Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

Manulife InvestChoice – Q3 Market Outlook

August 2021

Quarterly Macro Outlook

It’s time to think beyond the reopening and examine factors that could drive the post-COVID-19 global economy. While many countries have only just embarked on the path toward reopening, the world’s largest economies—the United States and China—are already well on their way, with Europe and Canada following closely behind as vaccination rollouts accelerate in those countries. Indeed, the road map to reopening has been laid out, and uncertainties surrounding the virus, vaccination, and how economies might fare as they reopen have diminished substantially. Now that the global macro environment is in the last innings of the reopen/reflation narrative, what comes next?

 

All things considered, there are important factors that remain supportive of risk assets: Global growth is likely to be running at historically high levels throughout 2021 (and into 2022), and monetary and fiscal policy will continue to be extraordinarily accommodative. In absolute terms, most global macro indicators appear very strong; however, we believe these supportive factors will begin to diminish on a relative basis going forward, implying that we’re currently at peak macro—and the road ahead could be bumpy.

 

In our view, the somewhat more challenging macro environment should be able to mitigate the gradual rise in market rates, and we expect it to be less damaging to equities. Crucially, we believe sector selection, country selection, and regional focus will play a very important role in asset allocation decisions in the coming months—the ability to distinguish which elements in the macro narrative have reached peak (versus those that haven’t) could be critical to outcomes in the third and fourth quarters of 2021.

Asia's economic outlook continues to hinge on the course of the pandemic, despite the region's early successes in containment. The region is lagging in vaccine rollouts relative to the United States and Europe. In addition, the latest virus surge led to significant tightening in people movement, with South Korea and Hong Kong registering the highest rates of mobility currently, and Malaysia and India at the opposite end of the spectrum.1 The good news is that the region’s manufacturing sector hasn’t been subject to full lockdown restrictions and is holding up better relative to last March, thanks to strong foreign demand for Asian exports. Governments have also responded with more stimulus measures to support economies through lockdowns, albeit in varying degrees, thereby amplifying the unevenness of the recovery. The recent economic setback reinforces our view that interest rates will remain low across the region for some time to come. 

Fiscal spending in the United States and globally is likely to stay elevated (which explains why the five-year inflation outlook in a post-COVID-19 world is higher than before COVID-19); however, we expect the fiscal impulse is going to wane significantly in the next two years. Should this happen, it’ll translate—mathematically—into a sizable drag on growth in 2022. In our view, this should be understood as a fiscal cliff. In fact, when the expected reduction in fiscal spending is expressed as a percentage share of the expected resultant fall in fiscal deficit, it’s likely to be the largest fiscal cliff since the 1940s. Unsurprisingly, this has fueled speculation that the current growth cycle will be a very short one. While we expect a sizable drop in U.S. growth in late 2022, we certainly don’t expect a recession to materialize.

1 Our World in Data, as of May 8, 2021.

Disclaimer – Quarterly Macro Outlook

Manulife Investment Management is the global wealth and asset management segment of Manulife Financial Corporation. The information and/or analysis contained in this material have been compiled or arrived at from sources believed to be reliable but Manulife Investment Management does not make any representation as to their accuracy, correctness, usefulness or completeness and does not accept liability for any loss arising from the use hereof or the information and/or analysis contained herein. Neither Manulife Investment Management or its affiliates, nor any of their directors, officers or employees shall assume any liability or responsibility for any direct or indirect loss or damage or any other consequence of any person acting or not acting in reliance on the information contained herein.

This material was prepared solely for educational and informational purposes and does not constitute a recommendation, professional advice, an offer, solicitation or an invitation by or on behalf of Manulife Investment Management to any person to buy or sell any security. Nothing in this material constitutes investment, legal, accounting or tax advice, or a representation that any investment or strategy is suitable or appropriate to your individual circumstances, or otherwise constitutes a personal recommendation to you. The economic trend analysis expressed in this material does not indicate any future investment performance result.   This material was produced by and the opinions expressed are those of Manulife Investment Management as of the date of this publication, and are subject to change based on market and other conditions. Past performance is not an indication of future results. Investment involves risk, including the loss of principal. In considering any investment, if you are in doubt on the action to be taken, you should consult professional advisers.

Proprietary Information – Please note that this material must not be wholly or partially reproduced, distributed, circulated, disseminated, published or disclosed, in any form and for any purpose, to any third party without prior approval from Manulife Investment Management.

This material is issued by Manulife Investment Management (Hong Kong) Limited. This material has not been reviewed by the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC).

