Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Manulife Financial Planning Manager

In focus: U.S. inflationary forces

17 September, 2020 

Frances Donald, Chief Economist
 

Framed as a subtle shift in policy, U.S. Federal Reserve (Fed) Chair Jerome Powell recently announced an important, if widely expected, shift in the way it thinks about employment, inflation, and interest rates—with far-reaching implications for investors.
  

 

When the Fed announced its decision to move toward “a flexible form of average inflation targeting,” effectively confirming the central bank’s desire to overshoot its official 2% inflation target,¹ the markets barely budged. However, it wouldn’t be wise to mistake Wall Street’s subdued response for disinterest—it’s an announcement that’s very relevant to investors, particularly those interested in inflation dynamics, specifically, upside surprises to inflation over the next three to six months. In our view, a structurally dovish Fed combined with stronger inflation data ahead effectively moves inflation expectations higher and moves real rates lower.

The inflation versus deflation discussion isn’t necessarily binary in nature; it’s filled with nuance, counterforces, and a number of unknowns. In truth, inflationary and deflationary pressures are at play simultaneously and as these opposing forces fluctuate, investors will likely go through periods during which they worry about deflation and other periods during which they’ll fret about inflation. These are important investment considerations with different implications that could lead to different investment outcomes. In our view, there are four key ideas that are central to any debate about inflation. 

  • How should investors approach the upcoming U.S. election?

    Uncertainty looks set to rise as geopolitical tensions heightens and the pace of the recovery stalls. Our macro strategy team shares their latest views on the market.

    Read more
  • China Fixed Income – The impact of FTSE Russell inclusion and relative attractiveness of China bonds

    We analyse the impact of FTSE Russell’s inclusion on China Government Bonds and look at the constructive cyclical factors supporting the relative attractiveness of China’s bond market.

    Read more
  • Market outlook: uncertainty returns

    Uncertainty looks set to rise as geopolitical tensions heightens and the pace of the recovery stalls. Our macro strategy team shares their latest views on the market.

    Read more
See all

Framing the inflation debate: four key ideas

  1. Timelines matter

    We believe that a great deal of confusion surrounding the U.S. inflation outlook can be traced to difficulties in delineating the near-term inflation trajectory from its long-term path. There are inflationary and deflationary forces in every time horizon, but one will inevitably outweigh the other at different moments. 

  2. Market expectations

    It isn’t just the level of inflation that markets care about: The type of inflation that’s being generated (cost push versus demand pull) and the extent to which it deviates from expectations are just as important. It’s also worth noting that what’s considered unacceptably high inflation to one person can be different to another—for instance, millennials and Generation Z have never seen 3% inflation in their lifetime. Critically, it’s important to recognize that mild to moderate inflation needn’t be strictly negative for equities.

  3. Regime shifts 

    We may be in the midst of a structural regime shift in terms of the drivers of inflation. We expect future inflation to be driven more by active fiscal policy and deglobalization, and less by monetary policy. Classic inflation models are therefore far less relevant and shouldn’t be used to predict future inflationary pressures. This suggests old-school correlations, such as the Phillips curve, might not be as useful as they once were. And remember, economists generally don’t have a good track record at predicting (or understanding) inflation.

     

  4. Measurement issues 

    It’s also important to note that classic CPI measures weren’t able to accurately measure the cost of living in the United States for some time now—it isn’t a new issue and we believe it’s likely to be even less accurate now. Policymakers are increasingly looking to address this problem, and it’s likely that both formal and informal measurements of inflation will need to be adjusted in the coming years, particularly with respect to housing costs and asset prices, which would likely push measured inflation higher.

10 near-term price pressures (next three to six months)

Given that the United States is in the middle of a pronounced recession, the idea of rising inflationary pressure within the next three to six months might seem counterintuitive. Shouldn’t a recession lead to demand deflation typically associated with large output gaps? In theory, yes, but the current economic shock is fundamentally different from a regular recession, and we see 10 key near-term inflationary pressures that are likely to contribute to inflation moving quickly back to 2% or above before year end. Given the economy’s weak growth profile, we think it’s more accurate to characterize this tactical period as stagflation.

