Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

 

Dollar cost averaging: An easier way to navigate volatile markets

25 April, 2022

Can you predict the increase (or decrease) in the closing value of the emerging-market equity index three years from now? Without a crystal ball, it is impossible to correctly estimate future market trends, not to mention the ability to identify the best time to invest. If investors wish to reduce volatility and benefit from long-term growth when the markets move up and down, the automatically executed strategy of dollar cost averaging may be a feasible choice.

What is dollar cost averaging?

It is the practice of regularly investing a fixed dollar amount in a specific investment – regardless of fluctuations in the market price. As a result, an individual buys more units when prices are low and fewer units when prices are high.

Why use this strategy?

Financial markets fluctuate, so it is often difficult to choose the best time to invest.

No single investment strategy guarantees easy profits or significant returns. So, it’s important to find a viable long-term approach that matches your risk appetite, financial goals, and budget. Here are the merits of dollar cost averaging:

  • Investors regularly invest fixed sums of money based on pre-set orders, regardless of market conditions. Investments made under this strategy are usually smaller than lump-sum amounts. Therefore, it is suitable for investors with a lower risk appetite, less time to spare on closely following the relevant asset prices, or those with limited funds.
  • When there are unanticipated market movements (notable rises or falls), inexperienced investors could panic and make irrational decisions, such as buying high due to a fear of missing out on market rallies or selling low to avoid further losses because of falling markets. However, dollar cost averaging helps alleviate the potential negative effects of irrational “active trading” on investment returns.
  • When markets are volatile, it is possible to accumulate more units at lower prices, probably resulting in a lower average investment cost than with a lump-sum approach during the entire investment period, which helps diversify risk. If underlying asset prices stabilise or even trend upwards during times of uncertainty, investors may earn positive returns at the end of the period and may even outperform lump-sum investing (see the following example).
  • Review and rebalance: navigating waves of volatility

    Market volatility is unavoidable. So, how should investors stay calm and ride through market ups and downs? It’s important to review and rebalance portfolios, so your investment can remain on track. 

    Read more
  • Diversification

    There is no free lunch. But Diversification comes close in investing. A diversified portfolio was shown to have the ability to optimize returns with lower volatility in the long run. Divergence in the performance of portfolios can be attributed to asset allocation.

    Read more
  • What is ESG investing?

    Sustainability and environmental, social and governance (ESG) factors are increasingly front of mind for many Asian investors. We explain what ESG investing is, its benefits and drawbacks and what it means for investors.

    Read more
See all

Source: MSCI and Bloomberg, as of 28 February 2022. Total returns in US dollars.

Source: Bloomberg and MSCI, as of 31 December 2017. Total returns in US dollars. Index value is rebased as US$ 10 (initial unit price) on 31 January 2013. Monthly investment is made on every month end at rebased unit price. As of 31 May 2018, the geographical allocations of MSCI Emerging markets index are as follows: China (31.74%), South Korea (15.36%), Taiwan (11.65%), India (8.48%), South Africa (6.47%) and others (26.3%). The example mentioned is for illustrative purpose only. The information neither indicates any actual portfolio holdings nor constitutes any investment recommendation or advice. Different investments have different volatile patterns. Past performance is not an indicative of future performance.

 

 

Investment acumen is the key to lump-sum investing success

The lump-sum approach could be more familiar to investors, many of whom already have relevant experience with equities, bonds, and funds. While both strategies have their own unique characteristics, returns may vary significantly under different market conditions. Market consensus leans towards a belief that if asset prices keep rising, then lump-sum investing provides better returns for calm and seasoned investors, but we should also bear in mind that:

  • The key to success with lump-sum investing is capturing the best time to enter or exit markets. However, in real cases, buying low and selling high is not easy.
  • Experienced investors can often manage their emotions and deal with market movements calmly and flexibly.
  • Inexperienced investors tend to predict the market, overreact to temporary market shifts, and finally quit with a big loss.

A systematic investment strategy, by nature, requires active implementation

Time in the market will almost always be better than timing the market. Investment is a long-term venture that can potentially reward the patient with positive returns, while impulsive investors may experience losses.

Dollar cost averaging provides investors with a disciplined investment strategy that is easy to apply. Once the instruction is set, this approach automatically allocates regular fixed amounts regardless of market conditions and psychological factors, which helps avoid erroneous decisions. If investors believe this strategy could help them achieve their goals, they should actively identify assets with long-term growth potential and initiate a monthly investment plan.

 

Download full PDF

 

Click here to learn more about the Monthly Investment Plan

 


 

1 Source: MSCI, as of 28 February 2022. Total returns in US dollars. Index value is rebased as US$ 10 (initial unit price) on 30 March 2018. Monthly investment is made on every month end at rebased unit price. As of 28 February 2022, the geographical allocations of MSCI Emerging markets index are as follows: China (31.76%), Taiwan (16.15%), India (12.37%), South Korea (12.26%), Brazil (4.98%) and others (22.48%). The example mentioned is for illustrative purpose only. The information neither indicates any actual portfolio holdings nor constitutes any investment recommendation or advice. Different investments have different volatile patterns. Past performance is not an indicative of future performance.

  • Review and rebalance: navigating waves of volatility

    Market volatility is unavoidable. So, how should investors stay calm and ride through market ups and downs? It’s important to review and rebalance portfolios, so your investment can remain on track. 

    Read more
  • Diversification

    There is no free lunch. But Diversification comes close in investing. A diversified portfolio was shown to have the ability to optimize returns with lower volatility in the long run. Divergence in the performance of portfolios can be attributed to asset allocation.

