Skip to main content Skip to notification content
Back

Fixed income strategy:


Preferred Securities

Aim to offer compelling yields with high credit quality amid rising rate environment

Why preferred securities in rising rate environment?

Learn more

How could preferred securities help enhance your income potential?

Learn more

How our sector allocation help to generates a stable income stream?

Learn more

Why preferred securities in rising rate environment?

 


Preferred securities are historically less sensitive to interest rate changes and have been performing well in the past two rate hike cycles. 

 

Historical performance during past rate cycles1

Perferred-Securities_Chart1_Desktop.png

There are couple of reasons for preferred securities to standout:

  1. High-yielding buffer and extra carry: Yields of preferred securities stand out from other investment grade bonds and are as competitive as those of high yield bonds. From a total return perspective, the higher the income from yields, the more the compensation for the loss in bond price when rates hike.
  2. Low duration & fixed-to-floating rate coupon: Preferreds are generally low duration securities as most are callable after a certain period of time. Some preferreds having fixed-to-floating rate coupon also offer investors some coupon protection from rising rates compared with traditional bonds.
  3. Financial companies dominated in preferred market: Margins for banks typically improve when yield spreads widen or interest rates go higher, this can lead to higher profitability which also helps support the investment performance for preferred securities. 

 

How could preferred securities help enhance your income potential?

 

As the COVID situation remains fluid, pressuring recovery in the economy, investors would not only look for higher yielding asset classes but also focus on higher asset quality to seek more stable and sustainable income.

Preferred securities, with an average investment grade, are offering around 4.3% yield to maturity, which is more attractive when compared to 1.2% of US Treasuries and 2.4% of US investment grade corporate bonds2

 

Yield of major fixed income assets(%)2

How our sector allocation can help to generate a stable income stream

 

In terms of sector allocation, we differ greatly from our peers and the preferred market, as we have smaller allocations in financials, and higher allocation in electric utilities where most operators have a regulated rate of return. This can help provide highly stable and predictable stream of earnings that are secured by a lack of competition and low sensitivity from commodity prices and the economic cycle.

 

Sector Allocation (%)3

For more details, please contact your Manulife Financial Planning Manager or bank relationship manager.

 

 

 

Looking for potential income to sweeten your retirement?

Consider the Enhanced Distribution Retirement Investment Series.

Looking for potential income to sweeten your retirement?

Consider the Enhanced Distribution Retirement Investment Series.

 

Sources:

1. Source: Bloomberg, as of 31 December 2021. Preferred securities market is represented by ICE BofA US Capital Securities Index (C0CS)  for the performance period of 2000 to 2012 as ICE BofA US All Capital Securities Index (I0CS) has shorter history starting from April 2012; Rebased to 100 on 31 December 1999. Monthly data. 

2. Bloomberg, as of 31 December 2021. Index ratings refer to Bloomberg composite rating. US HY bonds are represented by ICE BofA US High Yield Index; Preferred securities are represented by ICE BofA US All Capital Securities Index; US IG Corp bonds are represented by ICE BofA US Corporate Index, US treasuries are represented by ICE BofA US Treasury & Agency Index. A positive distribution yield does not imply a positive return. For illustrative purposes only. Past performance is not indicative of future performance.

3. Source: Bloomberg, Manulife Investment Management, as of 31 December 2021. Preferred securities measured by ICE BofAML US All Capital Securities Index. Performance is for reference only. Sector breakdown by Bloomberg Barclay level 2-3 classification. Portfolio holdings and characteristics are subject to change at any time. Information about the asset allocation is historical and is not an indication of the future composition. The securities described are for illustrative purpose only and do not constitute any investment recommendation or advice. It should not be assumed that an investment in these securities or equities was or will be profitable. Due to rounding, the total may not be equal to 100%.

