Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

Sustainable Asia bonds: cutting through the noise

21 October 2022

Murray Collis, Chief Investment Officer, Fixed Income, Asia (ex-Japan)

Eric Nietsch, Head of ESG, Asia

This year hasn’t been kind to the global fixed-income market and the sustainable bond market in Asia hasn’t been spared. However, our conviction toward this asset class remains strong and we expect current headwinds to weaken in the months ahead.

Market assessment: a very unusual nine months

It's been a challenging year for financial markets. While news headlines may suggest that the balkanization of the global economy is well under way, we remain very much in an interconnected world.

Markets in Asia aren’t insulated from key events taking place elsewhere—these include the economic fallout emanating from Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, the withdrawal of monetary stimulus, and crucially, the decision among most central banks (with the notable exception of the People’s Bank of China and the Bank of Japan) to use interest-rate hikes as the primary tool to contain inflation.

Needless to say, these developments continue to have a profound impact on the region’s markets, but there are other Asia-specific issues that have also weighed on investor confidence, notably, mainland China’s property sector.

Leverage levels, COVID-19, and mainland China’s real estate sector

What began as an idiosyncratic event involving a few highly leveraged property companies in China has since taken on more significance. The Chinese government’s decision against providing these firms with a lifeline highlighted its commitment to crackdown on excessive leverage which is in itself a laudable decision; however, the arrival of the Omicron variant and subsequent lockdowns made what was already a difficult situation much worse.

Economic activity in mainland China has been severely disrupted as a result of the lockdowns (a part of the government’s dynamic zero-COVID policy). Its impact, however, continues to be keenly felt by the property sector, particularly among the highly leveraged construction firms that are reliant on presales and ample cashflow to complete their projects. As showrooms and sales offices shut, these companies lost an important source of funding. The way we see it, these developments have amplified the amount of stress within China’s property sector.

Given its size (roughly 20% of GDP), the challenges confronting mainland China’s property sector have dominated discussions about China and shaped investor attitude toward the country and, by extension, the region. In a similar way, given the prominent role that China plays in Asia’s fixed-income market—particularly within the sustainable space—these developments have also weighed on sentiment.

Sustainable Asia bond issuance: a temporary blip

Despite the challenging macroeconomic environment, the sustainable fixed-income market in Asia has held up relatively well in the first six months of 2022 from an issuance perspective. Sustainable bond issuance in the ASEAN+3 market (ASEAN economies plus China/Hong Kong, South Korea, and Japan) during the period totaled US$125.3 billion, up from US$117.7 billion a year ago.1

H1 2022 sustainable bond issuance in ASEAN + China, Hong Kong, South Korea, and Japan (US$ billion)

Source: Asian Development Bank, Bloomberg, September 2022.

 

What’s perhaps less obvious from the aggregate issuance figures is that the rate of growth has actually slowed. On a quarter-over-quarter basis, sustainable bond issuance in these markets actually fell in Q2 due to reduced issuance in mainland China and Japan. The expected expansion in issuer depth and breadth hasn’t materialised. Similarly, innovation in the region’s sustainable bond market during the period paled in comparison to what we’ve witnessed in the previous two years. In our view, these developments are more a response to rising interest rates and the overarching sense of uncertainty than a reflection of dwindling demand or reduced financing needs.

In fact, our engagement with the investment community suggests that investor interest in the asset class remains healthy. A recent poll of investors and borrowers in Asia-Pacific found that nearly all respondents consider environmental, social, and governance (ESG) issues and are actively integrating these factors into their strategy.

Similarly, the need for funding to get sustainable projects off the ground hasn’t diminished; rather, it’s become more acute. The inaugural "Breakthrough Agenda Report2022,” a progress report that will be discussed at the upcoming 2022 United Nations Climate Change Conference (COP27) meeting in Egypt, noted that annual investment in renewable energy needs to more than double to US$1 trillion to meet global climate goals.