  1. Although the United States and most economies worldwide are experiencing a massive demand shock, most data suggests that demand is coming back more quickly than supply. Unlike previous recessions, we expect the supply shock to be both more persistent and more painful. This is a scenario that’s fundamentally inflationary, although there’s a lid on how high inflation can rise when the output gap remains open and demand is still quite weak.
  2. The Fed’s shift toward average inflation targeting should help to keep inflation expectations much closer to 2%, potentially putting a floor under how far prices can fall. In addition, the Fed (and most economists) have long believed that inflation expectations themselves play a role in future actual inflation.²
  3. We expect U.S. consumers to deploy the sizable buildup in personal savings accrued over the past few months—a result of government support such as stimulus checks and unemployment insurance top-ups. This is likely to increase money velocity temporarily.
  4. Disrupted supply chains and a reduction in trade activity have contributed to reduced supply, but inventory shortages in several core products have exacerbated the impact. We expect this to persist until business confidence revs up in 2021. Until then, cost-push inflation is likely to materialize, presenting a new challenge for the U.S. economy. Tariffs on imports introduced over the last few years will also likely support price rises.
  5. Prices for key components in the CPI basket such as air transit, hotels, and apparel bottomed in July,3 which suggests the initially deflationary impact of the pandemic is now fading and is no longer directly contributing to negative month-over-month inflation prints.
  6. Commodity prices have risen sharply, including lumber, copper, and iron ore, over the past four months. Oil prices are no longer declining in year-over-year terms.
  7. The U.S. dollar has weakened ~7% since its peak in March.3 It’s a development that’s supportive of U.S. inflation, with a small lag.
  8. We’re seeing evidence that labor costs are rising, both through the need for top-up pay for essential workers and higher wages to lure workers back into work. While this is likely the most transitory of inflationary pressures, we believe investors should also factor in the possibility of a higher federal minimum wage in the next year. 
  9. We expect corporates to enjoy higher pricing power in an environment of reduced supply—this is particularly true for the goods sector, although the effect may not be uniform across all sectors. Put differently, the rising costs of inputs like intermediary goods and labor can be passed on, at least in part, to end consumers.
  10. We expect shelter costs to rise as U.S. housing continues to perform well thanks to low rates. There is also a general consensus that housing inflation in the United States might be under calculated in the CPI and statistical bureaus have discussed improving the calculation. It’s worth noting that shelter accounts for 34% of the CPI basket.

Inflation could be underpriced

While markets may already be awakening to the inflation upside narrative, we see evidence that inflation may still be underpriced. U.S. bond markets may have nudged inflation expectations higher, but we believe the rise has more to do with improved liquidity conditions and the term premium than a surge in expectations of higher prices. In addition, both the Minneapolis Fed’s measure of market expectations for inflation (which remains extremely asymmetric, suggesting a 22% probability of inflation falling below 1% and only a 9% probability of inflation rising above 3%) and the Citi Inflation Surprise Index (which remains below 0) suggests there’s considerable scope for an upside surprise.

Market implications

Given the Fed’s formal shift to average inflation targeting, the bond markets aren’t likely to associate higher inflation with higher nominal rates—at least not for now. As a result, as inflation rises, nominal yields are likely to remain around current levels even as real rates fall deeper into negative territory.

We also expect the yield curve to continue to steepen, particularly between the belly of the curve and the long end—the Fed’s constant references to yield curve control, which it isn’t likely to implement just yet, has the effect of keeping the front end of the yield low. Finally, mild inflation is historically correlated with a positive rerating of equities (well, until about 3%). In our view, investors shouldn’t view higher inflation by itself as a cause for an equity market sell-off. For the time being, it might be useful for investors to start embracing a new reality and get used to slightly higher levels of nominal inflation, even if it makes us all slightly uncomfortable.

Timing the inflation call

We believe it can be helpful to visualize how inflationary and disinflationary pressures can evolve over three different timelines: within the next 3 to 6 months, within the next 18 months, and beyond the next 3 years. In our view, it’d make sense for investors to draw a clear distinction between long-term deflationary pressures and short-term inflationary pressures given the evolving macro landscape that we find ourselves in.

 

Download full PDF

 

 

1 “New Economic Challenges and the Fed's Monetary Policy Review,” federalreserve.gov, August 27, 2020. 

2 “Measures of Expected Inflation,” Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland, accessed August 27, 2020.

3 Bloomberg, as of August 27, 2020.

  • How should investors approach the upcoming U.S. election?

    Uncertainty looks set to rise as geopolitical tensions heightens and the pace of the recovery stalls. Our macro strategy team shares their latest views on the market.

    Read more
  • China Fixed Income – The impact of FTSE Russell inclusion and relative attractiveness of China bonds

    We analyse the impact of FTSE Russell’s inclusion on China Government Bonds and look at the constructive cyclical factors supporting the relative attractiveness of China’s bond market.

    Read more
  • Market outlook: uncertainty returns

    Uncertainty looks set to rise as geopolitical tensions heightens and the pace of the recovery stalls. Our macro strategy team shares their latest views on the market.

