Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

Positioning in the looming stagflation environment

14 March 2022

Sarah Lu, Senior Portfolio Manager, Multi-Asset Solutions Team, Asia

 

Geopolitical tensions are increasingly clouding the global growth outlook. Sarah Lu, Senior Portfolio Manager, Multi-Asset Solutions Team, Asia, gauges the potential impact on markets and shares her latest asset allocation view amid rising inflation and lower growth.

 

Russia’s invasion of Ukraine is one of the true black swan events of recent years, and the raft of sanctions imposed could certainly affect global economies. As our Global Chief Economist and Head of Macroeconomic strategy Frances Donald noted, there are three aspects we need to consider when assessing the macroeconomic impact of the recent geopolitical conflict:

  1. Another stagflation shock makes the prospect of a return to Goldilocks conditions by the year end look less than solid
  2. More dovish commentary is expected from the Bank of Canada, Bank of England, and, most importantly, the European Central Bank
  3. The theme of global desynchronisation should become more important throughout 2022. Europe is most exposed to growth destruction from higher energy prices

What’s changed and our current assessment

Following the raft of sanctions imposed on Russia, interest rates futures immediately reflected the prospect of a lower-than-expected interest rate hike by the US Federal Reserve (Fed) in March, i.e., a 25-basis point rate rise became the consensus view1. In response, some European government bonds have rebounded.

Earlier this year, before the military conflict started, we had a slightly positive view on Europe for 2022 as it possesses multiple growth drivers. Indeed, the latest PMI readings in Europe fare well. However, given the raft of sanctions imposed2, we have started to look at Europe less positively.

At the time of writing, the Russia-Ukraine situation remains fluid. As such, here is our current base-case assessment:

  1. We believe that geopolitical events and a stagflation outlook will not lead to a global economic recession at this point. However, a rapid deterioration of the conflict and more severe sanctions against Russia may significantly weaken the global economy (subject to the scale of the conflict and its duration)
  2. Europe, as Russia’s major trading partner, would be most affected, and capital flows will likely return to the US
  3. Lower rate-hike expectations
  4. Commodity-driven inflation is driving the need for inflationary hedges

Potential impact to broad asset classes

US dollar continues to be supported

The prospects for a more sustained stagflation shock, exacerbated by recent events, has seen adjustments in our asset-allocation positioning. As such, we believe that persistent volatility and more frequent bouts of risk aversion will occur in the first half of 2022. While the US is still on an above-trend growth path3 at this point amid the expected resumption of shale energy demand, we think the US dollar will continue to be supported, attracting capital inflow into US assets.

Equities: geographical and sector

Within developed markets, US equities are favoured over their European counterparts. Versus other regions, we believe the US will be minimally impacted by sanctions against Russia. Within the US, the energy and defence industry should expect to see higher substitute demand. For example, the US will play a more important role given the ban on Russian oil exports, as it can provide shale energy in lieu of energy embargo from Russia.

Given weaker economic growth momentum, coupled with ongoing geopolitical uncertainty, we expect equity markets to experience heightened volatility. However, markets with significant exposure to energy and materials (as inflation hedges) and consumer staples (as a defensive play) may find some insulation thanks to higher commodity prices.

Within emerging markets, we are relatively more positive towards select Asian equities (commodity-exporting markets, such as Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand, and the Philippines, see chart 1).

Chart 1: MSCI market exposure to materials, energy and staples

MSCI market exposure to materials, energy and staples

Source: MSCI, Manulife Investment Management. As of 28 February, 2022.

Select bonds that can outperform

The prospect of aggressive rate hikes is now lower, and the Fed is expected to raise interest rates by only 25 basis points in March (50 basis points had been anticipated by the market). Also, we think that bonds look more favourable, and our overall allocation has been revised to less of an underweight.

Assuming current geopolitical events and stagflation do not lead to a severe recession, we believe the US high-yield market has the potential to deliver relatively better performance versus risk assets like equities, as it is better compensated via higher coupons under rising inflation. Also, US high yield has a lower default potential versus other regions, as these bonds have a relative greater exposure to oil and gas sectors. Although signs of financial deleveraging in the face of liquidity withdrawal by the US Fed still needs to be watched carefully.

Meanwhile, floating-rate bonds (beneficiaries of a rising rate environment), China renminbi government bonds (a stable exchange rate and higher coupon rates versus other government bonds), and preferred securities (a fixed income-like product with higher coupon rates) are also expected to be more resilient than risk assets.

