Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

Potential implications of the US presidential election on China fixed income

18 November, 2020

Paula Chan, Senior Portfolio Manager, Fixed Income

On Tuesday 3 November 2020, US voters decided who holds the balance of power in Washington. President-elect Joe Biden was declared the winner of the presidential election (7 November, ET), while at the time of writing (15 November, HKT), President Trump has not formally conceded defeat1. In this investment note, Paula Chan, Senior Portfolio Manager, Fixed Income, analyses the potential impact of the US presidential election on China’s fixed income market, and lends her insights into how the country’s new five-year plan is expected to impact its economy and financial markets.

 

Under the current base case, i.e. a Biden presidency and split Congress, we believe the outcome of the US presidential election is broadly constructive for China fixed income.

Sino-US relations should stabilise but will remain contentious

From a macro perspective, we believe that Sino-US relations have the potential to improve under the Biden administration.  While it is unlikely that there will be a dramatic breakthrough in the two countries’ contentious diplomatic relationship, more constructive rhetoric and policy continuity bode well for greater bilateral cooperation to promote trade and growth. There also may be less risk of economic decoupling between the two in the near term. Over the longer term, however, the trend of multinational companies relocating manufacturing and supply chains away from China should continue and needs to be closely monitored by investors for its economic impact.

The 14th Five-Year Plan (2021-2025): a key policy framework to watch

Regardless of the US election outcome, we believe that China’s 14th Five-Year Plan (2021-2025) should play a major role in the country’s near-term development trajectory. In October, the Chinese government released initial details of the five-year plan, which is slated to boost domestic innovation capacity, strengthen military defence capability, and focus on the quality of economic growth (rather than achieve mere GDP targets) to lift income levels and meet stringent environmental -protection goals2.

Over the longer term, China is likely to focus on its “dual circulation policy”3 that will seek to spur domestic demand and, simultaneously, develop conditions to attract foreign investment and boost export-production capacity.

The underlying message to investors is clear: China is preparing to eventually decouple from, or at least be less reliant on Western economies. The country will also continue to focus on improving the efficiency of and return on capital from its state owned enterprise (SOE) sector through reforms.  The urbanisation theme will continue to provide an important boost to domestic consumption and growth.

Monetary policy should support onshore credit market

For the onshore bond market, we expect that the People’s Bank of China will keep monetary policy relatively benign and supportive for credit. This should be constructive for Chinese government bonds as the central bank aims to buffer growth while the economy is still recovering from COVID-19 disruptions and slower global growth.

On the credit side, we expect strong demand by companies that could see greater issuance from newer emerging sectors and green bonds – this is in line with the environmental theme of the five-year plan. We also foresee growing interest among issuers that are already active in the US dollar credit space to issue domestically.  As a result, Chinese issuers can tap into onshore liquidity pools and diversify funding sources, while also potentially lowering debt-related borrowing costs compared to overseas issuance.

Indeed, as China’s GDP accelerates, we believe that that the level (or number) of defaults should be contained and restricted to weaker segments, such as weaker private industrial companies.  Reforms in the China SOE sector will also improve the credit fundamentals for this sector over the medium term.

Renminbi to be well-supported over the short-term

For the currency, we believe the renminbi (RMB) will be well-supported in the near term as the Chinese economy emerges from COVID-19 and shows stable (positive) growth relative to other major economies. The positive interest-rate differential against other major bond markets will also continue to attract inflows into Chinese assets, which will also help to support the RMB (see Chart 1).

 

Our base case is that the RMB will remain range-bound for now but could resume its appreciation on evidence that Biden’s economic policies are in line with the market’s expectations.  On the other hand, the RMB could face pressure in the future if the proposed dual-circulation policy does not achieve the necessary economic growth targeted or if global growth deteriorates and trade with China is significantly impacted.

Conclusion

We believe that if the US election base case holds true, that the election of Joe Biden as US president should inject stability into the Sino-US diplomatic relationship, which is constructive for China fixed income. Having said that, China is looking at the long term with the country’s new five-year plan that should boost its overall competitiveness and domestic demand, while reducing its current reliance on Western economies for growth.

 

 

Download full PDF

  • Will the Fed's approach to interest-rate hikes trigger a U.S. recession?

