Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Manulife Financial Planning Manager

US election: What’s next for Asian markets?

10 November, 2020

Ronald Chan, Chief Investment Officer Equities, Asia ex-Japan

On Tuesday 3 November 2020, American voters decided who holds the balance of power in Washington.  President-elect Joe Biden won the election (7 November, ET), and at the time of writing (9 November, HKT), President Trump has not formally conceded defeat1. The control of the Senate is still unknown as there are two run-off races to be held in January 2021 in Georgia2. In this investment note, Ronald Chan, Chief Investment Officer (Equities, Asia ex-Japan) examines the potential investment implications for Asian equities under Joe Biden’s presidency. 
  

Asia, especially North Asia, could benefit

Under a Joe Biden presidency, the foreign policy order of preference is expected to be: 

  • Rebuild relationships with America’s allies 
  • Narrow the income gap
  • Focus on China

From a foreign policy and investment perspective, we believe that negative sentiment is likely to soften. While Sino-US relations would not be expected to improve significantly, the bellicose rhetoric and sharp policy swings of the Trump administration might be fewer under a new administration. Even though both sides share common ground on climate change and carbon neutral environmental goals, human rights will remain on the agenda. Also, we do not think that the tariffs placed on China since 2018 will be rolled back. That said, the perception of trade conflicts and tension would ease.

From a US-dollar perspective, the currency is expected to remain weak, which should be a positive to emerging Asia as a whole with a tilt towards the procyclical currency in North Asia. In a split Congress scenario, US tax, healthcare and relief policies under the new government are likely to be more reactive than proactive. Any discussions about further assistance will likely end up in a deadlock. 

With COVID-19 being the highest priority for the new administration, the US economy will probably enter a “W-shaped” recovery and experience a lower growth path, especially if an effective vaccine is unavailable to the general public. We view this as a positive for China, as the country has recovered well from COVID-19 with third-quarter GDP at 4.9% (year-on-year change, after 3.2% in the second quarter3). More capital is therefore expected to flow into China given the growth divergence. Lastly, Biden’s policies on mending ties with countries in the developed markets should favour multi-national companies as geopolitical risks subside.

A closer look at the election impact on North Asia 

Over the past four years, the US administration has strategically placed restrictions to hinder large-scale electronic device producers and burgeoning semiconductor developers in China. It has also executed a broader containment strategy of China’s economic development in other key sectors. This has benefited high-tech producers in Taiwan and Korea.

What will a new administration mean for North Asia? 

We expect potentially moderate relief from escalating Sino-US trade and tech tensions, but the general strategy of curbing China’s technological rise may not change in the longer term. One should expect China to become more attuned to the multinational rule-based approach as the country rises in global stature. While milder rhetoric may see multinational companies in China slow down the process of supply-chain relocation, they will also be interested in the “dual circulation – Made for China” agenda as prescribed in 14th five-year plan. 

A closer look at the election impact on South-East Asia

As we wrote before, ever since the Sino-US trade war started in 2018 and intensified in 2019, Asian countries have been focusing on self-help policies that promote growth. We envisaged that countries would organise themselves more around the concept of regionalisation than globalisation. 

Therefore, we believe the supply-chain shift for low-end tech and manufacturing production lines to South-East Asia will continue. Also, a weaker US dollar would lower the financing costs for South-East Asia companies, which, in turn, helps to attract more foreign direct flows and investment. The recent announcement that Chinese firms will collaborate with businesses from France, Japan and Korea (among others) to invest an estimated US$35 billion in Indonesian nickel mines and facilities by 2033 is a case in point4

In India, the path of oil prices warrants attention, as the country has been benefiting from declining oil prices over the year-to-date, which, to a large extent, improves the country’s balance of payments. 

It’s likely that Biden’s policy on Iran and immigration will have positive implications for India’s oil imports, as well as its IT outsourcing industries. In addition, we believe that manufacturing growth will continue to be led by the government’s supportive “Made in India” policies (incentives and tax cuts for domestic production) and a conducive global environment that is looking for a supply base outside of China. 

Asia’s robust growth drivers remain

Although the US election results will have certain impacts on North Asia and some indirect effects on South-East Asia, it’s important to note that the result is a standalone event and not an end game. Instead, it’s more a gauge of future US policy direction and its transmission to Asia. Indeed, Asia possesses many growth drivers that are adapting to the way people consume, react, and transact in a post-pandemic world. For one, Asia still maintains higher GDP growth differentials versus developed markets. As the region becomes increasingly self-reliant and develops its own trading, technology, and consumption ecosystem, we believe investors who want a stake in Asia will need to explore more opportunities in this part of the world.

