Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

Global interest-rate outlook—central banks turn hawkish

18 February 2022

Frances Donald, Global Chief Economist & Head of Macroeconomic Strategy

Major central banks worldwide are becoming increasingly hawkish in response to rising inflation, and markets are interpreting that as a sign that interest rates could get much higher sooner. Will they follow through?

 

A not entirely unexpected hawkish pivot 

Central bank hawks swooped across the globe in recent weeks. The Bank of England (BoE) hiked interest rates for the second time in three months on February 3 amid inflationary concerns. Notably, four out of the nine members of the bank’s Monetary Policy Committee voted for a 50 basis points (bps) hike. This after the Bank of Canada (BoC) signaled on January 19 that a rate hike in March was effectively a done deal.

Incidentally, the European Central Bank (ECB), which is widely seen as the last remaining dove among global central banks, also struck a significantly hawkish tone at its rate-setting meeting (also on February 3) on the back of unexpectedly high European inflationary data released the day before. The ECB’s Governing Council said it has “unanimous concerns” about inflation, and ECB President Christine Lagarde declined to confirm—as she had done in previous press conferences—that “interest-rate hikes are very unlikely” this year. The market reacted accordingly: European yields jumped, the yield curve flattened, and the spread between German and Italian yields widened aggressively.¹

Meanwhile, on the other side of the Atlantic, several U.S. Federal Reserve (Fed) members emphasized that a March rate hike was certainly in play, although many pushed back against a 50bps move, and a few—including Philadelphia Fed President Patrick Harker—noted that four rate hikes this year could make sense, validating what markets have priced in so far. Indeed, Fed officials seemed undeterred by market volatility.  

Yet, these central banks’ rosy outlooks and seeming urgency to lift rates are out of sync with how we expect the global economy to develop in the coming months. As we highlighted in our 2022 outlook, we expect to see a material growth slowdown in the first half of 2022. The key ingredients for slowing growth are all there: significant fiscal tightening, declining liquidity, tighter monetary policy in emerging markets, the lagged impact of a slowing China (in 2021), lower Purchasing Managers’ Indexes, and a weakening U.S. consumer. These factors are likely to produce uncomfortably low growth just as central banks communicate their policy normalization plans. Problematically, while we expect inflation to fall back precipitously in the second half of the year, it likely won’t fall far enough to enable these global central banks to change their messaging until well into the second quarter. 

Five key themes

Synthesizing what we’ve heard from central banks with our own high-conviction views, we end up with five key central bank themes for the next six months.

  1. We expect many major central banks to raise interest rates in March—including the Fed and the BoC. In our view, even doves such as the ECB will seem incrementally hawkish over the next month and a half; it’s also conceivable that the BoE could hike rates once a quarter this year. While we don’t have a rosy view of the global economy at this point, global central banks have made themselves clear: The rate liftoff is happening.
  2. Although four out of nine members of the BoE’s rate-setting committee thought that a 50bps rate hike was appropriate, we aren’t expecting any global central bank to introduce hikes of such a magnitude this year. There are some, however, who have priced in a 50pbs Fed interest-rate hike in March,¹ suggesting that—if our read of the situation turns out to be correct—some of that expectation will need to be unwound.
  3. Despite being surrounded by central bank hawkishness at this juncture, we continue to expect them to make an important dovish pivot in Q2 as inflation and growth data slows in the coming months (bear in mind that many key economic data is lagging in nature). As a result, we believe the Fed and the BoC will only be able to follow up their March hikes with another one or two hikes before switching to a more gradual, multi-year rate normalization path.
  4. Until the global central banks make the expected dovish pivot, we should expect U.S. yield curves to continue to flatten, signaling a policy mistake and heightened risks of a more material slowdown in the coming few years.
  5. We expect real interest rates to rise this year. This is a logical perspective since nominal rates will move higher. In addition, inflation expectations should unwind, particularly after global centrals make a dovish pivot as per our expectation.

There are many good reasons why central banks are keen to normalize monetary policy; however, whether they can implement their plans at the pace they intend to will ultimately depend on how rapidly macroeconomic conditions change.

Download full PDF

 

1 Bloomberg, as of February 8, 2022.

  • Will the Fed's approach to interest-rate hikes trigger a U.S. recession?

    Concerns about recession risks are rising amid seemingly persistent inflation and rising interest rates. Find out to what extent these fears are warranted.

    Read more
  • How is the surging US dollar affecting Asian currencies?

    We draw insights from our pan-Asia fixed income and equity teams, who examine the impact of US-dollar strength and what this means for currencies in the region.

    Read more
  • China rolls out measures to support economic growth

    We believe that the latest supportive measures reiterate China’s stance on economic stability and see opportunities in China and Hong Kong equities that could benefit from these policy actions.

    Read more
See all
  • Will the Fed's approach to interest-rate hikes trigger a U.S. recession?

    Concerns about recession risks are rising amid seemingly persistent inflation and rising interest rates. Find out to what extent these fears are warranted.

    Read more
  • How is the surging US dollar affecting Asian currencies?

    We draw insights from our pan-Asia fixed income and equity teams, who examine the impact of US-dollar strength and what this means for currencies in the region.

    Read more
  • China rolls out measures to support economic growth

    We believe that the latest supportive measures reiterate China’s stance on economic stability and see opportunities in China and Hong Kong equities that could benefit from these policy actions.

