Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Manulife Financial Planning Manager

ESG investing in Asia – an invisible evolution

15 March, 2021

Murray Collis, Deputy CIO Fixed Income (Asia ex-Japan)

Sustainable and responsible investing is fast becoming one of the most important investment criteria globally, and in Asia, while the uptake has been slower, this trend is growing. Moreover, in our view, sustainability is now also seen as an important economic driver for investment performance. Murray Collis, Deputy CIO Fixed Income Asia ex-Japan, discusses the drivers behind this movement and how the COVID-19 outbreak may have influenced developments. Murray also explains the role of active management when investing in, and engaging with, companies in Asia’s growing sustainable investments market.

 

How is the Asian bond market evolving towards increased sustainability awareness and integration? Also, what are the main drivers behind this growth?

Asia has developed a lot in terms of sustainability over the past decade. In fact, they’ve actively been embracing the concept of ESG. We’ve seen a few different drivers behind the growth of sustainability in Asia, and we’ve slowly been incorporating these drivers into our portfolios over time. Asian governments are continuing to affirm their commitments to ESG issues in the region; for instance, within the final months of last year, China announced that it wants to become carbon neutral by 2060, while South Korea, Japan and Hong Kong pledged to do the same by 2050.

What we’ve seen over the last decade is that governments in the region are recognising ESG issues and starting to put frameworks in place to deal with them. This has led to the initial growth that we’ve seen in the Asian sustainability market. Once an issue becomes part of the government’s agenda, regulators then start to take notice. Asian countries and territories are now starting to build and develop best practice principles for ESG investing, and the corporations within these countries and territories are also starting to adopt stewardship codes. Governance regulations such as the separation of duties between CEO and chairman have now become mandatory requirements for listed companies in a growing number of countries and territories in the region.

Central banks in the region are also putting measures in place to support the growth of the ESG market within Asia. A good example of this is the Monetary Authority of Singapore setting aside around US$2 billion to support the development of sustainable finance in Singapore, while the People’s Bank of China has introduced a series of significant measures in recent years, which include accepting green bonds as collateral for its medium-term lending facility programme. There are a number of different ways in which governments and regulators can help to support the growth of the sustainability market, and it’s positive to see Asian nations starting to embrace them.

From an investor’s perspective, we believe there’s a growing recognition within Asia of the benefits to be gained from investing in sustainable fixed-income products. It’s evident historically that sustainable investments tend to outperform over the medium to longer term1, and this is something that investors are starting to factor in when considering ESG investments.

On another positive note, the economic and corporate data originating from Asia has consistently improved over the last few years. Our belief is that having access to better-quality data enables investors to make more informed investment decisions. As a result, the increasing quality of the data has also  resulted in market growth.

If you look at companies within Asia, the language around ESG and sustainability has improved over time. That’s partly to do with engagement and partly to do with the regulatory environment and the government’s approach to this topic. As previously mentioned, we’re starting to see Asian corporations adopting best practices, which in our view creates opportunities for sustainable investment products. A good example of this is the green bond market in Asia. There were very few green bonds being issued four to five years ago, but since 2016 to 2019, Bloomberg estimates that China represents around 17% of global green bond issuance2.

When you put all of this together, it’s evident that there are a number of factors that are helping to drive the market. Regulators and governments are supporting and incentivising the growth of sustainable investment, additionally you have investors demanding the adoption and implementation of ethical practices from corporations3.

As with most themes in Asia, is China leading the way in the field of sustainable investment?

It’s probably fair to say that the more developed countries and territories in Asia have been moving ahead. For example, we’re starting to see a lot of green bond issuance from both Hong Kong and Singapore. China is (and always has been4) one of the biggest markets in the region, and if you look at China's weight within the Asian credit market it’s increased dramatically in the last decade.

We’re also seeing big developments within India, although they still have a lot more work to do in this space. Overall, we believe there should be some great opportunities in the near-term pipeline, as we’re seeing a lot more issuance from renewable energy companies in India, China, and in parts of South Asia.

As we move from 2020 into 2021, what are some key takeaways from managing through COVID- 19?

In many ways it has strengthened our views. We’ve been integrating ESG into our investment processes for many years, and when investing in Asia, governance has always been a really important factor, particularly when looking at the high-yield universe.

If we look at COVID-19 and what’s happened during the pandemic, it’s helped to reinforce the broader social and environmental issues. Investors are really taking note and beginning to consider these concerns, and this is starting to be reflected by the market in terms of social bond issuance. In 2020 we saw social bond issuance globally surge to more than US$160.0 billion, up from US$13.3 billion a year ago5 and we believe this does create more opportunities in the market. ESG analysis globally tends to focus on environmental issues, and in Asia we are often asked about governance, but we think it’s important to consider all material ESG issues together as part of the credit analysis and portfolio construction.

