Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

Sri Lanka’s difficult road ahead

15 April 2022

Fiona Cheung, Head of Global Emerging Markets Fixed Income Research
Joseph Huang,
Head of Fixed Income Research, South Asia

On 12 April, the Central Bank of Sri Lanka announced that it would suspend payments on US $51 billion in offshore debt obligations to preserve the nation’s dwindling foreign reserves1. The statement indicated that technical default was imminent2. In this investment note, Fiona Cheung, Head of Global Emerging Markets Fixed Income Research, and Joseph Huang, Head of Fixed Income Research, South Asia, explain the difficult road ahead for Sri Lanka amid default and restructuring, as well as the unique lessons this incident offers investors for adopting holistic credit frameworks to assess sovereign high-yield credits.

Sri Lanka’s central bank announcement did not come as a surprise to investors. Indeed, the country’s economic condition has progressively deteriorated over the past two years. After recently experiencing massive food and fuel shortages, the government declared a state of emergency on 1 April due to surging public protests, only to later rescind the order as they swelled further. As foreign exchange reserves dwindled, the government ultimately decided to suspend all payments to foreign debtors until a formal restructuring could be negotiated, thereby averting a potential humanitarian crisis.

We believe that sovereign defaults do not occur in a vacuum, but are the product of a country’s economic structure, policy decisions, and external macro shocks that accrue over time. In particular, balance-of-payment crises are nothing new in Sri Lanka: since 1965, the country has received 16 loans from the International Monetary Fund (IMF). As an island nation that relies on hard currency from exports and services to purchase critical goods, foreign exchange reserves have always been a vital metric for credit investors.

Over the past two years, the country has faced a raft of unanticipated challenges that exacerbated this historical financial vulnerability. Capital inflows suffered due to COVID-19 travel restrictions that crippled the economically important tourism sector. International tourists’ arrivals fell by 61.7% in 2020. Additionally, the government banned fertiliser imports in April 2021, an unexpected decision that reduced productivity and revenues in the tea and rubber industries – two of the nation’s key exports. As a result, foreign exchange reserves progressively decreased to dangerously low levels (see Chart 1).

Chart 1: Sri Lanka’s dwindling foreign exchange reserves (US dollars, millions)3

Although the economy showed signs of potential recovery in the first quarter of 2022, the rise of global inflation, particularly in energy and food, coupled with the Russia-Ukraine conflict (these two countries accounted for a significant number of tourists), posed new challenges. Ultimately, a widening dual deficit (current account and fiscal) and depreciating rupee forced the government to decide how its limited resources would be used.

A holistic approach to assess credit risk: Lessons from Sri Lanka

The imminent default of Sri Lanka provides a unique case study for investors to understand how fundamental credit analysis can intersect with ESG factors to produce a more robust assessment of a country’s creditworthiness.

Indeed, while traditional credit metrics showed the country’s potential vulnerability to a balance of payments of crisis, as early as 2018 we identified other ESG-related factors that investors could consider to enrich the analysis.

  • From a “G” or governance perspective, the current prime minister assumed office during the constitutional crisis of 2018, during which the previous president appointed two concurrent prime ministers despite two no-confidence motions from the parliament. While this incident was resolved legally, and the current Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa was again appointed by his brother, Gotabaya Rajapaksa (who had become president after winning the 2019 presidential election), it hurt the governance integrity of the country and raised broader questions about the regime’s commitment to transparency, including not publicizing the details of lending and investment agreements with other countries.
  • These concerns also spread to the “S” or social realm. A lower quality of governance could have contributed to growing sectarian violence in the country, and the possibility of more social instability over the longer-term.

A potential road map forward for Sri Lanka

Looking forward, we envisage a long, difficult road ahead for Sri Lanka. Indeed, default is just the beginning of an extended process required to address the underlying problems, as well as negotiate with a disparate group of offshore bond holders.

The first order of business is to restore political order in a country that faces a humanitarian crisis and has not experienced stability for several years. Protestors are calling for the resignation of Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa, whose cabinet quit en masse in early April. He has indicated that he will not step down.

