Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

Why demographic change requires a new set of cards

14 December 2021

Decreasing birth rates are shining a light on Asia’s economic sustainability. In response, many governments are considering incentives to encourage larger families. These evolving policies will be vitally important, as the region looks to sustain a fast-greying population. Asia’s demographic trends may be broadly consistent, but different factors are in play depending on the birth rates and population goals in individual countries or markets.

 

 

Here are some interesting demographic numbers.


-0.5 Japan
 
The need to reverse Japan’s falling fertility rate
 
In 2020, there was another dip in Japan’s fertility rate to 1.34 (around 0.5 below the government’s target of 1.8 by 2025), which is among the lowest in the world. This ongoing weakness only adds to existing concerns about the damage this decline is having on the economy.

13% Thailand
 
Thailand’s shrinking workforce
 
Thailand’s population is ageing rapidly, and the trend shows no sign of abating. The number of people aged 65 or older is projected to rise from 13% at present to 31% in 2060. Should this increase prove accurate, it could cut 0.86% from the country’s economic growth in the 2020s.
  • How much do you know about rates?

    Recognise the different terms related to interest rates and understand how much yield global government bonds can offer.

    Read more
  • Four essential keywords related to interest rates

    Central banks in some emerging and Asian markets have started to hike rates, but deposit rates may not necessarily move in tandem. This would gradually erode depositors’ purchasing power in an inflationary environment. To achieve potential returns that beat inflation, deposit-focused investors should base any investment decisions on their risk tolerance levels and wealth management objectives.

    Read more
  • Tips to manage your budget

    Keeping an eye on income and spending is not easy. However, working to a budget can simplify matters. Once you have established a reliable system that tracks your money, you’ll find it easier to take control of your finances.

    Read more
See all

2=SGD 31,000 Singapore
 
Improved baby bonus in Singapore
 
Among the steps being taken in Singapore to halt a decreasing fertility rate is an increase in the baby bonus paid by the government on the birth of a second child. Eligible couples receive a cash gift and a development account that parents can match dollar for dollar. This account can be used to fund the child’s education and healthcare expenses. The terms of these payments were enhanced to as much as SGD 31,000 in 2021 as an incentive for families to have two children.

12 million China
 
China now allows three-children families
 
Census data in China showed that around 12 million babies were born in 2020, a notable fall from 18 million in 2016. Of greater concern is the fact that it was the lowest number of births recorded since the 1960s. Some observers believe that the main deterrent is the high cost of raising children in cities. Nevertheless, some people have decided to give birth a second time, and a further policy change targets this group. In May 2021, China increased the permitted number of children to three.

2 India
 
India looking to limit childbirth rates
 
India’s two most populous states have taken steps to ensure that families have no more than two children. In its largest state, Uttar Pradesh, where population density is more than double the country’s average, the state government is proposing legislation that would mean couples with more than two children would be denied benefits or subsidies. What’s more, they would be prevented from working for the local authority. A range of incentives is available to couples who sign up for sterilisation, including financial assistance to help buy or build a home.

3 Indonesia
 
Indonesia seeks birth reductions
 
Similarly, Indonesia also sees growth in its population. At present, the fertility rate is three children per woman. The government wants to bring that number down to an average of 2.1 by 2025. In response, the authorities are looking at measures that will reduce current numbers. These include family planning initiatives and improved contraception, as well as encouraging people to delay marriage until later in life.

14 December 2021

Decreasing birth rates are shining a light on Asia’s economic sustainability. In response, many governments are considering incentives to encourage larger families. These evolving policies will be vitally important, as the region looks to sustain a fast-greying population. Asia’s demographic trends may be broadly consistent, but different factors are in play depending on the birth rates and population goals in individual countries or markets.

Here are some interesting demographic numbers.

-0.5 Japan

The need to reverse Japan’s falling fertility rate


In 2020, there was another dip in Japan’s fertility rate to 1.34 (around 0.5 below the government’s target of 1.8 by 2025), which is among the lowest in the world. This ongoing weakness only adds to existing concerns about the damage this decline is having on the economy.

13% Thailand

 

Thailand’s shrinking workforce


Thailand’s population is ageing rapidly, and the trend shows no sign of abating. The number of people aged 65 or older is projected to rise from 13% at present to 31% in 2060. Should this increase prove accurate, it could cut 0.86% from the country’s economic growth in the 2020s.

