Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

The Fed reiterates its hawkish bias

15 December 2022

Alex Grassino, Head of Macro Strategy, North America

Although the US Federal Reserve (Fed) did exactly what the markets expected on 14 December by raising policy rates by 50 basis points, it might not be wise to write the latest interest-rate decision and the accompanying press conference off as nonevents.

If investors were to hear about the Fed’s decision to increase its policy rate to 4.25%-4.5%, read the accompanying statement, or watch the initial market reaction to the rate hike, they could be forgiven for thinking that the day’s events were entirely unremarkable. A closer read of the Fed’s Summary of Economic Projections, however, will have painted a slightly different picture, which is also reinforced by parts of Fed Chair Jerome Powell’s press conference.

 

 

The most notable nugget of information to emerge from the meeting was the adjustment to the projected federal funds rate, which Fed officials have raised to between 5.00% and 5.25% (with a median rate of 5.1%) by the end of 2023,  with the bias clearly still being higher. Chair Powell doubled down on the messaging during his press conference, reminding us that each time the FOMC committee revised its expectations over the course of 2022, rates were pushed higher. His statement was somewhat softened by the suggestion that future rate decisions will be data dependent and that we’re close enough to peak policy rates, thereby warranting a slower pace of rate rises to come. The message was clear though: The Fed intends to hike rates—albeit less quickly than in 2022—and keep them elevated for longer, despite expectations for weaker growth and higher unemployment, as outlined in other parts of its latest projection.

Into 2023: what comes up must NOT come down, or so the Fed claims

Despite the doggedly higher rate projections, there’s nevertheless a clear sense that the Fed is close to winding down its hikes in order to properly assess the impact of 2022’s tightening. We’ve elected to take the more conservative view and expect the Fed to deliver a final rate hike at its March meeting, with the policy rate peaking at 5.25%. We readily concede that rates could wind up 0.25% lower or that the hiking cycle could extend into May; the exact timing and magnitude of the final rate hike will, at this stage, be truly dependent on inflationary data, with modest sequential prints and decelerating year-over-year growth data being critical factors. The good news is that the last couple of CPI releases have clearly signaled that inflation for goods has flattened on a month-over-month basis. Even services inflation, excluding shelter—which is likely going to garner the most attention in 2023—has stabilised for now.

As soon as the Fed stops hiking rates, markets will be clamoring to find out when the first rate cut could occur. The answer from the Fed is that we should expect to stay pegged at peak rates for an extended period of time in order to avoid the mistakes of the 1970s and to ensure that inflation returns to its 2% target. Taken together, this implies that policy easing is likely to take place sometime in 2024.

That’s not how we—or the markets—see it

We have a different view: We expect the Fed to begin easing before the end of 2023. That begs the questions of how do we get there, and what are the key signposts that can tell us we’re on our way?

First and foremost, while we wouldn’t expect inflation to fall back to the Fed’s 2% target, we would need to see a clear and sustained moderation in inflation. Month-over-month data on prices appears to be reverting to more normalised levels—that’s a positive. Specifically, easing core goods inflation has been providing a welcome respite from the uncomfortably high readings we saw in Q3, and it’s likely to provide continued relief to those areas most distorted by the pandemic and Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

The trickier part is cooling services inflation (ex-shelter) because that’s usually driven by wage growth and is, in our view, the bigger risk for persistently higher inflation over the medium term. Unfortunately, the most likely way that this component will cool is through a recessionary environment. As such, a cooling labor market is a necessary precondition for services inflation to ease. We would expect to see a deterioration here in the early months of 2023.

The bottom line

The good news is that inflation is finally coming down far enough to allow the Fed to consider pausing its tightening actions. The bad news is that we believe that the next phase of Fed policy—monetary easing—will more likely be driven by deteriorating economic conditions than by a more benign soft landing.

 

Download full PDF

 

  • China’s double pivot — A major shift in China’s COVID and property sector policies

    Overall, we view the latest policy announcements positively which should pave the path for economic reopening and eventual recovery in the property sector from the second quarter of next year.

    Read more
  • How can multi-asset investing help today's income-seekers?

    As higher inflation outpaces income growth, multi-asset investing helps to generate and protect income streams against volatility, while keeping capital stable and lasting longer. 

    Read more
  • What does a strong U.S. dollar mean for global growth?

    As the world's dominant reserve currency, movements in the U.S. dollar can have important implications for the world economy. Our experts identify three channels through which dollar strength can shape growth. 

