Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

US-China phase-one trade deal: the devil is in the details

17 January, 2020 

On 15 January 2020, the United States and China signed the long-awaited phase-one trade deal1. The agreement, which addresses issues ranging from Chinese imports of US goods to currency, came as no surprise to the market, as both sides had been publicly discussing the pact since the middle of December. In this market note, Sue Trinh, Senior Macro Strategist, Manulife Investment Management, assesses the significant aspects of the deal and notes that the real test will be in implementing the details of the agreement and setting the agenda for the next phase of talks.

The signing of the phase-one US-China trade deal came as no surprise to investors. Although the agreement contains important steps on market access, intellectual property rights, and currency, many of these had already been announced or implemented before 15 January. Overall, we believe that China will continue to deliver on any commitments that overlap with its self-interest, which ultimately raises the stakes when trying to enforce the deal in areas where it doesn’t comply. As always, the devil is in the detail.

Looking at the substance of the agreement, China has agreed to increase purchases and imports of US goods and services by at least US$200 billion in 2020 and 2021. These include agricultural, manufacturing, and energy products2. Overall, we believe that the agreement on purchase levels seems unrealistic, but China could meet it if the government diverts its current import demand away from other trade partners to the US. Such a move would mean that China’s total imports remain unchanged and global growth would receive no boost. We also note that a larger share of the proposed purchases is slated for 2021 than 2020. This schedule gives China the flexibility to deal with a potentially different administration in the US after the upcoming November elections. China also has several mitigating clauses for purchases, such as slower domestic growth. Furthermore, the US must make goods available for export, which could become an issue with existing export restrictions.

Regarding currency, the agreement contains almost nothing new. China has agreed to provide data that it already discloses through foreign-currency reserves or balance-of-payment data. The other provisions are mostly a reiteration of existing Chinese commitments to the International Monetary Fund and G-20.

Finally, the agreement may be most notable for the issues that it doesn’t address. The core of the US-China economic dispute revolves around several themes, such as tariffs, technology transfer, and Chinese government subsidies, none of which are mentioned in the text. President Trump has stated that a potential phase-two deal and tariff rollback can wait until after the presidential elections in November3. However, as the phase-one deal gives the US the unilateral right to punish China if it fails to deliver on its pledges, tensions could escalate at any time.

From a market perspective, the Chinese renminbi has been a principal beneficiary of the optimism leading up to the deal. Since the contours of the agreement were announced in mid-December last year, the renminbi (both onshore and offshore) has been one of the best-performing emerging-market currencies.

Having said that, we believe that weaker Chinese growth and increased non-trade barriers should lead to another bout of renminbi depreciation. A breakdown in phase-two talks would likely accelerate that trend.

 

1 Office of the United States Trade Representative: Economic and Trade Agreement between the United States of America and the People’s Republic of China, Phase One, 15 January 2020.

2 The benchmark for purchase amounts will be 2017. In 2017, China bought US$130 billion in goods and US$56 billion in services, 15 January 2020, Wall Street Journal.

3 Reuters: “Trump says he may wait to finish Phase 2 China trade deal until after November, “10 January 2020.

  • Will the Fed's approach to interest-rate hikes trigger a U.S. recession?

    Concerns about recession risks are rising amid seemingly persistent inflation and rising interest rates. Find out to what extent these fears are warranted.

    Read more
  • 5 benefits of ESG investing

    The demand for ESG investing is surging, as investors in different life stages align their personal values to their financial goals. We list the five benefits of ESG investing.

    Read more
  • How is the surging US dollar affecting Asian currencies?

    We draw insights from our pan-Asia fixed income and equity teams, who examine the impact of US-dollar strength and what this means for currencies in the region.

    Read more
See all
  • Will the Fed's approach to interest-rate hikes trigger a U.S. recession?

    Concerns about recession risks are rising amid seemingly persistent inflation and rising interest rates. Find out to what extent these fears are warranted.

    Read more
  • How is the surging US dollar affecting Asian currencies?

    We draw insights from our pan-Asia fixed income and equity teams, who examine the impact of US-dollar strength and what this means for currencies in the region.

    Read more
  • China rolls out measures to support economic growth

    We believe that the latest supportive measures reiterate China’s stance on economic stability and see opportunities in China and Hong Kong equities that could benefit from these policy actions.

