Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

Sustainable Asia Bonds: Emerging opportunity 

5 January 2022 

Murray Collis, Deputy Chief Investment Officer

The trading environment within Asia’s fixed-income space in 2021 has been challenging—Sustainable Asia bonds included. However, we believe there are good reasons to be excited about the year ahead. Murray Collis (Deputy Chief Investment Officer, Fixed Income, Asia ex-Japan), Alvin Ong (Portfolio Manager, Fixed Income, Asia ex-Japan) and Eric Nietsch (Head of ESG, Asia) outline their 2022 outlook.

Trading places: factors that had affected returns in 2021 turn into strength in 2022

At the risk of being overly simplistic, apart from navigating the economic consequences associated with COVID-19, the Asian fixed-income market—and by extension, the region’s environmental, social, and governance (ESG) bond market—was predominantly shaped by two key events:

1 Fears that China Evergrande’s debt troubles could spark a domino effect and lead to contagion

2 Regulatory tightening in China’s technology, entertainment, and education sectors amid China’s drive toward common prosperity

The combined impact that these issues had on investor sentiment toward Asian bonds can be seen from how key benchmark indexes performed in the past year. Although things appear to have calmed slightly in recent weeks, supported by hints that the People’s Bank of China might be ready to shift its policy stance to support growth, investor sentiment remains fragile. And it’s against this backdrop that we’re evaluating the opportunities and risks in sustainable Asia bonds this year.

Valuation opportunity

Timing, as they say, is everything. While there’s every reason for investors to remain cautious, the recent upheaval has taken out the froth in the Asian bond market. As of this writing, the J.P. Morgan Asia Credit Index, which is widely used as a proxy for the market, lost more than 3% since the beginning of the year.1  The way we see it, the repricing of risk brought about a valuation reset. This is particularly true in the high-yield space where asset prices have fallen to a level not seen in years, relative to their peers in Europe and the United States. In our view, this has created a compelling opportunity in Asia’s sustainable fixed-income market, particularly in light of the increasingly urgent search for yield in an environment that—despite talks about monetary tightening—continues to be characterized by historically low interest rates.

Given that we’re talking about sustainable bonds, the sectors we’re focusing on shouldn’t surprise anyone: banks (which have emerged as a sizable player in social bonds), firms in the renewable energy space, and property firms—including those in China. Naturally, credit selection remains critical, and the market is likely to experience the occasional bout of volatility. However, we think these risks can be mitigated by comprehensive, bottom-up research and careful credit selection; in fact, we believe that an active, thoughtful investment approach will help underpin returns in sustainable investment strategies in 2022.

Chart 1: Sustainable Asian credits: a better year ahead?

Attractive valuation and lower environmental impact 

Source: Bloomberg, as of October 31, 2021. Figures shown are in gross USD terms. Past performance is not indicative of future results. The J.P. Morgan ESG Asia Credit Index (JESG JACI) tracks the total return performance of the Asia ex-Japan U.S. dollar-denominated debt instruments across the Asian fixed-income class. The index applies an ESG scoring and screening methodology to tilt toward green bonds or issues. Carbon intensity data sourced from Trucost ESG Analysis and Manulife Investment Management. Carbon intensity refers to Scope 1 & 2 Tonnes CO2 equivalent emissions per million USD revenues. Scope 1 refers to all direct emissions from the activities of an organization or under their control, including fuel combustion on site such as gas boilers, fleet vehicles, and air-conditioning leaks. Scope 2 refers to indirect emissions from electricity purchased and used by the organization. These emissions are created during the production of the energy and eventually used by the organization.

The absence of “greenium”

Greenium, a portmanteau of green and premium, refers to the premium that green bonds typically command in the markets due to strong demand and limited supply. In practice, this means green bonds often face a lower coupon rate relative to regular bonds. While this is more of a function of excess demand, it also means that investors are assuming more credit risk since they’re demanding less compensation to hold on to these debts.
Encouragingly, we don’t think that greenium exists in the Asian sustainable bond market. Although demand for green bonds is growing in Asia, it has yet to evolve to the point where investors are willing to pay above-market rates for these bonds. This means that the region’s green bonds are priced at a level that's comparable to their nongreen benchmarks, which we think is a positive for investors.