Separately, the Asia Investor Group on Climate Change, an influential Asia-based investor group (of which Manulife Investment Management is a member), recently estimated that the continent will need to invest up to US$37 trillion by 2050 in energy infrastructure alone to meet its decarbonisation goals. Recent extreme weather events—for instance, the devastating flood in Pakistan and droughts in parts of China—also point to the growing urgency to hasten Asia’s transition to a more sustainable future.

These findings have reinforced our belief that the slowdown in issuance we’ve seen so far this year is likely to be temporary, and we expect momentum to pick up again over the next 6 to 12 months.

Encouragingly, the recently revised China Green Bond Principles represent a determined effort to bring the country’s definitions of green bonds into closer alignment with international standards and adopt a harsher opinion of greenwashing. In our view, this is an important step in the right direction that will set the tone for future sustainable bond issues originating from China.

We remain constructive on sustainable Asia bonds

While the current macro backdrop may not seem as supportive of sustainable Asian bonds as it was two years ago, our views toward the asset class haven’t changed: We’re convinced that it has the potential to do well in the medium and long term. Critically, we believe existing headwinds will slowly decline over the coming months and the outlook for the asset class will begin to look a lot more sanguine.

For a start, we believe the slowdown in growth in the United States will begin to be more observable by the beginning of next year, a development that should create a more supportive environment for Asian investment-grade (IG) bonds from an interest-rate and yield perspective. At this point, it’s important to note that credit spreads on Asian IG debt have held up relatively well year to date despite choppy markets, which is heartening.

That said, indiscriminate selling, particularly within the Asian high-yield segment, has created a disconnect between company fundamentals and the market’s price-discovery function, creating opportunities for the astute investor—even within the much-maligned Chinese property sector. In our experience, there have certainly been instances in which sustainable debt issues of firms we consider to be industry leaders are trading at the same level as their worst competitors.

We believe existing headwinds will slowly decline over the coming months and the outlook for the asset class will begin to look a lot more sanguine.

We also expect the narrative around China’s economy to improve. To be clear, investors are correct to have concerns about mainland China’s economic outlook—it's been an unusually challenging year for the country; however, we expect the government to continue to gradually announce additional stimulus measures to support growth, particularly after the ruling party’s 20th congress in October. The event should see the appointment of a new economic management team with a renewed focus on enhancing stability and growth.

An important development we expect to see in mainland China over the coming months is the evolution of its dynamic zero-COVID policy. In September, Chinese President Xi Jinping embarked on an official tour to central Asia—his first trip abroad since 2020. The visit is seen by some as a sign that face-to-face diplomacy could soon be back on the agenda and that the government might recalibrate its zero-COVID policy and migrate to a new-normal (COVID-19) policy model in the first half of 2023. Such a development will no doubt jumpstart economic activity in the country and set the stage for a much-needed period of growth.

Overcoming obstacles to ESG investing: greenwashing, taxonomy, and transparency

The continued rise in investor appetite for ESG investing can be seen in the number of Asia-focused sustainability-themed investment products that have come to the markets in the past year. Nearly 40 ESG funds were launched in mainland China alone within the first eight months of the year. It’s a very heartening outcome, particularly in light of the social restriction measures that had been in place. That said, in order for ESG investing to continue to expand in a meaningful manner, we’re of the view that long-standing challenges regarding greenwashing, taxonomy, and transparency will need to be addressed.

Number of Chinese ESG funds launched by year

Source: Bloomberg, August 2022.

 

Greenwashing and taxonomy

The word greenwashing entered the vernacular in the last few years and has since cast a shadow over ESG investing. In the absence of a definitive, globally recognised set of taxonomy, investment managers and investors are likely to continue to find themselves caught between the gaps created by differing definitions in different jurisdictions and evolving expectations; the ongoing uproar in Europe relating to ESG fund ratings, for instance, is a case in point.

