Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

The millennial consumer and the future of US growth

11 December, 2019

Sandy Sanders, Senior Portfolio Manager
 

Millennials are growing up and settling down, which means they’re headed toward a leadership role in providing support for US growth. But beyond being the next generation to shoulder the burden of demand creation for credit, housing, and consumer goods, millennials are deeply involved in reshaping the industries with which they’re closely identified—particularly tech, ecommerce, and social media. As Emory W. (Sandy) Sanders, Jr., CFA, Senior Portfolio Manager explains, this may give them a uniquely powerful form of economic influence in the years ahead.

Millennials are expecting 

Born between 1981 and 1996, millennials recently surpassed the baby boomers as the largest living generational cohort in the United States. 1 But a question some market observers worry over is whether millennials, who are notoriously burdened with significant student loan debt,2 are prepared to carry the productivity torch and drive sustainable growth. In line with these concerns, data from the Pew Research Center for social and demographic trends suggests that millennials aren’t as interested as older generations when it comes to getting married, starting families, or moving out of their parents’ homes.3

That said, recent data suggests millennials are acting more and more like prior generations. For example, Google’s search volume records show a declining interest in wedding registries and a spiking interest in baby registries—potentially an early harbinger of millennials becoming new parents and forming new households (Chart 1).

  • Will the Fed's approach to interest-rate hikes trigger a U.S. recession?

    Concerns about recession risks are rising amid seemingly persistent inflation and rising interest rates. Find out to what extent these fears are warranted.

    Read more
  • How is the surging US dollar affecting Asian currencies?

    We draw insights from our pan-Asia fixed income and equity teams, who examine the impact of US-dollar strength and what this means for currencies in the region.

    Read more
  • China rolls out measures to support economic growth

    We believe that the latest supportive measures reiterate China’s stance on economic stability and see opportunities in China and Hong Kong equities that could benefit from these policy actions.

    Read more
See all

Chart 1: Millennials’ latest wish list? Baby gear

Popularity of Google searches, 0-100 scale

Source: Google, Zelman & Associates, September 2019. LTM means last 12 months.

 

Another important signal emerges from more comprehensive loan data. Viewed holistically with other types of loans, many millennials are entering the zone where the trajectories of their debt are crossing (Chart 2), with student loans on a steep decline and mortgage debt on an equally steep incline. Millennials in their late 20s and early 30s may not only be expecting, they’re also buying homes and retiring their student  loans at a healthy rate.

 

Chart 2: Millennials are on a path to building equity

Average debt held by household ($ thousands)

Source: Federal Reserve, Morgan Stanley Research. Data as of the 2016 Survey of Consumer Finances. Copyright 2019 Morgan Stanley

 

When it comes to credit demand, millennials are just getting started 

Indeed, millennials are only just beginning to hit their borrowing stride. Whereas Generation X, the “slackers” of the 90s, gave lackluster support to loan growth in the wake of the global financial crisis of 2008, millennials are already adding more than every other living generation combined to the growth of net new consumer loans (Chart 3).

 

Chart 3: Millennials will drive loan growth for the foreseeable future

Net loan growth by generation ($ billions) vs. total consumer loan growth (%)

Source: Federal Reserve, Morgan Stanley Research, as of 11 April 2019. Copyright 2019 Morgan Stanley

 

All of these elements—from babies to big loans and first-time home purchases—are good for the US economy. Most obviously, they’re good for US banks, whose balance sheets are, in our estimation, rock solid and able to support home and durable goods purchases, as well as business lending. After a decade of fortifying their business models, banks have invested in technology that millennials demand and stand ready to support a lengthy loan demand cycle. The maturation of millennials is also good for the housing sector, where purchases by millennials could build momentum in new housing starts, thereby providing a potential boost to construction, durable goods producers, home improvement retailers, and the myriad businesses in the economy that supply and service them. 

