Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

China credits on-the-ground: Observations on China’s shifting regulatory environment  

4 August, 2021

Fiona Cheung, Head of Global Emerging Markets Fixed Income Research
 

China’s financial markets have recently experienced heightened volatility on the back of regulatory changes in several key sectors, such as real estate, the internet and education.  In this investment note, Fiona Cheung, Head of Global Emerging Markets Fixed Income Research, details the genesis of these changes and highlights key issues that investors should be aware of moving forward. With access to both onshore and offshore insights, Fiona and her team also believe the government’s implementation should be viewed as a positive for China’s long-term socio-economic development. 

 

Overall, we view the increased scrutiny on sectors such as real estate, the internet, and education as part of the Chinese government’s initiative to address the concerns of its citizens. With notable market movements over the past week, credit spreads moderately widened in some impacted sectorsi.  We believe the macro impact of these regulatory moves should be insignificant for China’s second-half 2021 GDP and beneficial for China’s long-term socio-economic development.

First, a look at recent regulatory developments. Recent announcements went beyond the expectations of many market observers but were not a complete surprise. We believe that investors should pay close attention moving forward, as the regulatory environment may experience further changes. 

Backdrop for regulatory policy changes

Having said that, we also believe investors need to understand the policy reasons behind these notable changes. Indeed, since 2017 the government has shifted its top economic priority from promoting quantitative growth to encouraging more tangible qualitative outcomes. That is, economic development should result in greater benefits for the every-day lives of citizens as opposed to merely chasing impressive headline GDP figures. Building off this framework a key goal of the recent regulatory changes is to mitigate a now shrinking national population through decreasing costs related to education, promoting family formation. The government has previously expressed concerns over potentially harmful social consequences in the following areas: 

  • After-school tutoring: Data from the 2020 population census highlighted the risk of a rapidly ageing population and the prohibitive costs of raising a family. Education expenses, particularly after-school tutoring, is a significant factor for many families to consider when having children. The legal basis of the recently released Double Reduction education policyii started in 2018 and involved different stakeholders in the drafting process. The legal framework was finalised three months ago and released in late July.  
  • Food-delivery riders: Since September 2020, articles on the safety risks associated with food-delivery riders circulating on the internet led to a society-wide discussioniii. Almost a year later, on 26th July, the State Administration for Market Regulation (SAMR)iv and six other departments jointly issued detailed guidelines on protecting food-delivery riders’ rights and interests. 
  • Internet: Since China’s regulators halted an IPO last year, China’s regulators have placed internet names under increased surveillance. In the past two weeks, the regulations on China’s internet sector have significantly escalatedv. The areas under scrutiny relate to banking, anti-trust regulation (the nation’s law went into effect in 2008), data security, and social equality. We anticipate that greater oversight of the Chinese internet sector will continue; however, if the companies involved comply and work with the government, regulatory overhangs should be manageable. Also, risks relating to the variable interest entity (VIE)vi structure should be more on a case-by-case basis than broadly structural.
  • Real estate speculation: Starting in 2016, “Houses are for living, not for speculation” has been reiterated at numerous high-ranking government meetings. Since then, policies intended to curb real-estate speculation have been introduced (except due to the COVID-19 pandemic last year). The “Three Red Lines” rules, as well as other tightening measures would curb speculation (by taking excessive leverage) on both the physical market and property developers’ sidevii.

Policies promote long-term socio-economic development

In our view, the short-term impact of the new regulations shouldn’t materially affect China’s second-half economic growth trend this year. Over the longer term, it could have a positive effect on the social and economic development of the country and key sectors: 

  • Education: While the regulation update on the after-school tutoring sector is extensive, this is believed to be a relatively small segment of the economy: approximately 0.7% of China’s 2019 GDPviii. We think the government will take a gradual approach during the transition period. The sector employs many highly educated tutors, many of whom are recent university graduates. Additionally, front-loaded payments are typical for after-school education, which could lead to extensive financial losses. Over the long-term, we believe the regulatory changes in the sector  could help alleviate the high costs of education and raising kids for the middle class, free-up more consumption spending power, and foster a more diverse education environment, as non-school curriculum tutoring businesses will still be allowed.
  • Internet: New regulations on the internet sector should have limited macro impact, as they mainly deal with improving employee benefits, cybersecurity, and curbing monopolistic power. Enhancing protection for employees and customers may lower the overall social risks associated with the sector. A reduction in the monopolistic tactics of internet platforms should also foster market competition and spur economic innovation. From a credit perspective, China’s internet names will be structurally challenged in terms of medium-to-long-term growth and profitability, as they now face additional headwinds to leverage their market dominance and grow across industries. Given the ongoing headline risks, we expect to see higher volatility in bond performance in the China internet sector. 
  • Real estate: The curbing of speculation in the real estate sector should be manageable for the financial system, providing greater long-term development prospects. The average mortgage-related loan-to-value ratio (LTV) in the Chinese banking system is around 50%, and the excess leverage from shadow banking and P2P lending has reduced in the past few years. In addition, the People’s Bank of China conducted rounds of real estate-related stress testing for the banks in the second half of 2020 to ensure the system can weather a potential correction.