A complete political reset in this environment may not be possible. Still, a caretaker government may be a necessary first step to regain the people’s trust, as well as key international financial stakeholders for significant lending packages. Although the previous constitutional crisis took around two months to resolve, we believe it could take much longer this time around due to the severity of the crisis, the scope of the changes needed, and the limited options available.

We think once a stable political environment is achieved, the real work can begin.

  • The country will need to secure financing from the IMF4 to get back on its feet via a formal restructuring. This may not happen immediately because the government will have to adopt economic policies that will give the IMF and other stakeholders confidence that the leadership has the country on the right policy path.
  • Allies such as China and India are likely to provide some form of financial help to Sri Lanka, probably in the form of credit lines to purchase commodities. However, this assistance is unlikely to address the more acute economic pain around debt restructuring and austerity.

Finally, we think that the restructuring process will be long and arduous, given the aforementioned obstacles. Investors may look to other emerging market examples such as Lebanon and Ecuador, as potential templates (with some differences) for how the pace of negotiations may proceed and the level of haircuts ultimately required. We believe bondholders of Sri Lanka debt are likely to face a bond face value haircut in the 20-50% range plus distress exchanges into new bonds with reduction in coupon rate and the extension of bond tenors up to 15 years or so.

A final word

Governance risks exist in every credit market, whether they are developed or emerging. However, the nature of governance risks and how they should be assessed differ significantly between these two types of markets. In Asia, we believe that a more holistic credit assessment framework, integrating both quantitative and qualitative factors, is integral in fully understanding the risks.

Besides Sri Lanka, high-profile default should remain fresh in the memory of other Asian US dollar/high-yield investors over the past year. Indeed, markets can be too complacent with the custom belief that potential bailouts and recovery would be in place without testing that assumption. Thus, qualitative factors in assessing Asian sovereign or corporate credits are imperative. We believe that a more holistic credit assessment framework, integrating both quantitative and qualitative factors, is critical as there should be no room for any benefit of doubt when assessing Asian credits.

 

Download full PDF

 


1 Central Bank of Sri Lanka, as of 13 April 2022.

Rating agency Fitch Ratings is reported to view Sri Lanka’s foreign debts on a default process. Although the central bank has stated that payments on the USD-bonds will not be made, default will only technically occur when bond-coupon payments are missed on 18 April and the passage of 15-30 days.

Central Bank of Sri Lanka, as of 13 April 2022.

The IMF is likely to provide initial, smaller support to avert a humanitarian crisis. However, a more substantial package, including debt restructuring and relief, will likely only be established under a more stable political environment.

 

  • Will the Fed's approach to interest-rate hikes trigger a U.S. recession?

    Concerns about recession risks are rising amid seemingly persistent inflation and rising interest rates. Find out to what extent these fears are warranted.

    Read more
  • How is the surging US dollar affecting Asian currencies?

    We draw insights from our pan-Asia fixed income and equity teams, who examine the impact of US-dollar strength and what this means for currencies in the region.

    Read more
  • China rolls out measures to support economic growth

    We believe that the latest supportive measures reiterate China’s stance on economic stability and see opportunities in China and Hong Kong equities that could benefit from these policy actions.

    Read more
See all
  • Will the Fed's approach to interest-rate hikes trigger a U.S. recession?

    Concerns about recession risks are rising amid seemingly persistent inflation and rising interest rates. Find out to what extent these fears are warranted.

    read more
  • How is the surging US dollar affecting Asian currencies?

