Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Manulife Financial Planning Manager

Asian equities: Greater than the sum of its parts 

31 December, 2020 

Despite a challenging 2020 for investors, Asian equities provided one of the few bright spots globally. After the COVID-19 outbreak, segments of the region contained the virus more effectively than others, leading to a divergence in economic and equities’ performance in the second half of the year.  We believe that while Asia (ex-Japan) is tapped to strongly rebound in 2021, divergences should remain, giving investors attractive opportunities in a region that is greater than the sum of its parts.

The past year posed unprecedented challenges and opportunities for investors. The global outbreak of COVID-19 in the first quarter of 2020 roiled markets and economies alike. Although North Asian economies were the first affected, they were also among the first to effectively contain the spread of the virus, with some avoiding entering a technical recession1

In contrast, South and South-east Asian economies were affected later, but due to higher population density and less developed health systems, bore a heavier cost of the pandemic. India and some ASEAN economies (most notably Indonesia) fell into technical recession for the first time in decades.  

Robust fiscal and monetary stimulus globally and in Asia allowed equities to recover, with regional equity indices posting a nearly 19% return2, but with significant dispersion in performance across the region3

Moving into 2021, the region is tapped to strongly rebound at roughly 5.5% growth overall4; however, this comes from a lower base and we anticipate economic recovery to be gradual and uneven due to varied policy responses as well as divergent access and rollout of vaccines in Asia (see Chart 1).

 

Asia: A region of diverse economies and strengths

Before exploring the major regional themes for 2021, it is important to understand how we view long-term investment opportunities in Asia.  Indeed, investors should be vigilant that with optimistic economic growth forecasts and elevated valuation in some regional equity markets, it is necessary to understand where sustainable, long-term growth can be achieved rather than a cyclical upswing as economies recover from the shock of COVID-19.   

As Chart 2 shows, we envision the region as possessing a diverse array of strengths that offer opportunities for investors with different needs.

 


China: China has adopted a robust policy response in answer to fractious economic relations with the US that will deepen existing competitive advantages.  

The Chinese government’s newest five-year plan (2021-2025) emphasises cultivating domestic consumption (over exports) and innovation in key strategic technological industries. This should mean continued emphasis on developing already advanced e-commerce and internet platform capabilities.  At the same time, the government wishes to develop technology for electric vehicles (EV), as well as 5G to boost the country’s technological base.  

Korea: Companies remain leaders in the memory chip and EV and renewable energy storage sectors. We believe these companies will be at the forefront of the development and structural growth trend of migration to 5G technology, EV and renewable energy.

India: We remain optimistic about the outlook of the IT outsourcing and pharmaceutical sectors. These sectors represent India’s core comparative and competitive advantage globally and we believe the demand for their products and services is structural in nature.

Over the longer term, we are closely monitoring the opportunities created by India’s “Make in India” initiatives. India has announced several measures aimed at self-reliance including import disincentives, production-linked incentives, tax benefits and digitisation to increase the share of manufacturing in GDP from 17% currently to 25% over the medium term6.  

ASEAN: ASEAN countries are strengthening efforts to attract foreign direct investment and deepen their competitive advantages.  

Countries in the region possess different strengths.  Thailand has a strong automotive supply chain and a well-established food manufacturing industry. Malaysia possess an advantage in the manufacturing of electronic and electrical products, rubber gloves and wooden furniture. In contrast, the Philippines provides great service in terms of business process outsourcing (BPO) and Indonesia is offering itself as the hub for electric vehicle supply chain. Finally, Vietnam has established a niche in the manufacturing of smartphones and electronic components. 

Taiwan: The technology supply chain in Taiwan is expected to continue to play an important in supporting tech innovation in China and the US over the mid-term. The ability of local producers in key industries such as semiconductors to stay ahead of the technology curve has given them a competitive advantage over global rivals.  Taiwan has also developed world-class companies in servers, 5G components, and IC design.   