In a recent outlook,  we observed that developers with ample land reserves and access to diversified funding channels in both onshore and offshore markets should be in an advantageous position.

 
Conclusion: Recurrent volatility in financial markets is always unnerving for investors. However, in this case, we believe that investors should understand the genesis and reasoning behind the changes.  More importantly, we believe these policies should bolster China’s socio-economic environment and help investors looking for attractive risk-adjusted returns over a longer time frame. 

Download full PDF

 

i As of 30 July 2021, Manulife Investment Management. Chinese internet credits have been relatively well-behaved: benchmark China IG internet bonds widened around 15-20 basis points over the week, with high-beta China IG widened around 50-60 basis points.

ii 24 July 2021, a set of guidelines to ease the burden of excessive homework and off-campus tutoring for students undergoing compulsory education was jointly issued by the General Office of the Communist Party of China Central Committee and the General Office of the State Council.

iii A study published in the Chinese labor security magazine, Laodong Baozhang Shijie, shows that 84 percent of delivery staff work more than 10 hours daily. Delivery workers in Beijing, for example, spend on average up to 11.4 hours every day on the job. This piles up risks of them suffering from overwork.

iv On July 26, 2021, the State Administration for Market Regulation (SAMR) and six other departments jointly issued detailed guidelines on protecting food delivery riders’ rights and interests, such as mandatory injury protection insurance, flexible employment, and ensuring local minimum income.

v Other internet-related regulations include: 1) The Data Security Law, set to become effective on September 2021, will have more regulatory oversight on companies that possess a significant amount of personal privacy data, and their businesses are related to Critical Information Infrastructure. 2)The Cyberspace Administration of China (CAC) announced a cybersecurity inspection on certain ride-hailing platforms in early July soon after the IPOs of a few concerned companies in the US. In fact, the “Measures for Cybersecurity Review” – aim to ensure the security of critical information infrastructure and safeguard national security, has already been in effect since June 2020.

vi Holding companies entitling foreign owners to the economic benefits flowing from Chinese companies but limiting their control of the business.

vii The People’s Bank of China and the Ministry of Housing announced in 2020 that they’d drafted new financing rules for real estate companies. Developers wanting to refinance are being assessed against three thresholds: a 70% ceiling on liabilities to assets, excluding advance proceeds from projects sold on contract, a 100% cap on net debt to equity, a cash to short-term borrowing ratio of at least one.

viii Bloomberg, 27 July 2021.

  • Corporate governance in Japan—progress in six key areas

    Prominent cases of corporate scandals in Japan in recent years seems to suggest that corporate governance in the country has weakened. The reality, however, is quite different. 

    Read more
  • Investment implications of the Mainland real-estate debt crisis for Greater Bay Area (GBA)

    We discuss the implications of the current real-estate debt crisis for equity investors, as well as various opportunities in the Greater Bay Area.

    Read more
  • Asia-Pacific (ex-Japan) equities: Strategic opportunities amid a diverging landscape

    Although the divergence in regional performance is expected to continue, we believe the broad Asian equity universe offers attractive opportunities for active managers to find diversification and reasonably valued companies

    Read more
See all
  • Corporate governance in Japan—progress in six key areas

    Prominent cases of corporate scandals in Japan in recent years seems to suggest that corporate governance in the country has weakened. The reality, however, is quite different. 

    Read more
  • Investment implications of the Mainland real-estate debt crisis for Greater Bay Area (GBA)

    We discuss the implications of the current real-estate debt crisis for equity investors, as well as various opportunities in the Greater Bay Area.

    Read more
  • Asia-Pacific (ex-Japan) equities: Strategic opportunities amid a diverging landscape

    Although the divergence in regional performance is expected to continue, we believe the broad Asian equity universe offers attractive opportunities for active managers to find diversification and reasonably valued companies

    Read more
See all
We welcome your feedback

We'd love to hear what you think of our website. Please let us know your feedback in our 1 minute survey >>

View more
We welcome your feedback

We'd love to hear what you think of our website. Please let us know your feedback in our 1 minute survey >>

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

中國信貸市場實地分析:改變中的監管環境 

04/08/2021

環球新興市場固定收益研究主管張麓萍

 