    Read more
See all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

聯儲局維持強硬立場

15/12/2022

北美洲宏觀策略部主管 Alex Grassino

雖然一如市場所料,美國聯儲局在當地時間12月14日調高政策利率50點子,但如果認為最新的利率決策和相關新聞發佈會不值一顧,可能並非明智。

假如投資者得悉聯儲局決定調高聯邦基金利率至4.25厘至4.5厘,閱讀有關議息聲明,或觀察市場對加息的初步反應,從而認為當日關於議息的事件完全無關重要,亦屬無可厚非。然而,若細閱聯儲局的經濟預測摘要,便會發現情況略有不同,聯儲局主席鮑威爾也在新聞發佈會上強調有關內容。

 

 

在經濟預測摘要中最值得關注的是,聯邦基金利率預測出現調整:聯儲局官員預期2023年底美息將升至5.00厘至5.25厘的水平(利率中位數為5.1厘),仍然顯著趨升。鮑威爾在新聞發佈會上強調有關訊息,並提醒市場,在2022年期間,每當聯邦公開市場委員會修訂預測,利率都會隨之走高。但是,他對未來加息步伐的言論則略為軟化,表示利率決策將取決於經濟數據表現,而且政策利率已相當接近見頂,因此當局有理據放慢加息步伐。不過,當中的訊息很明確:正如當局最新預測的其他部份所述,雖然預期經濟增長減弱,且失業率上漲,但聯儲局仍有意加息,只是步伐較2022年放慢,並在一段更長時間內保持偏高利率。

2023年:利率只會升不會跌,聯儲局如是說

雖然利率預測反映聯儲局進一步加息的決心,但市場明顯感覺到,當局的加息週期正接近完結,以便正確評估2022年緊縮政策所帶來的衝擊。我們的觀點較為保守,預期聯儲局將在明年3月會議上加息最後一次,政策利率將於5.25厘見頂。我們認為,最終聯邦基金利率的高位可能較預期低0.25厘,另一個情況是加息週期可能會延續至明年5月。現階段,最後一次加息的確實時間和幅度將完全取決於通脹數據,而溫和的按月通脹及按年增長數據放緩將成為關鍵因素。好消息是,最近公佈的消費物價指數明確顯示,貨品價格按月通脹已趨平緩。即使是在2023年可能最備受矚目的服務業通脹(不包括房屋),目前亦已靠穩。

一旦聯儲局停止加息,市場將會迫不及待想知道首次減息的時間。對此,聯儲局的回答是,市場應預期利率將在一段長時間內保持最高位水平,以免重蹈1970年代的覆轍,並確保通脹重返2%的目標水平。綜合以上所述,這暗示寬鬆貨幣政策很可能要等到2024年才出現。

我們與市場的看法卻非如此

我們的看法略有不同:我們預計聯儲局將在2023年底前開始放寬貨幣政策。問題是寬鬆政策將如何實現,以及有何關鍵跡象反映我們正向此方向邁進?

首先最重要的是,儘管我們預計通脹不會重返聯儲局的2%目標,但通脹必需明顯並持續放緩。按月物價數據似乎逐步恢復至較正常水平,實屬利好現象。具體而言,核心貨品通脹緩和,為因第三季通脹數據高企而感到不安的投資者提供喘息空間,並有可能為最受疫情和俄烏衝突干擾的地區帶來紓緩作用。

要冷卻服務業通脹(不包括房屋)則相對棘手,因其一般由工資增長帶動,而且會對中期通脹持續升溫構成更大風險。不幸的是,最有可能令服務業通脹下跌的方法是經濟衰退。因此,勞工市場降溫是紓緩服務業通脹的必要條件。我們預計情況將在2023年首數月惡化。

總結

好消息是通脹終於降至足以令聯儲局考慮暫停緊縮行動的水平。壞消息則是,我們認為聯儲局下一階段的貨幣寬鬆政策,較有可能是由經濟狀況轉差主導,而不是較溫和的經濟軟著陸。

 

下載全份文件

 

  • 中國政策雙轉向 — 防疫及房地產政策重大調整

    整體而言,我們對近期公布的政策感到樂觀,有關舉措應可為明年第二季經濟重啟和房地產業最終復甦奠定基礎。

    閱讀更多
  • 在當前環境下,多元資產投資如何協助收益型投資者?

    閱讀更多
  • 強美元對環球經濟增長有何影響?

    美元作為全球主要的儲備貨幣,其走向可能會對全球經濟增長帶來重大影響。我們的專家從三方面剖析,強美元如何影響環球經濟前景。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認