Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

US-China trade agreement, UK election, Fed easing: stronger base case, but risks remain

16 December, 2019

Frances Donold, Chief Economist, Head of Macroeconomic Strategy
 

A trio of market-relevant news hit the headlines within the space of 24 hours on Thursday: a trade agreement between Washington and Beijing, a decisive UK vote, and more monetary easing from the US central bank. Our Global Chief Economist Frances Donald assesses if this will translate into a sunnier outlook for 2020.

A “phase 1” trade deal between the United States and China was reached last week, which means the much talked-about tariff hike scheduled for 15 December will no longer come into place. Meanwhile, the  Conservative Party in the United Kingdom has won a healthy majority in a closely watched election, thereby removing market uncertainty regarding Brexit, at least for now. Crucially, the US Federal Reserve (Fed) announced that it’ll add US$500 billion to its balance sheet1— where markets are concerned, what’s not to like?

The removal of these tail risks certainly strengthens our conviction in our cautiously optimistic base-case scenario: The global economy is approaching an important inflection point after which we’ll see economic growth/stabilisation taking place first  in Europe, followed by the United States, and then China and the broader Asian region. These developments are supportive of our belief that it could be time to bring a little risk back to the table, particularly as the Fed and other global central banks are likely to maintain their extraordinarily accommodative stance and balance sheet expansion initiatives for a while. These exercises should keep bond yields stable and low.

  • The high-yield market isn't signaling a recession

    Through the interest-rate volatility and higher inflation so far in 2022, we haven't seen a reason to abandon high yield. If anything, the higher-quality segment of this market could provide a welcome boost to a portfolio's risk-adjusted return potential.

    Read more
  • U.S. banks’ fundamentals continue to strengthen despite the economic slowdown

    The latest quarterly earnings reports from U.S. regional banks confirm the favorable investment outlook as loan growth and an improved interest-rate environment provide a tailwind for the industry, in our view.

    Read more
  • After four interest-rate hikes, what will the Fed do next?

    On July 27, the U.S. Federal Reserve hiked interest rates for the fourth time this year, raising them by another 75 basis points. What does this tell us about the FOMC and what does it mean for growth?

    Read more
See all

However, while the threat of fresh tariffs and yet another inconclusive election in the United Kingdom had weighed on the outlook for 2020, we must note that they were by no means the biggest risks to our expectations for an economic rebound next year. While undoubtedly positive, Thursday’s news developments do little to reduce the fundamental risks to our outlook, namely, a double dose of economic weakness in China, a weaker US consumer, and the structural ramifications of trade tensions and supply chain readjustments. 

Notably, where the US-China trade agreement is concerned, we don’t think it’s time to pop the champagne just yet. Here are three reasons why caution might still be warranted: 

  1. This isn’t a finalised deal—even if both sides have agreed to complete discussions “as quickly as possible” and China has said it’ll work to set a date for signing a deal.2 In our view, there remains plenty of scope for things to go awry. In particular, details are particularly fuzzy on whether there will be rollbacks of existing tariffs. 
  2. Phase 2 negotiations are only set to begin after the 2020 presidential elections, meaning uncertainty will return in the next 12 months – the “phase 1” trade deal isn’t likely to define future US-China trade relations.
  3. From a macroeconomic perspective, the most important issue here isn’t the impact of tariffs but the cost of shifting global supply chains and lost productivity as we embark on the multi-year transition to a new trade paradigm that’ll be ultimately be defined by trade relations between a few key countries.

Within this context, here’s a quick look at how the way we see the world has changed in the past week.


Our key investment views:

Core investment theme
Change in conviction
Our view
An inventory rebuild will support a mild-to - moderate H2 2020 recovery in global growth Modestly higher We believe the global manufacturing recession is partly a function of a front-loaded inventory shock that had been exacerbated by the trade shock. In our view, the restocking cycle was always going to proceed with or without a trade deal, but the removal of tariffs that were set to be implemented on 15 December could imply a faster inventory rebuild at the margin.
Business confidence has bottomed in Europe and the United States; business investments begin trickling in thereafter Higher The deterioration in business confidence globally was also likely to be front-loaded and had begun to turn positive. However, the latest developments probably imply the worst of geopolitical uncertainty is over (i.e., we should now see second derivative improvements on this front). This should contribute to a faster rebound in business confidence globally.
Central banks to remain extraordinarily accommodative Higher Lower geopolitical risk doesn’t imply less support from the Fed. With an additional US$500 billion of bill-buying adding to the Fed’s balance sheet through to year end, the U.S. central bank will have almost reversed its previous “taper” attempt entirely. We expect this to keep bond yields at the front end contained and becoming slightly steeper. We also continue to expect further Fed interest-rate cuts on the back of persistently weak inflation.
Fiscal policy to become increasingly relevant  Higher We’ll add the United Kingdom to the growing list of countries likely to expand fiscal spending in the year ahead.


