Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

Greater China Equities: Opportunities abound for stock pickers

14 January 2022

Kai Kong Chay, Senior Portfolio Manager, Greater China Equities
 

2021 was an eventful year for the Greater China equity market. During the first quarter, better-than-expected macroeconomic data attracted investors. However, in the second half of the year, Beijing introduced a series of targeted industry regulations that dulled sentiment and drove investors to the sidelines, causing offshore Chinese equities to plummet throughout the third and fourth quarters. In contrast, the mainland A-shares market remained relatively stable, and tech stocks propelled Taiwan equity to record highs. Kai-Kong Chay, Senior Portfolio Manager for Greater China equities, believes that amid unprecedented change, such as the pandemic accelerating China’s transition process, investors can capture potential opportunities in onshore (A-shares), Hong Kong and Taiwan equity markets by employing a bottom-up, stock-picking approach, as current valuations present compelling opportunities.

Market review

The performance of Greater China equities was varied in 2021, and this was particularly so for Chinese and Hong Kong stocks. Offshore and onshore Chinese equities continued to diverge, as the former experienced a considerable correction amid concerns about rising COVID-19 cases and regulatory tightening. The MSCI China Index, which comprises mega-cap internet and e-commerce names listed offshore, registered a loss of more than 22%. Meanwhile, A-shares gained slightly, helped by a higher representation of industries that align with the sustainability push in China, such as the electric-vehicle (EV) supply chain and renewable-energy plays. Taiwan equities performed superbly, rising by 25%.1
 

Chart 1: 2021 market review for China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan equities

Bloomberg, as of 28 December 2021.

Regulatory concerns: internet platform rectification and real-estate deleveraging

In the second half of 2021, investors grew concerned about default risk among high-profile property developers given tighter regulation and tighter liquidity. During the third quarter, several market segments, such as after-school tutoring, property- management services, and internet platforms, also faced a regulatory squeeze that resulted in a sharp sell-off in some sectors.2

The situation became more settled in the fourth quarter of 2021, as investors digested the most severe measures.

Turning to internet platform providers, it’s worth noting that the October study session of the Politburo called for the “co-existence of regulation and development for internet platforms” – stating that the digital economy is crucial for enhancing productivity and international competitiveness. Thereafter, the finalising of antitrust fines on some major platforms provided clarity, as the issue had clouded the sector. We believe the year-to-date correction, led by the regulatory clampdown in the third quarter, has allowed fundamental value to emerge in these sectors of Chinese equities.

Regarding the real-estate sector, potential credit events still grabbed the headlines, but the Chinese government signalled that the debt crisis relating to a leading property developer was manageable, and any spillover risks would be contained. As a matter of fact, there are signs that credit conditions may be easing for the battered real estate industry. Bank lending to property developers rose sharply in October and November, with momentum expected to continue.

2022 outlook

Despite the market volatility triggered by negative sentiment and industry regulation, China’s macroeconomy was supported by a rebound in exports, rising foreign reserves, and a steadily appreciating renminbi. These factors allowed it to recover from the pandemic.

Besides internal macroeconomic tailwinds, both onshore and offshore Chinese equities can potentially benefit from a more accommodative monetary policy. In December, the US Federal Reserve (the Fed) began tapering its bond-purchase programme. Meanwhile, the PBOC took advantage of the timing to cut its reserve requirement ratio (RRR) for the second time in 2021 and slashed rates for the second time in 20 months, raising liquidity in onshore stock markets. While some industries experienced corrections, they were helped by accommodative government policies. Given accelerated structural transitions, Chinese equities still offer investors a great deal of potential that can be categorised into major themes known as the “5Cs”.

First “C”: COVID-ZERO policy

Promoting industrial production

  • China has followed a COVID-zero policy since 2020. As it was able to control the spread of the disease at an early stage, it was one of the first countries to emerge from the crisis. From mid-2020 onwards, while the pandemic wreaked havoc on global supply chains, China’s COVID measures ensured that industrial production could resume. In turn, this meant that the economy rebounded during the latter stages of the pandemic-led global supply chain disruption. For example, China’s share of global exports rose to 14.6% in the first half of the year, while its exports also drove the economy to outperform market expectations. Indeed, macroeconomic data to November revealed that China’s exports remained robust as the year progressed. Based on its past success, we think the central government will retain strict measures to prevent the spread of the virus.

