Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

Domestic factors drive China’s credit outlook amid heightened uncertainty 

16 March 2022

Fiona Cheung, Head of Global Emerging Markets Fixed Income Research
Judy Kwok,
Head of Greater China Fixed Income Research

On 24 February, Russian forces launched a military attack on parts of Ukraine. Since then, numerous Western nations have responded by imposing a range of sanctions1. In this investment note, Fiona Cheung, Head of Global Emerging Markets Fixed Income Research, and Judy Kwok, Head of Greater China Fixed Income Research, outline the event’s impact on China’s credit markets, noting that the effect on investment-grade credits is currently limited, with domestic factors largely driving the challenging high-yield outlook.

Although the Russia-Ukraine military conflict has sent tremors through global markets, the impact thus far on China credit has remained minimal.

Geopolitical events such as war are extremely fluid, with broad and rapidly shifting implications for economies and markets. The most immediate impact of the ongoing war and associated sanctions against Russia is the fear of global supply shortages of energy, grain, and metals. The absence of the Russian supply of fertilisers may result in a long-term decline in the supply of agricultural products, or even a food crisis. High and rising commodity and food prices could push the global economy towards further stagflation and weaken the recovery from the pandemic.

China – as a voting member of the Security Council and because of its closer diplomatic relationship with Russia – will inevitably be impacted by developments. Chinese companies may be directly affected by rising volatility and prices in commodity markets, as Russia is a key producer and exporter of energy and rare earth metals. Also, offshore funding could be hindered as capital markets are disrupted by geopolitical events. However, sovereigns like China with a stronger balance of payments and robust current account surplus and foreign currency reserves may prove to be particularly resilient against these potential shocks.

Sectors on the radar of investment-grade credits

Overall, based on the current situation and package of sanctions, we don’t yet see a negative impact on segments of China’s credit market, although this assessment could change. Investors should keep their eyes on two important sectors in the investment- grade space: financials and energy.

Financials: China’s financial sector has limited direct exposure to the Russian economy, or to financial counterparties in Europe that may experience a weakening of their capitalisation and liquidity position. While the decision to remove Russian banks from the SWIFT financial messaging network does not affect China directly, domestic financial institutions may undertake efforts to develop an alternative system with Russian institutions, while strictly adhering to the current sanctions regime.

Energy: China has broader energy ties with Russia, including a recently signed 30-year agreement for natural gas delivery. Some state-owned firms also have minority stakes in Russian liquid natural gas projects. However, the country is not overdependent on Russian energy imports, and still has a diversified energy base and rich domestic coal deposits.

Since energy is currently not included in broader sanctions (although the US has banned Russian oil, liquid natural gas, and coal exports), we believe the exposure of Chinese energy companies is limited. Furthermore, capital-raising activities are not likely to be adversely affected, as some prominent state-owned companies are already on US sanction lists.

Latest assessment of China high-yield markets

The outlook for the high-yield (HY) space remains challenging due to the real estate sector. Although some high-profile large developers defaulted in December 2021, the amplified financial distress caused by those events has led to weaker sentiment and reduced liquidity, judging from the several distress cases in January and the latest February contracted sales data.

This, in turn, has negatively affected stronger and higher-quality developers rated from “BB” to “B”, which previously were thought by investors to be less risky. This distress is also starting to seep into the stronger onshore credit market, leading to more volatility. We believe more defaults of high-profile names are expected to come.

These developments broadly align with our original thesis that the rebound of the real-estate sector will be gradual. The sector will take several years to deleverage and transform into a right-sized but more financially stable and commercially viable industry.

Domestic factors drive China high-yield outlook

In the meantime, we have seen some positive developments since our last update in government policies, although there likely needs to be stronger support. Starting in December 2021, the People’s Bank of China adopted a more accommodative monetary policy stance, lowering the one-year loan prime rate by 5 basis points (from 4.65% to 4.60%), as well as the mortgage reference rate. Locally, mortgage rates in nearly 90 cities have been reduced to help cushion the downside and several cities have relaxed down-payment rules to boost affordability for home buyers.

Moving forward, we believe investors should pay attention to three key catalysts in the short to medium term:

  • Trajectory of contracted sales and consumer confidence. This metric represents the number of sales for developers and serves as a rough proxy for consumer confidence and the health of the industry. While we haven’t seen a turnaround yet, this can be a leading indicator that should show improvement when it arrives.
  • Continued government policy support: Although central and local governments have begun to provide support, we believe further targeted back-stop measures could be unveiled in the coming months to improve liquidity and incentivise consumers to purchase real estate.
  • Restructuring of existing defaults/distress: Although numerous property developers are already in technical default, or on the precipice, there is still limited visibility on the haircut that creditors will ultimately take. Although we expect the restructuring discussion could take longer than a year, if the level of potential haircut is less than currently expected, that could serve as an indicator for sentiment to recover. And as restructuring proceeds and these uncertainties are addressed, we believe more market participants should enter the market to acquire assets.

