Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

Tariff threat trips the circuit breaker, setting the scene for a 50 basis points (bps) Fed rate cut in September

7 August, 2019 

Frances Donold, Chief Economist, Head of Macroeconomic Strategy
 

On 1 August, the Trump administration announced a new set of tariffs on the remaining US$300 billion of Chinese goods to be imposed on 1 September1 . The US-China trade war further escalated on Monday with the US Treasury Department designating China as a currency manipulator and the US dollar/Chinese renminbi (USD/CNY) rose above the 7.00 level2 . Equity markets plunged around the world. Frances Donald, Chief Economist and Head of Macroeconomic Strategy, explains why this phase of the trade war is different.

 

We view this next round of tariffs as a gamechanger that alters our prior views regarding US acceleration and a stabilising China. The new tariffs have tripped the circuit breaker and in our view are likely to single-handedly reverse the course of both the US and the global economy in the third quarter. This development is particularly disappointing, given that most of our research had found green shoots of stabilisation and potential recovery in US business investment, global trade, and the global manufacturing recession. Unfortunately, heightened trade tensions nip those positive developments squarely in the bud and necessitate two key changes of view from the macro strategy team.

  1. We’ve changed our view from expecting a 25 basis points (bps) rate cut from the US Federal Reserve (Fed) in September, followed by an extended pause, to a 50bps cut with the potential for more. We also believe an intra-meeting cut is possible, although that isn’t our base case. To be clear, we don’t believe that 50bps of cuts from the Fed will single-handedly salvage business or consumer confidence, but it could buffer some of the decline in market sentiment, arrest this new round of yield curve flattening, and soften the upside pressure on the US dollar. The Fed would welcome all of those.
  2. We believe a neutral risk exposure in the short-term makes sense, heading into what we expect to be a difficult, volatile, and particularly uncertain August and September. However, this doesn’t change our moderately constructive 12-month view, as we believe risk assets (credit and equity) are still in an overall uptrend and will be supported by a low rate environment and extended—albeit weak— business cycle. Indeed, our internal conversations in the past two market days (as of 5 August) have questioned when the appropriate time will be to buy this dip—it’s almost entirely dependent on the progression of trade tensions and, secondarily, concerns about emerging-market currencies. In the meantime, US Treasuries and global debt can rally further, and there is some mild-tomoderate room left for equities to decline from here.

Why the change of view?

While markets are now accustomed to trade tensions, this newly proposed set of tariffs comes with three characteristics that are causing us much more concern than all past iterations.

  1. This set of tariffs affects the US consumer in a more substantial manner who, until now, has offset weakness in business investment. In particular, new tariffs are tipped to hit electronics, apparel, and toys and are therefore likely to hamper consumer confidence, spending, and prices. This effect is unique to this new bucket of goods.
  2. While we feel the USD/CNY crossing 7.00 is more of a psychological level than an economically important development, the move cements two risk-off narratives: a low but rising possibility of a capital outflow crisis from China, and retaliatory measures from China that may further dampen US and global growth activity.
  3. Aggressive global yield curve flattening reignites recession probability indexes and increases the chance of a curve-driven recession in 2020. We aren’t currently expecting a technical recession in 2020, but the depth of the confidence shock resulting from higher tariffs could bring US growth to 1% in 2020 or slightly below, depending on the magnitude.

Where do we go from here?

Upside scenarios are more limited now than they were six months ago. They are generally more associated with the potential for additional easing than the market currently expects from global central banks (already a tall order) and/or possible large-scale stimulus from China. Clearly, a reversal of the tariff threat would also present an important catalyst. While the above is all possible, we suggest stepping to the sidelines until we have more visibility on growth. 

  • The Fed remains hawkish, but easing could occur before the end of 2023

    The Fed’s decision to raise US interest rates by 75 basis points to a target range of 3%-3.25% was well priced into the markets.We describe the factors contributing to the Fed’s increasingly hawkish tone and explain why easing could occur before the end of 2023.

    Read more
  • The high-yield market isn't signaling a recession

    Through the interest-rate volatility and higher inflation so far in 2022, we haven't seen a reason to abandon high yield. If anything, the higher-quality segment of this market could provide a welcome boost to a portfolio's risk-adjusted return potential.

    Read more
  • U.S. banks’ fundamentals continue to strengthen despite the economic slowdown

    The latest quarterly earnings reports from U.S. regional banks confirm the favorable investment outlook as loan growth and an improved interest-rate environment provide a tailwind for the industry, in our view.

    Read more
See all

1 US Department of the Treasury, 5 August 2019.

2 Bloomberg, as of 5 August 2019. 

  • The Fed remains hawkish, but easing could occur before the end of 2023

    The Fed’s decision to raise US interest rates by 75 basis points to a target range of 3%-3.25% was well priced into the markets.We describe the factors contributing to the Fed’s increasingly hawkish tone and explain why easing could occur before the end of 2023.