中國金融市場近期加劇波動,主要是由房地產、互聯網及教育等多個主要行業領域的監管變動所引發。 在今期投資通訊,環球新興市場固定收益研究主管張麗萍詳列這些政策轉變的本源,並指出投資者日後需要注意的事項。她的團隊結合在岸及離岸分析後認為政府實施有關監管變動,對中國長期社會經濟發展應可帶來正面影響。

 

中國信貸市場實地分析:改變中的監管環境

整體而言,我們認為中國政府加強對房地產、互聯網及教育等行業的監管審查,是應對民眾所關注的問題而作出的舉措之一。 儘管市場在過去一周的走勢顯著反覆,個別受影響行業的信貸息差的擴闊幅度仍屬溫和i。 我們相信,這些監管變動對宏觀經濟的影響應相當輕微,相信不會左右中國 2021 年下半年的國內生產總值增長,但對中國的長期社會經濟發展有利。

首先,就近期的監管發展而言,部份市場人士認為這些政策出乎意料之外,但並非感到全然驚訝。 我們認為,投資者需要注視往後發展,因為監管環或會繼續出現改變。

監管政策改變的背景

事實上,政府自 2017 年以來,已將其首要的經濟優先目標,由推動量化增長,轉為鼓勵更具體的質化成果。 換言之,經濟發展應講求為民眾日常生活帶來更大裨益,而不是單純追求可觀的整體國內生產總值數據。 基於這個框架,近期監管改動的主要目標,是透過降低教育相關成本和鼓勵組織家庭,以應對國民人口增長放慢的挑戰。 政府在較早前,亦已表示關注以下領域對社會造成的潛在不利影響:

  • 課後補習班:根據2020 年人口普查數據顯示,中國正面對人口急速老化及育兒成本高昂的風險。 許多家庭在計劃生兒育女時,都會把教育開支列作重要考慮因素之一,尤其是課後補習培訓費用。 最近發布的「雙減」教育政策,是沿用始於 2018 年的法律基礎,並在草議過程中涉及不同的持份者。該法律框架最終在三個月前定案,並於 7 月底發布。ii
  • 外賣送餐員:自 2020 年 9 月以來,互聯網上流通多篇有關外賣送餐員安全風險問題的文章,引發社會廣泛討論。 經過接近一年的討論後,國家市場監督管理總局(市場監管總局)連同其他六個部門在7月26日聯合發布有關保障外賣送餐員權利和權益的詳細指引。iiiiv
  • 互聯網:自去年中國監管機構煞停一家公司的新股上市後,監管機構進一步加強對互聯網公司的監管。 在過去兩周,中國對互聯網行業的監管法規明顯升級。 多個相關領域均受到嚴格審查,包括銀行業、反壟斷法規(於 2008 年生效納入國法)、數據安全和社會平等。 我們預期中國加強監管互聯網行業的情況將會持續;然而,只要相關公司遵守法規並與政府合作,相信能應對這些監管限制。 此外,與可變利益實體 (VIE) 結構相關的風險,應屬個別情況多於廣泛的結構問題。vi
  • 房地產市場投機:自2016年起,中國政府多次在高層會議上重申「房子是用來住的,不是用來炒的」。 其後,多項旨在遏制房地產炒作的政策相繼出台(去年為應對新冠肺炎疫情而推出的政策除外)。 當局於 2021 年公布「三條紅線」以及其他緊縮措施,主要旨在防止房地產市場和開發商透過過量借貸進行投機活動  。vii

政策促進社會經濟長期發展

我們認為,這些新法規在短期內應不會對中國今年下半年的經濟復甦造成重大影響;長遠來看,對國家的社會經濟發展及以下若干主要行業將可帶來正面影響:

  • 教育:雖然政策對課後補習培訓行業造成沉重打擊,但相信對整體經濟造成的影響相對較小:該行業僅佔中國 2019 年國內生產總值約 0.7%。 我們認為 ,政府在過渡期間將採取循序漸進的方針。 該行業僱用不少受過高等教育的導師,其中許多都是應屆大學畢業生。 此外,課後補習培訓教育,一般採取預先收費模式,因此可能引發重大財務損失。
    儘管法規監管對行業造成打擊,長遠來看,我們認為有助緩減中產階層所承受的高昂教育及育兒成本,從而釋放更多消費力,以及營造更多元化的教育環境,因為非學科類的校外補習培訓業務仍可如常營運。
  • 互聯網:互聯網行業的新法規對宏觀經濟造成的影響應屬有限,有關法規主要旨在改善員工福利、網絡安全及遏制壟斷勢力。 加強對員工和客戶的保障,可降低與該行業相關的整體社會風險。 減少互聯網平台壟斷的戰術性策略,亦有助促進市場競爭,並刺激經濟創新。
    從信貸角度來看,中國互聯網公司在中長期增長和盈利能力方面,將面臨結構性挑戰,因為有關公司將在運用其市場主導地位,以及實現跨行業增長時將遇到更多阻力。 隨著這些事件風險持續發酵,我們預期中國互聯網行業的債券表現將繼續波動。
  • 房地產:金融體系應有能力應對旨在遏抑房地產行業炒作的措施,從而帶來更正面的長期發展前景。 中國銀行體系的平均按揭相關貸款與估值比率(LTV)約為50%,影子銀行和透過互聯網金融點對點借貸平台(P2P)貸款的過度槓桿,在過去數年已有所放緩。 此外,中國人民銀行在2020年下半年對銀行業進行多輪房地產相關壓力測試,以確保銀行體系能夠經受潛在的調整。