Other income-generating asset classes, such as REITs, will be supported, as rate differentials (REIT yields minus government bond yields) should narrow at a slower pace than before.

Commodities

We view commodities from two perspectives, both as inflation hedges and diversification tools. We expect commodity prices, such as oil and agriculture products, to remain elevated on the back of supply disruptions and geopolitical events. Commodities with inflation-hedge properties, like precious metals (gold and silver), oil, and farm products could perform better.

Conclusion

At the time of writing, the macro-outlook and geopolitical events are still highly fluid. The odds of slower growth and higher inflation are increasing, and we believe investors should seek active management and diversification to reshape their portfolios for an evolving investment landscape.

 

Download full PDF

 

1 Fed Funds Futures show a 96.9% chance of a 25 basis points hike at the March Fed meeting. Upon the announcement of European Union sanctions, Germany’s 10-year government bond price rose from 97.776 on 25 February 2022 to 100.799 on 1 March 2022. Meanwhile, 10-year bond yields fell from 0.2261% to -0.0799% over the same period. 7 March 2022, Bloomberg.

2 Eurozone IHS Markit's Composite Purchasing Managers' Index climbed to a five-month high of 55.5 in February 2022. Bloomberg, 7 March 2022.On 8 March 2022, the US has banned Russian oil exports. The European Union announced a series of sanctions against Russia. These included a ban on all transactions with the Central Bank of Russia, which limits its ability to access foreign reserves. Also, seven Russian banks will be removed from the SWIFT international payments system and eurozone-based companies banned from exporting technology to Russian weapons manufacturers, pharmaceutical companies, military communications units and shipyards. Lastly, eurozone-based companies are banned from doing business with the designated state-owned companies specialising in military production. Financial Times, 4 March 2022.

3 The US economy expanded by 5.7% year-on-year in 2021, a higher- than-trend growth of 2%-3%. Bloomberg, 7 March, 2022.

  • How is the surging US dollar affecting Asian currencies?

    We draw insights from our pan-Asia fixed income and equity teams, who examine the impact of US-dollar strength and what this means for currencies in the region.

    Read more
  • China rolls out measures to support economic growth

    We believe that the latest supportive measures reiterate China’s stance on economic stability and see opportunities in China and Hong Kong equities that could benefit from these policy actions.

    Read more
  • Sri Lanka’s difficult road ahead

    Sri Lanka's imminent default holds lessons for investors and underscores the value of a sustainable investing framework.

    Read more
See all
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

滯脹臨近,作好資產配置部署

14/03/2022

亞洲區多元資產高級組合經理 盧淑華

 

地緣政治局勢緊張,令全球增長前景更添陰霾。亞洲區多元資產高級組合經理盧淑華在本文分析市場可能受到的影響,並分享面對通脹上升及增長放緩的最新資產配置觀點。
 




俄羅斯入侵烏克蘭可謂近年來真正的黑天鵝事件之一,而西方國家實施的多項制裁措施亦可能影響全球經濟體。正如宏利投資管理環球首席經濟師兼環球宏觀經濟策略部主管Frances Donald指出,在評估近期地緣政治衝突的宏觀經濟影響時,投資者需考慮三個層面:

  1. 面對另一次滯脹的衝擊,經濟在年底前重返「舒適圈」的機會似乎不大。
  2. 預期加拿大央行、英倫銀行及最重要是歐洲央行的取態將轉趨鴿派。
  3. 預期環球步伐漸趨分歧的主題將在2022年變得更重要,而能源價格上漲對歐洲經濟增長的打擊最大。

事件發展變化及當前評估

繼西方國家對俄羅斯作出連串制裁行動後,利率期貨隨即反映美國聯儲局在3月的加息幅度可能低於預期,即低於現時市場普遍預測的加息25點子1,帶動個別歐洲政府債券回升。

在本年較早期間,於俄烏軍事衝突爆發前,由於歐洲市場具有多股增長動力,因此我們對歐洲的2022年前景看法略為正面。事實上,最新的歐洲採購經理指數表現良好。然而,隨著西方國家對俄羅斯作出連串制裁行動2,我們對歐洲的看法並不如之前正面。

撰寫本文時,俄烏局勢仍充滿不確定因素。因此,我們現時的基本評估如下:

  1. 我們相信,在現階段,地緣政治事件及滯脹前景不會導致全球經濟衰退。然而,若衝突急劇惡化並且俄羅斯面對更多更嚴厲的制裁,全球經濟可能會遭大幅削弱(取決於衝突的規模和持續時間)。
  2. 作為俄羅斯的主要貿易夥伴,歐洲將受到最大影響,資金很可能重新流入美國。
  3. 加息幅度預期下降。
  4. 由商品帶動的通脹推高對沖通脹的需要。