Importance of robust credit selection in volatile markets

As the speed and volatility of recent geopolitical events illustrate, we believe robust research and due diligence is paramount in credit selection. Many of the risks in the current environment are due to economic linkages that may not be apparent from cursory analysis. Indeed, our bottom-up credit research includes careful examination of companies’ fundamentals including customer concentration and cash flow sources, as well as stress tests of potential punitive actions, which carefully inform our decisions to invest.

 

Download full PDF

 


1 A raft of sanctions including on the Central Bank of Russia and other Russian banks; as well as access to global payments systems and high-tech equipment exports.

2 Bloomberg, 12 March 2022.  

  • The Fed remains hawkish, but easing could occur before the end of 2023

    The Fed’s decision to raise US interest rates by 75 basis points to a target range of 3%-3.25% was well priced into the markets.We describe the factors contributing to the Fed’s increasingly hawkish tone and explain why easing could occur before the end of 2023.

    Read more
  • The high-yield market isn't signaling a recession

    Through the interest-rate volatility and higher inflation so far in 2022, we haven't seen a reason to abandon high yield. If anything, the higher-quality segment of this market could provide a welcome boost to a portfolio's risk-adjusted return potential.

    Read more
  • U.S. banks’ fundamentals continue to strengthen despite the economic slowdown

    The latest quarterly earnings reports from U.S. regional banks confirm the favorable investment outlook as loan growth and an improved interest-rate environment provide a tailwind for the industry, in our view.

    Read more
See all
  • The Fed remains hawkish, but easing could occur before the end of 2023

    The Fed’s decision to raise US interest rates by 75 basis points to a target range of 3%-3.25% was well priced into the markets.We describe the factors contributing to the Fed’s increasingly hawkish tone and explain why easing could occur before the end of 2023.

    read more
  • The high-yield market isn't signaling a recession

    Through the interest-rate volatility and higher inflation so far in 2022, we haven't seen a reason to abandon high yield. If anything, the higher-quality segment of this market could provide a welcome boost to a portfolio's risk-adjusted return potential.

    read more
  • U.S. banks’ fundamentals continue to strengthen despite the economic slowdown

    The latest quarterly earnings reports from U.S. regional banks confirm the favorable investment outlook as loan growth and an improved interest-rate environment provide a tailwind for the industry, in our view.

    read more
see all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

不明朗因素升溫,本土因素繼續主宰中國信貸前景

16/03/2022

環球新興市場定息產品研究主管 張麗萍
大中華區定息產品投資研究部主管 郭張德美

2月24日,俄羅斯軍方向烏克蘭部份地區發動軍事進攻。隨後,西方多國向俄羅斯實施了一系列制裁以作回應1。在本期投資通訊,環球新興市場定息產品研究主管張麗萍及大中華區定息產品投資研究部主管郭張德美,闡述這事件對中國信貸市場的影響,指出投資級別信貸目前所受的影響有限,而本土因素很大程度上導致高收益信貸前景面臨挑戰。

儘管俄烏軍事衝突對環球市場構成衝擊,但目前對中國信貸的影響依然有限。

戰爭等地緣政治事件充滿變數,為各經濟體和市場帶來廣泛且驟變的影響。戰事持續及對俄羅斯實施制裁的最直接影響,是引起市場對環球能源、穀物和金屬供應短缺的憂慮。俄羅斯出產的肥料短缺,或會導致農產品供應長期減少,甚至觸發糧食危機。商品和食品價格高企且持續上漲,可能將環球經濟進一步推向滯脹,同時削弱經濟從疫情中復甦的進度。

中國作為聯合國安全理事會投票成員,加上與俄羅斯的外交關係較密切,難免會受到事態發展所影響。鑑於俄羅斯是能源和稀土金屬的主要生產國和出口國,商品市場的波幅加劇和價格上升可能直接影響中國企業。此外,地緣政治事件對資本市場造成干擾,可能窒礙離岸融資。然而,中國等主權國家的國際收支平衡較強勁,而且經常帳盈餘和外匯儲備穩健,或許特別能夠抵禦這些潛在風險。