在近期的展望中,我們亦指出,一些擁有充足土地儲備,並於在岸和離岸市場具備多元化融資渠道的發展商應較為有利。

總結:金融市場反覆波動,難免會令投資者感到不安。 但這輪的監管變動情況而言,我們認為投資者應探究本源和背後理據。 更重要的是,我們認為這些政策應有助提振中國的社會經濟環境,長遠而言,將有助投資者發掘吸引的風險調整後回報。

 

下載全份文件

 

i 宏利投資管理,截至2021年7月30日。 中國互聯網公司的債券息差表現受控:具指標性的互聯網投資級別債券息差在該星期內擴闊15至20點子,與市場相關性較高的投資級別債券則擴闊約50至60點子。

ii 在2021年7月24日,中國政府正式發布《關於進一步減輕義務教育階段學生作業負擔和校外培訓負擔的意見》(又稱「雙減」政策)。

iii 中國勞動人員保障雜誌《勞動保障世界》的一項研究發現,84%的送貨員平均每日工作超過10小時。 以北京的送貨員為例,平均每日工作11.4小時。 工時過長令送貨員面對過量工作的風險。

iv 在2021年7月26日,國家市場監督管理總局(市場監管總局)連同其他六個部門聯合發布有關保障外賣送餐員權利和權益的詳細指引,例如強制工傷保險、靈活就業、保障當地最低收入等。

v 其他互聯網相關監管措施包括:1) 數據安全法,將於2021年9月生效, 政府將對擁有大量個人私隱資料的公司、及其關鍵資訊科技基建相關的業務提高監管。2) 數家中國互聯網公司在美上市後,中國國家互聯網資訊辦公室(中國網路空間管理局,CAC)7月初宣布將對若干網約車平台實施網絡安全審查。此前,為確保關鍵信息基礎設施安全和維護國家安全,《網絡安全審查辦法》已於2020年6月生效。

vi 使外國持有人有權獲享來自中國公司的經濟利益,但限制其對業務控制權的控股公司。

vii 在2020年,中國人民銀行與住房和城鄉建設部宣布,已就房地產企業草擬新融資規則。 計劃進行再融資的發展商將根據三個門檻進行評估:資產負債率上限為70%(剔除按合約所出售項目的預收款項);淨負債比率上限為100%;現金短債比率至少為1。

viii 彭博資訊,2021年7月27日。

  • 日本的企業管治正在改善

    近年日本出現顯見的企業醜聞,似乎代表該國的企業管治水平正下滑。然而,現實卻是另一回事。

    閱讀更多
  • 內房債務危機對大灣區的投資啓示

    我們探討內房債務危機對投資者的啟示,並評估在大灣區內的不一樣投資機遇。

    閱讀更多
  • 亞太區(日本除外)股票: 走勢分歧下的策略機遇

    雖然各個地區料將繼續表現分歧,但我們認為,亞洲股票的廣泛投資領域為主動型經理提供吸引機遇,可在區內進行分散投資,並發掘估值合理的公司。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 日本的企業管治正在改善

    近年日本出現顯見的企業醜聞,似乎代表該國的企業管治水平正下滑。然而,現實卻是另一回事。

    閱讀更多
  • 內房債務危機對大灣區的投資啓示

    我們探討內房債務危機對投資者的啟示,並評估在大灣區內的不一樣投資機遇。

    閱讀更多
  • 亞太區(日本除外)股票: 走勢分歧下的策略機遇

    雖然各個地區料將繼續表現分歧,但我們認為,亞洲股票的廣泛投資領域為主動型經理提供吸引機遇,可在區內進行分散投資,並發掘估值合理的公司。

    閱讀更多
查看全部

我們重視您對網站的意見。只需一分鐘回答幾條簡單問題可助我們為您提供更佳的使用經驗。提供意見 >>

查看更多

我們重視您對網站的意見。只需一分鐘回答幾條簡單問題可助我們為您提供更佳的使用經驗。提供意見 >>

查看更多
確認