The issuance pipeline

We expect the issuance of ESG bonds—both the number of issuance and their combined value—to continue to grow in 2022. We saw a pause in sustainable bond issuance in the final quarter of this year as negative market sentiment made it sensible for some issuers to put their plans on hold; however, we fully expect issuance to pick up after the Lunar New Year in February.
In a sense, the pledges made in the run-up to the recent global climate summit (COP26)—at both the company and government levels—provide an indication of what we can expect in terms of issuance in the years ahead, if not in 2022. As the focus shifts from declarations of intent to actual implementation, we expect the breadth of issuers to expand further.

Chart 2: Carbon emissions by region

Source: HYDE database 2016 and the UN World Population Prospects 2019; United Nations Environmental Program 2017; BP Statistical Review of World Energy 2021.

Crucially, the amount of financing that will be required can be seen from the gap between the pledges made and reality: Coal powered nearly half of all energy consumed in Asia last year. As we’ve said previously, we fully expect the financial markets to play a key role in the process. In the nearer term, we believe the region’s sustainable debt market will continue to evolve, becoming increasingly sophisticated as investors welcome more varied forms of ESG debt instruments.

Challenges: macro uncertainty, taxonomy issues, and combating greenwashing

Broadly speaking, challenges in the year ahead can be placed into two categories: things that we, as investors, can control and things that we can’t. Macroeconomic uncertainty and the lack of a common taxonomy in relation to ESG investing fall into the first category.

First, most would agree that the macro picture remains uncertain. It’s difficult to forecast how the pandemic will evolve—the emergence of the Omicron variant has already led some countries to reintroduce social distancing measures and restrict travel. That said, we believe that most of Asia appears well positioned to tackle the latest wave of the pandemic, given the region’s relatively high vaccination rate. Meanwhile, central banks globally are widely expected to proceed with their plans to tighten monetary policy in spite of rising uncertainty, although much of that has already been priced into the market.

Second, investor frustration relating to the lack of commonly accepted standards and definitions relating to ESG investing isn’t new. However, given the global nature of the problem and the scale of coordination required to resolve it, it’s clear to us that it will be some time before meaningful progress can be made.

This leaves us with the second category: challenges that investors can do something about. This relates to greenwashing. Despite growing awareness about the problem, we believe the investment community could do more to address it. In our view, investors should examine sustainable bonds more closely before adding them to their portfolios. We have, for instance, declined a few opportunities that we felt failed to live up to the ESG label. While it could be tempting to think that our decision to walk away speaks to the strength of our research and our stringent ESG standards, we wonder if it’s more of a reflection of broader investor enthusiasm toward the asset class. In our view, the only way to fulfill our responsibility as sustainable investors is to commit to quality research and have the courage to walk away and demand issuers do better when they’ve missed the mark.

Despite these challenges, we remain positive about the year ahead. In fact, our belief that Asia’s growing sustainability drive can unlock compelling opportunities for fixed-income investors—in view of current valuation levels—has become stronger.

Download full PDF

 


1  Bloomberg, as of 15 December 2021.

  • Global Macro Outlook Q3 2022: Navigating the gathering storm

    Find out how shifts in the macro backdrop could affect the global economy in the third quarter and where resilience can be found.

    Read more
  • Global Macro Outlook Q2 2022: An unexpected turn of events

    Mounting inflationary pressure, soaring Geopolitical tensions, and rising interest rates—recent developments have necessitated a reassessment of growth. We examine how they might shape global capital markets in the coming months.

    Read more
  • Long-term structural strengths and resilience of Indian economy to continue despite cyclical challenges

    Although significant cyclical challenges will likely persist in India over the short-term, the longer-term story based on deepening formalisation and a growing digital economy and manufacturing base remains intact.

    Read more
See all
  • Global Macro Outlook Q3 2022: Navigating the gathering storm

    Find out how shifts in the macro backdrop could affect the global economy in the third quarter and where resilience can be found.

    read more
  • Global Macro Outlook Q2 2022: An unexpected turn of events

    Mounting inflationary pressure, soaring Geopolitical tensions, and rising interest rates—recent developments have necessitated a reassessment of growth. We examine how they might shape global capital markets in the coming months.

    read more
  • Long-term structural strengths and resilience of Indian economy to continue despite cyclical challenges

    Although significant cyclical challenges will likely persist in India over the short-term, the longer-term story based on deepening formalisation and a growing digital economy and manufacturing base remains intact.