    We draw insights from our pan-Asia fixed income and equity teams, who examine the impact of US-dollar strength and what this means for currencies in the region.

    read more
  • China rolls out measures to support economic growth

    We believe that the latest supportive measures reiterate China’s stance on economic stability and see opportunities in China and Hong Kong equities that could benefit from these policy actions.

    read more
see all
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

斯里蘭卡的艱難前路

15/04/2022

環球新興市場定息產品研究主管 張麗萍
南亞定息產品研究主管 Joseph Huang

4月12日,斯里蘭卡央行宣布將暫停償還510億美元離岸債務,以維持其不斷減少的外匯儲備1。這個聲明顯示技術性違約已迫在眉睫2。在今期投資通訊中,環球新興市場定息產品研究主管張麗萍及南亞定息產品研究主管Joseph Huang剖析斯里蘭卡違約和債務重組的艱難前路,以及這次事件對投資者帶來的獨特一課:主權高收益信貸需要按照全面性框架來評估。

投資者對斯里蘭卡央行的公告並不感到意外。事實上,該國的經濟狀況已在過去兩年逐步惡化。繼近期經歷大規模糧食及燃料短缺後,政府在4月1日因民眾強烈抗議而宣布進入緊急狀態,但隨後因示威進一步高漲而取消有關命令。由於外匯儲備減少,政府最終決定暫停償還所有外債,直至能夠就正式債務重組進行談判,從而避免可能出現的人道主義危機。

我們認為主權違約並非憑空出現,而是當地經濟結構、政策決定及外部宏觀衝擊隨著時間衍生而成,尤其是斯里蘭卡的國際收支平衡危機已非新鮮事:自1965年起,當地已獲國際貨幣基金組織授出16筆貸款。作為依賴出口及服務硬貨幣以購買關鍵貨品的島國,外匯儲備一直是信貸投資者的重要指標。

在過去兩年,斯里蘭卡已面對一連串突如其來的挑戰,加劇了歷史上的金融脆弱性。2019-新型冠狀病毒疫情令政府實施旅遊限制,重創對經濟相當重要的旅遊業,影響外資流入。國際旅客入境人數在2020年下跌61.75%。此外,政府在2021年4月禁止進口肥料,這個意外決定導致茶葉及橡膠業的生產力和收入下降,而茶葉及橡膠是當地兩大出口產品。因此,外匯儲備逐步跌至具危險性的低水平(見圖1)。

圖1:斯里蘭卡的外匯儲備不斷減少(百萬美元)3

雖然有跡象顯示斯里蘭卡經濟可能在2022年第一季復甦,但全球通脹(尤其是能源和食品)升溫,加上俄烏衝突(大量旅客來自這兩個國家),均帶來新挑戰。最後,雙赤(經常帳赤字和財政赤字)擴大及斯里蘭卡盧比貶值,迫使政府決定如何運用其有限資源。

評估信貸風險的全面方法:斯里蘭卡的教訓

斯里蘭卡即將出現的違約為投資者提供獨特的研究案例,以了解基本因素信貸分析如何與環境、社會和管治(ESG)因素結合,從而對一個國家的償債能力作出更嚴謹的評估。

事實上,儘管傳統信貸標準顯示國家對國際收支平衡危機的潛在脆弱程度,但早於2018年,我們便已發現投資者可考慮的其他ESG相關因素,來豐富這一分析。

  • 從管治(G)角度來看,現任總理在2018年憲法危機期間就任,當時前總統漠視國會提出的兩次不信任動議,同時任命兩名總理。雖然這次事件以合法方式解決,現任總理馬欣達再次獲得弟弟戈塔巴雅的任命(戈塔巴雅在2019年總統大選勝出成為總統),但這損害當地管治誠信,並引起市場廣泛質疑這個政權的透明度承諾,包括不公開與其他國家訂立的借款和投資協議詳情。
  • 這些憂慮亦蔓延至社會(S)層面。管治質素下降可能導致當地教派衝突不斷升溫,長遠或會令社會更加動盪。

