Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

The potentially defensive properties of Asian equities   

28 February 2022

Ronald Chan, Chief Investment Officer, Equities, Asia ex-Japan
 

On 24 February, Russian forces launched a military attack on parts of Ukraine. Various Western nations subsequently responded by imposing a range of sanctions. In this investment note, Ronald Chan, Chief Investment Officer, Asia ex-Japan equities, explains why amid great uncertainty, despite the prospect of higher energy prices and increased volatility, certain Asian equity markets could potentially add diversification to investors’ portfolios.

 

Although Russia has maintained a significant military build-up on the borders of Ukraine for weeks, the full-scale military action still came as a surprise to investors. 

In this environment of great uncertainty, it is impossible to foresee the future. However, we believe history may offer investors a base case for the potential trajectory and risks posed by current events. 

In 2014, Russia annexed the Crimea Peninsula from Ukraine. Major western powers subsequently imposed sanctions (primarily financial), but military operations were limited. The current situation differs in some key respects, as the prospect of a military conflagration is now more significant, and sanctions could be stiffer. However, the events of 2014 did lead to two main outcomes: heightened market volatility and elevated energy prices. We believe these two features will influence the global equity landscape moving forward. 

If that base case is roughly accurate, or at least the military conflicts are locally contained, Asia might offer diversification opportunities to equity investors.  This potential benefit would largely depend on the duration of the conflict’s impact on global growth, and whether the conflict expands to other geographies.   A significantly longer or expanded conflict with more severe sanctions than those currently released would negatively impact global growth, which would also hit a still recovering Asia.  

Market participants have recently been looking for opportunities outside of the US due to elevated inflationary pressures and the Federal Reserve’s hawkish stance towards rate hikes. Some have chosen Europe due to favourable valuations and accommodative monetary policy. Yet, the continent is arguably more exposed to Russia and, in turn, market volatility through greater investment and energy ties. 

Overall, we believe Asian equity markets remain attractive, as their valuation levels are below the historical average. Additionally, some of the region’s markets could benefit from their lower (beta) correlation to global markets, continued reopening plays, and higher energy prices. 

Dual flexibility for China: Energy and monetary policies

We believe China’s equity markets should hold up relatively well. It is important to note the country will be affected by the conflict. As a voting member of the United Nations Security Council, it will need to provide important input on sanctions issued by Western powers, as well as the bilateral economic and political support it lends to Russia during the conflict amid greater public scrutiny. 

Beyond that, the country’s energy security has improved over the past five years. For instance, its rich coal deposits, although not a primary option with current decarbonisation priorities, could be relied upon to provide a stop-gap measure if other energy sources become too expensive. Additionally, Beijing has just signed a 30-year agreement with Russia to provide natural gas via a Siberian pipeline.  

Potential tailwinds for China A-shares and select ASEAN markets

From a market perspective, A-shares should remain resilient. The People’s Bank of China has significantly loosened monetary policy, which provides countercyclical support to the economically important real-estate sector and could boost lagging consumption. With strong plays in the healthcare and sustainability space, coupled with potential support for exporters of basic and consumer goods, we are overweight in the market.  

We are also positive on select ASEAN markets, primarily the oil-exporters that should be more resilient in an elevated energy-price environment: these include Malaysia, Indonesia, and Vietnam. Additionally, any slowdown in the pace of rate hikes due to the military conflict would also benefit emerging markets in Asia.  

In contrast, we are underweight in India. Indian equities enjoyed a strong run in 2021 on the back of comprehensive fiscal and monetary stimulus, as well as robust earnings growth. This year has proved more challenging due to lofty market valuations. In our view, if oil prices remain near $100 a barrel for a prolonged period, this could reduce major companies' earnings and weaken the rupee.  It could also amplify existing inflationary pressures and cause the Reserve Bank of India to normalise monetary policy faster. 

On our radar: global growth and Fed rate hike

With this significant geopolitical event, it’s important to monitor its macroeconomic implications, as most economies are now positioned for re-opening (for services like tourism) and rate normalisation (to cool down inflation). Indeed, with potential heightened geopolitical uncertainties, travel and cross-border activities might be confined, which limits the demand for consumer discretionary and services, and likely the global growth trajectory. 

