Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

G20 Meeting Recap ─ Seven Macro Takeaways

2 July, 2019 

Frances Donold, Chief Economist, Head of Macroeconomic Strategy
 

The G20 meetings in Osaka have produced a moderate de-escalation of trade tensions between the US and China. While headlines are still filtering in and details are limited, at the time of writing (29 June), it appears as though1:

(i) trade talks are restarting between US and China

(ii) further tariffs on Chinese goods are being postponed “for the time being"

(iii) existing tariffs on Chinese goods will remain

(iv) the US will soften current restrictions on US suppliers of a leading Chinese telecommunications equipment company

The headlines appears to represent a slightly, but not dramatically, better-than-expected outcome. From a macro-investor’s standpoint, the G20 US-China trade truce carries seven key takeaways.

 

1) The US consumer should remain mostly insulated from trade tensions

US imports from China currently being tariffed are low in consumer content2 . Had tariffs been applied on the remaining US$300 billion of goods, however, consumer prices would likely have been more broadly affected. We had been concerned that this in turn, would’ve weighed heavily on consumer confidence, one of the few bright spots in the US economy. For now, this sector should remain resilient (barring job losses) and our concerns are allayed. 

  • The Fed remains hawkish, but easing could occur before the end of 2023

    The Fed’s decision to raise US interest rates by 75 basis points to a target range of 3%-3.25% was well priced into the markets.We describe the factors contributing to the Fed’s increasingly hawkish tone and explain why easing could occur before the end of 2023.

    Read more
  • The high-yield market isn't signaling a recession

    Through the interest-rate volatility and higher inflation so far in 2022, we haven't seen a reason to abandon high yield. If anything, the higher-quality segment of this market could provide a welcome boost to a portfolio's risk-adjusted return potential.

    Read more
  • U.S. banks’ fundamentals continue to strengthen despite the economic slowdown

    The latest quarterly earnings reports from U.S. regional banks confirm the favorable investment outlook as loan growth and an improved interest-rate environment provide a tailwind for the industry, in our view.

    Read more
See all

2) De-escalation of trade tensions should support the recently plummeting US, Chinese and global business confidence surveys

However, we note the outlook is still extremely foggy, and exposed companies are still likely to be operating at reduced capacity. This is particularly true given the G20 meetings provided no negotiations timeline and limited details. Hopefully, more positive headlines will contribute to a second consequent improvement in hiring and business investment. It’s too late to see the impact in June data, and perhaps even July figures, but we’ll be watching for proof that the G20 de-escalation was sufficient to support the real economy, even at the margin. The Federal Reserve (Fed) will likely be watching for exactly the same evidence. 

3) US growth will avoid a worst-case scenario outcome

The Macro Strategy Team’s GDP forecasts 3 continue to point to below potential and weak growth in 2020, but the postponement of further tariffs removes our worst fears for GDP figures. The US is still in a significant slowdown but, based on current information, the economy isn’t heading toward a technical recession. 

4) The Fed is still going to cut rates by a total of 50 basis points (bps) before year-end 

While we believe the Fed will still cut rates by a total of 50 bps before year end, we doubt a full 50 bps cut at its 31st July meeting and still don’t believe 25 bps is a sure thing should July present a material improvement in US economic data. In our view, the Fed is responding to the cyclical slowdown in US growth which has been exacerbated by the weight of uncertainty on business activity, particularly spending and hiring. That damage is done and suggests monetary policy is too tight in this environment. However, we currently forecast only 2 cuts versus the bond market pricing of almost 4 cuts in the next year. The risk to our view is this week’s ISM Manufacturing data and the June nonfarm payrolls report. 

5) Global trade volumes might be bottoming

The potential global trade volume bottoming 4 is adding to our conviction on Emerging Markets (EM) and European risk assets. Our team leans conservatively on calling inflection points in general, so we are waiting for an additional month of data before we formally call the bottom in global trade. However, better sentiment with respect to US-China trade will only help this trend and the ease of restrictions on US suppliers to a leading Chinese telecommunication equipment company bodes well for EM tech stocks in particular. 

