Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Manulife Financial Planning Manager

New investment trends deepen as Asia’s recovery gathers pace

7 July, 2020 

After months of lockdown and disruption, Asia appears to have contained its COVID-19 infection rates to become one of the first regions to restart economic activity. Consequently, Asian and Greater China equities have rebounded and are now around 30% above their March 2020 lows1. In this mid-year outlook, Ronald Chan (Chief Investment Officer, Asia ex-Japan equities) observes that despite the prospect of further uncertainty, a solid core of attractive companies in the region – particularly in China as the more digital, less global trend gathers pace – means that it can still deliver positive GDP growth in 2020 and 2021. Furthermore, Kai Kong Chay (Greater China Specialist) identifies some of the deepening trends among Greater China equities and reveals where he sees bottom-up investment opportunities.

Fundamental optimism

If we drill down further, we can identify several factors that support our positive stance. Other than causing dislocation across the region, the pandemic has inadvertently shone a light on the core strength of Asia’s economic fundamentals.

By way of an example, as illustrated in Chart 1, in May the annual GDP estimates for China and the wider Asia ex-Japan bloc were revised down to 3% and 0.9%, respectively (from 5.8% and 5.4% in January). However, the market had expected GDP across the globe to fall into negative territory for the year. The region’s solid economic foundation has, therefore, helped its growth numbers to remain positive. Looking ahead to 2021, and the estimated GDP in China (+7.7%) and Asia ex-Japan (7.4%) is expected to outstrip that of developed markets.

  • Asian fixed income: Asia’s fundamentals shine in uncertain times

    We examine Asia's economic outlook, the major trends and the robust fundamentals that should drive attractive opportunities in Asian bond markets. 

    Read more
  • 2020 Outlook Series

    Read more
  • Macro Outlook: Re-entering a “lower for longer” rate environment

    Read more
See all

At the company level, we think that earnings growth for 2020 will be pedestrian. Yet, it could rise by as much as 20% next year. And given current valuations, the Asian equity market is likely to be range-bound through to the year end, but for 2021 there could potentially be 10% upside.

Deepening trends

As the pandemic dissipates, two crucial trends will deepen: more digital and less global. Both movements, which had been gaining traction even before the outbreak of COVID-19, will impact Asia’s investment and capital markets and improve the growth prospects of specific industry sectors.

1. More digital

Behavioural patterns born during the COVID-19-driven lockdowns and raised amid post-pandemic social distancing mean that the world will inevitably become more digitalised – a term that covers a wide area from government and corporate expenditure to the shape of individual consumption. It also gives rise to several bottom-up stock-picking opportunities, most notably in North Asia where investors can explore the full value chain.

Company-level: What does “more digital” mean for investors? As we entered 2020, Asian governments and corporates were already investing in digital technologies, especially China, with the roll out of 5G. Then came the various regional lockdowns and technology spending consequently soared, with companies purchasing new laptops or video-conferencing equipment to cater for the swiftly introduced “work from home” arrangements. As a result, the demand for network speed grew at a faster-than-expected pace. Consequently, we are positive on 5G-related sectors, including base stations, data centres, and upstream equipment.

Consumer-level: Turning to the consumer (seen as the more downstream part of the digitalisation trend) and social distancing is altering the way people spend their money or interact with essential services.

In China, e-commerce now accounts for 26% of the country’s total retail sales3, with the gains being driven by activity in third-tier and lower-tier cities. These two population centres account for more than 50% and 60% of China’s existing and new online-payment users, respectively (Chart 2)4. During the lockdown period, new and emerging e-commerce companies scaled up by addressing the specific needs of people in lower-tier cities. For example, firms began to focus on goods that offered value for money or started to group consumers in a consolidated order. These moves have helped to increase business penetration levels in lower-tier cities. Interestingly, even the older generation have begun to use online apps to buy their groceries or order food delivery.

Another consumer behaviour we anticipated was a wider acceptance among parents of the online- education model. Previously, we had expected the penetration rate to rise from below 5% to 15-20% over the next three years. However, we have already reached this level. As a result, more providers will seek to offer better quality online courses. We have, therefore, been researching online-education businesses and catering companies.

The pandemic has also precipitated a surge in health awareness, with more people carrying out their regular health checks, not in person but remotely via their mobile phones. Asian countries are also expected to boost their medical safety nets and ensure that local hospitals are better equipped.

The primary beneficiaries here will be biotechnology firms and medical-device companies.

Other potential developments include a shift in corporate attitudes towards manufacturing: the automation of production lines and smarter (less reliant on labour) factories could be the new behavioural norm.