Notably, as well, the types of debt referenced here are equity-producing forms of debt. Mortgages fuel long-term wealth creation in real assets while enabling higher rates of discretionary spending, which is foundational to US GDP growth. Student loans fund higher education, which leads to higherpaying jobs and rising wages, which is reflected in recent payroll data. 4 In any case, these types of loans aren’t stifling consumers’ ability to spend: Today’s low interest rates mean household debt measured by debt service ratios is lower than in past cycles. 5 Assuming interest rates stay in the “lower for longer” range we’ve experienced for the last decade, it won’t be surprising to see millennials driving new consumer loan demand for the next decade and longer.6

Millennials and values-based consumption

This would all be a conventional story of generational change were it not for certain

transformational effects that millennials are having in the communication services, information technology, and consumer discretionary sectors. Beyond adding to demand growth here, they're also influencing the sustainability of these sectors from within.

Millennials are thinking of their roles as consumers and employees in terms of values, particularly collective values that place an emphasis on sustainability (Chart 4). Data from a few years ago shows the steady upswing, for example, of consumer demand for sustainable products and services. This maturing generation is pushing companies, including their employers, to think hard about the  environmental and social responsibility—or lack thereof—inherent in their business models.

 

Chart 4: Consumers are willing to pay more for sustainable products and services

Based on global survey data (% of 30,000 consumer respondents)

Source: “The sustainability imperative: new insights on consume expectations,” Nielsen, October 2015.

 

Consider the cohort of young Amazon employees who encouraged America’s biggest online retailer to commit to a lower-carbon future. In the wake of their activism, Amazon announced plans to go carbonneutral by 2040. 7 Or consider efforts by Apple employees, who’ve found an activist CEO in Tim Cook, to build fair labor practices into their company’s global supply chains and take a progressive stand on US immigration issues. Other examples include Alphabet’s and Wayfair’s millennials, who are part of a labor movement that’s raising a loud call for ethical guidelines governing the sale of their companies’ products and services.8 Millennial employees are demanding, where previous generations were more passive, that their employers take a more sustainable approach to growth. They’re demonstrating, as consumers, that values-based consumerism is a vital aspect of maintaining a competitive advantage. 

Millennials are the first generation whose formative experiences as consumers have been heavily mediated by ecommerce and social media. But they’re also the first generation to rapidly set new norms in these areas that have sometimes left entire industries struggling to catch up. In this way, the millennial consumer has an amplified growth impact, particularly when it comes to teaching their employers, the providers of their favorite brands, and basically any company with a digital presence that financial value only exists in a network of other values. We think that’s good news for more than just company shareholders and short-term profits; it’s a benefit for all contemporary and future stakeholders in the US economy’s growth potential. 

 


1 “The US. Has an Edge on GDP Growth, and It's Thanks to Millennials,” Forbes, May 16, 2019.

2 “A Look At Millennial Student Debt,” Forbes, October 3, 2019. https://www.forbes.com/sites/wesleywhistle/2019/10/03/a-look-atmillennial-student-debt/#67f780a32437.

3 Pew Research Center, December 31, 2018. See www.pewsocialtrends.org.

4 Bureau of Labor Statistics, September 18, 2019.

5 Fundstrat, Bloomberg, FactSet, as of June 30, 2019.

6 “In the Coming Youth Boom, Millennials Fuel Loan Growth; Gen Z Up for Grabs?”Morgan Stanley, April 11, 2019.

7 “Amazon’s climate pledge confirms the new power of employees,” Quartz at Work, September 20, 2019. https://qz.com/work/1712662/the-amazon-climate-pledge-is-a-victory-for-activist-employees/.

8 “Activist employees pose new labour relations threat to bosses,” The Financial Times, July 3, 2019. https://www.ft.com/content/c1167d4a-9cb5-11e9-b8ce-8b459ed04726.

  • Will the Fed's approach to interest-rate hikes trigger a U.S. recession?

    Concerns about recession risks are rising amid seemingly persistent inflation and rising interest rates. Find out to what extent these fears are warranted.

    Read more
  • How is the surging US dollar affecting Asian currencies?

    We draw insights from our pan-Asia fixed income and equity teams, who examine the impact of US-dollar strength and what this means for currencies in the region.

    Read more
  • China rolls out measures to support economic growth

    We believe that the latest supportive measures reiterate China’s stance on economic stability and see opportunities in China and Hong Kong equities that could benefit from these policy actions.