    Read more
  • What is ESG investing?

    Sustainability and environmental, social and governance (ESG) factors are increasingly front of mind for many Asian investors. We explain what ESG investing is, its benefits and drawbacks and what it means for investors.

    Read more
See all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

 

輕鬆駕馭波動市  善用平均成本法

25/4/2022

你猜猜三年後新興市場股市指數會較今日收市價升(跌)多少?沒有水晶球,我們不能準確預測市況未來升跌,更無法捕捉最佳買賣時機。面對波動市況,如投資者想減低波幅,參與具長線增長潛力的投資,或可考慮採取全自動執行的投資策略──平均成本法(Dollar Cost Averaging)。

甚麼是平均成本法?

平均成本法是一項系統化投資策略,不論市場價格的波動,定期以固定金額投資於一項特定資產。這個做法的結果是:投資者在資產價格處於低位時,買入較多資產單位;在價格處於高位時,則買入較少資產單位。

平均成本法的優點

投資市場反覆波動,要判斷最佳的入市時機並非易事。

市場上沒有一項投資策略,能保證投資者輕易獲取利潤或豐厚回報,重要的是找到符合個人風險胃納、財政目標和預算的可行長期策略。平均成本法的優點包括:

  • 不論市況好壞,如常按預設指示作定期定額投資,金額通常較一筆過投資為低,適合風險胃納較低、沒有時間緊貼相關資產價格走勢,或手頭資金不多的投資者
  • 經驗較淺的投資者容易在市場出現意外變化(急升/急跌)時,因恐慌而作出非理性的買賣決定,例如擔心錯過升市而高追,或憂慮跌市持續導致虧損擴大而低賣。採取平均成本法策略,可減輕非理性的「主動出擊買賣」對投資回報的潛在負面影響
  • 若市況大幅波動,投資者便有更多機會在低位「儲貨」,整個投資期的平均投資成本或會低於一筆過投資,有助分散一筆過購入成本過高的風險。若相關資產價格呈反覆靠穩或反覆上升格局,投資者有機會於期末取得正回報,表現甚至優於一筆過投資(參考以下例子)
  • 可持續投資:剖析ESG的企業管治因素

    企業管治措施釐定一家公司建立持份者價值的方針,包括如何致力緩解風險,以及追求與環境和社會因素相關的機會。

    閱讀更多
  • 甚麼是漂綠

    隨著民眾對氣候變化和社會議題的意識提升,更多投資者希望能夠投資於對社會和環境產生正面影響的基金。因此,可持續投資產品的需求正迅速增長。

    閱讀更多
  • 建構投資組合 助你穩步邁向目標

    你或許需要建構一個集資產配置、風險管理、資本增值於一身的投資組合,才有望穩步邁進目標。

    閱讀更多
查看全部

資料來源:MSCI明晟及彭博資訊,截至2022年2月28日。總回報以美元計。

illustration example

 

 

一筆過投資 眼光獨到乃成功關鍵

相比平均成本法,一筆過投資可能更為人熟悉,不少投資者具備相關實戰經驗,習慣以一整筆資金購買股票、債券、基金等資產。兩項策略各有特點,在不同的市況下,其所產生的回報可能出現明顯差異。市場普遍認為,如資產價格持續走高,一筆過投資會為冷靜和經驗豐富的投資者提供更可觀的回報。不過,我們應謹記:

  • 捕捉最佳的出入市時機,是一筆過投資的成功關鍵,但要做到低買高賣並非易事。
  • 經驗豐富的投資者比較能做好情緒管理,以較平靜和靈活的態度應對市場變化。
  • 經驗較淺的投資者傾向猜測市場動向,並對短期市場變化反應過度,最終被迫損手離場。

策略執行全自動 主動實踐靠自己

願意在市場投資時間幾乎肯定較捕捉市場時機更為可取。投資是一場持久戰,保持耐性的投資者或許得到獎勵(獲得回報),而焦急衝動的投資者則可能會成為輸家(錄得虧損)。

平均成本法為投資者提供輕鬆但有紀律的投資方法,其策略本質是排除市況及心理因素的影響,按指示自動進行定期定額投資,避免作出錯誤的決定。如果投資者認為這方法對自己有幫助,便要主動踏出第一步,尋找具長線增長潛力的資產,設立月供投資計劃。

 

下載全份文件

 

按此了解更多關於月供投資計劃

 


 

1 資料來源:MSCI明晟,截至2022年2月28日。總回報以美元計。指數價值於2018年3月30日重訂基數為10美元(最初單位價格)。每月投資於每月底以重訂基數的單位價格進行。截至2022年2月28日,MSCI明晟新興市場指數的地區分布如下:中國(31.76%)、台灣(16.15%)、印度(12.37%)、南韓(12.26%)、巴西(4.98%)和其他(22.48%)。上述例子只供參考。不同的投資會有不同的波幅。過往表現並非日後表現的指標。

  • 可持續投資:剖析ESG的企業管治因素

    企業管治措施釐定一家公司建立持份者價值的方針,包括如何致力緩解風險,以及追求與環境和社會因素相關的機會。

    閱讀更多
  • 甚麼是漂綠

    隨著民眾對氣候變化和社會議題的意識提升,更多投資者希望能夠投資於對社會和環境產生正面影響的基金。因此,可持續投資產品的需求正迅速增長。

    閱讀更多
  • 建構投資組合 助你穩步邁向目標

    你或許需要建構一個集資產配置、風險管理、資本增值於一身的投資組合,才有望穩步邁進目標。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
確認