    Read more
See all
We welcome your feedback

We'd love to hear what you think of our new website. Please let us know your feedback in our 1 minute survey >>

View more
We welcome your feedback

We'd love to hear what you think of our new website. Please let us know your feedback in our 1 minute survey >>

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

市場焦點:美國通脹的動力

17/9/2020

Frances Donald, 首席經濟師

 

聯儲局主席鮑威爾早前宣布對政策作出微調,反映當局對就業、通脹及利率的取態出現預期之內的重要變化,並對投資者帶來深遠的影響。宏利投資管理首席經濟師Frances Donald就此分享其觀點。
  

 

當聯儲局宣布決定採用「靈活的平均通脹目標」,實際上確認當局希望通脹超越其2%的官方通脹目標時1,市場的反應不大。然而,我們不應誤以為華爾街的反應冷淡是由於市場對此不感興趣,因為這次的政策方針轉變與投資者的關係密切 ── 特別是那些關注通脹動態(主要是未來三至六個月通脹意外上升)的投資者。我們認為,聯儲局的溫和取態及通脹數據轉強,實際上推高通脹預測,令實質利率下降。

從本質來說,通脹相對通縮未必是二元對立的課題;當中充滿微妙的差別、反作用力量和多項未知的因素。事實上,通脹及通縮的壓力同時發揮作用,而隨著這兩股相反的力量反覆波動,在某些期間投資者會對通脹感到憂慮,在另一些期間會為通脹感到煩惱。這些是必須考慮的重要投資因素,因為它們能帶來不同的影響,從而導致不同的投資結果。我們認為有關通脹的討論都建基於四個關鍵概念。 

  • 聯儲局的加息方針會否引發美國經濟衰退?

    在通脹看似持續、利率不斷上漲之際,關於衰退風險的顧慮正在加劇。探究這些顧慮的合理程度。

    閱讀更多
  • 美元飆升如何影響亞洲貨幣?

    我們的泛亞洲固定收益和股票團隊分享見解,審視美元走強所帶來的影響,以及對區內貨幣的意義。

    閱讀更多
  • 中國推出支持經濟增長的措施

    我們相信,最新支持性政策最新舉措重申中國對保持經濟穩定的立場不變,中港股市料將有機會受惠於這些支持性政策行動。

    閱讀更多
查看全部

確立通脹討論的框架:四個關鍵概念

  1. 時間問題

    我們認為導致美國通脹前景非常混亂的主因,在於難以從長期通脹趨勢推斷其短期軌跡。每時期都存在通脹及通縮兩股力量,但在不同時刻難免重此抑彼。 

  2. 市場預期

    通脹水平並非市場唯一關注的因素:形成的通脹種類(成本推力對比需求拉力),以及實際通脹偏離預測的程度亦不容忽視。此外,值得注意的是:各人對「無法接受的高通脹率」都有不同的理解,如千禧世代及Z世代便從未經歷高達3%的通脹率。關鍵的是,我們須明白溫和至適度的通脹未必利淡股市。

  3. 機制轉變 

    造成通脹的因素可能正出現結構性的機制轉變。我們預期未來的通脹主要由積極的財政政策及去全球化所主導,而較少由貨幣政策所帶動。因此,傳統通脹模型的參考價值遠不如過往般重要,亦不應以此預測未來的通脹壓力。這反映傳統的相關性指標已不像過往般有用,例如菲利普斯曲線(Phillips curve)。請緊記:經濟學家普遍不精於預測(或理解)通脹。

     

  4. 量度方法問題 

    另外,我們亦應注意常用於量度通脹的消費物價指數(CPI),在過去一段時期已不能準確計算美國的生活成本。這已非一個新的課題,而我們認為該指數現時的準確性甚至更低。決策官員正設法解決這個問題,而量度通脹的官方及非官方指標或須在未來數年作出調整,特別是住屋成本及資產價格方面,這可能會推高已量度的通脹率。

十項短期價格壓力(未來三至六個月)

鑑於美國經濟正經歷明顯的衰退,若說通脹壓力將在未來三至六個月內升溫,似乎顯得不合常理。經濟衰退不是理應導致需求緊縮,而通縮不是通常與顯著的產量差距有關嗎?理論上是的,但是經濟現時受到的衝擊本質上與常見的經濟衰退不同,我們認為有十項短期通脹壓力可能導致通脹在年底前迅速回升至2%或以上的水平。由於經濟增長乏力,我們認為把這個短期戰術性時期稱為「滯脹」更為準確。

