Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

Incorporating the Russia-Ukraine conflict in a global macro outlook

28 February, 2022

Frances Donald, Global Chief Economist and Head of Macroeconomic Strategy
 

While it's still early days in the conflict between Russia and Ukraine, we cannot dismiss its impact on our medium-term outlook. Frances Donald, Global Chief Economist and Head of Macroeconomic Strategy, offers a framework for considering the evolving situation.

 

Geopolitical developments are anathema to macro strategists. They’re difficult to predict and time, can be violently disruptive to market pricing—although usually for short periods—and they tend to distract market participants from focusing on core longer-term themes. When they occur, seasoned macro strategists typically highlight the benefits of looking past the headlines and focusing on where we are in the business cycle, the direction of interest rates, and the strength of the consumer.

And yet, as we’ve spent the past several weeks reflecting on the implications of a Russia-Ukraine conflict, we cannot dismiss its impact on our global macro views. Although many assets have already rebounded from their initial sell-off, we’d caution that there are reasons to consider how the situation will affect our medium-term outlook.

A stagflationary economic shock

Indeed, the conflict and its repercussions amount to a stagflationary economic shock, which is hitting the global economy at a moment in which it was already suffering from painful inflation and signs of a growth slowdown to come. While the magnitude of the shock isn’t yet known—and will be a function of the evolution of events—the trajectory of this particular geopolitical event is sufficient for us to:

  • Add conviction to our existing call that the first half of 2022, particularly the second quarter, could be mired in stagflationary dynamics (lower growth, higher inflation), persistent volatility, and more frequent bouts of risk aversion
  • Lower our conviction that the second half of 2022 will be an easy return to a Goldilocks scenario (stable growth and lower inflation)

As these are still early days, I’d stress that these are changes in our convictions around our base case, not a change in our outlook overall.

Commodity inflation is critical

To start, the main channel through which this conflict will affect global growth and inflation forecasts is through commodities. As Sue Trinh recently explained, the Russia-Ukraine conflict needs to be monitored very closely, particularly given Russia’s critical role in commodity markets:

“Russia is the world’s leading exporter of natural gas (17.1% of global production) and the second-largest exporter of crude oil (12.1%). For context, Saudi Arabia accounts for 12.5% of the crude market. 

Russia and Ukraine are also significant agricultural producers: Their combined wheat, barley, and maize exports represent 21% of the global total, and together they supply 60% of the world’s sunflower oils. Russia and Belarus also account for approximately 20% of total fertilizer exports, which is vital for global food production.

Meanwhile, Russia is one of the world’s largest producers of critical metals. It’s the biggest exporter of palladium (20.7% of total volume) and ranks second after Chile in terms of refined copper (7.1%). The country also holds the third position for nickel (11.2%) and aluminum (9.0%).”

Our three-part framework for assessing the situation

Understanding this, we’ve constructed a simple framework through which we incorporate this evolving conflict in our outlook.

1 Another stagflationary shock

Our regular readers may be familiar with our view that the first half of 2022 (especially late Q1 and Q2) is likely to see stagflationary dynamics (higher inflation than comfortable, lower growth than comfortable). The higher-inflation-than-comfortable component of isn’t controversial, and the ongoing run-up in energy (and food) prices, exacerbated by the Russia-Ukraine conflict, is readily observed.

But the second-order impact of sharply rising energy and food prices is a growth shock, as energy demand has notoriously limited elasticity; that is, even if gas prices or heating costs soar, we still need to get to work and to stay warm, and consumers either have to use savings or cut back in other areas of spending. This is on top of negative real wage growth and weak consumer confidence data in most major economies. U.S. personal income data also out this week showed income rose 0.0% month over month, and spending only rose off the back of declines in the savings rate. That’s not a healthy consumer backdrop for experiencing another price shock. We expect to be thinking much more about the global consumer’s exposure to energy in the weeks ahead.