斯里蘭卡的未來潛在路線圖

展望未來,我們預計斯里蘭卡將會面對漫長及艱難的前路。事實上,違約只是漫長過程的開始,還需要解決根本問題,並與不同的離岸債券持有人進行談判。

首要工作是為這個面對人道主義危機,而且多年來局勢不穩的國家恢復政治秩序。示威者要求總理馬欣達辭職,而他的內閣已在4月初集體請辭,但他表明不會下台。

在這環境下,當地不可能全面整頓政治危機。不過,任命看守政府可能是必要的第一步,藉此重拾民眾信任,以及重建主要國際金融持份者對大規模借貸方案的信任。雖然之前的憲法危機經歷了約兩個月便能解決,但基於這次危機的嚴重性、所需的變化規模及可供選擇的方案有限,我們認為可能需要更長時間才可化解。

我們認為只要建立穩定的政治環境,便能展開真正的工作。

  • 斯里蘭卡將需要從國際貨幣基金組織4取得融資,才能透過正式債務重組站穩陣腳。這個情況未必即時出現,因為政府必須採取經濟政策,讓國際貨幣基金組織及其他持份者相信領導層已引領國家走上正確的政策路向。
  • 中國及印度等盟友很可能為斯里蘭卡提供若干形式的財政援助,可能是購買商品的信貸限額。然而,這種援助不大可能解決債務重組及緊縮措施所引發的更嚴重經濟衝擊。

總括而言,考慮到上述阻礙,我們認為重組過程將會是漫長和艱辛的。投資者可能參考黎巴嫩及厄瓜多爾等其他新興市場例子,作為談判進度及最終所需扣減率的潛在模版(但存在顯著差異)。我們相信,斯里蘭卡債務的債券持有人有可能會面臨相當於20-50%債券面值的削債率,並換取票息減少以及長達15年年期的新不良債券。

結語

每個信貸市場,不論是已發展或新興市場,都會存在管治風險。然而,這兩類市場的管治風險性質及評估方法應會截然不同。亞洲方面,我們認為更全面的信貸評估框架結合量化和質化因素,是充份了解風險的重要一環。

除了斯里蘭卡之外,對於過去一年備受關注的違約事件,其他亞洲美元/高收益投資者應記憶猶新。事實上,市場可能過份相信既有觀念,而沒有檢驗這一假設因此,在評估亞洲主權或企業信貸時,質化因素往往很關鍵。我們認為更全面的信貸評估框架結合量化和質化因素至關重要,因為在評估亞洲信貸時,不應留有任何懷疑的餘地。

 

下載全份文件

 


1 斯里蘭卡央行,截至2022年4月13日。

報道指出,評級機構惠譽視斯里蘭卡的外債已啓動違約程序。儘管央行已聲明不會償還美元債券,嚴格來說,違約將僅在4月18日和15-30天寬限期債券票息未能兌付時發生。

斯里蘭卡央行,截止2022年4月13日。

國際貨幣基金組織或提供最初的、較小的援助以規避人道主義危機。不過,包括債務重組和救援等更大規模的組合可能僅會在更加穩定的政治環境下形成。

 

  • 聯儲局的加息方針會否引發美國經濟衰退?

    在通脹看似持續、利率不斷上漲之際,關於衰退風險的顧慮正在加劇。探究這些顧慮的合理程度。

    閱讀更多
  • 美元飆升如何影響亞洲貨幣?

    我們的泛亞洲固定收益和股票團隊分享見解,審視美元走強所帶來的影響,以及對區內貨幣的意義。

    閱讀更多
  • 中國推出支持經濟增長的措施

    我們相信,最新支持性政策最新舉措重申中國對保持經濟穩定的立場不變,中港股市料將有機會受惠於這些支持性政策行動。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 聯儲局的加息方針會否引發美國經濟衰退?

    在通脹看似持續、利率不斷上漲之際,關於衰退風險的顧慮正在加劇。探究這些顧慮的合理程度。

    閱讀更多
  • 美元飆升如何影響亞洲貨幣?

    我們的泛亞洲固定收益和股票團隊分享見解,審視美元走強所帶來的影響,以及對區內貨幣的意義。

    閱讀更多
  • 中國推出支持經濟增長的措施

    我們相信,最新支持性政策最新舉措重申中國對保持經濟穩定的立場不變,中港股市料將有機會受惠於這些支持性政策行動。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
確認