Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

Chinese RMB breaks 7 – what it means for China’s economy and credit markets

28 August, 2019

Fiona Cheung, Head of Credit, Asia
 

On 5 August, the Chinese renminbi (RMB) notably depreciated against the US dollar (USD), breaching the psychologically important level of “7 per dollar” in response to a reescalation of Sino-US trade tensions1 . Three days later (8 August), the People’s Bank of China (PBoC) fixed the RMB’s midpoint2 weaker than “7” for the first time since 2008. In this investment note, our Asian credit team shares its views on how the RMB’s acute weakness, if sustained, may impact China’s economy and credit markets. 

Our view: Depreciation as a strategic measure amid increasing economic uncertainty

To understand the RMB’s sudden weakness, we need to look at the macroeconomic backdrop of a sharp deterioration in Sino-US trade relations and accommodative rhetoric by major global central banks. On 1 August, the US administration announced a fresh round of tariffs on US$300 billion of Chinese imports to be implemented on 1 September3. The unexpected announcement came after the two countries had agreed at the June G-20 summit to resume trade talks. On 5 August, the US Department of the Treasury announced that China was a currency manipulator, escalating bilateral tensions further. At the same time, major global banks have followed the US Federal Reserve’s (Fed) dovish tone, trimming growth forecasts and pledging lower interest rates.

That said, we see the RMB’s depreciation as a one-off strategic measure by the Chinese government that is designed to blunt the impact of these rising global economic risks. This is different from the last significant devaluation back in August 2015, when comprehensive RMB pricing-and-flow reforms were also introduced in order for the currency to be included in International Monetary Fund’s Special Drawing Right (SDR) basket.

Overall, the weakening of the RMB against the USD should not be viewed as an outlier, as other major global and regional currencies have also recently weakened against the greenback due to dovish central bank policies and rising geopolitical risks (see Chart 1).

Historically, the central bank has supported the RMB, fixing the currency at a stronger level after acute market selloffs and spending roughly US$1 trillion of its massive foreign exchange reserves4 over the past five years (see Chart 2).

After the RMB’s recent dip, we do not expect further aggressive currency depreciation for two reasons: 1) Expectations of a more acute decline could spark capital outflow worries; 2) The RMB/USD interest-rate gap is now widening, as the Fed is expected to cut rates further while the PBoC remains neutral.

Economic impact: Policy to redistribute economic pain to stronger segments

From an economic perspective, we do not think that a weaker RMB will lead to a material increase in growth. China’s current account has turned to a surplus of roughly 0.4% of GDP5, meaning trade is not a major driver of growth at present. The impact of an increase in exports should also be marginal.

However, the currency’s depreciation may have significant distributional impacts. A weaker RMB helps to boost margins in the struggling export sector, right at the time when it may face escalating costs. Simultaneously, it hurts the burgeoning import and consumption sector, which has driven recent economic growth. Thus, the currency move could boost social stability while distributing pain to a more robust segment of the Chinese economy.

Credit impact: Companies with substantial non-RMB debt exposure and currency mismatches may be the most vulnerable

We believe that the impact of RMB weakness on sovereign-debt markets will be quite limited: foreign debt as a total of Chinese government debt remains quite small6. The effect on corporate-debt markets, however, may be more significant, especially for those sectors or companies with large currency mismatches and unhedged foreign-exchange risk and weak margins, particularly if the currency remains at a lower level for a prolonged period. In particular:

  • Industries that have a high exposure to non-RMB debt include property developers and airlines: some of the firms in these industries have over 30% of their total debt denominated in foreign currency7. Any further depreciation in the value of the RMB will lead to weaker debt-servicing ability and higher leverage among affected businesses.
  • Companies that have primarily RMB revenues but with a USD-denominated cost base and thin margins - downstream petrochemical and pulp/ paper companies- are particularly vulnerable. In addition, consumption-related industries that rely on imports, such as luxury goods and foreign brand distributors, could see lower profit margins or weaker demand for their products. To a lesser extent, travel-related and Macau gaming sectors may also be negatively affected due to higher costs for Chinese international travellers.

Amid the escalation of the Sino-US trade war and potential for a further RMB weakening, we also expect issuers to be more cautious with their foreign-debt exposure that could lead to lower appetite to issue in the offshore bond market.

Conclusion

While we believe there’s still a high level of uncertainty on the eventual outcome of the US and China trade tension and its potential drag to the global economy we remain constructive of the credit fundamentals of China’s corporates we cover, which are largely intact on the back of ample market liquidity. We also believe that stronger companies are well positioned to withstand any further fall in the RMB, given their good access to domestic funding and manageable USD debt maturity profile.