 

 

Download full PDF

  • Vaccine for COVID-19: Is the wait finally over?

    Biopharmaceutical manufacturers Pfizer/BioNTech and Moderna recently announced encouraging interim data for their COVID-19 vaccine candidates, we look at the short and long-term implications of the latest development.

    Read more
  • Potential implications of the US presidential election on Asian fixed income

    We analyse the impact of the US election on Asian fixed income, examining how a potentially favourable macro backdrop may amplify the strong fundamentals of the asset class.

    Read more
  • Potential implications of the US presidential election on China fixed income

    We analyse the potential impact of the US presidential election on China’s fixed income market and provide insights into the impact of the country’s new five-year plan.

    Read more
See all

 

 

1 A Bloomberg: “Biden declares victory, calls on Americans to mend divisions”, 8 November 2020; The Guardian: “Donald Trump refuses to concede defeat as recriminations begin”, 7 November 2020. 

2 Financial Times: 8 November 2020.

3 National Bureau Statistics of China, 21 October 2020.

4 Reuters: “Indonesia sees China firms lead “commitment” for $35 billion nickel investments”, 16 October 2020.

  • Vaccine for COVID-19: Is the wait finally over?

    Biopharmaceutical manufacturers Pfizer/BioNTech and Moderna recently announced encouraging interim data for their COVID-19 vaccine candidates, we look at the short and long-term implications of the latest development.

    Read more
  • Potential implications of the US presidential election on Asian fixed income

    We analyse the impact of the US election on Asian fixed income, examining how a potentially favourable macro backdrop may amplify the strong fundamentals of the asset class.

    Read more
  • Potential implications of the US presidential election on China fixed income

    We analyse the potential impact of the US presidential election on China’s fixed income market and provide insights into the impact of the country’s new five-year plan.

    Read more
See all
We welcome your feedback

We'd love to hear what you think of our new website. Please let us know your feedback in our 1 minute survey >>

View more
We welcome your feedback

We'd love to hear what you think of our new website. Please let us know your feedback in our 1 minute survey >>

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

美國大選:亞洲將何去何從?

10/11/2020

陳致洲, 首席投資總監, 亞洲(除日本)股票

2020年11月3日(星期二),美國選民投票決定誰將入主白宮。民主黨總統候選人拜登在美國東岸時間11 月7日宣布勝出總統席位,在撰寫本文時,現任總統特朗普並未正式承認落敗1。與此同時,參議院控制權誰屬仍有未定案,喬治亞州於2021年1月份需要重選兩個參議院議席2。亞洲區(日本除外)股票投資部首席投資總監陳致洲在本文探討拜登作為美國總統對亞洲資產的潛在投資影響。  
  

 

亞洲區(特別是北亞地區)將會受惠

我們預期,拜登當選總統後,其外交政策的優次將會如下: 

  • 重建與美國盟友的關係 
  • 縮窄收入差距
  • 聚焦中國

我們相信,市場對於美國的外交政策及投資方面的負面情緒可能稍為緩和。雖然預期中美關係並不會有大幅改善,但在新政府下,嚴厲的措辭和急速的政策轉變或會減少。雖然中美雙方在氣候變化,以及減少碳排放的環保目標等有一致取態,但人權依然是政策議程的一個重點,此外,我們認為美國不會撤回自2018年起對中國實施的關稅。儘管如此,市場對貿易糾紛及緊張局勢的觀感將可緩和。

從美元走勢而言,預計美元將會保持弱勢,整體而言,有利整體新興亞洲市場表現,對北亞市場內的順周期貨幣而言稍為更有利。在國會分治的可能性下,美國的稅收、醫療及支援經濟方案,將會是被動式的反應、而非主動式的出擊。任何有關進一步援助的討論,最終很有可能會演變成僵局。 

新政府上場後,將會以控制疫情為當務之急,美國經濟或會出現「W形」復甦及較低增長的發展軌跡,尤其是當有效的疫苗仍未能有效應用到一般大眾層面。我們認為,這個情況將利好中國市場,因為中國已從2019新型冠狀病毒(COVID-19) 中復甦,國內生產總值在第二季增長3.2%,其後於第三季錄得4.9%的增長(按年變動)3。在增長迴異的情況下,預料更多資金將因此流入中國。最後,拜登的政策將會傾向與已發展市場修補關係,令地緣政治風險減退,應有利超大型跨國公司。

聚焦選舉對北亞市場的影響 

過去四年內,美國政府策略性地運用了不少限制措施,窒礙一些大型中國電子設備生產商及半導體研發商,並在部份行業內,實施圍堵其經濟發展的策略。這個趨勢已間接惠及一些區內的高科技公司,例如台灣及韓國便有不少例子。

新一屆政府當選後,對北亞市場有甚麼影響? 