2. Less global

The post-pandemic world could see a move towards deglobalisation, with countries loosening their ties with neighbours or trading partners and becoming more self-reliant. There will undoubtedly be winners and losers with this trend. The beneficiaries will be companies that can leverage any increase in domestic consumption on the back of rising incomes, and firms capable of moving up the manufacturing value chain to run higher-margin businesses.

Indeed, the winners have become more apparent in the past 12 months, with around 200 Taiwanese businesses taking advantage of the government’s initiative to move their overseas production bases back to Taiwan5 – a shift that boosted the local commercial and industrial property sector.

In terms of geopolitics, Sino-US trade tensions have started to encroach on financial markets. Developments include the potentially delisting by the US stock exchange of foreign companies that are unable to provide the Securities and Exchange Commission with audits that cover three consecutive years6. Moreover, we expect more US-listed Chinese companies (Chinese ADRs), mainly in the “new economy” sectors, to seek a return-home listing, particularly on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange.

Here’s an interesting concept: if the top-ten 10 Chinese companies that currently feature in the NASDAQ were to list in Hong Kong instead, then the weighting of the consumer and IT sectors in the Hang Seng Index could double to 20%. In turn, this suggests potential improvements in earnings growth and valuations7, which is positive for Hong Kong equity investors.

The ongoing tech-war between US and China has prompted Chinese companies to build their own semiconductor supply chains and therefore reduce their reliance on US suppliers. This should help Taiwanese and Korean semiconductor manufacturers, especially those that focus on the design of integrated circuits (IC). In fact, we already see some interesting medium-sized companies enjoying positive growth as a result of the aforementioned developments.

The “new normal”

We are more positive on North Asia over the south. On a relative basis, we think A-shares are particularly attractive to investors, as there are many mid-cap investment opportunities in the technology, consumer, and healthcare sectors.

To wrap up, we are unlikely to return to the status quo ante because the pandemic has changed the way people consume, react, and transact. It is also uncertain whether we will see a second wave of COVID-19, intensifying trade tensions, or a conclusive result from the US general election.

Against this uncertain backdrop, it is essential to take a bottom-up stock-picking approach that separates the winners from the losers and generates active returns for investors.

 

Download full PDF

 

 

1 Source: Bloomberg, as of 22 June 2020, price returns in US dollar. Asian equities rebounded by 31% from their March low, represented by MSCI Asia ex-Japan index. Meanwhile, Greater China equities rebounded by 29% from their March low, represented by MSCI Golden Dragon index. Past performance is not an indicative of future performance.

2 Source: Goldman Sachs Investment Research, 4 January 2020, 15 May 2020, for illustration purposes only.

3 National Bureau of Statistics of China, Credit Suisse, as of May 2020

4 QuestMobile, as of 30 September 2019.

5 InvesTaiwan website, 18 June 2020;Department of Information Services, Executive Yuan, Taiwan, 20 June 2019. As of 18 June 2020, applications from 192 enterprises were approved under the "Action Plan for Welcoming Overseas Taiwanese Businesses to Return to Invest in Taiwan.” The initiative has subsequently attracted investments worth NT$776.3 billion.

6 On 20 May 2020, the Senate passed the Holding Foreign Companies Accountable Act and matching legislation was introduced in the House the following day. If passed into law and signed by the President, the bill would mandate that equities of foreign issuers be delisted from US stock exchanges if the firms’ auditors do not fully comply with the inspection requirements of the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board for three successive years.

7 Source: Bloomberg, data as of 17 June 2020. Hang Seng index is currently trading at 10.6 times price-to-earnings ratio, with an estimate earning growth of -7% for 2020 fiscal year.

  • Navigating ESG integration in China A-Shares investing

    Navigating ESG Integration in China A-Shares

    Read more
  • First in, first out: North Asian equities exhibit postpandemic strength

    For emerging-market equity investors, the COVID-19 crisis helps to define a critical juncture. Some companies and geographies are showing deep vulnerabilities; others remarkable resilience. Focusing on the latter is the sustainable investment path ahead.

    Read more
  • Global healthcare the search for a cure

    The healthcare sector has emerged as one of the best-performing areas of the market this year. We look at the sector’s resilience in difficult market and economic conditions and provide compelling insights for developments in the sector.