Has COVID-19 pushed ESG to the bottom of the list of investor priorities?

I’d argue that the opposite has occurred. We’ve seen investors worldwide inject more than US$152 billion into ESG funds in the fourth quarter of 20206. We think that there are a few reasons for this, one being that investors have seen the effects of COVID-19 and it’s highlighted some key sustainability issues that need addressing. Secondly, when you look at the wild fluctuations that we witnessed last March and April, investors have probably looked at the economic risks that are playing out and are wanting to invest in businesses that are robust and that have sustainable business models.

How do you engage with fixed-income issuers on ESG-related factors? 

We take a multifaceted approach. When people think about engagement, they commonly think about the equity market; in our view, however, engagement is also really important in the fixed-income space, particularly in Asia.

We see engagement as an opportunity to build long-term relationships with issuers that we engage with. When we engage with issuers, we discuss a number of topics with them, which gives us greater insight into their business models and the strategies that the businesses adopt. We can also leverage the knowledge that we gain from dealing with regulators and governments to identify strong opportunities within the region. Ultimately, engagement can create better outcomes for us and our investors.

What we want to do is to share what we believe are the best sustainability practices. For us, it’s not just about the number of engagements, but the positive outcomes resulting from those engagements.

Looking ahead, where do you see the key opportunities for this asset class?

Asian countries and territories are currently some of the largest emitters of carbon dioxide in the world and with the recent net zero announcements7 they are committing to highly important transitions to low-carbon economies. In our view, these transitions should create opportunities for sustainable investors. There’s now a greater emphasis on climate change and the risks associated with climate change, so it’s going to be a long-term investment trend.

For example, we’re seeing a surge in green bond issuance from property developers in China, which we think is really interesting. To us, this signals recognition by the government of what’s going on in the domestic market and encouragement of the adoption of best practices. A lot of this new issuance is going towards renovating and revamping existing properties up to a green standard, which we think is a great outcome. We believe the positive side of this for investors is that they’re being rewarded with a substantial yield.

Renewable energy is expected to be another area of growth within Asian economies, so we’re continuing to watch this space. We’ve also identified some excellent opportunities within India and other Southeast Asian countries and territories.

Why take an active approach to sustainable investing in Asian fixed income?

The issue with adopting a passive approach within Asia or indexing is that it’s reliant on data that isn’t yet complete. We currently have over 70 Asia fixed income experts, including over 20 credit analysts, spread across 11 markets in the region8. Having presence in every major country allows us to benefit from local knowledge that we gain from having people on the ground, and, in our view, this is better than pursuing a passive approach.

In our view, there are some methodological issues that investors should consider when they look at adopting an indexing versus an active approach. We think that having an active approach allows you to research and choose the best-quality or best-performing names and then make the appropriate allocations to those companies. For us, this is the best way to generate better returns over the long term.

 

 

Download full PDF

  • Rising bond yields and market correction

    In this note, we share our thoughts on rising bond yields, global liquidity, and the implication for equities.

    Read more
  • Vaccine for COVID-19: Is the wait finally over?

    Biopharmaceutical manufacturers Pfizer/BioNTech and Moderna recently announced encouraging interim data for their COVID-19 vaccine candidates, we look at the short and long-term implications of the latest development.

    Read more
  • Potential implications of the US presidential election on Asian fixed income

    We analyse the impact of the US election on Asian fixed income, examining how a potentially favourable macro backdrop may amplify the strong fundamentals of the asset class.

    Read more
See all

 

 

1 Source: Morningstar, “‘Do Sustainable Funds Beat their Rivals?”’ 16 June 2020

2 Source: Bloomberg, as of 2019.

3 Source: PwC 2020, “‘Environmental, social and governance (ESG) in Asia”.

4 Source: Asian Bond Monitor, September 2020.

5 Refinitiv, as of 17 December 2020.

6 Morningstar Research “Global Sustainable Fund Flows: Q4 2020 in Review”, 28 January 2021.

7 Source: “‘South Korea follows Japan and China in carbon neutral pledge”’ , Financial Times 28 October 2020.

8 As of 31 December 2020.

  • Rising bond yields and market correction

    In this note, we share our thoughts on rising bond yields, global liquidity, and the implication for equities.

    Read more
  • Vaccine for COVID-19: Is the wait finally over?

