Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

The impact of coronavirus on Chinese equities 

3 February, 2020

Ronald Chan, Chief Investment Officer Equities, Asia ex-Japan
 

Concerns about the economic and financial impact of the coronavirus outbreak have seen some offshore Chinese equities come under pressure1. However, Ronald Chan, Chief Investment Officer, Equities, Asia (ex-Japan), believes that if these worries lead to a broad-based correction, then any market decline should be short-lived or contained. While economic uncertainty could also hurt China’s first-quarter manufacturing and GDP numbers, Chan thinks that the government could introduce further policy easing measures to ensure growth stability. As the viral outbreak may improve with warmer weather in the coming spring, investment sentiment should gradually improve. In the meantime, investors should remain focused on the market’s long-term fundamentals. 

Worries about the coronavirus have seen global investors become risk-adverse and triggered a selloff in some offshore Chinese equities. However, if we use market performance2 and the experience learnt during the SARS outbreak in 2003 as a reference, we believe that a broad-based correction should be relatively short-lived with a more effective virus containment policy.

In light of a heightened public health precaution and the introduction of provincial travel bans, selective segments, such as hospitality, transportation, and gaming activities are expected to face some shortterm pressure. Meanwhile, on-line consumption activities may benefit.

Uncertainty over the extended Spring Festival holiday period may also cause some disruption to manufacturing production in the first quarter. As such, the Chinese authorities might engage in further policy easing to ensure growth stability. 

Nevertheless, if the situation shows signs of containment, then high quality companies with diversified footprints and strong business models should be resilient. These firms could lead the rebound, as consumption demand gradually resumes. Moreover, while a full economic recovery may be delayed, the momentum in the underlying economy, such as the resumption of corporate capital expenditure in the fourth quarter of 2019 should provide a buffer to this unexpected business disruption. 

Overall, investors should remain convicted of the view that key secular trends that form the basis of our investment themes are unchanged: online-led consumption upgrade, 5G roll-out beneficiaries, and policy-driven opportunities in medical reform, supply-side reforms, and sustainability topics.

As we mentioned in our 2020 outlook, we think that disposable-income growth across China and the convergence of urban and rural incomes offer unique opportunities for e-commerce platforms and apps. 

5G roll-out should be a prominent theme in Greater China equities, especially in China A-shares, as the cell-phone replacement cycle in mainland China is expected to shrink from 24 months to its historical average of 15–16 months. Therefore, investors should be constructive on battery producers, chips, frequency, and antenna-related industries.  

Finally, investors should remain focused on policydriven opportunities and we are positive in areas of environmental protection, such as natural gas distribution and some waste-to-energy companies. This stance is based on long-term support from the government. 

1 Bloomberg, 24 January 2020 to 30 January 2020: Hong Kong’s Hang Seng Index (in HK dollars) dropped by 5.37%, while MSCI’s China Index (in US dollars) corrected by 4.1%. 

2 Financial Times, 28 January 2020: Investors look to history for clues on market impact of coronavirus.

 

  • The Fed remains hawkish, but easing could occur before the end of 2023

    The Fed’s decision to raise US interest rates by 75 basis points to a target range of 3%-3.25% was well priced into the markets.We describe the factors contributing to the Fed’s increasingly hawkish tone and explain why easing could occur before the end of 2023.

    Read more
  • The high-yield market isn't signaling a recession

    Through the interest-rate volatility and higher inflation so far in 2022, we haven't seen a reason to abandon high yield. If anything, the higher-quality segment of this market could provide a welcome boost to a portfolio's risk-adjusted return potential.

    Read more
  • Review and rebalance: navigating waves of volatility

    Market volatility is unavoidable. So, how should investors stay calm and ride through market ups and downs? It’s important to review and rebalance portfolios, so your investment can remain on track. 

    Read more
See all
  • The Fed remains hawkish, but easing could occur before the end of 2023

    The Fed’s decision to raise US interest rates by 75 basis points to a target range of 3%-3.25% was well priced into the markets.We describe the factors contributing to the Fed’s increasingly hawkish tone and explain why easing could occur before the end of 2023.

    Read more
  • The high-yield market isn't signaling a recession

    Through the interest-rate volatility and higher inflation so far in 2022, we haven't seen a reason to abandon high yield. If anything, the higher-quality segment of this market could provide a welcome boost to a portfolio's risk-adjusted return potential.

    Read more
  • U.S. banks’ fundamentals continue to strengthen despite the economic slowdown

    The latest quarterly earnings reports from U.S. regional banks confirm the favorable investment outlook as loan growth and an improved interest-rate environment provide a tailwind for the industry, in our view.

    Read more
See all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

新型冠狀病毒疫情對中國股票的影響

3/2/2020

陳致洲, 首席投資總監, 亞洲(除日本)股票
 

市場憂慮新型冠狀病毒疫情爆發對經濟和金融的影響,令部份中國離岸股票表現受壓1。然而,亞洲區(日本除外)股票投資部首席投資總監陳致洲認為,如果這些憂慮引致市場出現廣泛調整,則任何跌市應為時短暫或受控。雖然經濟不確定性亦可能對中國第一季製造業和國內生產總值構成打擊,但陳致洲認為政府或會採取進一步寬鬆政策,以確保增長穩定。疫情有望隨著和暖的春季來臨而見頂,投資情緒料逐步改善。因此,他建議投資者繼續聚焦市場的長期基本因素。

市場憂慮新型冠狀病毒引起的肺炎疫情,促使投資者更傾向迴避風險,觸發部份中國離岸股票遭拋售。然而若以2003年非典型肺炎(SARS)疫情期間的市場表現2及經驗作參考,我們認為隨著更有效的防疫措施得以落實,出現廣泛市場調整的時間應相對短暫。

鑑於中國政府加強公共衛生預防措施,並實施省級旅遊禁令,預計酒店、運輸業和博彩業等個別行業將於短期內面臨壓力。另一方面,疫情可能令網上消費活動受益。

中國延長春節假期引起的不確定性亦可能會影響第一季製造業生產。因此,中國當局或會採取進一步寬鬆政策,以確保增長穩定。

然而,如果疫情出現受控跡象,業務範疇分散和業務模式強勁的優質公司料會表現強韌,這些企業有望隨著消費需求逐步回升而帶動大市反彈。此外,出現全面經濟復甦的時間可能會延遲,但基本經濟的復甦動力,例如企業在2019年第四季的資本開支回升,應可為突發疫情引致的業務受阻提供緩衝。

總括而言,投資者可繼續確信,讓我們的投資主題得以建基的主要長期趨勢維持不變:網上帶動的消費升級,5G(第五代流動通訊)推出的受惠者,以及醫療改革、供給側改革和可持續發展主題等政策帶來的投資機遇。

如我們的2020年投資展望所述,預料中國內地可動用收入增加,以及城鎮和農村收入差距收窄,將可為電子商貿平台和應用程式帶來獨特機遇。

5G應是大中華股票的重大主題,特別是中國A股,因為中國內地的手機更換周期預料將由目前的24個月,縮短至過去平均的15至16個月。因此,投資者可對電池生產商、芯片、射頻和天線相關行業感到樂觀。

最後,投資者將可繼續聚焦政策帶來的機遇,並看好環保領域,例如天然氣配送和部份廢物轉化能源公司,因為內地政府為相關行業提供長期扶持措施。

 

1 彭博資訊,由2020年1月24日至2020年1月30日:香港恒生指數(以港元計)跌5.37%,MSCI明晟中國指數(以美元計)則下跌4.1%。
2 金融時報,2020年1月28日。Investors look to history for clues on market impact of coronavirus

 

 

 

  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認