    Read more
  • The high-yield market isn't signaling a recession

    Through the interest-rate volatility and higher inflation so far in 2022, we haven't seen a reason to abandon high yield. If anything, the higher-quality segment of this market could provide a welcome boost to a portfolio's risk-adjusted return potential.

    Read more
  • U.S. banks’ fundamentals continue to strengthen despite the economic slowdown

    The latest quarterly earnings reports from U.S. regional banks confirm the favorable investment outlook as loan growth and an improved interest-rate environment provide a tailwind for the industry, in our view.

    Read more
See all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

關稅威脅成轉捩點
聯儲局9月或減息半厘

7/8/2019 

Frances Donold, 首席經濟師
 

在8月1日,特朗普政府宣布就餘下3,000億美元中國貨品開徵新關稅,新關稅將於9月1日實施1。隨著美國財政部把中國列為貨幣操縱國,以及美元兌人民幣升穿「七算」水平2,中美貿易戰在本周一進一步升溫。全球股市因而急挫。首席經濟師兼宏觀經濟策略部主管Frances Donald剖析,為何這階段的貿易戰與之前有所不同。

我們視這輪關稅為一個轉捩點,改變了我們早前對美國增長加速和中國經濟回穩的觀點。新一輪關稅已令局勢惡化,我們認為單憑這一個因素已可能促使美國及全球經濟走勢在第三季逆轉。有鑑於我們的大部份研究均顯示,美國企業投資、全球貿易及全球製造業衰退都展現回穩或可望回升的初步跡象,目前的事態發展尤其令人失望。貿易緊張局勢加劇完全扼殺了這些正在萌芽的利好走勢,促使宏觀策略團隊的觀點須作出兩項重大的改變。

  1. 我們的觀點由預期美國聯儲局在9月減息25個基點,然後於一段長時間暫停調整利率,改變為預料當局於9月減息50個基點,並可能進一步調低利率。此外,我們相信當局有可能在例會以外的期間減息,但這並非我們的基本觀點。明確來說,我們不相信單憑聯儲局減息50個基點便可挽回企業或消費信心,但可能有助緩衝市場信心下跌,阻止出現新一輪孳息曲線平坦的情況,以及減輕美元的升值壓力。這些都是聯儲希望出現的情景。
  2. 踏入預料挑戰重重、反覆波動及尤其不明朗的8月和9月份,我們相信持短期中性風險配置屬明智之舉。然而,這並無改變我們對未來12個月前景略為樂觀的看法,因為我們相信風險資產(信貸和股票)整體來說仍處於升勢,而且在低息環境及商業周期延長(儘管疲弱)的情況下,可望獲得支持。事實上,我們在過去兩個交易日(截至8月5 日)的內部討論都圍繞一個問題:應於甚麼時候趁低吸納?這幾乎完全取決於貿易緊張局勢的發展,其次是對新興市場貨幣匯價的憂慮。與此同時,美國國庫債券及環球債券可能進一步揚升,而股票仍有空間自現水平出現輕微至溫和下跌。

為何改變觀點?

儘管市場現已習慣面對貿易緊張局勢,但這新一輪的建議關稅具有三項特點,令我們相較過往各次加徵關稅更感憂慮。

  1. 至今,美國消費市道一直有助抵銷商業投資的疲軟表現,但這一輪關稅為美國消費者帶來更顯著的影響。尤其是新關稅傾向針對電子、成衣和玩具產品,因此很可能削弱消費信心、開支和物價。對上述商品徵稅會產生有關影響。
  2. 儘管我們認為美元兌人民幣匯率升穿「七算」屬心理關口多於與經濟有關的重要發展,但有關變動確定了兩種避險理據:中國資金外流危機發生的可能性低但正在上升,以及中國採取反制措施或會進一步削弱美國以至環球經濟增長活動。
  3. 環球孳息曲線顯著走平,刺激經濟衰退機會指數再度上升,令2020年出現「曲線引致經濟衰退」的可能性增加。現時我們預期2020年不會出現技術性經濟衰退,但加徵關稅所造成的信心衝擊,或足以令美國2020年的經濟增長跌至或略低於1%,這將視乎信心受挫的程度而定。

今後事態發展

相比六個月前,現時市場上升的機會更加有限,大致上較可能是與環球央行加推寬鬆措施的力度比預期大(機會已經較微)及/或中國可能推出大規模刺激經濟措施有關。顯然,關稅威脅緩解亦可能是重要的催化劑。儘管上述種種情況均有可能發生,但我們建議投資者保持觀望態度,直至經濟增長的能見度改善為止。  

  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部

1 美國財政部,2019年8月5日。

2 彭博資訊,截至2019年8月5日。

  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認