值得關注的投資級別信貸行業

整體而言,根據目前情況和制裁措施,我們認為不會對中國信貸市場構成負面影響,但這觀點可能有變。投資者應關注投資級別信貸範疇的兩個重要行業:金融業和能源業。

金融業:中國金融業受俄羅斯經濟,或可能面對資本化和流動性轉弱的歐洲金融交易對手的直接影響有限。雖然將俄羅斯的銀行從環球銀行金融電信協會(SWIFT)金融通訊服務網絡剔除的決定不會直接影響中國,但內地金融機構可能在嚴格遵從現行制裁的前提下,嘗試與俄羅斯機構開發替代系統。

能源業:中國與俄羅斯的能源關係更廣泛,包括近期簽署為期30年的天然氣輸送協議。部份中國國有企業在俄羅斯液化天然氣項目亦擁有少數股權2。然而,中國並非過度依賴俄羅斯的能源進口,而且擁有多元化的能源基礎和豐厚的本土煤炭儲備。

由於能源目前不在更廣泛的制裁範圍之例(儘管美國已禁止從俄羅斯進口石油),我們認為中國能源公司所面對的風險有限。此外,集資活動應不會受到負面影響,因為部份大型而且知名的國有企業已被美國列入制裁名單。

中國高收益信貸市場的最新評估

房地產業繼續為高收益信貸領域的前景帶來挑戰。2021年12月,部份大型知名發展商曾發生違約,從今年1月份數宗財困事件和2月份最新合同銷售數據看來,上述事件加劇市場面臨的企業財務困境,已導致投資情緒轉弱和流動資金減少。

這亦為實力較強且質素較高的「BB」至「B」級發展商帶來負面影響。投資者此前認為這些發展商的風險較低。這個困境已蔓延至較強勁的在岸信貸市場,導致市場更為波動。我們相信,將有更多知名企業違約。

有關事態發展大致符合我們的最初預測,房地產業將逐步復甦。這行業將需要數年時間去槓桿並轉型至規模合適,但財政上較穩定和商業上更可行的行業。

本土因素推動中國高收益信貸前景

與此同時,自撰寫上一篇關於政府政策的文章以來,我們察見一些正面發展,但或許需要更強大的支持。自2021年12月起,中國人民銀行採取更寬鬆的貨幣政策立場,將一年期貸款市場報價利率由4.65%調低5點子至4.60%,並降低住房抵押貸款參考利率。本土市場方面,接近90個城市的住房抵押貸款利率已調低,為下行市況提供緩衝,數個城市亦放寬首付規則,以提振置業者的信心。

展望後市,我們認為投資者應注視以下三個短至中期的催化劑因素:

合同銷售和消費者信心走勢。這個指標代表發展商的銷售數字,可粗略反映消費信心和行業健康狀況。即使我們尚未看到數據逆轉,但這可能是一項領先指標,應會在情況改善時加以反映。

政府持續推行扶持政策:雖然中央和地方政府已開始提供支持,但我們相信未來數月將會加推定向後續措施,以改善流動性和鼓勵消費者購買房地產。

重組現有違約/財困企業的債務:雖然數家房地產發展商已經或即將出現技術性違約,但目前仍難以預測債權人最終願意削減多少債務。儘管我們預料重組債務的討論可能歷時超過一年,但如果債權人承受的削債水平較目前預期為低,可望成為投資情緒轉佳的指標。當債務得到重組和不明朗因素消退後,相信將有更多市場參與者入市購買資產。

在波動市況下嚴選信貸的重要性

鑒於近期地緣政治事件發展的速度和引發的波幅,我們相信嚴謹地進行研究和盡職審查對挑選信貸至關重要。當前環境的多項風險都是源自一些不能透過粗略分析而發現的經濟聯繫。事實上,我們進行「由下而上」的信貸分析,仔細審視公司的基本因素,包括客戶集中度和現金流來源,並會就潛在的懲罰行動進行

 

下載全份文件

 


1 包括對俄羅斯央行和其他俄羅斯銀行實施的一系列制裁,以及限制使用環球支付系統和出口高科技設備到當地。

2 彭博資訊,2022 年 3 月 12 日。  

  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
  • 聯儲局四度加息後,下一步有何行動?

    美國聯儲局於7月27日宣布今年第四次加息,幅度為75點子,對今後聯儲局公開市場委員會的決策方向及美國增長的啓示為何?

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
  • 聯儲局四度加息後,下一步有何行動?

    美國聯儲局於7月27日宣布今年第四次加息,幅度為75點子,對今後聯儲局公開市場委員會的決策方向及美國增長的啓示為何?

    閱讀更多
see all
確認