廣泛資產類別可能受到影響

美元繼續獲支持

受近期事件影響,經濟滯脹衝擊可能進一步持續,我們因此已調整資產配置部署。基於上述因素,我們相信2022年上半年的市況將繼續反覆波動,而且投資者將更頻繁地迴避風險。在頁岩能源需求回升的預期下,現時美國經濟增長仍高於長期趨勢3,我們預期美元將繼續獲得支持,吸引資金流入美元資產。

股市:地區及行業

綜觀已發展市場,我們看好美國股市多於歐洲市場。與其他地區比較,我們認為對俄制裁措施對美國市場的影響輕微,預計美國能源及國防業的替代需求將會上升。例如,鑑於俄羅斯石油出口被禁,美國將扮演更重要的角色,並提供頁岩能源以取代被禁運的俄羅斯能源。 由於經濟增長動力減弱,加上地緣政治局勢持續不明朗,我們預期股市將更趨波動。然而,受惠於商品價格上揚,能源和原材料股(作為通脹對沖工具)及日常消費品股(作為防守性投資)佔顯著比重的市場可能在一定程度上免受波及。

新興市場方面,我們相對看好若干亞洲股市(商品出口市場,例如馬來西亞、印尼、泰國和菲律賓,見圖1)。

圖1:原材料、能源及必需品佔各MSCI明晟市場指數比重

資料來源:MSCI明晟及宏利投資管理,截至2022年2月28日

個別債券能領先市場表現

現時聯儲局大幅加息的可能性下降,預期當局在3月只會加息25基點(市場曾預計加息50基點)。此外,我們認為債券前景較為利好,因此調整整體配置以減少對債券的偏低比重。

假設當前的地緣政治事件和滯脹並未觸發重大經濟衰退,我們相信美國高收益市場有潛力締造相對優於風險資產(例如股票)的表現,因為在通脹上升的環境下,其較高票息可提供較佳的補償。另一方面,美國高收益債券的違約機率低於其他地區,主要由於這些債券相對偏重石油和燃氣業。儘管如此,隨著美國聯儲局撤回對市場注入的流動性,投資者仍需審慎注視企業降低財務槓桿的跡象。

與此同時,預期浮息債券(受惠於加息環境)、中國人民幣政府債券(匯率穩定而且票息高於其他政府債券)及優先證券(類似固定收益的產品而票息較高)的表現預計將較風險資產堅挺。

其他可締造收益的資產類別(例如房地產投資信託)亦將受到支持,主要由於息差(房地產投資信託收益率減政府債券孳息率)收窄的步伐將較過去放緩。

商品

我們從兩個角度分析商品,分別是作為對沖通脹及分散投資的工具。由於供應受阻及地緣政治事件,預期商品價格如石油和農產品將持續高企。具有對沖通脹特質的商品如貴金屬(黃金和白銀)、石油和農產品可能表現較佳。

總結

撰寫本文時,宏觀前景及地緣政治事件均充滿高度不確定性。經濟增長放緩和通脹上升的機率正不斷增加,我們相信投資者應尋求主動型管理及分散投資,從而重整投資組合以應對投資環境的變化。

 

下載全份文件

 

1 根據聯邦基金期貨顯示,聯儲局有96.9%機會在3月份會議上加息25點子。自歐盟宣布對俄制裁的措施後,德國10年期政府債券價格從2022年2月25日的97.776升至2022年3月1日的100.799。期內,10年期債券孳息率由0.2261%降至-0.0799%。2022年3月7日,彭博資訊。

2 歐元區IHS Markit綜合採購經理指數在2022年2月升至55.5,創五個月的高位。彭博資訊,2022年3月7日。在2022年3月8日,美國禁止來自俄羅斯的石油出口,歐盟亦公布對俄羅斯實施連串制裁措施,包括禁止與俄羅斯央行的一切交易,以限制其動用外匯儲備的能力。此外,七家俄羅斯銀行將被剔除於國際支付系統SWIFT之外,當局亦禁止歐元區公司出口科技予俄國武器製造商、製藥公司、軍事通訊單位及船廠。同時,歐元區公司被禁止與專門從事軍事生產的特定俄羅斯國企進行業務往來。金融時報,2022年3月4日。

3 2021年,美國經濟按年增長5.7%,高於2%-3%的長期增長趨勢。彭博資訊,2022年3月7日。

  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認