2=SGD 31,000 Singapore

 

Improved baby bonus in Singapore


Among the steps being taken in Singapore to halt a decreasing fertility rate is an increase in the baby bonus paid by the government on the birth of a second child. Eligible couples receive a cash gift and a development account that parents can match dollar for dollar. This account can be used to fund the child’s education and healthcare expenses. The terms of these payments were enhanced to as much as SGD 31,000 in 2021 as an incentive for families to have two children.

12 million China

 

China now allows three-children families


Census data in China showed that around 12 million babies were born in 2020, a notable fall from 18 million in 2016. Of greater concern is the fact that it was the lowest number of births recorded since the 1960s. Some observers believe that the main deterrent is the high cost of raising children in cities. Nevertheless, some people have decided to give birth a second time, and a further policy change targets this group. In May 2021, China increased the permitted number of children to three.

2 India

 

India looking to limit childbirth rates


India’s two most populous states have taken steps to ensure that families have no more than two children. In its largest state, Uttar Pradesh, where population density is more than double the country’s average, the state government is proposing legislation that would mean couples with more than two children would be denied benefits or subsidies. What’s more, they would be prevented from working for the local authority. A range of incentives is available to couples who sign up for sterilisation, including financial assistance to help buy or build a home.

3 Indonesia

 

Indonesia seeks birth reductions


Similarly, Indonesia also sees growth in its population. At present, the fertility rate is three children per woman. The government wants to bring that number down to an average of 2.1 by 2025. In response, the authorities are looking at measures that will reduce current numbers. These include family planning initiatives and improved contraception, as well as encouraging people to delay marriage until later in life.

  • Will the Fed's approach to interest-rate hikes trigger a U.S. recession?

    Concerns about recession risks are rising amid seemingly persistent inflation and rising interest rates. Find out to what extent these fears are warranted.

    Read more
  • How is the surging US dollar affecting Asian currencies?

    We draw insights from our pan-Asia fixed income and equity teams, who examine the impact of US-dollar strength and what this means for currencies in the region.

    Read more
  • China rolls out measures to support economic growth

    We believe that the latest supportive measures reiterate China’s stance on economic stability and see opportunities in China and Hong Kong equities that could benefit from these policy actions.

    Read more
See all
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

應對人口結構轉變 打「生育牌」需新思維

14/12/2021

出生率下降暴露了亞洲經濟可持續發展的問題。為此,多國政府正考慮推出措施,鼓勵家庭生育。政策不斷演變,對維持亞洲各地同步急速老化的人口至關重要。整體而言,區內人口趨勢可能一致,但影響因素各有不同,取決於個別國家或地區的出生率及人口目標。

 

 

以下分享部份較有趣的人口統計數據。


-0.5 日本

日本急需扭轉生育率下跌趨勢

在2020年,日本生育率進一步跌至1.34(較2025年政府的目標1.8低約0.5),成為全球生育率最低的國家之一。生育率趨勢持續疲弱,加深民眾對不利經濟增長的憂慮。.

13% 泰國

泰國勞動人口逐漸萎縮

泰國人口急速老化,而且趨勢未有減弱的跡象。據世界銀行的預測,到了2060年,65歲或以上人口將由目前的13%增加至31%。若這個增幅預測準確,泰國2020年代經濟增長料下降0.86%。
  • 利率知多少?

    辨識與利率相關的詞彙,了解環球政府債券孳息率之間的差異。

    閱讀更多
  • 四個與「利率」相關的關鍵字 你要知

    部份新興市場及亞洲央行開始加息,但存款利率未必跟升,存戶的購買力在通脹環境下逐漸被蠶食 。存款為主的投資者,可根據風險承受能力及理財目標進行投資,以求取得高於通脹的潛在回報。

    閱讀更多
  • 個人預算管理貼士

    要時刻留意個人收支狀況並不容易,但制定預算可以把事情化繁為簡。當你成功建立一套可靠的系統記錄收支款項,理財自然就會更加輕鬆。

    閱讀更多
查看全部

2=31,000坡元 新加坡

新加坡生育獎勵加碼

新加坡政府增加生育第二名子女的獎勵金,作為遏止生育率下降的措施之一。合資格夫婦可獲現金獎勵及開立一個兒童發展配對帳戶(Child Development Account),用於補貼子女的教育和醫療開支。政府已在2021 年提高有關津貼條款,目前生育兩個小孩可合共獲得高達3.1 萬坡元的獎勵。