    Read more
See all
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

千禧世代消費者與美國未來的經濟增長

11/12/2019

Sandy Sanders, 高級投資組合經理
 

千禧世代逐漸成長並成家立業,意味他們在支持美國經濟增長方面逐步邁向領導角色。然而,除了作為肩負創造信貸、房屋和消費品需求的新世代外,千禧世代亦積極參與重塑與其息息相關的行業,尤其是科技、電子商貿和社交媒體。正如高級投資組合經理Sandy Sanders分析,這使千禧世代在未來歲月擁有一股獨特和強勁的經濟影響力。


千禧世代迎接新生命 

在1981年至1996年期間出生的千禧世代,近日已超越嬰兒潮世代,成為美國人口最龐大的一代。1 但是,部份市場觀察員憂慮的是,眾所周知千禧世代背負著沉重的學生貸款,2他們是否已準備好接棒,成為新一代的生產力大軍,推動可持續的經濟增長? 研究機構Pew Research Center公布的社會和人口結構趨勢數據與上述憂慮不謀而合,有關數據反映千禧世代對結婚、組織家庭或離開父母獨自居住的意欲不及他們年長的前輩。3

然而,最新的數據顯示千禧世代的行為與他們的上幾代長輩越來越相似。例如,谷歌的搜尋紀錄顯示,千禧世代對結婚禮品清單的興趣逐漸下降,反而對新生嬰兒禮品清單的興趣大幅上升 —— 這可能預示千禧世代已逐漸為人父母,並陸續組織新的家庭(圖1)。

 

  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部

圖1:千禧世代最新的願望清單?嬰兒用品

谷歌搜尋的熱門程度,以0至100比例量度

資料來源:Google、Zelman & Associates,2019年9月。

 

此外,從較全面的貸款數據可見另一個重要訊息。結合其他貸款類別作出全面分析,反映許多千禧世代逐漸步入負債趨勢交叉的區間(圖2) —— 學生貸款急跌,按揭貸款則以相同的步伐急升。30歲前後的千禧世代不但可能正在迎接新生命,還陸續開始置業,並以健康的比率償還學生貸款。

 

圖2:千禧世代正在累積股本

平均家庭負債(1000美元)

資料來源:聯儲局、摩根士丹利研究。數據截至2016年消費者財務調查。2019年摩根士丹利版權所有。

 

千禧世代的信貸需求剛開始

事實上,千禧世代的借貸剛開始急速增長。在2008年金融危機後,X世代(90年代的「懶散一族」)對貸款增長的支持乏力,但與此同時,千禧世代對新消費貸款增長的貢獻,已超越所有在生世代的總和 (圖3)。

 

圖3:在可見的未來,千禧世代將帶動貸款增長

各世代的淨貸款增長(10億美元)對比消費貸款增長總額

資料來源:聯儲局、摩根士丹利研究,截至2019年4月11日。2019年摩根士丹利版權所有。

 

所有上述因素,由迎接新生命到大額貸款以至首次置業,均利好美國經濟。最明顯的是,這些因素利好美國銀行業,我們估計銀行業的資產負債表實力雄厚,有能力支持千禧世代置業和購買耐用品,亦可提供商業貸款。 經歷十年鞏固業務模型後,銀行業已投資於千禧世代所需的科技,並為支持一個漫長的貸款需求周期準備就緒。千禧世代的成長亦利好地產行業,其置業需求為新屋動工帶來動力,從而可望為建造、耐用品生產商、家居裝飾零售商,以及提供相關產品和服務的眾多企業提供潛在支持。

此外,值得注意的是,本文所指的債務種類屬創造股本的債務形式。按揭帶動長遠的實質資產財富增長,有助提高非必需消費品的開支,而這是美國國內生產總值增長的基礎。學生貸款有助提高貸款人的學歷,使其獲得較高薪酬的職業,並加快薪金增長,這從最新公布的新增職位數據可見一斑。4在任何情況下,這些貸款類別都不會削弱消費者的消費能力:現今的低息環境意味與過去的經濟周期比較,以償債比率計算的家庭負債較低。5假設像過去十年「較長期低息環境」的區間一直維持,千禧世代在未來十年及更長期間帶動新消費貸款增長實屬意料之內。6