We’ve already been operating with the expectation that high costs would cramp growth, but the Russia-Ukraine conflict compounds the issue and is consistent with ongoing yield curve flatteners. It also potentially throws a wrench into our expectation that inflation would begin cooling after February and would sharply decline to 2% in most major economies by year end. We’re still comfortable with the path of that decline, but its speed may be affected by these tensions.

Combined with supply chain disruptions that may limit inventory rebuilds that we hoped would fuel growth in the second half of 2022, our call for a return to Goldilocks by year end is looking less than solid.

2 A potential slowdown in central bank tightening

Central bankers were out in droves this week and few could avoid addressing the Russia-Ukraine conflict. Most highlighted the uncertainty this has injected into the outlook and downplayed the likelihood of a 50 basis point (bps) hike in March. Meanwhile, markets have gone from pricing in a 50bps hike as a near certainty two weeks ago to now having a one-in-five chance. That’s consistent with our central bank outlook, which has made the point that the odds of a 50bps hike were overpriced. Indeed, we continue to believe the U.S. Federal Reserve (Fed) can hike three times this year in total, along with quantitative tightening, whereas the market is still pricing in six to seven hikes in the next 12 months.

The Fed is once again in a situation in which inflation is coming from global and supply-side developments; interest-rate hikes will do little to cool energy-driven inflation precipitated by geopolitical developments. But both the pressure coming from some moderate increases in services inflation and the political challenges associated with 7%+ year-over-year prints probably mean they’re still on the path to normalization.

The biggest reason we expect the Fed to pivot more dovishly this year is because we expect the narrative to turn away from high inflation toward low growth. And if we’re correct that the Russia-Ukraine conflict will compound the growth shock, then we have even more conviction in our call that the market is overpriced—both in that it still has a 20% chance of a 50bps hike priced into March but also because of how much tightening it believes the Fed will engage in over 2022. Should the Fed pivot, it will be able to resteepen the curve, which is desperately needed, and support an extension of the cycle.

The Russia-Ukraine conflict isn’t solely about the U.S. central bank, of course. We expect more dovish commentary from the Bank of Canada, the Bank of England, and, most important, the European Central Bank as it assesses the stagflationary dynamics at play.

3 Relative impacts/trades

We expect the theme of global desynchronization to become more important over the course of 2022. While the stagflationary shock emanating from the Russia-Ukraine conflict is global in nature, its effects will be felt unevenly around the world. In terms of major macro economies, Europe is most exposed to the growth destruction from higher energy prices, given its natural gas exposure and existing weaknesses. Indeed, recession odds for Europe will climb in the coming year (although recession isn’t our base case). We believe the United States is in a better position to absorb some energy and food price inflation, although the country, in absolute terms, is worse off.

As Sue Trinh covered, emerging markets are, on balance, weakened, but those economies that can absorb higher food and energy prices (e.g., Singapore and Malaysia) or those with least exposure to liquidity shocks (e.g., Indonesia and the Philippines) could be relative outperformers. It’s also likely that global export momentum slows somewhat, and so those economies less reliant on foreign demand may enjoy a mild relative advantage.

 

  • Will the Fed's approach to interest-rate hikes trigger a U.S. recession?

    Concerns about recession risks are rising amid seemingly persistent inflation and rising interest rates. Find out to what extent these fears are warranted.

    Read more
  • How is the surging US dollar affecting Asian currencies?

    We draw insights from our pan-Asia fixed income and equity teams, who examine the impact of US-dollar strength and what this means for currencies in the region.

    Read more
  • China rolls out measures to support economic growth

    We believe that the latest supportive measures reiterate China’s stance on economic stability and see opportunities in China and Hong Kong equities that could benefit from these policy actions.

    Read more
See all
  • Will the Fed's approach to interest-rate hikes trigger a U.S. recession?

    Concerns about recession risks are rising amid seemingly persistent inflation and rising interest rates. Find out to what extent these fears are warranted.