2021: Structural themes for investors 

Based on this vision for Asia, we see the following four structural themes as critical for investors in 2021: 

  • Search for (positive) yield leads to Asia 

We expect that major central banks will keep interest rates near zero over the short-term. With inflation forecast to be in positive territory, this has and should continue to result in negative real rates and bond yields in many developed markets. 

In contrast, many Asian markets currently offer positive real yields (see Chart 3). With a relatively optimistic growth forecast in 2021 for the region, we expect the yield differential between developed markets and Asia to continue in the upcoming year. This dynamic should be constructive for capital inflows in Asian equity markets, as global investors look to capitalize on the region’s robust economic rebound and attractive yields. 

 

  • Wider adoption of 5G technology

5G technology promises to transform the 2020s into a time of unprecedented connectivity and technological advancement, dramatically expanding the reach of Internet of Things (IoT). Indeed, 5G and IoT will enable greater use of connected devices that automate onerous business processes. This includes factory automation: Many manufacturers have announced their plans to automate their factories to overcome the issues of labour shortages and enhance productivity.   

We expect broader availability of devices developed with 5G to be launched in the next few years. This is expected to trigger a replacement cycle globally and we believe the supply chain in Asia, particularly the tech supply chain in North Asia (Taiwan, China, Korea) will benefit from this trend. 

  • Greater focus on climate change and sustainable development

With the risks of climate change becoming more apparent, countries are adopting ambitious policies to address the problems8. These initiatives, coupled with greater attention to ESG in investment decisions should lead to more climate friendly and sustainable projects, e.g. renewable energy infrastructure and equipment. As a result, we envisage that the development and adoption of electric vehicles and energy efficient products should accelerate and the ecosystem of renewable energy and resources, e.g. energy storage, battery charging stations, energy efficient semiconductors/chips and recyclable materials. Investments in this area is expected significantly grow.

  • More diversified China+1 sourcing strategy

Global supply chains, and China’s role in it, have undergone significant changes due to the global spread of COVID-19 and the fallout from the prolonged Sino-US trade conflict. Some firms may shift production out of China (production relocation) on concerns over the vulnerability of single production location or rising tariffs. Others might choose to diversify customers and redirect exports to other markets (trade redirection) in light of geopolitical risks. South-east Asian countries, particularly Vietnam, have benefited from multinational and Chinese companies relocating or setting up new factories in the region. We expect this trend to continue and governments in South-east Asia have introduced incentives and amended regulations9.

Conclusion 

Although parts of Asia have fared better than others after the global shock of COVID-19, the road to recovery (both physical and economic) should remain a key theme of 2021.  

For long-term investors, Asia offers the opportunity to not only participate in sustainable growth in world-class companies, but also to achieve diversification through exposure to different industries.  Overall, the region’s opportunities add up to more than the sum of its diverse parts. 

 

Download full PDF

  • Rising bond yields and market correction

    In this note, we share our thoughts on rising bond yields, global liquidity, and the implication for equities.

    Read more
  • Global Healthcare: Thrust into the spotlight amid the pandemic

    Through the development of diagnostics, therapeutics, and vaccines, healthcare companies worldwide are striving to develop toward solutions that identify, treat, and contain COVID-19.

    Read more
  • 2021 Outlook: India’s growth comeback

    India, like many markets in the pandemic, experienced a difficult 2020, with its economy contracting the most since 1952. However, recent data points to the conclusion that the worst may be over as new COVID-19 cases decline and economic activity accelerates.

    Read more
See all

 

 

1 China and Taiwan did not enter technical recession, while Hong Kong and Korea did.

2 Bloomberg, as of 29 December 2020, MSCI Asia (ex-Japan) posted a return of 21.84% (total return in US dollar).

3 Bloomberg, as of 29 December 2020., MSCI Korea was the best performing regional market up roughly 40.30% (total return in US dollar), while MSCI Thailand was the worst performing market declining by 10.79% (total return in US dollar).