    Biopharmaceutical manufacturers Pfizer/BioNTech and Moderna recently announced encouraging interim data for their COVID-19 vaccine candidates, we look at the short and long-term implications of the latest development.

    Read more
  • Potential implications of the US presidential election on Asian fixed income

    We analyse the impact of the US election on Asian fixed income, examining how a potentially favourable macro backdrop may amplify the strong fundamentals of the asset class.

    Read more
See all
We welcome your feedback

We'd love to hear what you think of our new website. Please let us know your feedback in our 1 minute survey >>

View more
We welcome your feedback

We'd love to hear what you think of our new website. Please let us know your feedback in our 1 minute survey >>

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

環境、社會及管治(ESG)投資在亞洲區內的無形變革

15/03/2021

Murray Collis, 亞洲(日本除外)定息產品部副投資總監

可持續責任投資迅速成為全球最重要的投資準則之一,雖然亞洲的採納步伐較為緩慢,但這股趨勢正逐步擴大。此外,我們認為目前可持續發展亦被視為一股推動投資表現的重要經濟動力。亞洲(日本除外)定息產品部副投資總監Murray Collis在本文探討這股趨勢背後的動力,以及2019新型冠狀病毒(COVID-19)疫情爆發如何影響這個主題的發展。Murray亦闡釋在亞洲日益增長的可持續投資市場內,「主動型」策略在投資、以及與公司互動溝通兩方面所擔當的角色。

 

亞洲債券市場正如何變化,以提高可持續發展的意識和融合?另外,是甚麼動力正推動市場在這方面的發展?

過去十年,亞洲在可持續發展方面取得長足進展。事實上,亞洲企業一直積極融入ESG概念。我們觀察到亞洲在可持續發展的增長背後有一些不同動力,而我們正逐步將其融入投資組合。亞洲各地政府持續對區內ESG議題的承諾作出肯定,例如在去年最後數月,中國宣佈於2060年或之前實現碳中和,南韓、日本和香港則承諾在2050年或之前達成相同目標。

過去十年,區內政府日漸意識到ESG問題,並開始制定應對框架,繼而推動亞洲可持續發展市場展現初步增長。當某項議題被納入政府綱領後,監管機構便會開始注視。亞洲國家和地區正著手建構和發展ESG投資的最佳實務原則,而這些國家和地區的公司亦開始採納盡責管理守則。區內越來越多國家和地區把企業管治規例納入上市公司的強制規定,例如行政總裁與主席之間的權責分離。

區內央行亦制定多項措施,以支持亞洲ESG市場發展。以新加坡金融管理局為例,當局撥出約20億美元支持當地可持續金融業的發展。另外,中國人民銀行亦在近年推出連串重要措施,包括接納綠色債券作為中期借貸便利計劃的抵押品。政府和監管機構可運用多種不同方式,以推動可持續發展市場增長,而我們樂見亞洲國家已開始採納這些方式。

從投資者的角度來看,亞洲日漸意識到投資於可持續固定收益產品的優勢。歷史證明可持續投資往往在中長期表現領先1,而投資者亦開始在考慮ESG投資時納入這項元素。

另一項利好因素是,亞洲的經濟和企業數據在過去數年持續改善。我們相信,只要投資者獲得質素較佳的數據,他們便可作出更明智的投資決定。因此,數據質素提升亦促進市場增長。

綜觀亞洲企業,圍繞著ESG及可持續發展的言論,日趨改善和正面,部份歸因於各界的互動和溝通,另一部份是由於監管環境及政府對這個議題的取態。正如上文提到,亞洲企業已開始採取最佳實務措施,因此我們相信會為可持續投資產品提供機會。以亞洲綠色債券市場為例,四、五年前市面上只有極少數的綠色債券發行,但自2016年至2019年,彭博估計中國已佔全球綠色債券發行規模約17%2

綜合來看,明顯有許多因素正在推動市場發展。監管機構和政府都在支持和鼓勵可持續投資的發展,投資者亦要求企業採取和落實道德實務措施3

就亞洲大部份的主題而言,中國在可持續投資方面是否領先?

平心而論,在亞洲之中發展較成熟的國家和地區一直領前。例如,香港和新加坡已開始發行大量綠色債券。中國目前是(亦一直是4)區內最大的市場之一,若您留意中國佔亞洲信貸市場的比重,便會發現其過去十年大幅增長。

印度在這方面亦有重大發展,但仍需加倍努力。整體而言,由於印度、中國和部份南亞地區的可再生能源公司發行的債券顯著增加,我們相信短期內應會提供一些重大的投資機會。

隨著2020年完結並踏入2021年,我們在應對2019新型冠狀病毒的過程中得到甚麼重要啟示?