6) We are still expecting near-term easing from China 

Somewhat tangentially, we are still expecting nearterm easing from China in an effort to stabilise interbank rates, bolster inflation, and support growth which appears wobbly5 . Like the Fed, the People’s Bank of China (PBoC) will need to respond to the damage that uncertainty has already inflicted in the economy. 

7) Tariff negotiations are separate from the broader theme of a US-China economic decoupling

Looking at the big picture, we continue to stress that tariff negotiations are separate from the broader theme of a US-China economic decoupling that will likely persist, regardless of political leadership in the United States. Trade tensions have kick-started the trend towards dual supply chains, shifting production facilities, higher world average tariffs and a general theme of de-globalisation. This is an important paradigm shift relative to the last 90 years of globalisation. It is also a negative productivity shock and suggests lower long-term potential growth (for everyone). 


1 Source: Bloomberg, as of 29 June 2019. “REMARKS BY PRESIDENT TRUMP IN PRESS CONFERENCE”, the White House Office of the Press Secretary, 29 June 2019. President mentioned letting US companies resume sales to China’s largest telecommunications equipment maker. China and the US will be talking about taking Huawei off the Commerce Department entity list.

2 Source: Manulife Investment Management, Cornerstone Macro, as of May 2019. 

3 Source: Manulife Investment Management, Cornerstone Macro, as of June 2019. 

4 Source: Manulife Investment Management, Thomson Reuters Datastream, as of 15 May 2019.

China’s Manufacturing PMI for June 2019 printed below 50 for the second month in a row. National Bureau of Statistics of China, 30 June 2019.

  • The Fed remains hawkish, but easing could occur before the end of 2023

    The Fed’s decision to raise US interest rates by 75 basis points to a target range of 3%-3.25% was well priced into the markets.We describe the factors contributing to the Fed’s increasingly hawkish tone and explain why easing could occur before the end of 2023.

    read more
  • The high-yield market isn't signaling a recession

    Through the interest-rate volatility and higher inflation so far in 2022, we haven't seen a reason to abandon high yield. If anything, the higher-quality segment of this market could provide a welcome boost to a portfolio's risk-adjusted return potential.

    read more
  • U.S. banks’ fundamentals continue to strengthen despite the economic slowdown

    The latest quarterly earnings reports from U.S. regional banks confirm the favorable investment outlook as loan growth and an improved interest-rate environment provide a tailwind for the industry, in our view.

    read more
see all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

G20峰會「習特會」回顧:七項宏觀經濟重點

2/7/2019

Frances Donold, 首席經濟師兼資產配置團隊宏觀經濟策略部主管
 

於日本大阪舉行的20國集團(G20)峰會令中美貿易緊張關係輕微降溫。雖然媒體報道的消息正逐步浮現,現時所知詳情有限,在筆者撰文之時(6月29日)情況似乎如下1

(i) 中美兩國正重啟貿易談判

(ii) 美國「暫時」延遲向中國貨品加徵關稅

(iii) 美國維持現有向中國貨品徵稅的措施

(iv) 美國將放寬對當地企業的限制,容許其向一家大型中國電訊設備公司供應零件

相關的媒體報道顯示,峰會結果略為但並非大幅優於預期。從宏觀的投資觀點來說,中美在G20峰會就貿易問題達成停戰決定具有七項重點。

1) 美國消費者應不受貿易關係緊張影響

目前被徵收關稅的中國進口美國貨品,所佔的消費成份偏低2。若美國向其餘3,000億美元貨品徵稅,消費物價可能會受到廣泛影響。我們一直關注此舉令消費信心嚴重受壓,而這是現時美國經濟的少數表現最佳的領域之一。暫時來說,消費市道應能保持穩健(除非出現職位流失),這有助消除我們的疑慮。