Key risks:

Key risk theme
Change in conviction
Our view
A double dose of weakness in China Unchanged Our concerns about China relate mostly to domestic policies and the local economy—the absence of a massive stimulus program to revive growth, the weak earnings picture in the industrials sector, and diminishing strength in the real estate segment. These relate to the domestic economic cycle, not trade. We believe this is the biggest risk to the global macro story in 2020.
US job growth loses momentum; a  weakerUS consumer Unchanged Leading indicators continue to suggest we’re in a late cycle and weaker structural growth in the United States could mean fewer job gains and a less active US consumer.
Geopolitical risk events remain elevated; supply chain disruptions continue Unchanged We’re no closer to understanding what the long-term US-China trade relations will look like. Similarly, as Washington continues to reassess its trade relations with its partners, trade tensions could easily return to the fore.

 


1 Bloomberg, as of 12 December 2019; Financial Times, 13 December 2019. The new plan includes overnight lending across New Year totalling US$225bn and US$190bn in longer-term repo loans, starting this week that will provide cash to borrowers into 2020. Together with $75bn of cash already provided to the market to cover year-end, the Fed will have $490bn in lending outstanding over 31 December — close to double the scale of its recent repo interventions.

2“US and China Reach Initial Trade Deal”, New York Times, 13 December 2019.

  • The high-yield market isn't signaling a recession

    Through the interest-rate volatility and higher inflation so far in 2022, we haven't seen a reason to abandon high yield. If anything, the higher-quality segment of this market could provide a welcome boost to a portfolio's risk-adjusted return potential.

    Read more
  • U.S. banks’ fundamentals continue to strengthen despite the economic slowdown

    The latest quarterly earnings reports from U.S. regional banks confirm the favorable investment outlook as loan growth and an improved interest-rate environment provide a tailwind for the industry, in our view.

    Read more
  • After four interest-rate hikes, what will the Fed do next?

    On July 27, the U.S. Federal Reserve hiked interest rates for the fourth time this year, raising them by another 75 basis points. What does this tell us about the FOMC and what does it mean for growth?

    Read more
See all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

中美貿易協議、英國大選、聯儲局寬鬆政策:加強基本預測的信心,但風險仍在 

16/12/2019

Frances Donold, 首席經濟師
 

在上周四,三則與市場相關的消息在24小時內相繼成為環球新聞焦點:中美兩國達成貿易協議、英國大選為「脫歐」取得決定性結果以及美國聯儲局加推寬鬆貨幣措施。我們的環球首席經濟師Frances Donald分析,上述發展會否為2020年市場帶來更樂觀的展望。 

中美兩國在上周達成「第一階段」貿易協議,意味著受廣泛討論、原定在12月15日實施的加徵關稅將不會生效。另一方面,英國保守黨在備受注目的大選中穩佔過半數議席,至少在現階段暫時消除市場對英國脫歐的不明朗因素。關鍵的是,美國聯儲局宣布將會擴大資產負債表規模5,000億美元 1。對市場來說,這不是皆大歡喜嗎?

上述尾端風險得以消除,加強了我們對審慎樂觀基本預測情境的信心:環球經濟臨近一個重要的轉捩點,其後歐洲經濟將會率先出現增長/靠穩,繼而是美國、中國,以至廣泛亞洲地區。上述發展為「我們是時候略為承險」的觀點提供理據,尤其是聯儲局和其他環球央行應該會維持異常寬鬆立場,並繼續擴大資產負債表一段時間。這些舉措應會令債券孳息率保持穩定及偏低。

雖然新關稅和來年英國選舉結果不確定性的威脅削弱2020年展望,但我們必須指出,兩者均並非明年經濟反彈預期面對的最大風險。儘管上周四的消息都是正面,但有關發展卻未能消除對我們展望構成的基本風險,即是中國經濟不振和美國消費市道轉弱的雙重威脅,以及貿易緊張關係和供應鏈調整的結構性影響。

  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場

    閱讀更多
  • 中國政策雙轉向 — 防疫及房地產政策重大調整

    整體而言,我們對近期公布的政策感到樂觀,有關舉措應可為明年第二季經濟重啟和房地產業最終復甦奠定基礎。

    閱讀更多
  • 在當前環境下,多元資產投資如何協助收益型投資者?