從多方面來看,這次危機令我們確信一直以來的看法。多年來,我們致力在投資流程中融入ESG元素,而對亞洲投資而言,特別是高收益債券領域,企業管治一直是非常重要的因素。

綜觀2019新型冠狀病毒爆發及疫情期間的情況,疫情促使民眾關注廣泛的社會和環境問題。投資者確實注意到並開始考慮相關事項,從市場發行社會債券的情況便可見一斑。在2020年,全球的社會債券發行規模由一年前的133億美元急升至超過1,600億美元5,我們相信這無疑為市場創造更多投資機會。全球ESG分析往往側重環境議題,而我們在亞洲最常遇到的問題是企業管治,但我們認為關鍵是在信貸分析和建構投資組合時,考慮所有重大的ESG議題。

2019新型冠狀病毒疫情是否令ESG議題在投資者心目中的重要性降至最低?

我認為事實剛好相反。在2020年第四季,全球投資者向ESG基金投入逾1,520億美元的資金6。我們認為原因有數個,首先是投資者理解到疫情帶來的影響,情況突顯了一些關鍵的可持續發展問題需要處理。其次,考慮到市場在去年3月及4月曾經大幅波動,投資者可能注意到正逐步浮現的經濟風險,因此希望投資於穩健而且擁有可持續業務模式的企業。

您如何與固定收益債券發行人就ESG相關因素進行互動和溝通?

我們採取的方針涉及多個層面。每當提及互動和溝通,投資者通常會聯想到股票市場,但我們認為互動和溝通對固定收益領域亦非常重要,尤其是在亞洲。

我們認為,互動和溝通是我們與發行人建立長遠關係的契機,期間我們會與發行人討論多個議題,藉此加深了解其業務模式及企業策略。我們亦運用與監管機構和政府往來時獲得的知識,在區內發掘重大投資機遇,最終可為我們和投資者締造更佳的投資成果。

我們希望與大家分享我們相信是最佳的可持續發展實務措施。對我們來說,關鍵並非只在於互動和溝通的多寡,而是過程中帶來的成果。

展望將來,這個資產類別有何主要投資機會?

現時,一些亞洲國家和地區的二氧化碳排放量屬全球最高。隨著多國近期公布淨零排放的目標7,它們承諾把經濟過渡至低碳模式,我們認為,這個轉型過程非常重要,並將為可持續發展領域的投資者帶來機會。投資者目前更加重視氣候變化及其相關的風險,因此這將會是一個長期投資趨勢。

舉例來說,中國房地產發展商的綠色債券發行量急升,我們認為情況確實值得注視。對我們來說,這反映政府對本土市場發展的認同,同時鼓勵企業採取最佳實務措施。這些新發行債券當中,許多把資金用於翻新及改造現有物業,以達致綠色建築認證/環保標準,我們認為這是理想成果。對投資者來說,好處是這些債券為他們帶來可觀收益。

預期可再生能源是亞洲經濟體的另一個增長領域,因此我們將繼續注視。此外,我們在印度及其他東南亞國家和地區亦發掘了一些卓越的投資機會。

為何對亞洲固定收益的可持續投資採取主動策略?

對亞洲投資採取被動策略或指數化投資,問題是所依賴的數據不夠全面。我們目前擁有超過70名亞洲固定收益專家,包括超過20名信貸分析員,遍布區內11個市場8。我們在每個主要國家均設立據點,因此可透過當地人員獲得當地知識,我們認為這種方式勝於採取被動策略。

我們認為,當投資者衡量採用指數化投資還是主動策略時,他們應考慮一些方法上的問題。我們認為主動策略可讓我們研究及選擇質素最佳或表現最佳的企業,從而作出適當的配置。對我們來說,這是長遠提升回報的最佳方法。

 

 

下載全份文件

  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部

 

 

1 資料來源:晨星,「可持續基金能否跟贏同業」2020年6月16日。

2 資料來源:彭博資訊,截至2019年。

3 羅兵咸永道2020年「亞洲區的環境,社會和管治」。

4 資料來源:亞洲債券監察,2020年9月。

5 Refinitiv,截至2020年12月17日。

6 晨星研究「全球可持續發展基金的資金流向:2020年第四季回顧」,2021年1月28日。

7 資料來源:金融時報,2020年10月28日。「南韓會隨日本和中國承諾達致碳中和水平。」

8 截至2020年12月31日。

  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認