The European Union’s (EU’s) approach to regulating ESG investing is widely seen as the most advanced (if not stringent) globally. Among the many rules embedded within the EU’s Sustainable Finance Disclosure Regulation (SFDR) framework is a requirement for investment firms to classify their products into one of three categories:

  • Article 6—investment products with no ESG focus
  • Article 8—sustainable investment isn’t an objective of these products, but sustainability factors can inform an aspect of the overall investment process
  • Article 9—investment products that identify sustainable investment as their primary objective, and are required to comply with the EU’s do no significant harm principle

It isn’t difficult to understand why investment managers are incentivized to have their products categorized in such a manner: It provides an easy way for investors to understand how green each product is and could be a useful marketing tool. What’s only becoming clear in recent months, however, is the extent of detailed disclosure that investment managers need to provide to maintain their desired designation. Given the nascent stage of the industry, access to data required by EU regulators isn’t always easily available. Research suggests that many investment managers in Europe will likely need to reclassify their product designations (i.e., downgrade) because they’re unable to meet SFDR requirements.

It’s a development that’s likely to spark fresh allegations of greenwashing; however, it’s equally important to acknowledge that ESG rules are constantly being tightened as regulators work to address gaps in the existing governing framework.

That said, it’s equally difficult to discount the possibility that a small section of the investment industry might have been overly ambitious about their ability to commit to sustainability goals, having been enticed by growing investor enthusiasm. In our view, continued open dialogue with regulators and a firm commitment to transparency can help investors navigate the perplexing world of ESG investing.

Transparency and access to resources at the local level

We’ve always taken the time to emphasise the diverse makeup of Asia’s economies. We believe it’s important for investors to understand the heterogeneity and complexity that define the region’s fixed-income markets and how they inform the unique sustainability challenges that each economy in Asia faces. This couldn’t be more relevant to the investment process.

We believe investment managers offering sustainability-themed products need to be clear about their approach to sustainable investing. In practice, this means being transparent about their investment processes, the framework underpinning their investment analysis, how they procure their sustainability data set, and how they’ve chosen the benchmarks that will be used to measure their impact and/or performance.

The degree to which investment managers rely on third-party ESG ratings and data sets to form an investment view is crucial, particularly in Asia. In our opinion, this can have a material impact on the quality of investment decisions and, by extension, investment outcomes. The absence of a global set of definitions, standards, and processes means that local ESG expertise is needed to harmonize data sets and ratings procured from external vendors to derive meaning from a collection of disparate information. This is also an area in which the ability to conduct proprietary ESG research at the regional and local levels can have a potentially outsized impact on the investment process. It must also be noted that achieving consistency in this area within a single market is difficult enough—the challenge is amplified many times over when applied to an economically diverse region.

This is why we believe that having access to ESG resources—in addition to investment personnel—on the ground is critical to ESG investing in Asia. A dedicated team with the ability to conduct proprietary sustainability-themed research can, in our experience, have a material impact on the quality of investment decisions. This is an important factor that investors should consider when navigating the rapidly expanding world of sustainable investing in Asia.

Events and developments that could shape the outlook for sustainable Asia bonds

Looking ahead, there are a number of events and developments that we’re monitoring. While we don’t expect them to affect our constructive view of the asset class, how each event and trend unfolds could influence the pace at which Asia’s sustainable debt market develops.

  • COP 27—Hosts of the upcoming summit have pushed for a focus on climate financing to help emerging economies (particularly those that didn’t directly contribute to global warming) mitigate the impact of climate change.
  • U.S.-China collaboration on addressing climate change—The United States and mainland China are the world’s largest emitters of greenhouse gases. While both countries are deeply committed to address climate change, Beijing’s decision to suspend climate talks with Washington in August has sparked fears that any positive traction that had been gained through collaboration and open dialogue could be lost. We hope both parties will resume their collaboration soon.
  • Transitioning stranded assets—As Asia begins to pivot away from fossil fuel and embrace cleaner sources of energy, the task of transitioning and retiring its existing fleet of coal-fired power plants becomes more urgent. Although developments remain at a nascent stage, it’s clear to us that the debt market has an important role to play to facilitate this transition.