  1. 雖然美國及全球大部份經濟體的需求正面對重大衝擊,但大部份數據顯示需求回升的速度比供應更迅速。有別於過往的經濟衰退,我們預計供應將受到更長期和更嚴重的衝擊。從本質而言,以上情景將形成通脹,雖然當產量差距仍存在,而需求頗為疲弱時,通脹上升的幅度有限。
  2. 聯儲局轉為採取平均通脹目標應可把通脹預期維持在接近2%的水平,為價格的潛在跌幅設定下限。此外,聯儲局(及多數經濟學家)一直認為通脹預期對未來的實際通脹率有一定影響。²
  3. 美國政府推出發放現金支票及擴大失業保障等刺激措施,令美國消費者在過去數個月積累了可觀的個人儲蓄,我們預期他們將動用這些款項,這或會暫時提升貨幣流通速度。
  4. 供應鏈中斷及貿易活動減少導致供應下降,而一些核心產品的庫存不足更加劇其影響。我們預計我們預計以上情況要到商業信心於2021年回升時才會結束。在此之前,成本將會推動通脹上升,為美國經濟帶來新挑戰。過去數年實施的進口關稅亦可能支持價格上漲。
  5. 消費物價指數籃子的關鍵成份價格(例如:航空運輸、酒店及服裝)在7月見底3,反映疫情初期造成的通縮效應正逐漸減弱,不再直接導致按月通脹數據下跌 。
  6. 在過去四個月,木材、銅材和鐵礦等商品價格已大幅上漲,油價以按年計亦不再下跌。
  7. 美元從3月的高位貶值約7%3 ,將有助推動美國通脹輕微上升。
  8. 有證據顯示勞動成本正在上漲,這是由於企業透過加薪來挽留主要員工和吸引僱員復工。儘管這可能是通脹壓力的過渡時期,但我們認為投資者亦應考慮聯邦最低工資可能在明年上調。 
  9. 在供應減少下,我們預期企業的定價能力將會更強,特別是貨品業,但不同行業的效應參差。換言之,半製成品及勞動力等投入成本的升幅至少可以局部轉嫁予最終消費者。
  10. 受惠於低息環境,美國樓市繼續表現良好,我們預期住屋成本將會上升。外界亦普遍預期,消費物價指數可能低估了美國樓價通脹,而統計局亦已經討論改良計算方法。值得注意的是,住屋佔消費物價指數籃子的34%。


儘管市場可能已經意識到通脹上升的論述,但亦有證據顯示通脹可能仍被低估。雖然美國債券市場已略為上調通脹預測,但我們認為這主要受到流動性及期限溢價改善有關,而非由於投資者預期物價將會急升。此外,明尼阿波利斯聯邦儲備銀行量度市場對通脹預期的指標(仍極不對稱,反映通脹有22%的機會率跌至低於1%,而高於3%的機會率只有9%)及花旗集團通脹意外指數(仍低於0)均有明顯上升空間。

對市場的影響

鑑於聯儲局已正式轉為採取平均通脹目標,債券市場至少目前未必會能將通脹上升與名義利率上升聯繫起來。因此,隨著通脹趨升,即使實質利率進一歩降至負數,名義孳息率亦可能維持在現水平附近。

與此同時,我們亦預期孳息率曲線將繼續走峭,特別是在中期債券及長期債券之間。聯儲局經常表示要控制孳息曲線,雖然尚未執行,但已發揮壓低短期債券孳息的效應。最後,溫和的通脹歷來與股票正面重估估值存在相關性(直到通脹升至約3%)。我們認為投資者不應將通脹視為導致股市下跌的原因。就目前而言,儘管我們會感到有點無所適從,投資者應該開始適應新的現實環境,習慣略高的名義通脹水平。

通脹何時上升

我們不妨從三個不同階段審視通脹和通脹放緩壓力的演變情況:未來三至六個月內、未來18個月內,以及三年以後。鑑於宏觀環境持續變化,我們認為投資者應該明確區分長期的通縮壓力及短期的通脹壓力。

 

下載全份文件

 

 

1 “New Economic Challenges and the Fed's Monetary Policy Review,” federalreserve.gov , 2020年8月27日。

2 “Measures of Expected Inflation,” 克里夫蘭聯邦儲備銀行,於2020年8月27日評估。

3 彭博資訊,截至2020年8月27日。

  • 聯儲局的加息方針會否引發美國經濟衰退?

    在通脹看似持續、利率不斷上漲之際,關於衰退風險的顧慮正在加劇。探究這些顧慮的合理程度。

    閱讀更多
  • 美元飆升如何影響亞洲貨幣?

    我們的泛亞洲固定收益和股票團隊分享見解,審視美元走強所帶來的影響,以及對區內貨幣的意義。

    閱讀更多
  • 中國推出支持經濟增長的措施

    我們相信,最新支持性政策最新舉措重申中國對保持經濟穩定的立場不變,中港股市料將有機會受惠於這些支持性政策行動。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
確認