    Concerns about recession risks are rising amid seemingly persistent inflation and rising interest rates. Find out to what extent these fears are warranted.

    Read more
  • How is the surging US dollar affecting Asian currencies?

    We draw insights from our pan-Asia fixed income and equity teams, who examine the impact of US-dollar strength and what this means for currencies in the region.

    Read more
  • China rolls out measures to support economic growth

    We believe that the latest supportive measures reiterate China’s stance on economic stability and see opportunities in China and Hong Kong equities that could benefit from these policy actions.

    Read more
See all

 

 

1 On Saturday 7 November 2020, Biden captured the presidency when The Associated Press declared him the victor in his native Pennsylvania at 11:25 a.m. EST. That victory won him the state’s 20 electoral votes, which pushed him over the 270 electoral-vote threshold needed to prevail; Bloomberg: “Biden declares victory, calls on Americans to mend divisions”, 8 November 2020. 

2 Wall Street Journal, “China stresses reliance on Its Own Technologies in Five-Year Plan”, 29 October 2020.

3 In May 2020, President Xi Jinping proposed the “dual circulation model”, which promotes “internal circulation”, or the domestic cycle of production, distribution, and consumption – as the main driver of growth. Reuters, 16 September 2020.

4 Bloomberg, as of 7 November 2020.

  • Will the Fed's approach to interest-rate hikes trigger a U.S. recession?

    Concerns about recession risks are rising amid seemingly persistent inflation and rising interest rates. Find out to what extent these fears are warranted.

    Read more
  • How is the surging US dollar affecting Asian currencies?

    We draw insights from our pan-Asia fixed income and equity teams, who examine the impact of US-dollar strength and what this means for currencies in the region.

    Read more
  • China rolls out measures to support economic growth

    We believe that the latest supportive measures reiterate China’s stance on economic stability and see opportunities in China and Hong Kong equities that could benefit from these policy actions.

    Read more
See all
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

美國總統選舉對中國固定收益的潛在影響

18/11/2020

陳珮珊 (Paula Chan), 定息產品高級組合經理

在2020年11月3日(星期二),美國選民投票決定誰將主宰華府的權力平衡。美國民主黨總統候選人拜登於美國東岸時間11月7日宣布勝出總統大選,在撰寫此文之際(香港時間11月11日),總統特朗普並未正式承認落敗1。在今期投資通訊,高級投資組合經理(固定收益)兼中國固定收益專家陳珮珊剖析美國總統大選對中國固定收益市場的潛在影響,並就中國新一個五年計劃對國內長短期經濟及金融市場的影響分享見解。

 

根據目前市場的基本預測(即拜登當選美國總統和國會維持分治局面),我們認為總統大選的結果大致利好固定收益資產類別。

中美關係有望回穩,但仍存在爭議

從宏觀角度來看,我們認為拜登入主白宮可望改善中美關係。雖然兩國外交關係仍存在爭議,而且應難以出現重大突破,但若美方作出較具建設性的言論,並能維持政策連貫性,均有利加強雙邊合作,促進貿易和經濟增長。中美兩國在短期內出現經濟脫鈎的風險亦將會減少。不過長遠來看,跨國公司把製造和供應鏈遷離中國的趨勢應會持續,投資者需要密切注視有關趨勢帶來的經濟影響。

十四五規劃(2021至2025)是須予注視的主要政策框架

無論美國大選結果如何,我們相信中國的「十四五規劃」(2021年至2025年)應對國內的發展趨勢發揮重大影響。在10月份,中國政府公布該項五年計劃的初步細節:將會推動本土創新實力,加強軍事防禦能力,並聚焦於經濟增長質素,而非僅追求國內生產總值目標從而提高民眾收入水平,以及實現嚴格的環保目標2

長遠而言,中國應會專注於「雙循環政策」3,即致力刺激內需,同時營造吸引外國投資和提升出口生產力的環境。

中國向投資者傳遞的訊息明確:中國正作好準備,最終與西方國家脫鈎發展,或至少降低對西方經濟體的依賴程度,而且將繼續致力透過改革,提高國有企業的效率和資本回報率,而城鎮化主題將持續為本土消費和經濟增長提供重要動力。