In a sense, developments in the first nine months of the year have taken the sheen off the sustainable bond market in Asia as macro factors such as geopolitics, rising interest rates, and recession fears dominated sentiment. However, as those headwinds weaken and economies on the continent continue to return to business as usual (as it has in Singapore), the seemingly stalled momentum behind the sustainability movement should resume its march forward.

 

Download full PDF

 


1 Asian Development Bank, as of September 27, 2022.

  • China’s double pivot — A major shift in China’s COVID and property sector policies

    Overall, we view the latest policy announcements positively which should pave the path for economic reopening and eventual recovery in the property sector from the second quarter of next year.

    Read more
  • How can multi-asset investing help today's income-seekers?

    As higher inflation outpaces income growth, multi-asset investing helps to generate and protect income streams against volatility, while keeping capital stable and lasting longer. 

    Read more
  • What does a strong U.S. dollar mean for global growth?

    As the world's dominant reserve currency, movements in the U.S. dollar can have important implications for the world economy. Our experts identify three channels through which dollar strength can shape growth. 

    Read more
See all
  • China’s double pivot — A major shift in China’s COVID and property sector policies

    Overall, we view the latest policy announcements positively which should pave the path for economic reopening and eventual recovery in the property sector from the second quarter of next year.

    read more
  • How can multi-asset investing help today's income-seekers?

    As higher inflation outpaces income growth, multi-asset investing helps to generate and protect income streams against volatility, while keeping capital stable and lasting longer. 

    read more
  • What does a strong U.S. dollar mean for global growth?

    As the world's dominant reserve currency, movements in the U.S. dollar can have important implications for the world economy. Our experts identify three channels through which dollar strength can shape growth. 

    read more
see all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

可持續亞洲債券:擺脫陰霾    邁步向前

21/10/2022

Murray Collis, 亞洲(日本除外)定息產品部首席投資總監

Eric Nietsch, 亞洲區環境、社會及管治(ESG)主管

 

全球固定收益市場在今年飽受衝擊,亞洲可持續債券市場亦不能倖免。然而,我們仍然相當看好這個資產類別,並預期現時的阻力將在未來數月減退。

市場評估:不尋常的九個月

金融市場經歷了充滿挑戰的一年。雖然從新聞頭條看來,全球經濟格局正趨於分裂,但其實各地仍然緊密相連。

亞洲市場難免受到其他地區的重大事件所影響,包括俄羅斯入侵烏克蘭帶來的經濟影響、當局撤回貨幣刺激措施,以及至關重要的是,全球大部份央行(除中國人民銀行和日本央行外)決定以加息作為遏抑通脹的主要工具。

以上事態發展無疑繼續對亞洲區市場造成深遠影響,但投資者的信心亦受到其他亞洲特有的問題拖累,特別是中國的房地產行業。

槓桿水平、2019新型冠狀病毒及內房業

事件起初只是涉及數家高負債內房公司的特殊事件,後來情況愈趨嚴重。中國政府決定不向這些公司伸出援手,反映當局決心打擊過度槓桿的情況,而這個決定值得讚賞;然而,Omicron變種病毒出現,以及隨後的封鎖措施令本已艱難的境況雪上加霜。

在封鎖措施下(政府「動態清零」政策之一),中國的經濟活動受到嚴重干擾,而房地產業仍然明顯受到影響,特別是那些槓桿偏高的建造業公司,它們需要依賴預售樓花及充裕現金流來完成項目。隨著展銷場地及銷售辦事處停止運作,這些公司失去重要的資金來源。我們認為,中國房地產行業因此承擔更沉重的壓力。