4 Bloomberg, as of 15 December 2020.

5 Manulife Investment Management.

6 Goldman Sachs, as of 15 November 2020.

7 Bloomberg, as of 30 November 2020.

8 In a September speech to the United Nations, Chinese President Xi Jinping put a 2060 end date on his country’s contribution to global warming. President-elect Joe Biden has also pledged to re-join the Paris Agreement after being sworn in on 20 Jan 2021.

9 Indonesia recently passed the Omnibus Law in Indonesia, while India passed the Production Linked Incentive in India.

  • Rising bond yields and market correction

    In this note, we share our thoughts on rising bond yields, global liquidity, and the implication for equities.

    Read more
  • Global Healthcare: Thrust into the spotlight amid the pandemic

    Through the development of diagnostics, therapeutics, and vaccines, healthcare companies worldwide are striving to develop toward solutions that identify, treat, and contain COVID-19.

    Read more
  • 2021 Outlook: India’s growth comeback

    India, like many markets in the pandemic, experienced a difficult 2020, with its economy contracting the most since 1952. However, recent data points to the conclusion that the worst may be over as new COVID-19 cases decline and economic activity accelerates.

    Read more
See all
We welcome your feedback

We'd love to hear what you think of our new website. Please let us know your feedback in our 1 minute survey >>

View more
We welcome your feedback

We'd love to hear what you think of our new website. Please let us know your feedback in our 1 minute survey >>

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

亞洲股票:整體就是力量 

31/12/2020 

儘管對投資者來說,2020年是充滿挑戰的一年,但亞洲股票市場仍然是全球少數亮點之一。自爆發2019新型冠狀病毒疫情後,區內部份市場能夠較其他地區更有效防控疫情,導致下半年經濟與股票市場表現也出現分歧。展望2021年,亞洲區(日本除外)股票投資部首席投資總監陳致洲認為,儘管亞洲(日本除外)市場有望在2021年強勁反彈,但分歧將仍然存在,因此整個地區為投資者所帶來的吸引投資機會將多於個別市場。

投資者在過去一年經歷前所未有的挑戰與機遇。在2020年第一季,全球爆發2019新型冠狀病毒,疫情為各地市場及經濟體帶來動盪。北亞經濟體首當其衝,但同時也是最早有效控制疫情擴散的地區之一,當中部份市場更成功避免陷入技術性衰退1。 

相反,南亞及東南亞經濟體較遲才受到影響,但由於當地人口密度較高,加上醫療系統發展較落後,因此在疫情大流行下負上較沉重代價。印度及若干東盟經濟體(尤其是印尼)更是數十年來首次陷入技術性衰退。

全球及亞洲各國相繼推出強勁的財政和貨幣刺激措施,支持股票市場回升,帶動地區股票指數錄得近19%的回報2,但區內市場的表現卻存在很大差異3。 

預期區內市場踏入2021年後經濟有望強勁反彈,並錄得約5.5%的整體增長4;然而,有關預測是建基於一個較低的基數,加上政策應對措施不同,以及亞洲市場在取得及推出疫苗方面存在差異,我們預計經濟復甦步伐將會循序漸進,而且步履不一(見圖1)。 

 

亞洲:匯聚多元化經濟與優勢的地區

在探討2021年的主要地區主題之前,了解我們如何看待亞洲的長期投資機遇相當重要。事實上,投資者應對樂觀的經濟增長預測、以及部份地區股市的高昂估值保持警惕,並必須了解,隨著經濟擺脫疫情的衝擊後開始復甦,哪些範疇將可實現可持續的長期增長,而不是周期性上升。

如圖2所示,我們認為亞洲具有一系列多元化的優勢,可為投資者提供機遇,滿足不同需求。 

 