    Read more
See all
We welcome your feedback

We'd love to hear what you think of our new website. Please let us know your feedback in our 1 minute survey >>

View more
We welcome your feedback

We'd love to hear what you think of our new website. Please let us know your feedback in our 1 minute survey >>

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 宏利理財策劃經理

新興投資趨勢深化 亞洲復甦漸露曙光

7/7/2020

經過數月防疫封鎖和疫情衝擊後,亞洲的2019新型冠狀病毒(COVID-19)感染率似乎受控,成為最早重啟經濟活動的地區之一。因此,亞洲和大中華股票出現反彈,截至2020年6月下旬,股市指數較3月份低位回升約30%1。展望下半年,亞洲區(日本除外)股票投資部首席投資總監陳致洲認為,即使前景持續不明朗,但區內仍不乏具吸引力的公司,尤其是中國,因其受惠於「加速數碼化」和「去全球化」的兩大趨勢,而亞洲國內生產總值有望在2020年和2021年繼續錄得正增長。此外,大中華區股票專家謝企剛指出,大中華股票的一些投資趨勢加深,展現了由下而上的投資機會。

基本因素正面

如果我們進一步深入研究,可找到一些支持我們持正面看法的因素。這次疫情除了導致整個亞洲出現市場錯位外,還無意間揭示區內經濟基本因素的核心實力。.

從圖1所見,今年中國和亞太(日本除外)地區的國內生產總值增長預測,分別從1月的5.8%和5.4%,下調至5月的3%和0.9%。然而,市場早前預計今年環球國內生產總值增長會在跌至負數。因此,亞洲堅實的經濟基礎,有助增長維持正數。展望2021年,預期中國和亞太(日本除外)國內生產總值增長預測分別達7.7%和7.4%,均超越已發展市場。

 

在企業層面,我們認為2020年企業盈利增長乏善足陳,但明年盈利升幅可能高達20%。基於目前估值,亞洲股市很可能在年底前維持區間上落,但2021年或出現10%的潛在升幅。

趨勢加深

隨著疫情減退,兩股主要趨勢將會加深:「加速數碼化」和「去全球化」。兩股趨勢早於疫情爆發前已逐漸受到關注,將會影響亞洲投資和資本市場,並改善個別行業的增長前景。

1. 加速數碼化

2019新型冠狀病毒導致多國封城,期間催生的行為模式在疫後社交距離措施的帶動下發展,意味世界將無可避免加速數碼化 ── 這個術語廣泛涵蓋政府與企業開支,以至個人消費形態。這股趨勢亦帶來一些由下而上的選股機會,特別是在北亞市場,投資者可以尋找整個價值鏈的投資機會。

企業層面:「加速數碼化」對投資者有何意義?踏入2020年,隨著5G技術推出,亞洲各國政府和企業已開始投資數碼科技,尤其是中國。其後區內多國封城,科技開支隨即飆升,企業購買新筆記型電腦或視像會議設備,以應對迅速開展的「在家工作」安排。因此,市場對網速的需求升幅高於預期。基於這種情況,我們看好5G相關行業,包括通訊基站、數據中心和上游設備。

消費者層面:數碼化發展轉向消費者(被視為數碼化趨勢的較下游部份),以及全球各地實行社交距離措施,正在改變大眾消費或使用必要服務互動的方式。

目前,中國電子商貿佔全國零售銷售總值26%3,增長源自三線及以下城市的活動。這兩類人口集中地分別佔中國現有和新增網上支付用戶超過50%和60%(圖2)4。在封城期間,新成立和冒起的電子商貿公司透過滿足低線城市民眾的特有需求而擴展業務。例如有公司開始專注提供物有所值的貨品,或開始合併集中處理消費者的訂單。這些舉措有助提高業務在低線城市的滲透率。值得注意的是,即使是年長一代亦開始利用網上應用程式,訂購雜貨或食品送餐服務。

我們預期的另一種消費行為是家長普遍接受網上教育模式。我們曾經預計在未來三年,網上教育滲透率會從低於5%,提高到15%至20%,但現時已經達到這個水平。因此,愈來愈多供應商致力提供更優質的網上課程。我們為此一直研究經營網上教育企業和餐飲的公司。

疫情亦大幅提高大眾的健康意識,愈來愈多消費者定期進行健康檢查,但並非親身進行,而是透過手機遙距檢查。預期亞洲國家將加強醫療保障網絡,確保當地醫院擁有更完善的設備。生物科技企業和醫療設備公司將成為這個領域的主要受惠者。

其他潛在發展包括企業對製造業的態度轉變:生產線自動化和更智能(減少依賴勞工)的工廠可成為新行為標準。

2. 去全球化

疫後世界或會邁向去全球化,各國與近鄰或貿易夥伴的關係不再緊密,轉趨自給自足。這股趨勢無疑會產生贏家和輸家。可藉民眾收入上升而把握內需增加的良機,以及能夠藉製造業價值鏈上移、經營利潤率較高的業務的公司將可受惠。