    Read more
  • How is the surging US dollar affecting Asian currencies?

    We draw insights from our pan-Asia fixed income and equity teams, who examine the impact of US-dollar strength and what this means for currencies in the region.

    Read more
  • China rolls out measures to support economic growth

    We believe that the latest supportive measures reiterate China’s stance on economic stability and see opportunities in China and Hong Kong equities that could benefit from these policy actions.

    Read more
See all
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

俄烏衝突成為全球宏觀展望的考慮因素之一

28/02/2022

環球首席經濟師兼環球宏觀經濟策略部主管Frances Donald  

儘管俄羅斯與烏克蘭之間的衝突仍處於初期階段,但我們不能忽視有關事件對我們中期展望的影響。為此,環球首席經濟師兼環球宏觀經濟策略部主管Frances Donald設定了一個框架,把局勢發展納入考慮之列。

 

對宏觀策略師來說,地緣政治發展最難處理,其不但難以預測及估算時間,可能會對市場定價造成重大干擾(儘管通常為期較短),而且往往會分散市場人士對核心較長期主題的注意力。當發生地緣政治事件時,經驗豐富的宏觀策略師通常會強調不要聚焦有關消息,應繼續專注於現時的商業周期階段、利率走向及消費市道。

然而,鑑於我們在過去數周持續剖析俄烏衝突的影響,我們無法否認其對我們全球宏觀觀點造成的衝擊。雖然許多資產初期出現拋售後現已反彈回升,但我們仍然保持審慎,認為應考慮局勢發展將如何影響我們的中期展望。

經濟滯脹衝擊

事實上,俄烏衝突及其影響構成經濟滯脹衝擊,對早已面對通脹沉重打擊,並出現增長放緩跡象的全球經濟來說更是雪上加霜。雖然衝擊的幅度尚未清楚,這將取決於局勢發展而定,但就這項特定地緣政治事件的發展軌跡來看,足以使我們:

  • 更加確信我們的現有預測,認為經濟在2022年上半年(尤其是第二季)可能會陷入滯脹局面(增長放緩、通脹上升)、持續波動,而且市場避險情緒將更頻繁
  • 但我們對2022年下半年重返「舒適圈」(增長穩定及通脹放緩)的信心卻有所下降

值得注意的是,由於局勢發展仍處於初期階段,上述調整只反映我們對基本情況預測的信心改變,而不是我們的整體展望有變。

商品通脹至關重要

首先,商品將成為俄烏衝突影響全球增長及通脹預測的主要渠道。正如 Sue Trinh 近期所解釋,我們需要密切注視俄烏衝突,尤其是考慮到俄羅斯在商品市場上擔當的關鍵角色:

「俄羅斯是全球最大的天然氣出口國(佔全球產量17.1%),而且是第二大原油出口國(12.1%),僅次於佔原油市場12.5%的沙特阿拉伯。

俄羅斯和烏克蘭亦分別是主要的農產國:兩國的小麥、大麥和玉米出口共佔全球整體的21%,並佔全球葵花籽油供應的60%。此外,俄羅斯與白俄羅斯合共佔整體肥料出口約20%,對全球糧食生產甚為重要。

另一方面,俄羅斯是全球最大的關鍵金屬生產國之一。當地是全球最大的鈀出口國(佔全球產量20.7%),而且是僅次於智利的第二大精煉銅出口國(7.1%),其於鎳(11.2%)和鋁(9.0%)的出口亦位列全球第三。」

我們的框架分三部份評估局勢發展

了解上述情況後,我們建構了一個簡單的框架,從而把俄烏衝突的局勢發展納入我們的展望。

1 另一次滯脹衝擊

我們的固定讀者可能已熟知我們的觀點,即經濟在2022年上半年(尤其是第一季末及第二季)可能會陷入滯脹局面(通脹高於正常水平,增長低於正常水平)。有關通脹高於正常水平的觀點相信不會引起爭議,因為俄烏衝突實際上已導致能源(及食品)價格持續上漲的情況急劇惡化。