中國:為應對中美之間的緊張經濟關係,中國採取強而有力的政策措施,將有助加強現有的競爭優勢。

中國政府最新的五年計劃(2021年至2025年)強調剌激內需(以取代出口),並支持重點戰略性科技產業創新。這意味著當局將繼續專注發展其先進的電子商貿及互聯網平台實力。與此同時,政府希望發展電動汽車及5G技術,以擴大國內的技術基礎。

韓國:當地公司在記憶體晶片及電動汽車和可再生能源儲存領域仍然雄踞領導地位。我們相信,在邁向5G技術、電動汽車及可再生能源的發展,以至結構性增長趨勢方面,這些公司將位處最前沿位置。

印度:我們對資訊科技外判,以及製藥業的前景仍然感到樂觀。該等行業標誌著印度在全球的相對及競爭優勢,我們認為,市場對其產品和服務的需求屬結構性質。

長遠來看,我們將密切關注印度的「印度製造」倡議所帶來的投資機遇。印度已宣布多項旨在實現自給自足的措施,包括限制進口措施、與生產相關的激勵措施、稅務優惠及數碼化,目標是在中期內帶動製造業佔國內生產總值的比率由現時的17%增至25%6

東盟:東盟國家持續加大力度吸引外國直接投資,並加強其競爭優勢。

區內各國均具有不同的優勢。泰國的汽車供應鏈強勁,而且食品製造業發展完善。馬來西亞在製造電子和電器產品、橡膠手套及木製傢俱方面具有優勢。另一方面,菲律賓在業務流程外判(BPO)方面提供出色的服務,而印尼本身已打造成為一個電動汽車供應鏈樞紐。最後,越南在製造智能手機及電子組件方面亦建立其獨特地位。 

台灣:中期而言,預計台灣的技術供應鏈在支持中國和美國技術創新方面將繼續發揮重要作用。半導體等關鍵行業的當地生產商,有能力在技術上保持領先,因此相對於全球競爭對手更具競爭優勢。此外,台灣還有不少世界級的伺服器、5G組件及集成電路設計公司。    

2021年:投資者應注視的結構性主題  

基於上述亞洲市場的願景,我們認為以下四項結構性主題在2021年對投資者至關重要:  

  • 在亞洲市場尋求(正)收益率 

我們預期各主要央行在短期內將維持利率在接近零水平。鑑於通脹預期仍處於正數範圍,導致許多已發展市場的實質利率及債券孳息處於並應會維持於負水平。

相反,許多亞洲市場現時提供正實質收益率(見圖3)。鑑於區內的2021年增長前景相對樂觀,我們預期已發展市場與亞洲之間的收益率差距將於未來一年持續。隨著全球投資者致力把握區內強勁的經濟反彈及具吸引力的收益率,這種動力應有助推動市場資金流入亞洲股票市場。 

 

  • 廣泛採用5G技術

憑藉5G技術,2020年代有望邁向一個前所未見的網絡連繫及技術進步的時代,顯著擴大物聯網的蓋涵範圍。事實上,5G及物聯網將令人們更廣泛使用網絡連接設備,把繁瑣的業務流程自動化,包括工廠自動化:多家製造商宣布計劃推動工廠自動化,以應對勞工短缺問題,並提高生產力。

我們預期未來數年,將會推出更多使用5G開發的設備,觸發全球進入一個替換週期,我們相信,亞洲的供應鏈,尤其是北亞市場(台灣、中國、韓國)的技術供應鏈將可受惠於這個趨勢。  

  • 更加關注氣候變化及可持續發展

隨著氣候變化風險日趨明顯,各國相繼採取目標宏遠的政策,以圖應對有關問題  。這些舉措,加上投資決策流程更加關注環境、社會及管治(ESG),應有助推動更有利氣候、以及可持續發展的項目,例如,可再生能源基建設施及設備。因此,我們預期,電動汽車及能源效益產品的開發、採用等,將會加速,並形成可再生能源和資源的生態系統,例如,能源儲存、電池充電站、具能源效益的半導體/晶片及可回收物料。預期有關領域的投資將會顯著增長。