    read more
see all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

可持續亞洲債券:新興機遇

5/1/2022 

亞洲(日本除外)定息產品部副投資總監Murray Collis

在2021年,亞洲固定收益領域(包括可持續亞洲債券)的交易環境充滿挑戰。然而,我們有充分理由相信明年的前景令人振奮。在本2022年前景展望文章中,亞洲(日本除外)定息產品部副投資總監Murray Collis、亞洲區環境、社會及管治(ESG)主管Eric Nietsch及亞洲(日本除外)定息產品部投資組合經理Alvin Ong闡述2022年的市場前景。

運轉乾坤: 2021年回報的影響因素將在2022年轉化為優勢

儘管這樣說可能過於簡單——除了應對與新冠肺炎相關的經濟後果外,亞洲固定收益市場,以至區內的環境、社會及管治(ESG)債券市場主要受兩大關鍵事件影響:

  1. 投資者憂慮中國恒大的債務危機可能會引發骨牌效應,導致危機蔓延
  2. 中國致力實現「共同富裕」目標,因而對科技、娛樂及教育行業加強監管

回顧主要基準指數過去一年的表現,可見上述兩大關鍵事件對亞洲債券投資氣氛造成的影響。雖然中國人民銀行暗示可能準備轉變其政策立場以支持經濟增長,令有關情況在最近數周輕微緩和,但投資信心仍然脆弱。基於上述市場環境,我們重新評估可持續亞洲債券明年的機遇及風險。

估值機遇

常言道:時機決定一切。雖然投資者有充分理由保持審慎,但近期市況波動已令亞洲債市的泡沫消散。截至撰文之時,廣泛用作市場指標的摩根大通亞洲信貸指數自年初以來累跌超過3% 。我們認為,風險重新定價導致估值重估。這情況在高收益領域尤其顯著,相對歐美同類市場,亞洲高收益市場的資產價格跌至多年未見的水平。我們認為,這為亞洲可持續固定收益市場締造吸引的投資機遇,尤其是在利率持續處於歷史低位的環境下(雖然市場有傳央行將收緊貨幣政策),投資者追求收益之心日益迫切。

鑑於本文討論的是可持續債券,因此我們聚焦的行業應不會令人感到意外:銀行(已成為社會債券的大型參與者)、可再生能源領域的企業,以及房地產公司(包括中國房地產發展商)。信貸挑選固然重要,而且市場很可能不時反覆波動。然而,我們認為,全面的「由下而上」研究及審慎的信貸挑選可望緩和上述風險;事實上,我們相信採取主動和縝密的投資方針,有助可持續投資策略在2022年錄得回報。

圖1:可持續亞洲債券有望在明年造好?

估值吸引、對環境影響較低  

資料來源:彭博資訊,截至2021年10月31月。呈列數據為美元總額。過往表現並非日後業績的指標。摩根大通ESG亞洲信貸指數(JESG JACI)追蹤亞洲固定收益資產類別的亞洲(日本除外)美元計價債務工具總回報表現。指數採用ESG評分和篩選方法,因而偏向綠色債券或發行人。碳排放濃度數據由Trucost ESG Analysis和宏利投資管理提供。碳排放濃度是指範圍1及範圍2中,每百萬美元收入產生的公噸二氧化碳當量。範圍1是指機構活動或在其控制下的所有直接排放,包括燃氣鍋爐、車輛和空調製冷劑洩漏等現場燃料燃燒。範圍2是指該機構購買和使用的電力所產生的間接排放。這些排放源於能源生產,而有關能源最終為該機構所使用。

缺乏「綠色溢價」

「綠色溢價」由「綠色」和「溢價」組合而成,意思是由於需求殷切但供應有限,綠色債券在市場上通常存在溢價。實際上,這代表綠色債券的票息率一般低於普通債券。雖然這是由於需求過多所致,亦意味著投資者假設綠色債券較其他債券的信貸風險更高,因其持有這類債券時所得到的補償較其他債券更少。

令人鼓舞的是,我們認為亞洲可持續債券市場並不存在綠色溢價。儘管亞洲對綠色債券的需求日增,但目前尚未發展到投資者願意為這類債券支付溢價。這意味著區內綠色債券的定價與非綠色基準相若,我們認為這對投資者來說屬利好因素。

即將發行的債券

我們預期,ESG債券的發行量及合計規模將在2022年繼續增長。可持續債券曾於2021年最後一季暫停發行,原因是市場氣氛向淡,部份發行人擱置發行計劃實屬合理做法。不過,我們期待發行量將在2月份農曆新年後有所回升。