  • Will the Fed's approach to interest-rate hikes trigger a U.S. recession?

    Concerns about recession risks are rising amid seemingly persistent inflation and rising interest rates. Find out to what extent these fears are warranted.

    Read more
  • How is the surging US dollar affecting Asian currencies?

    We draw insights from our pan-Asia fixed income and equity teams, who examine the impact of US-dollar strength and what this means for currencies in the region.

    Read more
  • China rolls out measures to support economic growth

    We believe that the latest supportive measures reiterate China’s stance on economic stability and see opportunities in China and Hong Kong equities that could benefit from these policy actions.

    Read more
See all


Chart 1: Major global and regional currency weakness against US dollar8


Chart 2: China’s dwindling foreign exchange reserves9


1 Bloomberg, 5 August 2019.

2 The RMB is allowed to trade in a narrow daily band which is defined by a midpoint fixing rate set by the PBoC each morning.

3 Tariffs on a portion of the US$300 billion tranche have been delayed until at least mid-December.

4 Source: Manulife Investment Management. Assumption based on the drop in foreign exchange reserves from 2014-2018

5 Source: State Administration of Foreign Exchange, as of 31 December 2018.

6 Foreign debt accounts for only 0.4% of China’s total sovereign debt, inclusive of debt issued by provincial governments, as of 2018. Source: Moody’s, August 2019.

7 Company financials as of 2018

8 Bloomberg, as of 13 August 2019.

9 People’s Bank of China as of Dec 2018.

  • Will the Fed's approach to interest-rate hikes trigger a U.S. recession?

    Concerns about recession risks are rising amid seemingly persistent inflation and rising interest rates. Find out to what extent these fears are warranted.

    read more
  • How is the surging US dollar affecting Asian currencies?

    We draw insights from our pan-Asia fixed income and equity teams, who examine the impact of US-dollar strength and what this means for currencies in the region.

    read more
  • China rolls out measures to support economic growth

    We believe that the latest supportive measures reiterate China’s stance on economic stability and see opportunities in China and Hong Kong equities that could benefit from these policy actions.

    read more
see all
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

人民幣「破七」對中國經濟和信貸市場的影響

28/8/2019

張麗萍, 亞洲區信貸部主管
 

中美貿易緊張關係再次升溫,人民幣兌美元匯價於8月5日顯著貶值,跌穿「七算」的心理關口 。三日後(8月8日),中國人民銀行(人行)將人民幣兌美元中間價 定於「七算」以下水平,是自2008年以來首次。在本投資通訊,亞洲信貸團隊分享他們的觀點,剖析人民幣持續顯著走弱對中國經濟和信貸市場可能造成的影響。;

 

 

我們的觀點:人民幣貶值是經濟日益不明朗下的策略性措施 

要了解人民幣為何突然轉弱,我們必先了解宏觀經濟環境:中美貿易關係急轉直下,以及環球主要央行發表溫和的言論。在6月舉行的20國集團(G20)峰會上,中美兩國同意重啟貿易談判;其後在8月1日,美國政府突然宣布將於9月1日起就3,000億美元中國進口貨品開徵新一輪關稅 。在8月5日,美國財政部宣布將中國列為匯率操縱國,令兩國緊張局勢進一步升溫。同時,環球主要央行跟隨美國聯儲局發表溫和的言論,下調經濟增長預測並承諾減息。

儘管如此,我們認為人民幣貶值只是中國政府的一次性策略措施,目的是減低上述環球經濟風險增加的影響。這次貶值有別當局上一次於2015年8月進行的大幅貶值,當時人民幣亦展開全面定價和流通量改革,以便納入國際貨幣基金組織的特別提款權籃子。

整體來說,人民幣兌美元貶值不應被視為異常情況,因為多國央行政策立場溫和及地緣政治風險上升,亦令其他環球或地區主要貨幣兌美元近期轉弱(見圖1)。

過往,人行一直支持人民幣匯價;每當人民幣遭到市場大幅拋售,當局總會把人民幣匯價定於較強水平。在過去五年,人行為此已動用約1萬億美元的龐大外匯儲備[1](見圖2)。

繼近期下跌後,我們預期人民幣不會進一步大幅貶值,原因有二:1) 人民幣急跌的預期或會引發市場憂慮資金外流;2) 由於預期美國聯儲局進一步減息,而人行則維持中性立場,人民幣與美元之間的息差正在擴闊。