    Read more
See all
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

全球利率前景 — 央行立場轉趨鷹派

18/02/2022

環球首席經濟師兼宏觀經濟策略部主管 Frances Donald

為應對通脹上升,全球主要央行的立場漸趨鷹派,市場認為這反映利率將在短期內顯著上升。然而,央行官員會否貫徹行動?在今期市場通訊,環球首席經濟師兼環球宏觀經濟策略部主管Frances Donald將分享其對各地央行的利率展望。

 

央行立場轉趨鷹派非意料之外

全球央行的立場在最近數週轉趨鷹派。由於關注通脹情況,英倫銀行在2月3日調高利率,是三個月內第二次加息。值得注意的是,在英倫銀行貨幣政策委員會的九名成員當中,有四名投票支持加息50基點。此前,加拿大央行曾於1月19日表示幾乎肯定會在3月份加息。

湊巧地,被外界普遍視為全球僅存鴿派央行的歐洲央行,也於議息會議上(同樣是在2月3日舉行)明顯採取鷹派立場,因為前一天公佈的歐洲通脹數據出乎意料地高。歐洲央行理事會表示「一致關注」通脹情況,而歐洲央行行長拉加德並無像過往記者會般確認今年「加息機會甚微」。市場因此作出反應:歐洲債券孳息率急升,孳息率曲線走平,德國和意大利債券之間的息差大幅擴闊1

與此同時,在美國方面,部份聯儲局官員強調3月份加息似乎事在必行,但多名官員不贊成加息50基點,亦有少數官員(包括美國費城聯儲銀行行長哈克Patrick Harker)指今年應加息四次,與市場至今的預期吻合。事實上,聯儲局官員似乎並無因市況波動而躊躇。

然而,央行對經濟的樂觀展望及似乎急於加息的態度,與我們對未來數月的全球經濟預測並不相符。正如我們在2022年展望中指出,我們預期經濟增長將在2022年上半年大幅放緩。拖慢增長的重要因素已然出現:財政政策顯著緊縮、流動性減少、新興市場收緊貨幣政策、中國經濟在2021年放緩帶來滯後影響、採購經理指數下跌,以及美國消費數據轉弱。隨著多國央行公佈政策正常化計劃,以上因素可能造成令人憂慮的低增長。雖然我們預期通脹將在今年下半年大幅回落,但問題在於跌幅應不足以令全球央行在第二季之前改變措辭。 

五個關鍵主題

綜合央行的言論和我們的高確信度觀點,我們為未來六個月制訂了五個關鍵的央行主題。

  1. 我們預期大部份主要央行將在3月份加息,包括聯儲局和加拿大央行,並認為歐洲央行等鴿派央行亦似乎會在未來一個半月逐步轉趨鷹派;英倫銀行則可能在今年每季加息一次。雖然我們目前對全球經濟前景並不十分樂觀,但環球央行已經表明:加息勢在必行。
  2. 雖然在英倫銀行貨幣政策委員會的九名成員當中,有四名認為應該加息50基點,但我們預期全球央行今年均不會如此大幅調高利率。不過,亦有市場人士預期,聯儲局將在 3 月加息 50基點¹,如果我們對經濟情況的理解正確,他們的預測將需要略為調低。
  3. 儘管現時全球央行以鷹派立場為主,但隨著未來數月的通脹及增長數據放緩,我們仍預期央行的取態將在第二季明顯轉向鴿派(請緊記,多項關鍵經濟數據屬滯後性質)。因此,我們認為聯儲局及加拿大央行在 3 月份加息之後只能再加息一至兩次,然後便會轉為較漸進的多年利率正常化過程。
  4. 在全球央行一如預期般轉為鴿派立場之前,我們預計美國孳息率曲線將持續趨平,反映政策失誤,以及經濟在未來數年大幅放緩的上升風險。
  5. 我們預期實質利率將在今年上升;由於名義利率將會走高,這是符合邏輯的推論。此外,通脹預期應會回落,特別是當全球央行的立場有如我們預測般轉為鴿派。

事實上,全球央行有相當充份的理由急於把貨幣政策回復正常,但它們能否按照擬定步伐執行計劃,最終仍取決於宏觀經濟環境的變化速度。

下載全份文件

 

1 彭博資訊,截至2022年2月8月。

  • 聯儲局的加息方針會否引發美國經濟衰退?

    在通脹看似持續、利率不斷上漲之際,關於衰退風險的顧慮正在加劇。探究這些顧慮的合理程度。

    閱讀更多
  • 美元飆升如何影響亞洲貨幣?

    我們的泛亞洲固定收益和股票團隊分享見解,審視美元走強所帶來的影響,以及對區內貨幣的意義。

    閱讀更多
  • 中國推出支持經濟增長的措施

    我們相信,最新支持性政策最新舉措重申中國對保持經濟穩定的立場不變,中港股市料將有機會受惠於這些支持性政策行動。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 聯儲局的加息方針會否引發美國經濟衰退?

    在通脹看似持續、利率不斷上漲之際,關於衰退風險的顧慮正在加劇。探究這些顧慮的合理程度。

    閱讀更多
  • 美元飆升如何影響亞洲貨幣?

    我們的泛亞洲固定收益和股票團隊分享見解,審視美元走強所帶來的影響,以及對區內貨幣的意義。

    閱讀更多
  • 中國推出支持經濟增長的措施

    我們相信,最新支持性政策最新舉措重申中國對保持經濟穩定的立場不變,中港股市料將有機會受惠於這些支持性政策行動。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
確認