 

Contact your Manulife Financial Planning Manager

Call (852) 2108 1110

跳到主要内容 跳到通知内容
返回

 

固定收益策略︰

 

優先證券

旨在於利率上升的環境下,提供相對吸引的收益率,並擁有卓越的信貸質素

為何在加息環境下考慮優先證券?

了解更多

優先證券可如何改善您的潛在收益?

了解更多

我們的行業配置可如何製造穩定的收益來源?

了解更多

為何在加息環境下考慮優先證券?



優先證券在歷史上對利率的敏感率較低,而在過去兩次加息周期中,優先證券的表現亦理想。

 

優先證券在不同利率環境下的歷史表現1

優先證券表現突出,有幾個原因:

  1. 高收益可作緩衝及提供額外利差 :優先證券收益率高於其他投資級別債券,同時可媲美於高收益債券。 從總回報的角度看,較高的收益可以較大程度上彌補債價在利率上升時的跌幅。
  2. 短存續期及「定息轉浮息」的票面息率:多數優先證券具提前贖回條款,令其有效存續期普遍較短。而部分優先證券票息為「定息轉浮息」,與傳統的債券相比,這能在加息期間為投資者帶來一些票息上的保障。
  3. 金融業佔比較高:在孳息率上升或利率上升時,銀行的利潤一般會改善,有利於推高盈利,從而支持優先證券的投資表現。

 

優先證券可如何改善您的潛在收益?

 

新冠疫情仍存在變數,對經濟復甦造成負面影響,因為投資者並不會只追求高收益率的資產類別,它們更會專注於資產的質素,以尋求更穩定及可持續的收益。

平均信貸評級達到投資級別的優先證券,到期收益率大約4.3%,較美國國債及美國投資級別企業債券收益率分別1.2%及2.4%更為吸引2

 

主要債券資產的收益率(%)2

2022-Perferred Securities

我們的行業配置可如何製造穩定的收益來源?

 

在行業配資上,我們與優先證券市場及其他同類基金不同,我們較少配置於金融行業,較多配置於營運商有准許回報的電力公共事業。這行業缺乏競爭,對商品價格及經濟周期敏感度較低,可為組合提供穩定而可預視的收份來源。

 

資產配置 (%)3

 

詳情請聯絡您的宏利理財策劃經理或銀行客戶經理 。

 

 

 

 

想為退休生活增添潛在入息?

了解更多「本息同享」退休投資系列

想為退休生活增添潛在入息?

了解更多「本息同享」退休投資系列

 

資料來源︰

1. 彭博,截至2021年12月31日。由於ICE BofA US All Capital Securities Index (I0CS)於2012年成立,年期較短,故此處優先證券市場以ICE BofA US Capital Securities Index (C0CS) 代表,重設1999年12月31日為100。月份數據。

2. 彭博,宏利投資管理,截至2021年12月31日。 指數投資級別參考彭博綜合評級。美國高收益企債以ICE BofA美國高收益債券指數代表。優先證券市場以ICE BofA全資本證券指數(I0CS)代表。美國BBB評級企業債以ICE BofA美國企業BBB級別債券指數代表。美國投資評級企業債以ICE BofA美國企業債券指數代表。美國國債以ICE BofA美國國債及政府機構債券指數代表。到期收益率是指債券持有至到期日的預期收益率。即使錄得正分派收益, 亦非意味可取得正回報。過往表現不代表未來的表現。

3. 彭博,截至2021年12月31日。優先證券市場以優先證券以洲際交易所美國全資本證券指數 (I0CS)代表代表。表現只供參考。行業分佈按Bloomberg Barclays level 2-3 class 劃分。投資組合及特質隨時可能發生變化。資產分配的資訊為往績數據,並不表示將來的組合。所描述的證券僅用於說明目的,不構成任何投資建議或要約。投資者不應假定對這些證券或股票的投資已經或將會有盈利。基於四捨五入的原因,總數可能不等於100%。

 

 

聯絡您的宏利理財策劃經理

致電 (852) 2108 1110