Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

Rising bond yields and market correction 

1 March, 2021

Sue Trinh, Senior Macro Strategist

Global stock markets corrected last week (as of 26 February) as the 10-year US Treasury yield climbed to its highest level since February 20201. The rise unnerved investors who fear that higher inflation will spur an-earlier-than-indicated rate hike from the US Federal Reserve (the Fed). In this note, we share our thoughts on rising bond yields, global liquidity, and the implication for equities.

 

Market focus has concentrated on rising bond yields and fears that higher inflation will spur the Fed to raise interest rates. However, as our Chief Economist Frances Donald mentioned in her earlier note, we believe that markets have been overemphasising the inflation aspect of the Fed's mandate. This is why we are skeptical that the US central bank will taper its quantitative-easing measures any time soon. Indeed, in our view, the employment side of the mandate will restrain the tapering conversation until at least the third quarter. 

It’s also worth noting that although the Fed has signaled it’s unlikely to add any additional easing aimed at the real economy, the Bank of England, the European Central Bank, and the Bank of Canada have all made it clear that rate cuts remain on the table. While we don’t expect these central banks to cut rates, we believe that relative monetary policy divergences between the Fed and other major central banks are only going to get wider. The one exception here being the People’s Bank of China, which is in tightening mode.

Global liquidity impulse is a near-term risk for emerging markets (EM) valuations

That said, we have been closely watching the slowdown in global liquidity growth.  In level terms, global liquidity (proxied by global money supply) has topped out in 2021, flat-lining around US$96 trillion year-to-date . Importantly, the growth in global liquidity has slowed markedly, from 40%+ to 4.8% on a three-month percentage-change basis, with slowing balance-sheet expansion from the Fed and the People’s Bank of China (PBOC), as the major drivers of this dynamic.  

Chart 1 shows the three-month growth in global liquidity (green line) against the three-month change in MSCI EM equities. In our view, the chart has been flashing a warning sign in that EM equities had become overextended relative to global liquidity growth. 

This is corroborated by Chart 2, where we adjust and normalise the market capitalisation of developed markets (DM) and EM equities for global liquidity.  By this metric, the market cap of EM is running over 1 standard deviation above its long-term average. In contrast, the market cap of DM is not stretched. 

 

Short-term and long-term implications for equities

Taken together, this suggests that after the recent strong price recovery, EM may be stretched vis-à-vis DM. At the very least, it implies near-term consolidation. Longer-term, we remain bullish on EM equities, particularly in Asia, and would view any correction as an opportunity. Meanwhile, on a global basis, the largest central banks have likely hit peak liquidity. In our view, the respective biases of the various major central banks strengthen our belief that the US dollar could experience some countertrend rallies in the short term, which tend to be supportive of US equities.

 

Download full PDF

  • The Fed remains hawkish, but easing could occur before the end of 2023

    The Fed’s decision to raise US interest rates by 75 basis points to a target range of 3%-3.25% was well priced into the markets.We describe the factors contributing to the Fed’s increasingly hawkish tone and explain why easing could occur before the end of 2023.

    Read more
  • The high-yield market isn't signaling a recession

    Through the interest-rate volatility and higher inflation so far in 2022, we haven't seen a reason to abandon high yield. If anything, the higher-quality segment of this market could provide a welcome boost to a portfolio's risk-adjusted return potential.

    Read more
  • U.S. banks’ fundamentals continue to strengthen despite the economic slowdown

    The latest quarterly earnings reports from U.S. regional banks confirm the favorable investment outlook as loan growth and an improved interest-rate environment provide a tailwind for the industry, in our view.

    Read more
See all

 

 

1 Bloomberg, as of 26 February 2021.

2 Bloomberg, Macrobond, Manulife Investment Management, as of 25 February 2021.

3 Bloomberg, Macrobond, Manulife Investment Management, as of 26 February 2021.

  • The Fed remains hawkish, but easing could occur before the end of 2023

    The Fed’s decision to raise US interest rates by 75 basis points to a target range of 3%-3.25% was well priced into the markets.We describe the factors contributing to the Fed’s increasingly hawkish tone and explain why easing could occur before the end of 2023.

    Read more
  • The high-yield market isn't signaling a recession

    Through the interest-rate volatility and higher inflation so far in 2022, we haven't seen a reason to abandon high yield. If anything, the higher-quality segment of this market could provide a welcome boost to a portfolio's risk-adjusted return potential.

    Read more
  • U.S. banks’ fundamentals continue to strengthen despite the economic slowdown

    The latest quarterly earnings reports from U.S. regional banks confirm the favorable investment outlook as loan growth and an improved interest-rate environment provide a tailwind for the industry, in our view.

    Read more
See all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

債券孳息率上升和市場調整 

1/3/2021

Sue Trinh, 高級宏觀策略師

環球股市在截至2月26日一周出現調整,原因是10年期美國國庫債券孳息率攀升至2020年2月以來的最高水平1,令投資者感到不安,憂慮通脹上升將會促使聯儲局提前加息。在今期市場通訊,高級宏觀策略師Sue Trinh分享對債券孳息率上升、環球流動性和對股市影響的觀點。

 

市場一直聚焦於債券孳息率上升,並憂慮通脹升溫將刺激聯儲局加息,但我們的首席經濟師Frances Donald早前指出,我們相信市場過度強調聯儲局在通脹目標方面的任務。這是我們對聯儲局將於短期內縮減量寬措施表示懷疑的原因。事實上,我們認為至少直至第三季,充份就業的目標將限制局方有關縮減量寬的討論。 

還有一點值得注意,雖然聯儲局已暗示不大可能加推針對實質經濟的寬鬆措施,但英倫銀行、歐洲央行和加拿大央行均已明確表示仍會考慮減息。縱使我們預期這些央行不會減息,但相信聯儲局與其他主要央行的相對貨幣政策分歧只會越來越大,唯一例外是正在收緊政策的中國人民銀行(人行)。

環球流動性變化對新興市場估值構成短期風險

儘管如此,我們一直密切關注環球流動性增長放緩的情況。以資金水平而言,環球流動性(以環球貨幣供應代表)在2021年達到頂峰,年初至今靠穩於約96萬億美元2。重要的是,環球流動性增長顯著放緩,由超過40%的增幅降至4.8%(三個月比較百分比),主要原因是聯儲局和人行減慢擴大資產負債表的步伐。    

圖1顯示環球流動性的三個月增長(綠線)對比MSCI明晟新興市場股票價格的三個月變動。我們認為,該圖發出警告信號,反映相對環球流動性增長而言,新興市場股票的估值已過度擴張。 

圖2進一步證實這一說法。我們根據環球流動性,在圖2對已發展市場和新興市場股票市值進行調整。根據這個標準,新興市場市值較其長期平均高出一個標準差以上。相反,已發展市場市值並無過高。  

 

對股市的短期和長期影響

綜合來看,上述情況反映在最近股價強勢回升後,新興市場估值相對已發展市場或會過高,這顯示市場至少在短期內將出現調整。長遠來說,我們仍看好新興市場股票,特別是亞洲,並將視任何市場調整為入市機遇。另一方面,在環球的層面,主要央行的流動性很可能已經見頂。我們認為,各大央行的個別政策傾向使我們更加相信,美元或會在短期內逆勢回升,而這一般會有利美股表現。

 

下載全份文件

  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部

 

 

1 彭博資訊,截至2021年2月26日。

2 彭博資訊、Macrobond、宏利投資管理,截至2021年2月25日。

3 彭博資訊、Macrobond、宏利投資管理,截至2021年2月26日。

  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認