1,200萬 中國

中國實施「三孩政策」

中國人口普查數據顯示,2020年約有1,200萬名新生兒,較2016年的1,800萬名出現明顯下跌。更令人擔憂的是,這創下中國自1960年代以來的最低出生率。部份觀察員認為,出生率下降主要因為在城市育兒的成本高昂。儘管如此,有人仍選擇第二胎,他們成了中國當局增加人口目標的對象,在2021年5月進一步放寛政策,容許每對夫婦生育三個小孩。

2 印度

印度擬限制生育

印度人口最多的兩個邦份已採取措施,確保每個家庭最多生育兩名子女。北方邦(Uttar Pradesh) 是印度最大邦份,目前人口密度較印度平均水平高出超過一倍,因此當地政府建議立法,規定生育超過兩名子女的夫婦將不能享有政府福利或津貼,亦不得擔任政府公職人員。選擇絕育的夫婦可獲享一系列獎勵,包括購置或建造房屋財政援助。

3 印尼

印尼提倡減少生育

無獨有偶,印尼亦面對人口增加的情況。目前,每名婦女的平均生育率為3。印尼政府希望生育率可在2025年或之前降至平均2.1。因此,政府擬採取措施降低新增人口數目,包括進行家庭計劃指導、改善避孕效果、鼓勵遲婚等。

14/12/2021

出生率下降暴露了亞洲經濟可持續發展的問題。為此,多國政府正考慮推出措施,鼓勵家庭生育。政策不斷演變,對維持亞洲各地同步急速老化的人口至關重要。整體而言,區內人口趨勢可能一致,但影響因素各有不同,取決於個別國家或地區的出生率及人口目標。

以下分享部份較有趣的人口統計數據。

-0.5 日本

日本急需扭轉生育率下跌趨勢


在2020年,日本生育率進一步跌至1.34(較2025年政府的目標1.8低約0.5),成為全球生育率最低的國家之一。生育率趨勢持續疲弱,加深民眾對不利經濟增長的憂慮。

13% 泰國

 

泰國勞動人口逐漸萎縮


泰國人口急速老化,而且趨勢未有減弱的跡象。據世界銀行的預測,到了2060年,65歲或以上人口將由目前的13%增加至31%。若這個增幅預測準確,泰國2020年代經濟增長料下降0.86%。

2=31,000坡元 新加坡

 

新加坡生育獎勵加碼


新加坡政府增加生育第二名子女的獎勵金,作為遏止生育率下降的措施之一。合資格夫婦可獲現金獎勵及開立一個兒童發展配對帳戶(Child Development Account),用於補貼子女的教育和醫療開支。政府已在2021 年提高有關津貼條款,目前生育兩個小孩可合共獲得高達3.1 萬坡元的獎勵。

1,200萬 中國

 

中國實施「三孩政策」


中國人口普查數據顯示,2020年約有1,200萬名新生兒,較2016年的1,800萬名出現明顯下跌。更令人擔憂的是,這創下中國自1960年代以來的最低出生率。部份觀察員認為,出生率下降主要因為在城市育兒的成本高昂。儘管如此,有人仍選擇第二胎,他們成了中國當局增加人口目標的對象,在2021年5月進一步放寛政策,容許每對夫婦生育三個小孩。

2 印度

 

印度擬限制生育


印度人口最多的兩個邦份已採取措施,確保每個家庭最多生育兩名子女。北方邦(Uar Pradesh) 是印度最大邦份,目前人口密度較印度平均水平高出超過一倍,因此當地政府建議立法,規定生育超過兩名子女的夫婦將不能享有政府福利或津貼,亦不得擔任政府公職人員。選擇絕育的夫婦可獲享一系列獎勵,包括購置或建造房屋財政援助。

3 印尼

 

印尼提倡減少生育


無獨有偶,印尼亦面對人口增加的情況。目前,每名婦女的平均生育率為3。印尼政府希望生育率可在2025年或之前降至平均2.1。因此,政府擬採取措施降低新增人口數目,包括進行家庭計劃指導、改善避孕效果、鼓勵遲婚等。

  • 聯儲局的加息方針會否引發美國經濟衰退?

    在通脹看似持續、利率不斷上漲之際,關於衰退風險的顧慮正在加劇。探究這些顧慮的合理程度。

    閱讀更多
  • 美元飆升如何影響亞洲貨幣?

    我們的泛亞洲固定收益和股票團隊分享見解,審視美元走強所帶來的影響,以及對區內貨幣的意義。

    閱讀更多
  • 中國推出支持經濟增長的措施

    我們相信,最新支持性政策最新舉措重申中國對保持經濟穩定的立場不變,中港股市料將有機會受惠於這些支持性政策行動。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
確認