震盪。中國的經濟數據依然乏善可陳,而更嚴重的疫情可能進一步帶來供應衝擊,導致滯脹出現,這將對投資者的風險胃納產生重要影響,並可能在短期內推動他們對中國債券作出投資。

3. 利率正常化:聯儲局撤銷疫情刺激措施、縮減量寬,以及展開加息週期

聯儲局積極表示有意加快縮減量寬的步伐,以撤銷疫情刺激措施,目前市場價格亦反映當局在2022年下半年加息兩次,每次25基點。顯然,這對所有資產類別而言是一個重要主題,將直接影響中國債券相對美國債券的孳息率吸引力,以及決定人民幣兌美元的相對價值。

我們對2022年的展望:存續期、貨幣和信貸

概括而言,我們對2022年中國債券的基本展望預測如下:

  • 我們認為隨著人行採取適度寬鬆措施,包括把回購利率下調10至20基點,預計中國在岸債券將為投資者帶來低至中單位數的回報。與此同時,內地政府的財政政策立場很可能會轉為適度擴張。
  • 鑑於環球宏觀政策周期的差異越來越大,我們預期中國在岸債券將與其他固定收益市場維持低相關性,並繼續為環球固定收益投資組合提供潛在的分散投資優勢。
  • 中國維持高水平的貿易順差,而流入在岸債券的外國投資者資金仍然強勁,因此人民幣走強的情況有望持續至2022年初。此外,人民幣走強應有助為人行創造放寬貨幣政策的空間,即使聯儲局正準備逐步把利率正常化。
  • 考慮到房地產業對推動中國國內生產總值增長發揮主要作用,我們相信內地政府在持續改革房地產業的同時,將審慎避免觸發宏觀經濟硬著陸。我們認為內地政府擁有足夠工具,例如減少向中小企業徵稅、人行實施借貸便利,以及地方政府發行專項債券,以刺激房地產業的發展,並確保非房地產領域不受影響。就在岸信貸而言,房地產業出現的波動影響幾乎並無蔓延至非房地產業,而投資者對優質國有企業的支持保持不變。

從配置角度來看,我們相信投資者能受惠於以下因素:

  • 直接及相對美國利率延長中期和長期債券的存續期存在價值。
  • 強勁的國際收支平衡資金流有望為人民幣帶來支持,因此我們預期在短期內,人民幣兌美元匯價將相對維持穩定。就可以主動管理人民幣風險的投資組合而言,將根據疫情相關發展,以及人行與聯儲局的貨幣政策差異程度,對人民幣風險作出調整。
  • 信貸方面,在2021年9月和10月房地產業波動導致市場出現拋售後,我們認為一些優質房地產信貸的估值吸引。

總括而言,中國政府可能適度放寬政策、內地的宏觀政策周期有別於其他主要經濟體,以及內地貿易順差龐大和投資者資金持續流入支持人民幣持續走強,均有望令中國債券在2022年保持吸引力。

 

詳情請下載全份文件

 


宏利投資管理,截至2021年12月。

2 WIND、宏利投資管理,截至2021年12月。

  • 全球宏觀經濟展望2022年第3季:駕馭風雲變幻的環境

    我們會進一步了解宏觀局勢如何影響環球第三季度的經濟,以及能提供強靭力的投資項目。

    閱讀更多
  • 全球宏觀展望2022年第2季:形勢變化 出乎意料

    通脹壓力攀升、地緣政治摩擦增加及息口上升,最近事態發展令人不得不重新評估經濟增長的前景。我們剖析這些事件如何未來數月影響環球資本市場。

    閱讀更多
  • 儘管面臨周期性挑戰,印度經濟保持長期結構性優勢和抗逆力

    儘管印度短期內可能持續面對重大周期性挑戰,但經濟正規化持續深化和數碼經濟增長的長期主題保持不變。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 全球宏觀經濟展望2022年第3季:駕馭風雲變幻的環境

    我們會進一步了解宏觀局勢如何影響環球第三季度的經濟,以及能提供強靭力的投資項目。

    閱讀更多
  • 全球宏觀展望2022年第2季:形勢變化 出乎意料

    通脹壓力攀升、地緣政治摩擦增加及息口上升,最近事態發展令人不得不重新評估經濟增長的前景。我們剖析這些事件如何未來數月影響環球資本市場。

    閱讀更多
  • 儘管面臨周期性挑戰,印度經濟保持長期結構性優勢和抗逆力

    儘管印度短期內可能持續面對重大周期性挑戰,但經濟正規化持續深化和數碼經濟增長的長期主題保持不變。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認