經濟影響:政策衝擊轉移至較強的經濟範疇 

從經濟角度來看,我們認為人民幣貶值不會導致經濟增長顯著上升。中國的經常帳已轉虧為盈,相當於國內生產總值約0.4% [1],意味貿易現時並非中國經濟增長的主要動力。出口增加的影響亦應微不足道。

然而,人民幣貶值或會把經濟衝擊轉移至較強的經濟範疇。出口業目前因成本可能上漲而受困,人民幣轉弱有助提升出口業的利潤,但同時會對發展蓬勃、近來成為經濟增長動力的進口與消費業造成打擊。因此,人民幣貶值可望促進社會穩定性,同時將衝擊轉移至中國經濟較為暢旺的範疇。

信貸影響:非人民幣債務龐大和貨幣錯配的公司或最容易受到影響 

我們認為人民幣偏軟對主權債券市場的影響相當有限,因外債佔中國政府債務總額的比例依然頗低[1]。然而,這對企業債券市場造成的影響可能較大,特別是貨幣嚴重錯配、未有對沖外匯風險和利潤偏低的行業或公司。若人民幣在一段長時間持續走弱,相關影響將更加明顯。具體而言:

  • 非人民幣債務龐大的行業包括地產發展商和航空業。在這些行業中,部份公司的外幣計價債務佔總額超過30% [1]。一旦人民幣進一步貶值,將會削弱有關公司的償債能力,並提高其槓桿比率。
  • 那些主要收益為人民幣,但成本基礎以美元計值,而且利潤低的企業,例如是下游化工及紙漿/紙業公司,特別容易受到影響。此外,高檔貨品和海外品牌分銷商等依賴進口的消費相關行業,或會面對產品利潤下跌或需求轉弱的情況。由於中國旅客的外遊成本增加,旅遊相關行業和澳門博彩業亦可能受到波及,但影響較少。    

在中美貿易戰升溫,以及人民幣可能進一步貶值之際,預期發行商將更審慎管理外債風險,因而削弱發行離岸債券的意欲。

總結

雖然中美貿易爭議的最終結果仍然充滿變數,其對環球經濟的潛在影響亦難以估計,但在市場流動性充裕的支持下,我們仍然看好在分析涵蓋範圍內的中國企業,其信貸基本因素將大致保持不變。鑑於實力穩健的企業較容易取得本土融資,而且美元債務到期情況並不緊迫,因此我們相信其有能力抵禦人民幣進一步貶值的衝擊。

  • 聯儲局的加息方針會否引發美國經濟衰退?

    在通脹看似持續、利率不斷上漲之際,關於衰退風險的顧慮正在加劇。探究這些顧慮的合理程度。

    閱讀更多
  • 美元飆升如何影響亞洲貨幣?

    我們的泛亞洲固定收益和股票團隊分享見解,審視美元走強所帶來的影響,以及對區內貨幣的意義。

    閱讀更多
  • 中國推出支持經濟增長的措施

    我們相信,最新支持性政策最新舉措重申中國對保持經濟穩定的立場不變,中港股市料將有機會受惠於這些支持性政策行動。

    閱讀更多
查看全部


圖1:環球及地區主要貨幣兌美元匯價疲弱8


圖2:中國外匯儲備減少9


1 彭博資訊,2019年8月5日。

人民幣匯價可於窄幅波動區間內浮動,該區間是根據人行每日早上發布的匯率中間價釐定。

3 在3,000億美元被徵稅的中國進口貨品當中,部份貨品的實施日期已押後最少至12月中。 

4 資料來源:宏利投資管理。有關假設是基於2014年至2018年期間外匯儲備的減幅而作出。

5 資料來源:中國國家外匯管理局,截至2018年12月31日。 

6 外債僅佔中國主權債務總額(包括省政府發行的債務)的0.4%,截至2018年。資料來源:穆迪,2019年8月。 

7 截至2018年的企業財務資料。

8 彭博資訊,截至2019年8月13日。

9 中國人民銀行,截至2018年12月。

  • 聯儲局的加息方針會否引發美國經濟衰退?

    在通脹看似持續、利率不斷上漲之際,關於衰退風險的顧慮正在加劇。探究這些顧慮的合理程度。

    read more
  • 美元飆升如何影響亞洲貨幣?

    我們的泛亞洲固定收益和股票團隊分享見解,審視美元走強所帶來的影響,以及對區內貨幣的意義。

    read more
  • 中國推出支持經濟增長的措施

    我們相信,最新支持性政策最新舉措重申中國對保持經濟穩定的立場不變,中港股市料將有機會受惠於這些支持性政策行動。

    read more
see all
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
確認