從某種意義上說,企業和政府在近日全球氣候峰會(第26屆聯合國氣候變化大會)前所作的承諾,有助我們預測未來數年(即使不是2022年)的發行量。隨著焦點由表明意向轉為實際執行,我們預期發行人廣度將進一步擴大。

圖2:碳排放(按地區劃分)

資料來源:HYDE數據庫(2016年)、聯合國《2019年世界人口展望》、聯合國環境規劃署(2017年)、《英國石油公司世界能源統計年鑑》(2021年)。

關鍵在於,承諾與現實之間的差距將反映所需的融資金額:去年,亞洲所消耗的能源總量接近一半由煤炭產生。正如上文所言,我們期待金融市場在過程中擔當關鍵角色。至於短期內,我們相信亞洲可持續債券市場將繼續發展,隨著投資者接納更多不同形式的ESG債務工具,市場將更趨成熟。

挑戰:宏觀不明朗因素、分類相關問題及打擊漂綠行為

整體來說,未來一年的挑戰可分為兩類:一類是我們作為投資者能夠控制的因素;另一類是我們無法控制的因素。宏觀經濟不明朗因素及ESG投資缺乏共同分類方法屬於第一類。

首先,大部份投資者都會同意宏觀形勢尚欠明朗。疫情發展難以預測,Omicron新冠變種病毒出現,導致部份國家重推社交距離限制措施,並限制民眾出行。儘管如此,我們認為亞洲大部份地區的疫苗接種率相對較高,應做好準備應對最新一波疫情。與此同時,雖然不明朗因素增加,但市場普遍預測各國央行將繼續推進收緊貨幣政策的計劃;然而,市場已大致消化有關情況。

其次,投資者對ESG投資缺乏普遍認同的標準及定義感到困惑,已是慣常情況。然而,考慮到這個問題的全球性質,以及解決有關問題所需的協作規模,我們清楚知道,還需要一段時間才能取得重大進展。

這為我們帶來第二類挑戰:投資者可採取行動應對的挑戰。這些挑戰關乎漂綠行為。雖然投資者日漸意識到這個問題,但我們認為投資界可加強行動,以助解決問題。投資者應先仔細審視可持續債券,才將其納入投資組合。舉例而言,我們曾推拒一些不符合ESG標準的投資機遇。雖然投資者可能認為,迴避這些機遇的決定反映我們的研究實力及嚴格的ESG標準,但我們相信這主要反映廣泛投資者對該資產類別的熱切追求。我們認為,作為可持續投資者,履行責任的唯一方法是堅持進行高質素研究,勇於拒絕作出相關投資,並要求發行人在表現未達標時作出改善。

儘管面臨種種挑戰,我們仍然看好明年的市場前景。事實上,基於目前的估值水平,我們更加相信亞洲的可持續發展動力日益增強,可為固定收益投資者創造吸引的投資機遇。

詳情請下載全份文件

 


1  彭博資訊,截至2021年12月15日。

  • 全球宏觀經濟展望2022年第3季:駕馭風雲變幻的環境

    我們會進一步了解宏觀局勢如何影響環球第三季度的經濟,以及能提供強靭力的投資項目。

    閱讀更多
  • 全球宏觀展望2022年第2季:形勢變化 出乎意料

    通脹壓力攀升、地緣政治摩擦增加及息口上升,最近事態發展令人不得不重新評估經濟增長的前景。我們剖析這些事件如何未來數月影響環球資本市場。

    閱讀更多
  • 儘管面臨周期性挑戰,印度經濟保持長期結構性優勢和抗逆力

    儘管印度短期內可能持續面對重大周期性挑戰,但經濟正規化持續深化和數碼經濟增長的長期主題保持不變。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 全球宏觀經濟展望2022年第3季:駕馭風雲變幻的環境

    我們會進一步了解宏觀局勢如何影響環球第三季度的經濟,以及能提供強靭力的投資項目。

    閱讀更多
  • 全球宏觀展望2022年第2季:形勢變化 出乎意料

    通脹壓力攀升、地緣政治摩擦增加及息口上升,最近事態發展令人不得不重新評估經濟增長的前景。我們剖析這些事件如何未來數月影響環球資本市場。

    閱讀更多
  • 儘管面臨周期性挑戰,印度經濟保持長期結構性優勢和抗逆力

    儘管印度短期內可能持續面對重大周期性挑戰,但經濟正規化持續深化和數碼經濟增長的長期主題保持不變。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認