能源及食品價格急升引發的進一步影響是增長衝擊,眾所周知,能源需求的彈性有限;換言之,即使天然氣價格或取暖成本飆升,我們仍然需要上班及取暖,因此,消費者唯有動用儲蓄,或削減其他領域的開支。畢竟,大部份主要經濟體的實質工資正處於負增長,而且消費信心數據疲弱。本周公布的美國個人收入數據顯示,收入按月增長0.0%,開支增加完全是由儲蓄率下降所支持。在這種不健康的消費環境下,將難以承受另一次價格衝擊。在未來數周,我們預期將會更詳細考慮能源風險對全球消費者的影響。

我們早已預期高成本將會抑制增長,但俄烏衝突使問題更趨複雜,並將會導致孳息曲線持續走平。這也可能會擾亂我們的預期,即大部份主要經濟體的通脹率將於2月之後開始降溫,並在年底前大幅下降至2%。我們仍然相信通脹將會下降,但其速度可能會受到緊張局勢所影響。

此外,供應鏈中斷可能會限制我們期望能推動2022年下半年經濟增長的補充庫存,因此,我們認為年底前重返「舒適圈」的機會似乎不大。

2 央行可能減慢政策收緊步伐

本周不少央行官員在公開場合發言,無可避免談及俄烏衝突。大部份官員強調這次事件對前景帶來的不明朗因素,並且淡化3月加息50基點的可能性。與此同時,市場對聯儲局加息50基點的觀點,已由兩周前的「接近肯定」降至目前只有20%。這與我們的央行政策展望一致:認為加息50基點的機率被高估。事實上,我們仍然相信美國聯儲局於年內可能合共加息三次,並會進行量化緊縮,而市場目前仍然認為未來12個月將加息六至七次。

現時,聯儲局再次面對來自全球及供應鏈情況所造成的通脹,而且加息對紓緩地緣政局發展引致能源帶動的通脹幫助不大。然而,由於服務業通脹溫和上升帶來的壓力,以及通脹按年上升超過7%所形成的政治挑戰,預料當局仍會繼續推進正常化。

我們認為聯儲局在年內立場將轉趨溫和,最主要原因是我們預期當局言論主調將由高通脹轉為低增長。若我們的預期正確,俄烏衝突將令增長衝擊惡化,我們便更有信心認為市場被高估:這是基於目前價格反映3月份加息50基點的機會仍有20%,以及市場預期聯儲局在2022年收緊政策的幅度。假設聯儲局調整立場,孳息率曲線將會重新走斜(投資者殷切希望出現的情況),以支持本周期延續。

當然,俄烏衝突並非只對美國聯儲局政策造成影響。我們預期加拿大央行、英倫銀行及歐洲央行的取態將轉趨溫和,尤其是正在評估滯脹動力的歐洲央行。

3 相對影響

我們預期環球步伐漸趨分歧的主題將在2022年變得更重要。雖然俄烏衝突帶來的滯脹衝擊影響全球,但不同市場承受的影響不一。對主要宏觀經濟體來說,鑑於歐洲倚賴天然氣供應,加上目前面對的弱勢,因此能源價格上漲對歐洲經濟增長的打擊最大。事實上,歐洲未來數年陷入經濟衰退的可能性將會增加(但目前衰退並非我們的基本情況預測)。我們相信美國具有較佳條件,能抵銷部份能源和食品價格通脹,但以絕對值來看,美國經濟仍會受損。

誠如Sue Trinh的分析所示,新興市場整體轉弱,但能夠承受能源和食品價格攀升的經濟體(例如新加坡及馬來西亞),或流動性衝擊風險最低的市場(例如印尼和菲律賓)表現可能相對較佳。環球出口動力亦可能略為放緩,因此較少倚賴外需的經濟體可能享有溫和的相對優勢。

 

  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認