由於內房業的規模龐大(約佔國內生產總值的20%),因此業界面對的挑戰成為了市場對中國的討論焦點,而這亦影響了投資者對中國以至亞洲區內市場的取態。同樣,鑑於中國在亞洲固定收益市場舉足輕重(特別是可持續債券方面),這些事態發展也不利投資氣氛。

可持續亞洲債券的發行活動: 短暫受壓

儘管宏觀經濟環境充滿挑戰,但亞洲可持續固定收益市場在2022年首六個月的發行量相對穩健。期內,「東盟加三」市場(東盟經濟體加上中國內地/香港、南韓及日本)的可持續債券發行總額為1,253億美元,超越一年前同期的1,177億美元。

圖1:東盟加上中國內地、香港、南韓及日本在2022年上半年的可持續債券發行額(10億美元計)

資料來源:亞洲開發銀行、彭博,2022年9月。

 

不過,總發行數據或難以清晰反映增長率放緩的事實。由於中國內地及日本的發行量減少,「東盟加三」市場的第二季可持續債券發行量按季下跌。發行人的深度及廣度並無如預期般擴張。在這段期間,區內可持續債券市場的創新情況也較過去兩年遜色。我們認為以上情況反映了市場對加息及整體不明朗因素的反應,而非由於需求轉弱或融資需求減少。

事實上,我們與投資界交流時發現,投資者對這個資產類別的興趣仍然濃厚。最近向亞太區投資者及借款人進行的意見調查指出,接近全部受訪者都關注環境、社會及管治(ESG)議題,並積極將這些因素融入其投資策略。

與此同時,啟動可持續項目的融資需求並無減少,反而變得更殷切。將於埃及舉行的2022年聯合國氣候變化大會(COP27)上討論的首份「2022年突破性議程報告」指出,可再生能源的年度投資金額需要增加超過一倍至1萬億美元,方能實現全球氣候目標。

另外,亞洲投資者氣候變化聯盟(這是具影響力的亞洲投資者組織,宏利投資管理是該聯盟的成員)最近估計,單是能源基建方面,亞洲要在2050年或之前最多投資37萬億美元,以達致減碳目標。近年的極端天氣事件(例如:巴基斯坦的嚴重水災及中國部份地區的旱災)亦顯示,亞洲急需加快轉型至可持續發展的未來。

這些研究結果鞏固了我們的信念:年初至今發行量減少的情況可能只屬暫時,我們預期發行量將在未來6至12個月再次轉強。

令人鼓舞的是,最近修訂的《中國綠色債券原則》證明中央政府銳意使內地的綠色債券定義與國際標準更加一致,並嚴格看待「漂綠」現象。我們認為中國朝著正確的方向邁出重要一步,能為未來的中國可持續債券發行活動奠定基礎。

我們仍看好可持續亞洲債券

儘管現時的宏觀環境未如兩年前般利好可持續亞洲債券,但我們對這個資產類別的觀點維持不變:我們看好其創造中期和長期佳績的潛力。重要的是,我們認為當前的阻力將在未來數月逐步減退,本資產類別的前景可望轉趨樂觀。

首先,我們相信美國經濟增長將在明年初開始顯著放緩,從利率和孳息率的角度來看,為亞洲投資級別債券營造更有利的環境。就此而言,投資者必須注意:儘管市況波動,但年初至今亞洲投資級別債券的信貸息差相對穩健,情況令人振奮。

雖然如此,投資者無差別拋售(特別是亞洲高收益債券市場)導致公司基本因素與市場定價機制脫節,因而為精明的投資者帶來良機,甚至是備受批評的內房業亦然。根據我們的經驗,過往曾經出現業界龍頭公司與實力最差的競爭對手發行的可持續債券處於相同價格水平。