2) 貿易緊張關係降溫應能支持近期下跌的美國、中國及全球商業信心調查結果

然而,我們認為前景仍然極端不明朗,受影響的公司可能需要削減產能,特別是由於G20峰會「習特會」後並無公佈談判時間及其他詳情。我們寄望更多利好消息可讓招聘和商業投資錄得後續改善。雖然我們未必來得及審視6月甚至7月數據帶來的影響,但我們將尋找證據,以證明中美貿易緊張關係在G20峰會後降溫,並足以支持實體經濟(即使只是幅度輕微的支持)。聯儲局亦可能注視相同的證據。

3) 美國經濟可以避免陷入最壞情景

宏觀策略團隊的國內生產總值預測3持續顯示2020年美國經濟處於疲弱及低於潛在增長水平,但延遲加徵關稅有助消除我們對國內生產總值預測的最壞預測。雖然美國經濟仍顯著放緩,但根據現時的資料,經濟並非邁向技術性衰退。

4) 聯儲局仍會在年底前合共減息50個基點

我們對聯儲局在7月31日的議息會議上全面減息50個基點存疑,即使美國的7月份出爐的經濟數據顯著好轉,當局亦未必於7月份確定減息25個基點。根據我們的分析,聯儲局正應對美國經濟增長週期性放緩,而商業活動的不確定性(開支和招聘尤其如此)令經濟放緩程度加劇。這些因素已經造成損害,反映在現時環境下,貨幣政策顯得過於緊縮。不過,我們目前預測當局只會減息兩次,少於債券市場預測當局直至明年為止減息接近四次的觀點。本週公佈的供應管理協會製造業指數和6月非農業就業報告將為我們的觀點構成不確定性。

5) 全球貿易量可能見底

全球貿易量可能見底4,增加我們對新興市場及歐洲風險資產的確信度。我們的團隊一向對市場出現轉捩點的判斷持審慎態度,因此在正式確認全球貿易見底前,我們將觀望多一個月的數據表現。然而,中美貿易氣氛好轉有助形成這個趨勢,而美國放寬對當地企業的限制,容許其向一家大型中國電訊設備公司供應零件、亦尤其利好新興市場的科技股。

6) 我們仍預計中國在短期內採取寬鬆政策 

順帶一提,我們仍然預計中國將在短期內採取寬鬆政策,以穩定銀行同業利率、刺激通脹和支持看來搖擺不定的經濟增長5。與聯儲局一樣,中國人民銀行需要就不確定因素造成的損害作出應對措施。

7) 關稅談判與中美經濟分道揚鑣的廣泛主題不宜混為一談

從宏觀角度來說,我們繼續強調關稅談判與中美經濟分道揚鑣的廣泛主題不宜混為一談;不論美國由哪一個政黨執政,貿易緊張局面已經啟動雙供應鏈、轉移生產設施、全球平均關稅上升及去全球化主題的趨勢。就過去90年的全球化歷程而言,這是一個重要的範式轉移,亦為生產力帶來不利的影響,拖累(全球)長期的增長潛力。

  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部

 

1 資料來源:彭博資訊,截至2019年6月29日。「美國總統特朗普新聞發布會發言」,白宮新聞秘書辦公室,2019年6月29日。總統提及容許美國公司恢復與中國最大的電訊設備公司進行商業交易。中國及美國將就把該公司從商業部的「實體名單」剔除展開談判。

2 資料來源:宏利投資管理,Cornerstone Macro,截至2019年5月。

3 資料來源:宏利投資管理、Cornerstone Macro,截至2019年6月。 

資料來源:宏利投資管理、湯森路透 Datastream,截至2019年5月15日。

2019年6月的中國製造業採購經理指數連續第二個月低於50的水平。中國國家統計局,2019年6月30日。

  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    read more
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    read more
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    read more
see all
確認