我們預期,中美之間的貿易及科技業務磨擦將可稍為降溫,然而,整體上美國仍可能會長期維持遏止中國於科技行業掘起的策略方針。另外,投資者可以預期,中國在逐漸成為國際社會一員的過程中,將會更重視由各國發展出、以規則為藍本的慣例。同時,由於貿易磨擦有望減少,跨國公司或許會放慢供應鏈遷移的速度,並有可能發掘在中國「十四五」計劃下透過「內外循環」引發出的新機會。 

聚焦選舉對東南亞市場的影響

我們早前指出,自從中美貿戰於2018年開始並於2019年加劇後,亞洲各國已著手推出自救政策,以維持經濟增長,亞洲區會以區域化的概念來發展,取代原來的全球化概念。

因此,我們相信低技術及製造業供應鏈,會繼續轉移至東南亞市場。此外,弱美元有助降低東南亞國家的資金成本,吸引外國直接投資及資金流入。例如, 由中國牽頭,並與法國、日本、南韓等多國合作的多間企業,最近決定向一家印尼的鎳開發商及設施,於2033年前預期投資350億美元便是一個實例4。 

印度方面,油價對該國帶來的影響值得關注,年初至今,印度的國際收支平衡受油價下滑而有所改善。拜登政府上場後,對伊朗的態度和移民入口政策,很可能對印度石油入口帶來正面影響。我們亦相信,當地的製造業可繼續受惠政府對「印度製造」的支持政策 (本地生產可獲減稅及其他優惠) ,外部環境亦有利印度製造業,因為不少公司仍希望在中國以外的市場建立供應鏈。

亞洲區內仍有健全的增長引擎

雖然美國總統選舉結果,對北亞區和東南亞地區分別帶來直接及間接影響,但投資者需要留意,選舉是單獨事件,可被視為美國日後的政策路向以及對亞洲區的傳導影響,但不宜就此作最終定論。事實上,亞洲區擁有不少增長動力、能夠貼近疫情後大眾的消費,互動和交易的行為。另外,亞洲區的經濟增長速度,較已發展市場為快,當亞洲變得愈來愈自給自足,可進發展出區內的交易、科技及消費生態環境,我們相信,投資者若希望能於亞洲增長中分一杯羹,或許需要在區內發掘更多投資機遇。

 

 

 

下載全份文件

  • 聯儲局的加息方針會否引發美國經濟衰退?

    在通脹看似持續、利率不斷上漲之際,關於衰退風險的顧慮正在加劇。探究這些顧慮的合理程度。

    閱讀更多
  • 美元飆升如何影響亞洲貨幣?

    我們的泛亞洲固定收益和股票團隊分享見解,審視美元走強所帶來的影響,以及對區內貨幣的意義。

    閱讀更多
  • 中國推出支持經濟增長的措施

    我們相信,最新支持性政策最新舉措重申中國對保持經濟穩定的立場不變,中港股市料將有機會受惠於這些支持性政策行動。

    閱讀更多
查看全部

 

 

1  彭博資訊:拜登宣布勝選,向美國人提出修補分裂,2020年11月8日;衞報:特朗普拒絕承認落敗,2020年11月7日。 

2.金融時報,2020年11月8日。

3 中國國家統計局,2020年10月21日。

4 路透:由中國企業牽頭、計劃投資總值350億美元於印尼鎳開發商,2020年10月16日。

  • 聯儲局的加息方針會否引發美國經濟衰退?

    在通脹看似持續、利率不斷上漲之際,關於衰退風險的顧慮正在加劇。探究這些顧慮的合理程度。

    閱讀更多
  • 美元飆升如何影響亞洲貨幣?

    我們的泛亞洲固定收益和股票團隊分享見解,審視美元走強所帶來的影響,以及對區內貨幣的意義。

    閱讀更多
  • 中國推出支持經濟增長的措施

    我們相信,最新支持性政策最新舉措重申中國對保持經濟穩定的立場不變,中港股市料將有機會受惠於這些支持性政策行動。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
確認