我們認為當前的阻力將在未來數月逐步減退,本資產類別的前景可望轉趨樂觀。

我們亦預期市場對中國經濟的言論將有所改善。誠然,投資者對中國經濟前景感到憂慮是合理的,內地在今年面對不尋常的挑戰;然而,我們預計政府仍會逐步推出額外刺激措施以支持經濟增長,尤其是在10月舉行中國共產黨第二十次全國代表大會之後。這次會議將任命新的經濟管理班子,重新聚焦於提升經濟穩定性與增長。

我們預計中國內地將在未來數月出現一個重要的發展:改變「動態清零」政策。中國國家主席習近平在9月份官式出訪中亞,這是他自2020年以來首次外訪。部份意見認為,這次外訪象徵面對面外交即將重返中國的議程之中,政府亦可能在2023年上半年重新調整「清零政策」,並改行新常態(2019新型冠狀病毒)政策模式。以上的事態無疑有助啟動中國的經濟活動,作好準備以迎接所需的增長時期。

克服ESG投資的障礙:漂綠、分類方法及透明度

投資者對ESG投資的興趣持續增加,這從過去一年市場推出以亞洲為主的可持續發展主題投資產品的數量可見一斑。今年前八個月,單是中國內地便已推出了接近40隻ESG基金。這個結果令人非常振奮,特別是在當地推行社交限制措施的情況下。雖然如此,為使ESG投資繼續顯著發展,我們認為需要應對漂綠、分類方法及透明度帶來的長期挑戰。

圖2:中國每年推出的ESG基金數量

資料來源:彭博資訊,2022年8月。

 

漂綠及分類方法

過去數年,「漂綠」一詞成為日常用語,自此令ESG投資蒙上陰影。在缺乏一套明確、全球公認的分類方法下,投資經理及投資者可能繼續面對不同司法管轄區的定義各異和期望不斷演變而形成的差距;歐洲持續就ESG基金評級發生爭議便是例子之一。

歐盟對ESG投資的監管獲廣泛認為屬全球最先進(甚至是嚴格)之列。在歐盟「可持續發展金融披露規例」(SFDR)框架的眾多規定中,包括要求投資公司將其產品按以下三個方式分類:

  • 第6條—並非以ESG為焦點的投資產品
  • 第8條—這類產品並非以可持續投資作為目標,但可持續發展因素可作為整個投資流程某一方面的參考
  • 第9條—以可持續投資作為主要目標的投資產品,並需遵從歐盟的「不造成重大傷害」原則

我們不難理解,為何投資經理樂於以這個方法把產品分類:投資者可以藉此輕易了解各產品的綠色程度,同時亦是有效的市場營銷工具。然而,當局到了最近數月才表明投資經理需要提供哪個程度的詳盡披露,方可保留他們擬定的產品名稱。鑑於業界仍處於發展的初期階段,取得歐盟監管機構要求的數據並不容易。研究發現,不少歐洲投資經理由於無法滿足SFDR的要求,可能需要將產品名稱重新分類(即是降級)。

此事可能引發新一輪的「漂綠」指控;不過,我們亦要正視一個事實:隨著監管當局致力解決現有管治框架的差距,ESG規例正持續收緊。

儘管如此,在投資者興趣日益濃厚的驅使下,我們也難以排除少數投資業界參與者,可能會對其實現可持續目標的能力過於自信。我們認為持續與監管機構公開對話,加上堅守公開透明的原則,將有助投資者駕馭複雜的ESG投資領域。

公開透明和使用本土資源

我們多次強調亞洲經濟體具備多元組成的特點。我們認為,投資者必須認識亞洲固定收益市場的異質性和複雜性,以及這些特質如何為各個亞洲經濟體帶來獨特的可持續發展挑戰,而這些與投資流程關係密切。

我們相信提供可持續發展主題產品的投資經理,必須清楚闡明所運用的可持續投資策略。在實際運作時,他們的投資流程、支持其投資分析的框架、如何取得可持續發展數據,以及如何選擇用於量度投資影響力及/或表現的基準,都要符合公開透明的原則。