實際上,贏家在過去十二個月愈見明顯,約200家台灣企業享受政府提供的優惠政策,將海外生產基地遷回台灣5,這個轉變帶動當地商業和工業房地產領域的發展。

地緣政治方面,中美貿易關係緊張的影響,已開始蔓延至金融市場。事態發展包括外國企業可能因無法向美國證監會提供連續三年的審計報告,而須從美國證券交易所除牌6。此外,我們預計愈來愈多在美國上市的中國企業(即發行美國預託證券的中資股)將回歸中港市場上市,主要目的地是香港交易所,並集中於「新經濟」行業。

這衍生一個值得注意的概念:如果目前納斯達克指數的十大中國企業轉往香港上市,恒生指數的消費和資訊科技業比重或會增加一倍至20%。這繼而反映企業盈利增長和估值有上升空間7,對香港股票投資者有利。

中美科技戰持續,促使中國公司建立自家半導體供應鏈,藉此減少依賴美國供應商。這應有利台灣和韓國半導體製造商,尤其是專注設計集成電路的企業。事實上,鑑於上述發展,當中部份的中型公司錄得正增長。

「新常態」

與南亞市場相比,我們對北亞市場的看法更為正面。相對而言,我們認為A股對投資者別具吸引力,因為科技、消費和康健護理業內不少中型股存在投資機會。

總括而言,我們不大可能回復原狀,因為疫情已經改變大眾的消費、應對和交易方式。此外,第二波疫情會否爆發,貿易緊張局勢會否加劇,以及美國大選會否出現決定性結果,均屬未知之數。

鑑於目前環境不明朗,必須採取由下而上的選股策略,藉此區別贏家和輸家,為投資者締造主動回報。

 

下載全份文件

 

 

1 資料來源:彭博資訊,截至2020年6月22日,價格回報以美元計算。亞洲股票較3月份低位反彈31%,以MSCI明晟亞洲(日本除外)指數代表。同時,大中華股票較3月份低位反彈29%,以MSCI明晟金龍指數代表。過往表現並非日後表現的指標。

2 資料來源:高盛投資研究,2020年1月4日、2020年5月15日,僅供說明用途。

3 中國國家統計局、瑞信,截至2020年5月。

4 北京貴士信息科技有限公司,截至2019年9月30日。

5 投資臺灣入口網,2020年6月18日;台灣行政院新聞傳播處,2019年6月20日。截至2020年6月18日,192家企業的申請根據「歡迎台商回台投資行動方案」獲批。方案隨後吸引總值7,763億新台幣的投資

6 美國參議院在2020年5月20日通過《外國公司問責法案》(Holding Foreign Companies Accountable Act),相關法案翌日提呈眾議院。一旦法案獲得通過並經總統簽署立法,法例將規定如果公司核數師連續三年未能完全符合上市公司會計監管委員會的監管要求,有關外國發行機構的股票須從美國證券交易所除牌。

7 資料來源:彭博資訊,數據截至2020年6月17日。目前恒生指數市盈率為10.6倍,2020財政年度的預測盈利下跌7%。

  • 多元資產:建立穩健投資組合,駕馭不同市場周期

    在風險管理框架下,專注研究宏觀主題,並結合周詳的資本市場資產配置策略,我們相信應能有效照顧投資者的利益。

    閱讀更多
  • 亞洲固定收益: 整體展望樂觀,聚焦可持續投資

    我們剖析為何預期在環球有利環境及持續的政策支持下,亞洲固定收益將繼續表現向好。  

    閱讀更多
  • 亞太區房地產投資信託:過去、現在與未來

    我們闡釋為何傳統上投資者會選擇房地產投資信託,並剖析這項資產類別在來年 及以後為何別具吸引力。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 多元資產:建立穩健投資組合,駕馭不同市場周期

    在風險管理框架下,專注研究宏觀主題,並結合周詳的資本市場資產配置策略,我們相信應能有效照顧投資者的利益。

    閱讀更多
  • 亞洲固定收益: 整體展望樂觀,聚焦可持續投資

    我們剖析為何預期在環球有利環境及持續的政策支持下,亞洲固定收益將繼續表現向好。  

    閱讀更多
  • 亞太區房地產投資信託:過去、現在與未來

    我們闡釋為何傳統上投資者會選擇房地產投資信託,並剖析這項資產類別在來年 及以後為何別具吸引力。

    閱讀更多
查看全部

我們重視您對網站的意見。只需一分鐘回答幾條簡單問題可助我們為您提供更佳的使用經驗。提供意見 >>

查看更多

我們重視您對網站的意見。只需一分鐘回答幾條簡單問題可助我們為您提供更佳的使用經驗。提供意見 >>

查看更多
確認