    閱讀更多
查看全部

值得注意的是,就中美貿易協議而言,我們認為現在的威脅還未解除。以下三個原因令我們繼續審慎行事: 

  1. 貿易協議尚未落實 - 即使中美兩國同意「盡快」完成磋商,而中國表示會訂定簽署協議的日期2,我們認為仍存在不少因素,可能使事態出現意外發展。具體而言,現有關稅會否被撤回的詳情尚未清晰。 
  2. 第二階段磋商只會在2020年美國總統大選結束後啟動,意味不確定性在未來12個月將會重臨。「第一階段」貿易協議應該不會主導未來的中美貿易關係。
  3. 從宏觀經濟角度來看,最重要的議題並非關稅的影響,而是在邁向新貿易格局的多年過渡期間,環球供應鏈遷移和喪失生產力所帶來的成本。這最終將會取決於少數主要國家之間的貿易關係。

在上述的背景下,我們在此闡述過去一周事件對環球市場形勢的影響。


我們的主要投資觀點:

核心投資主題
信心變化
我們的觀點
企業重建庫存,將支持環球經濟在2020年下半年恢復輕微至溫和增長 略為上升 我們認為環球製造業衰退局部源於貿易爭議導致企業提早減少庫存。我們認為無論中美兩國能否達成貿易協議,企業補充庫存的周期應會展開。但雙方決定取消原定於12月15日加徵關稅,最低限度或會促使企業加快補充存貨。
歐美商業信心經已見底,其後開始重現商業投資 上升 環球商業信心下降亦可能是提早出現的情況,而現時已開始轉趨正面。最近的事態發展很可能意味最惡劣的地緣政治陰霾經已消散,即是說現時有關方面的前景應會獲得改善,並有助環球商業信心加速反彈。
各地央行政策維持異常寬鬆 上升 地緣政治風險下降,並不意味美國聯儲局對經濟的支持將會減少。截至年底,聯儲局合共額外購買總值5,000億美元的美國國庫票據,以擴大資產負債表規模,近乎完全逆轉早前當局「縮減量寬」的舉措。我們預期這將限制短期債券孳息率水平,並使短債孳息曲線略趨陡斜。我們仍然預期,聯儲局將因通脹持續疲弱而進一步減息。 
財政政策日益重要 上升 我們認為明年有望增加財政開支的國家日增,英國便是其中之一。


主要風險:

主要風險主題
信心變化
我們的觀點
中國出現雙重弱勢 維持不變 我們對中國市場的憂慮,主要與內地政策和經濟有關:當地缺乏大規模經濟刺激計劃以恢復經濟增長,加上工業盈利狀況欠佳,以及房地產行業勢頭減弱。這些憂慮與內地經濟周期而非貿易因素有關。我們認為這是2020年環球宏觀環境面對的最大風險。
美國職位增長失去動力,以及美國消費者減少消費 維持不變 領先指標繼續顯示我們處於經濟周期後段,美國經濟的結構性增長減弱,或會導致職位增長減少和美國消費者減少消費。
地緣政治事件的風險仍然高企,供應鏈繼續受干擾 維持不變 我們尚未清晰了解,中美兩國的長期貿易關係將何去何從。同樣地,隨著華府繼續重新審視其與貿易夥伴的關係,貿易緊張局勢可能很容易再度升溫。 

 


1 彭博資訊,截至2019年12月12日。金融時報,2019年12月13日。新計劃包括總額達2250億美元的跨年隔夜借貸,以及1900億美元較長期的回購貸款,由今個星期起將向借款人提供現金至2020年。連同已向市場提供的750億美元跨年現金,至12月31 日,聯儲局將合共借出4900億美元,規模相當於最近回購行動總額的接近兩倍。

2“U.S. and China Reach Initial Trade Deal”,紐約時報,2019年12月13 日。

  • The Fed reiterates its hawkish bias

    Hopes that the U.S. central bank will make a dovish policy pivot soon were more or less dashed at the final FOMC meeting of 2022; however, our Fed watcher believes an interest-rate cut could still materialise in 2023.

    閱讀更多
  • China’s double pivot — A major shift in China’s COVID and property sector policies

    Overall, we view the latest policy announcements positively which should pave the path for economic reopening and eventual recovery in the property sector from the second quarter of next year.

    閱讀更多
  • How can multi-asset investing help today's income-seekers?

    As higher inflation outpaces income growth, multi-asset investing helps to generate and protect income streams against volatility, while keeping capital stable and lasting longer. 

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認