  • 更多元化的中國+1採購策略

隨著疫情在全球擴散,加上中美長期貿易衝突的影響,全球供應鏈以至中國在其中所扮演的角色均出現重大變化。部份公司憂慮因單一生產地點或關稅增加而受到衝擊,可能會將其生產線轉移至中國以外地區(生產轉移)。其他公司在考慮到地緣政治風險後,可能會選擇分散客戶,並把出口重新定向至其他市場(貿易重新定向)。東南亞國家(尤其是越南)因跨國企業及中國公司遷往區內或於當地設立新工廠而受益。我們預期這種趨勢將會持續,而東南亞各國政府,亦相應推出多項激勵措施及修訂法例9

總結 

全球爆發2019新型冠狀病毒疫情衝擊後,儘管亞洲部份市場的表現優於其他市場,但復原之路(無論是健康或經濟)仍然是2021年的關鍵主題。 

對長線投資者來說,亞洲市場不僅可提供機會參與世界級公司的可持續增長,同時亦可藉由投資於不同行業而實現多元化。總括而言,整個地區展現出團結就是力量的潛力。  

 

下載全份文件

  • 全球宏觀展望 2021年第四季 經濟重返「舒適圈」 提防三大潛在風險

    我們重點剖析推動經濟短暫重返「舒適圈」的宏觀因素。同時,我們認為市場面對的主要下跌風險可分為三類,即我們所述的三個潛在風險。

    閱讀更多
  • 日本的企業管治正在改善

    近年日本出現顯見的企業醜聞,似乎代表該國的企業管治水平正下滑。然而,現實卻是另一回事。

    閱讀更多
  • 內房債務危機對大灣區的投資啓示

    我們探討內房債務危機對投資者的啟示,並評估在大灣區內的不一樣投資機遇。

    閱讀更多
查看全部

 

 

1 中國和台灣並無陷入技術性衰退,但香港和韓國卻出現技術性衰退。

2 彭博資訊,截至2020年12月29日;MSCI明晟亞洲(日本除外)指數錄得21.84%的回報(總回報-美元)。

3 彭博資訊,截至2020年12月29日;MSCI明晟韓國指數為區內表現最佳的市場指數,報升約40.30%(總回報-美元),而MSCI泰國指數則為表現最差的市場指數,下跌10.79%(總回報-美元)。

4 彭博資訊,截至2020年12月15日。

5 宏利投資管理。

6 高盛,截至2020年11月15日。

7 彭博資訊,截至2020年11月30日。

8 中國國家主席習近平在9月份對聯合國的致辭中表示,中國將於2060年停止產生全球暖化。當選美國總統的拜登亦承諾在2021年1月20日宣誓就職後將重新加入《巴黎協定》。

9 印尼最近通過印尼的《綜合法案》(Omnibus Law),而印度亦通過當地的製造獎勵計劃(Production Linked Incentive)。

  • 全球宏觀展望 2021年第四季 經濟重返「舒適圈」 提防三大潛在風險

    我們重點剖析推動經濟短暫重返「舒適圈」的宏觀因素。同時,我們認為市場面對的主要下跌風險可分為三類,即我們所述的三個潛在風險。

    閱讀更多
  • 日本的企業管治正在改善

    近年日本出現顯見的企業醜聞,似乎代表該國的企業管治水平正下滑。然而,現實卻是另一回事。

    閱讀更多
  • 內房債務危機對大灣區的投資啓示

    我們探討內房債務危機對投資者的啟示,並評估在大灣區內的不一樣投資機遇。

    閱讀更多
查看全部

我們重視您對網站的意見。只需一分鐘回答幾條簡單問題可助我們為您提供更佳的使用經驗。提供意見 >>

查看更多

我們重視您對網站的意見。只需一分鐘回答幾條簡單問題可助我們為您提供更佳的使用經驗。提供意見 >>

查看更多
確認