    Read more
See all
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

中美首階段貿易協議:考驗雙方執行力

17/1/2020 

2020年1月15日,中美兩國簽署期待已久的首階段貿易協議1。協議涉及多項議題,涵蓋中國從美國進口貨品以至貨幣政策,市場對此並不感到意外,因為雙方自去年12月中起已一直公開討論有關內容。在今期市場通訊,宏利投資管理高級宏觀策略師Sue Trinh就多個重要方面評估這份協議,並指出真正的考驗將是執行協議的細節,以及設定下一階段談判的議程。

中美兩國簽署首階段貿易協議,投資者對此並不感到意外。儘管協議就市場准入、知識產權和貨幣的議題取得重要進展,但其中多項措施早已於1月15日之前宣布或實施。整體而言,我們認為中國將會繼續履行任何符合自身利益的承諾,因此對於不符合中國利益的承諾,增加履行的風險。簽署協議過後,才是真正考驗的開始──考驗雙方的執行力。

綜觀協議內容,中國已同意在2020年和2021年增加購買和進口最少2,000億美元的美國貨品和服務,當中包括農業、製造業和能源產品2。整體來看,我們認為這個協定的採購水平似乎脫離現實,但如果中國政府將目前的進口需求從其他貿易夥伴轉到美國,則可望兌現有關承諾。這個轉變將會使中國的總進口量保持不變,環球增長亦不會加快。我們亦注意到在建議採購額中,2021年所佔的比重高於2020年。這項安排為中國提供靈活性,以應對11月美國大選後可能出現的新政府。中國亦在採購方面設有多項紓緩條款,例如國內經濟增長減慢。此外,美國必須供應相關出口貨品,在現有出口限制下可能構成問題。

貨幣方面,這次協議只是舊調重彈。中國同意提供其已透過外匯儲備或國際收支平衡數據披露的資料。其他條款大多是重申中國對國際貨幣基金組織及20國集團的現有承諾。

最後,首階段協議最值得關注的地方可能是當中並無提及的議題。中美經濟爭議的核心圍繞多個主題,例如關稅、技術轉移及中國政府的補貼措施,但協議並無提及這些範疇。美國總統特朗普表示,可能留待11月總統大選後才落實第二階段協議及取消關稅3。不過,首階段協議賦予美國權力,在中國未能兌現承諾時單方面懲罰中國,因此緊張局勢可能隨時升級。

從市場角度來看,協議簽訂前的市場樂觀情緒使人民幣成為主要受惠者。自去年12月中公布協議框架以來,(在岸和離岸)人民幣成為表現最佳的新興市場貨幣之一。

儘管如此,我們認為中國增長轉弱,加上非貿易壁壘增加,應會導致人民幣出現另一輪跌勢。若第二階段談判破裂,更可能加速這個趨勢。

 

1 美國貿易代表辦事處:Economic and Trade Agreement between the United States of America and the People's Republic of China, Phase One, 15 January 2020

2 採購金額以2017年為基準。2017年,中國購買1,300億美元貨品和560億美元服務。2020年1月15日,華爾街日報。

3 路透社:“Trump says he may wait to finish Phase 2 China trade deal until after November”,2020年1月10日。

  • 聯儲局的加息方針會否引發美國經濟衰退?

    在通脹看似持續、利率不斷上漲之際,關於衰退風險的顧慮正在加劇。探究這些顧慮的合理程度。

    閱讀更多
  • 美元飆升如何影響亞洲貨幣?

    我們的泛亞洲固定收益和股票團隊分享見解,審視美元走強所帶來的影響,以及對區內貨幣的意義。

    閱讀更多
  • 中國推出支持經濟增長的措施

    我們相信,最新支持性政策最新舉措重申中國對保持經濟穩定的立場不變,中港股市料將有機會受惠於這些支持性政策行動。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 聯儲局的加息方針會否引發美國經濟衰退?

    在通脹看似持續、利率不斷上漲之際,關於衰退風險的顧慮正在加劇。探究這些顧慮的合理程度。

    閱讀更多
  • 美元飆升如何影響亞洲貨幣?

    我們的泛亞洲固定收益和股票團隊分享見解,審視美元走強所帶來的影響,以及對區內貨幣的意義。

    閱讀更多
  • 中國推出支持經濟增長的措施

    我們相信,最新支持性政策最新舉措重申中國對保持經濟穩定的立場不變,中港股市料將有機會受惠於這些支持性政策行動。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
確認