Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

US inflation outlook

9 June, 2021

Frances Donald, Chief Economist
 

We’re entering a period where concerns about inflation have reached fever pitch. As such, inflation-related data releases are likely to be scrutinized closely for clues pertaining to what could happen next. In this market note, Frances Donald, Global Chief Economist and Global Head of Macroeconomic Strategy, shares her inflation outlook.

 

 

First, we expect to see a sizable pop in the already relatively elevated Consumer Price Index (CPI) readings, beginning with April’s 4.2% year-over-year rise¹—which is likely to head even higher in May. Throughout the end of Q2 and into the beginning of Q3, we’re also likely to encounter ongoing upside surprises across a host of price measures, from import prices to prices paid indexes in surveys.

Second, the pace of inflation should then begin to slow meaningfully in late Q3 2021 and continue into 2022 as the mismatch in demand and supply begins to ease. The handoff from goods price inflation to services price inflation, which typically takes some time, should also feed into that narrative. Crucially, we also expect labor supply to improve by late Q3, which should mollify concerns about wage pressures. This period should confirm that sizable increases in headline inflation were, indeed, transitory. 

Finally, as we peer into 2023 and beyond, we see scope for slightly higher structural inflation (in the 2.0% to 2.5% realm versus the 1.5% to 2.0% range during the prepandemic period) as the delayed effects of higher shelter costs, infrastructure spending, lending activity, and medical costs translate into moderate longer-term price pressure.

Note that throughout our forecast period, we expect core inflation to remain below headline inflation (nearly all the time) and, crucially, within the U.S. Federal Reserve’s (Fed’s) average 2.0% inflation targeting mandate. 

The global inflation picture remains benign

The United States isn’t an island—U.S. inflation is heavily correlated to global inflation, which remains muted. Notably, Chinese credit trends are consistent with future weaker inflation in China, which tends to filter through to U.S. inflation through trade and global forces. Crucially, the relatively weaker U.S. dollar has been an important contributor to inflation in the United States and signs of further weakness will translate into higher import prices. 

US inflation outlook: an overview


Source: Manulife Investment Management, as of 13 May 2021.

 

Download full PDF

1 U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 12, 2021.

  • The Fed remains hawkish, but easing could occur before the end of 2023

    The Fed’s decision to raise US interest rates by 75 basis points to a target range of 3%-3.25% was well priced into the markets.We describe the factors contributing to the Fed’s increasingly hawkish tone and explain why easing could occur before the end of 2023.

    Read more
  • The high-yield market isn't signaling a recession

    Through the interest-rate volatility and higher inflation so far in 2022, we haven't seen a reason to abandon high yield. If anything, the higher-quality segment of this market could provide a welcome boost to a portfolio's risk-adjusted return potential.

    Read more
  • U.S. banks’ fundamentals continue to strengthen despite the economic slowdown

    The latest quarterly earnings reports from U.S. regional banks confirm the favorable investment outlook as loan growth and an improved interest-rate environment provide a tailwind for the industry, in our view.

    Read more
See all
  • The Fed remains hawkish, but easing could occur before the end of 2023

    The Fed’s decision to raise US interest rates by 75 basis points to a target range of 3%-3.25% was well priced into the markets.We describe the factors contributing to the Fed’s increasingly hawkish tone and explain why easing could occur before the end of 2023.

    Read more
  • The high-yield market isn't signaling a recession

    Through the interest-rate volatility and higher inflation so far in 2022, we haven't seen a reason to abandon high yield. If anything, the higher-quality segment of this market could provide a welcome boost to a portfolio's risk-adjusted return potential.

    Read more
  • U.S. banks’ fundamentals continue to strengthen despite the economic slowdown

    The latest quarterly earnings reports from U.S. regional banks confirm the favorable investment outlook as loan growth and an improved interest-rate environment provide a tailwind for the industry, in our view.

    Read more
See all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

美國通脹展望

08/06/2021

Frances Donald, 首席經濟師
 

市場正進入對通脹感到極度憂慮的時期,因此可能會仔細審視與通脹相關的數據公布,預測接下來出現的情況。在今期市場通訊,環球首席經濟師兼環球宏觀經濟策略部主管Frances Donald將分享其通脹展望。

 

首先,我們預期目前已相對偏高的消費物價指數將會大幅上升。指數在4月份按年上升4.2%1 ,5月份或進一步揚升。在第二季末至第三季初,多項價格指標可能持續錄得出乎意料的升幅,包括進口價格以至調查所得的價格支付指數。

其次,鑑於供求落差的情況開始緩和,通脹步伐料在2021年第三季末出現顯著放緩,並持續至2022年。一般來說,商品價格通脹需要一段時間才能傳遞至服務價格通脹,這亦有望支持上述情況。重要的是,我們亦預期到了第三季末,勞動力供應將有所改善,有助緩和工資壓力的憂慮。這段時期可確認,整體通脹的顯著升勢其實只屬暫時性質。 

最後,展望2023年及以後,由於住屋成本、基建開支、貸款活動和醫療費用增加的延遲效應,將會帶來溫和的長期價格壓力,我們預計結構性通脹將略為上升(升幅介乎2.0%至2.5%,疫情期間則介乎1.5%至2.0%)。

值得注意的是,在預測期內,我們預計核心通脹率幾乎一直維持低於整體通脹率的水平,而最重要的是,核心通脹率將處於聯儲局的2.0%平均通脹目標範圍內。 

環球通脹情況仍然溫和

美國並非唯一面對通脹的國家,當地情況與環球通脹息息相關,而目前環球通脹維持低企。值得注意的是,中國信貸趨勢與當地日後通脹轉弱的展望相符,而內地通脹往往透過貿易和環球動力為美國通脹帶來影響。重要的是,美元相對走弱,成為推動美國通脹的重要因素;美元展現進一步貶值的跡象,將導致進口價格上升。  

美國通脹展望概覽


資料來源:宏利投資管理,截至2021年5月13日。

 

下載全份文件

1美國勞工統計局,2021年5月12日。

  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認