值得注意的關鍵因素是投資經理依賴第三方ESG評級及數據,並據此制訂投資觀點的程度,特別是在亞洲。我們認為,這可能對投資決策質素造成重大影響,繼而左右投資成果。如果缺乏一套適用於全球的定義、標準及流程,投資經理便需要借助當地的ESG專業知識,協調從外部供應商購買的數據及評級資料,藉此從不同的資料中發掘具意義的資訊。另外,若能在區域及地方層面就此進行專有的ESG研究,可望為投資流程帶來龐大影響力。同樣值得注意的是,在單一市場的這個領域發揮穩定一致的表現已經非常困難,而當落實至一個經濟多元地區時,挑戰將會大幅增加。

有鑑於此,我們認為除了投資人才外,獲得當地ESG資源對在亞洲區進行ESG投資至關重要。根據我們的經驗,一支能夠進行專有可持續發展主題研究的專責團隊,可以對投資決策的質素產生重大影響。當投資者在迅速發展的亞洲可持續投資市場尋找機會時,這是應該考慮的重要因素。

塑造可持續亞洲債券前景的事件及事態發展

展望未來,我們正監察一些事件及事態發展。雖然預計它們不會影響我們看好本資產類別的觀點,但每宗事件及趨勢的發展方式或會影響亞洲可持續債券市場的發展步伐。

  • 第27屆聯合國氣候變化大會—這個稍後舉行的氣候峰會主辦國建議推動氣候融資,協助新興經濟體(特別是那些並無直接導致全球暖化的經濟體)減輕氣候變化帶來的影響。
  • 中美合作應對氣候變化—美國及中國是全球最大的溫室氣體排放國家。儘管兩國都全力以赴應對氣候變化問題,但中國在8月宣佈暫停中美氣候談判,令外界憂慮過往透過合作與公開對話所累積的成果可能會化為烏有;我們希望中美能夠早日恢復合作。
  • 轉移擱淺資產—隨著亞洲開始停用化石燃料及轉用潔淨能源,轉移和淘汰現有的燃煤發電廠變得刻不容緩。雖然這方面的發展仍處於早期階段,但我們明白債券市場在推動相關轉變上擔當重要作用。

從某角度而言,由於地緣政治、加息及對經濟衰退的憂慮等宏觀因素主導市場氣氛,今年首九個月的事態發展令亞洲的可持續債券市場黯然失色。不過,當這些阻力轉弱,加上區內經濟體持續回復正常(正如新加坡),可持續債券市場將擺脫停滯勢頭,重新向前邁進。

 

詳情請下載全份文件

 

  • 中國政策雙轉向 — 防疫及房地產政策重大調整

    整體而言,我們對近期公布的政策感到樂觀,有關舉措應可為明年第二季經濟重啟和房地產業最終復甦奠定基礎。

    閱讀更多
  • 強美元對環球經濟增長有何影響?

    美元作為全球主要的儲備貨幣,其走向可能會對全球經濟增長帶來重大影響。我們的專家從三方面剖析,強美元如何影響環球經濟前景。

    閱讀更多
  • 糧食價格上漲和供應短缺所造成的影響

    我們認為應將糧食安全視為具有深遠經濟、社會和地緣政治影響力的重要投資風險因素。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • China’s double pivot — A major shift in China’s COVID and property sector policies

    Overall, we view the latest policy announcements positively which should pave the path for economic reopening and eventual recovery in the property sector from the second quarter of next year.

    read more
  • How can multi-asset investing help today's income-seekers?

    As higher inflation outpaces income growth, multi-asset investing helps to generate and protect income streams against volatility, while keeping capital stable and lasting longer. 

    read more
  • What does a strong U.S. dollar mean for global growth?

    As the world's dominant reserve currency, movements in the U.S. dollar can have important implications for the world economy. Our experts identify three channels through which dollar strength can shape growth. 

    read more
see all
確認