We welcome your feedback

We'd love to hear what you think of our website. Please let us know your feedback in our 1 minute survey >>

View more
We welcome your feedback

We'd love to hear what you think of our website. Please let us know your feedback in our 1 minute survey >>

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

宏利智晰投資服務  第三季季度點評

2021年8月

季度宏觀展望

現在是時候思考重啟經濟以後的情況,審視在後疫情時期推動環球經濟的因素。不少國家剛展開重啟經濟之路,全球最大經濟體-美國及中國-早已踏上旅程,而歐洲及加拿大在疫苗接種計劃加速推行之下亦緊隨其後。事實上,各國早已制訂重啟經濟的路線圖,有關病毒、疫苗及各個經濟體重啟之後表現的不確定因素亦明顯減少。

 

考慮各項因素之後,風險資產仍獲得重要因素的支持:環球增長可望在2021年(及2022年)創歷史高位,貨幣和財政政策則會持續異常寬鬆。從絕對角度來說,大部份環球宏觀指標似乎相當強勁;然而,我們認為這些利好因素將會相對轉弱,意味著宏觀因素正處於見頂水平,前路或會崎嶇不平。

 

根據我們的觀點,面對挑戰的宏觀環境應能緩減市場利率逐步上升帶來的影響,並預期股票受到的衝擊會較少。值得注意的是,我們認為行業篩選、國家/地區篩選及地區焦點將成為未來數月資產配置決定的重要因素,而能夠識別那些已經見頂的宏觀論述(對比那些尚未見頂的因素) 將是影響2021年第三季和第四季投資表現的關鍵。

雖然亞洲在控疫方面取得初步成功,但區內經濟前景,仍然取決於疫情發展。亞洲地區的疫苗接種步伐落後歐美。此外,最近病毒肆虐,導致人口流動明顯收緊;目前,南韓和香港的人流最高, 而馬來西亞和印度的人流則最低1。幸而,區內製造業並未受全面封鎖措施限制,加上亞洲出口產品的外需強勁,令製造業表現較去年3月份更穩健。各地政府亦推出更多刺激措施,以支持封鎖期間的經濟發展,但刺激力度各異,加劇了區內經濟復甦步伐不一的情況。近期經濟回落,亦印證了我們的觀點:區內利率將在未來一段時間內保持低企。

美國:財政政策支持見頂

美國及環球的財政開支可能會持續偏高(這是導致後疫情時期的五年通脹展望高於疫情之前水平的原因);不過,我們預計財政剌激將於未來兩年明顯轉弱。如果發生這個情況,從數學上來說將會嚴重拖累2022年的增長表現;我們認為應該視之為「財政懸崖」。事實上,只要把財政支出的預期減幅以佔財政赤字預期跌幅的百分比列示,便會發現這可能是1940年代以來最嚴重的財政懸崖。這個情況自然令外界揣測現時的增長周期將會相當短暫。雖然我們預期美國經濟增長將在2022年底顯著下跌,但並不認為會出現經濟衰退。

1 Our World in Data,截至2021年5月8日。

免責聲明 -季度宏觀展望

宏利投資管理是宏利金融的環球財富及資產管理分部。宏利投資管理乃根據其認為可靠的來源編匯或得出本文件的資料及/或分析,惟對其準確性、正確性、有用性及完整性概不發表任何聲明,對因使用有關資料及/或分析而引致的任何損失亦概不負責。有關組合的投資項目、資產分配或於不同國家分布的投資均屬過往的資料,並非日後投資組合的指標,日後的投資組合將有所改變。宏利投資管理、其聯屬公司或彼等之任何董事、高級職員或僱員,對任何人士倚賴或不倚賴本文件所載資料行事而引致的任何直接或間接損失、損害或任何其他後果,概不承擔法律責任或其他責任。

本文件的資料僅供參考,並不構成代表宏利投資管理向任何人士提出買賣任何證券的建議、專業意見、要約或邀請。本文件的資料不得視為現時或過去的建議,或游說買賣任何投資產品或採納任何投資策略的要約。本文件所載的所有資料概不構成投資、法律、會計或稅務意見,或任何投資或策略適用於閣下個別情況的聲明,或構成向閣下提出的個人建議。本文件所載的經濟趨勢分析並非預示未來的任何投資表現結果。本文件內容由宏利投資管理編製,當中的觀點為撰寫文件當日的意見,並可予以更改。過往回報並不預示未來業績。投資涉及風險,包括損失本金。閣下在考慮任何投資時,如對所採取的行動有任何疑問,應諮詢專業顧問的意見。

專有資料-請注意:未取得宏利投資管理的事先批准前,不得以任何形式及基於任何目的,向第三方複製、分派、傳閱、發佈、刊登或披露本文件的全部或部份內容。

本文件由宏利投資管理(香港)有限公司刊發,證券及期貨事務監察委員會並未審閱此文件。

我們重視您對網站的意見。只需一分鐘回答幾條簡單問題可助我們為您提供更佳的使用經驗。提供意見 >>

查看更多

我們重視您對網站的意見。只需一分鐘回答幾條簡單問題可助我們為您提供更佳的使用經驗。提供意見 >>

查看更多
確認