Although markets have widely expected the Fed will increase rates at its upcoming March Federal Open Market Committee meeting (15-16 March)1, our base case for the Fed rate hike trajectory is that the Fed will normalise rates in the first half to tame rising inflation but will pause for a while before the mid-term election. Indeed, during heightened volatility and market uncertainties, liquidity is key to relieve stress from the system. 

 

Download full PDF

 


For the remaining of 2022, Federal Open Market Committee will hold regular scheduled meetings in March, May, June, July, September, November and December.

 

  • Multi-Assets: Opportunities await as global rates take new turns

    Despite elevated inflation and higher interest rates, investors can watch for key events in 2023 that can present opportunities. We describe our dynamic and strategic asset allocation views and how a multi-asset outcome-oriented approach may help investors during market uncertainty.

    Read more
  • Greater China Equities: Pivots, positioning and pace forward

    It has been an eventful year for Greater China stock markets, with domestic and global events triggering broad-based weakness and elevated volatility in Mainland China (China), Hong Kong, and Taiwan. In this 2023 outlook, we describe the 3 Ps that set the tone for the new year: pivots, positioning and pace forward.

    Read more
  • Asian Equities: Connecting regional ecosystems to capture growth opportunities

    The effects of the pandemic will wane, and economic growth is expected to expand – albeit at a rate that is well below the average rate seen over the preceding two decades.

    Read more
See all
  • The Fed reiterates its hawkish bias

    Hopes that the U.S. central bank will make a dovish policy pivot soon were more or less dashed at the final FOMC meeting of 2022; however, our Fed watcher believes an interest-rate cut could still materialise in 2023.

    read more
  • China’s double pivot — A major shift in China’s COVID and property sector policies

    Overall, we view the latest policy announcements positively which should pave the path for economic reopening and eventual recovery in the property sector from the second quarter of next year.

    read more
  • How can multi-asset investing help today's income-seekers?

    As higher inflation outpaces income growth, multi-asset investing helps to generate and protect income streams against volatility, while keeping capital stable and lasting longer. 

    read more
see all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

亞洲股票的潛在防守性   

28/02/2022

亞洲區(日本除外)股票投資部首席投資總監陳致洲
 

2月24日,俄羅斯軍方向烏克蘭部份地區發動軍事進攻。隨後,西方多國表示將實施一系列制裁俄羅斯的行動。儘管預期能源價格上漲及市況更趨波動,在本期投資通訊中,亞洲區(日本除外)股票投資部首席投資總監陳致洲剖析為何在充滿不確定因素的環境中,特定亞洲股票市場可進一步分散化投資組合。

 

雖然俄軍過去數周已在烏克蘭邊境持續部署重兵,但俄羅斯採取全面軍事行動仍令投資者感到意外。 

 

目前環境充滿不確定因素,不可能預料往後的事態發展。然而,我們認為投資者可借鑑歷史,對當前事件的可能發展方向及風險作出基本情況預測。 

回顧2014年,俄羅斯佔領被認為屬於烏克蘭領土的克里米亞半島,主要西方國家隨後對俄羅斯實施制裁(以金融制裁為主),但相關的軍事行動有限。由於現時的軍事衝突料將更為嚴峻,且制裁可能更為強硬,因此從若干主要角度來看,目前局勢與2014年有別。儘管如此,2014年的克里米亞危機確實造成兩個主要結果:市場急劇波動及能源價格高企。我們認為這兩個因素將在未來影響環球股市格局。    

若上述基本情況預測大致準確,或假設衝突最低限度只在當地地區爆發,亞洲市場或可為股票投資者提供分散風險機遇。這一潛在利好將很大程度上取決於本次衝突對全球增長影響的持續時間,以及本次衝突是否會蔓延至其他地區。持續時間顯著延長、範圍明顯更廣的衝突、加上較當前更為嚴重的制裁,都將對全球增長造成負面影響,從而對處於復甦進程的亞洲帶來衝擊。

由於通脹壓力居高不下,加上美國聯儲局的加息鷹派立場,市場人士近期持續尋求美國以外的投資機遇。基於歐洲市場估值有利並維持寬鬆貨幣政策,因此成為部份市場人士的選擇。然而,現時俄羅斯對歐洲構成更大風險,而且由於兩者的投資和能源連繫較為密切,因此亦會增添市況波動。 