貨幣政策可望支持信貸市場

在岸債市方面,我們預期中國人民銀行將維持相對利好的貨幣政策,並為信貸提供支持。於中國經濟從疫情衝擊和環球增長放緩中復甦之際,人行致力為增長提供緩衝,此舉將有利中國政府債券。

我們預期企業對信貸的需求增加,或會推動新興行業債券和綠色債券的發行 — 此趨勢符合十四五規劃的環保主題。我們亦預計,那些早已活躍於美元信貸領域的發行人,將愈來愈有興趣在國內發行債券。藉此,中國發行人可透過在岸資金市場集資,令融資渠道多元化,而且與海外發債相比,亦或可降低債務相關的借貸成本。

事實上,隨著中國國內生產總值增長步伐加快,我們認為違約水平(或宗數)可望受控,並只局限於實力較弱的範疇,例如實力較弱的私人工業企業。中國國有企業的改革亦將在中期內改善這個行業的信貸基本因素。

人民幣可能在短期內獲良好支持

貨幣方面,我們認為人民幣在短期內將可獲得良好支持,因為與其他主要經濟體相比,中國經濟已擺脫疫情陰霾,並展現穩定(正面)增長。此外,中國市場相對於其他主要債市所獲得的正息差,將持續吸引資金流入中國資產,也會為人民幣帶來支持(見圖1)。 

 

我們的基本預測是目前人民幣將維持窄幅上落,但若拜登的經濟政策符合市場預期,有望令人民幣重拾升勢。另一方面,若中國政府提出的雙循環政策未能實現必要的經濟增長目標,或若環球經濟增長轉弱,導致各國與中國的貿易受到嚴重影響,則未來人民幣可能面臨壓力。

總結

我們認為若基本預測仍然成立,拜登當選美國總統應會提高中美外交關係的穩定性,因而有利中國固定收益資產。儘管如此,中國的新一個五年計劃著眼於長期發展,有望提高整體競爭力和本土需求,同時減少目前經濟增長對西方經濟體的依賴程度。

 

 

下載全份文件

  • 地方政府融資平台 — 中國信貸市場的亮點

    離岸市場的投資級別中國地方政府融資平台板塊表現相對強韌,年初至今的淨發行量大幅增加。

    閱讀更多
  • 聯儲局的加息方針會否引發美國經濟衰退?

    在通脹看似持續、利率不斷上漲之際,關於衰退風險的顧慮正在加劇。探究這些顧慮的合理程度。

    閱讀更多
  • 美元飆升如何影響亞洲貨幣?

    我們的泛亞洲固定收益和股票團隊分享見解,審視美元走強所帶來的影響,以及對區內貨幣的意義。

    閱讀更多
查看全部

 

 

1 於2020年11月7日(星期六)美國東岸時間上午11時25分,美聯社報道拜登在家鄉賓夕法尼亞州獲勝後,拜登當選美國總統。他取得該州的20張選舉人票後,所得選舉人票總數已超過270張的勝選門檻;彭博資訊:拜登宣布勝選,向美國人提出修補分裂,2020年11月8日;衞報:特朗普拒絕承認落敗,2020年11月7日。 

2 華爾街日報:中國在五年計劃中強調依賴自身科技研發,2020年10月29日。

3 於2020年5月,中國國家主席習近平提出「雙循環模式」,即推動「內循環」或國內生產、分銷和消費的周期,以作為經濟增長的主要動力。路透社,2020年9月16日。

4 彭博資訊,截至2020年10月30日。

  • 地方政府融資平台 — 中國信貸市場的亮點

    離岸市場的投資級別中國地方政府融資平台板塊表現相對強韌,年初至今的淨發行量大幅增加。

    閱讀更多
  • 聯儲局的加息方針會否引發美國經濟衰退?

    在通脹看似持續、利率不斷上漲之際,關於衰退風險的顧慮正在加劇。探究這些顧慮的合理程度。

    閱讀更多
  • 美元飆升如何影響亞洲貨幣?

    我們的泛亞洲固定收益和股票團隊分享見解,審視美元走強所帶來的影響,以及對區內貨幣的意義。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認