千禧世代與價值為本的消費

若不是由於千禧世代在通訊服務、資訊科技及非必需消費品業帶來的轉變,這可能只是一個傳統的世代變遷的故事。除了帶動該等行業的需求增長外,千禧世代亦影響著這些行業的可持續發展。

千禧世代會從消費者及僱員的角色思考價值,尤其是強調可持續發展的整體價值(圖4)。舉例來說,數年前的數據已反映消費者對可持續產品和服務的需求穩步上升。發展漸趨成熟的千禧世代促使企業(包括他們的僱主)深入思考其業務模型在環保和社會方面的責任 —— 或是否缺乏承擔這些責任。

 

圖4:消費者願意支付較高價格,購買可持續的產品和服務

以全球調查數據為基礎(佔30,000名受訪消費者%)

資料來源:“The sustainability imperative: new insights on consume expectations,” Nielsen,2015年10月。

以年輕的亞馬遜員工為例,他們鼓勵這間美國第一大網上零售商許下承諾,打造一個低碳的未來。在員工發起維護自身權益的運動後,亞馬遜公布在2040年之前實現碳中性的計劃。7又以蘋果公司僱員的行動為例,他們得到維護權益的活躍分子──行政總裁庫克(Tim Cook)的支持,在公司的全球供應鏈制定公平的勞工待遇,並就美國移民政策採取漸進的立場。其他例子還包括Alphabet和Wayfair的千禧世代僱員,他們參與勞工運動,致力爭取監管公司產品和服務銷售的道德指引。  千禧世代僱員要求僱主採取較可持續的業務增長方針,相比來說,過去幾個世代的僱員則較為被動。8千禧世代作為消費者,展示以價值為本的消費主義是維持競爭優勢的關鍵。

千禧世代是第一代深受電子商貿和社交媒體影響的消費者。然而,他們也是迅速在這些領域釐定新規範的第一個世代,甚至促使整個行業致力迎合這些規範。就此而言,千禧世代消費者有助發揮擴大增長的效應,尤其在教育其僱主、喜愛品牌供應商,以及基本上任何數碼業務的公司,認識到財務價值只能與其他一系列的價值相輔相成。我們認為這不僅對公司股東和短期盈利來說屬利好消息,也有利於所有可從美國經濟潛在增長獲益的現今及未來持份者。

 


1 The U.S. Has an Edge on GDP Growth, and It's Thanks to Millennials, 《福布斯》,2019年5月16日。

2 A Look At Millennial Student Debt,《福布斯》,2019年10月3日。 https://www.forbes.com/sites/wesleywhistle/2019/10/03/a-look-atmillennial-student-debt/#67f780a32437.

3 Pew Research Center,2018年12月31日。請瀏覽 www.pewsocialtrends.org.

4 勞工統計局,2019年9月18日。

5 Fundstrat、彭博資訊、FactSet,截至2019年6月30日。

6 In the Coming Youth Boom, Millennials Fuel Loan Growth; Gen Z Up for Grabs? 摩根士丹利,2019年4月11日。

7 Amazon’s climate pledge confirms the new power of employees, Quartz at Work,2019年9月20日。https://qz.com/work/1712662/the-amazon-climate-pledge-is-a-victory-for-activist-employees/.

8 Activist employees pose new labour relations threat to bosses,《金融時報》,2019年7月3日。https://www.ft.com/content/c1167d4a-9cb5-11e9-b8ce-8b459ed04726.

  • The Fed remains hawkish, but easing could occur before the end of 2023

    The Fed’s decision to raise US interest rates by 75 basis points to a target range of 3%-3.25% was well priced into the markets.We describe the factors contributing to the Fed’s increasingly hawkish tone and explain why easing could occur before the end of 2023.

    閱讀更多
  • The high-yield market isn't signaling a recession

    Through the interest-rate volatility and higher inflation so far in 2022, we haven't seen a reason to abandon high yield. If anything, the higher-quality segment of this market could provide a welcome boost to a portfolio's risk-adjusted return potential.

    閱讀更多
  • U.S. banks’ fundamentals continue to strengthen despite the economic slowdown

    The latest quarterly earnings reports from U.S. regional banks confirm the favorable investment outlook as loan growth and an improved interest-rate environment provide a tailwind for the industry, in our view.

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認