總體而言,我們相信亞洲股票市場因估值低於歷史平均水平而更具吸引力。此外,區內部份市場或因與環球市場的相關性(風險系數)較低及能源價格上漲而受惠。  

中國的雙重靈活性:能源及貨幣政策

我們相信中國股市有望取得相對穩健的表現。值得注意的是,中國也會受到本次衝突的影響。作為聯合國安全理事會的常任理事國,中國在更廣泛公眾監督下,將需要提供重要意見,以回應西方國家提出的制裁、以及在衝突中對俄羅斯提供雙邊經濟和政治援助。

除此之外,中國的能源安全在過去五年有所改善。例如,儘管在目前著重優先減碳的國策下,其豐富的煤炭礦藏並非能源主要選項,但若其他能源成本變得過高,煤炭仍可倚賴作為權宜之計。此外,中央政府已經與俄羅斯簽訂一份為期30年的協議,俄方將透過西伯利亞管道向中國輸送天然氣。  

中國A股及個別東盟市場的潛在利好因素

從市場角度來看,A股應能保持韌性。中國人民銀行已大幅放寬貨幣政策,為具有重要經濟意義的房地產板塊提供逆周期支持,並有望提振滯後的消費。憑藉康健護理及可持續發展領域的強勁表現,加上對基本商品及消費品出口商的潛在支持,我們偏重中國A股市場。  

我們亦看好個別東盟市場,主要是在能源價格上漲環境下表現應更強韌的石油出口國,包括馬來西亞、印尼及越南。此外,俄烏軍事衝突引致加息步伐放緩,亦將惠及亞洲新興市場。  

相反,我們偏低印度。在全面的財政和貨幣刺激措施以及強勁的企業盈利增長下,印度股市於2021年表現強勁。市場估值高企將令當地股票今年的表現備受挑戰。若油價長期維持於每桶約100美元,可能削弱大型公司的盈利及印度盧比的表現,亦可能擴大現有通脹壓力,並促使印度儲備銀行加快貨幣政策正常化的步伐。 

我們重點關注:環球經濟增長及聯儲局加息

鑑於大部份經濟體目前都在推進經濟重啟(如旅遊業等服務業)及利率正常化(以遏制通脹),重點是注視這次重大地緣政治事件對宏觀的經濟影響。事實上,由於地緣政治的不確定性可能加劇,旅遊及跨境活動或會受到限制,繼而削弱對非必需消費品及服務的需求,並可能拖慢環球經濟增長步伐。 

儘管市場已經普遍預期聯儲局將於即將舉行的3月份聯邦公開市場委員會會議(3月15日至16日)1上加息,但我們對聯儲局加息的基本情況預測是:當局將於上半年進行利率正常化以遏制通脹升溫,不過將於中期選舉前夕暫緩加息。在市況波動加劇及市場不明朗因素漸增的情況下,流動性無疑是緩解金融體系壓力的關鍵。   

 

下載全份文件

 


在2022年剩餘的時間,聯邦公開市場委員會將於3月、5月、6月、7月、9月、11月及12月舉行定期會議。

 

 

 

  • 聯儲局的加息方針會否引發美國經濟衰退?

    在通脹看似持續、利率不斷上漲之際,關於衰退風險的顧慮正在加劇。探究這些顧慮的合理程度。

    閱讀更多
  • 美元飆升如何影響亞洲貨幣?

    我們的泛亞洲固定收益和股票團隊分享見解,審視美元走強所帶來的影響,以及對區內貨幣的意義。

    閱讀更多
  • 中國推出支持經濟增長的措施

    我們相信,最新支持性政策最新舉措重申中國對保持經濟穩定的立場不變,中港股市料將有機會受惠於這些支持性政策行動。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 聯儲局的加息方針會否引發美國經濟衰退?

    在通脹看似持續、利率不斷上漲之際,關於衰退風險的顧慮正在加劇。探究這些顧慮的合理程度。

    閱讀更多
  • 美元飆升如何影響亞洲貨幣?

    我們的泛亞洲固定收益和股票團隊分享見解,審視美元走強所帶來的影響,以及對區內貨幣的意義。

    閱讀更多
  • 中國推出支持經濟增長的措施

    我們相信,最新支持性政策最新舉措重申中國對保持經濟穩定的立場不變,中港股市料將有機會受惠於這些支持性政策行動。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
確認