Second “C”: Common prosperity

Encouraging domestic consumption and innovation

  • The Central Financial and Economic Affairs Commission held its 10th meeting last August when it stressed that common prosperity is an essential requirement of socialism and called for reasonable adjustment of excessive incomes and rearrangement of income distribution to promote common prosperity through high-quality development. We believe the government’s drive for common prosperity will narrow the gaps between individuals, regions, and urban-rural communities to a more acceptable level. Corporate profitability and capital accumulation should remain, albeit the growth rate will be contained. Growing the pie is the foundation of common prosperity, and we think that China’s overall economy could expand even more via domestic consumption and innovation.
  • Dual circulation is a key strategy that outlines how the new economic model will function. On one hand, domestic economic growth will be the primary driver. Domestic consumption and innovation, such as the digital economy and biotech, will still be the anchor that allows China to move forward. On the other hand, China wants to strengthen its position as a high-value global manufacturing hub. Therefore, industrial automation and manufacturing upgrades led by advanced technology will be in focus.

Chart 2: China’s domestic innovation delivers results, as electric-vehicle battery manufacturers have already captured over half of the global market share

Citic Securities, Bloomberg, as of August 2020.

Third “C”: Co-existence of regulation and development for IT and e-commerce

Promoting digitalisation over the longer term

While it may be too early to say if the current regulatory tightening cycle is over, we believe the most severe measures had been released and digested. The swift rectification of businesses and operating models, along with the implementation of necessary measures in the affected industries mean that growth expectations can be reset.  Here, we reiterate the forward-looking, long-term drivers of technology and digitalisation.

Fourth “C”: Carbon peak and carbon neutrality

Peak carbon emissions and promoting new energy

  • Following China’s aim of reaching carbon emissions peak by 2030 and achieving carbon neutrality by 2060, in October the State Council proposed the “Action Plan for Carbon Dioxide Peaking before 2030”, urging the people’s governments of all provinces, autonomous regions and municipalities, as well as all ministries and commissions of the State Council, and all institutions directly under the State Council to implement the overall plan: by 2030, the share of non-fossil energy consumption should reach around 25%, and carbon dioxide emissions per unit of GDP should drop by more than 65% compared with the 2005 level, successfully achieving carbon dioxide peaking before 2030.
  • We see solid investment opportunities in the renewable-energy sector, which enjoys strategic priority for government funding. The construction of wind and photovoltaic bases has already been accelerated thanks to the elevated pace of governmental bond issuance and policy support. Over the longer term, we expect a roadmap that will help China’s journey toward peak carbon emissions by 2030. This will place the country’s decarbonisation efforts under a more institutionalised framework. Overall, we believe that if China can change this energy problem into a manufacturing one, then it’ll greatly help China to achieve carbon peak and carbon neutrality.

Fifth “C”: Changing demographics

  • Changing demographics are reshaping the investment landscape and available opportunities in China. Importantly, this change is in tune with local tastes. We already see this with the evolution of products and brands for old and young alike.
  • The consumption upgrade for China’s population, especially the middle class, is demonstrated by a shift in demand from goods to high-quality lifestyle services like property management and "experiences" such as travel. 
  • For consumer products, the winners will be those that can quickly adapt to local tastes.  We have seen Chinese brands gain market share from foreign equivalents in multiple categories, such as sportswear, skincare, and cosmetics.

Chart 3: Chinese brands’ share trend in cosmetics (%)

Euromonitor, UBS, as of September 2021.

Greater China equities: Unique advantages across three markets

The following section explores investor opportunities in the onshore and offshore markets.

1. Onshore China A-shares market

We see three unique opportunities in A-shares:

  • New energy – especially new-energy equipment firms

Given China’s goal of carbon neutrality, solar and wind energy installations may experience higher growth in the coming years. Despite higher raw-material prices affecting solar energy developments in 2020, which resulted in new installations falling short of expectations in 2021, we believe the number will grow markedly in 2022. With solar energy costs remaining high, new energy operators are more optimistic about wind energy and, therefore, the number of installations may exceed forecasts in 2021 and 2022.

It’s worth mentioning that new-energy sources are leading to changes in the power-grid sector. To cope with competition, capex investment here should also exceed expectations.

In terms of opportunities, new-energy operators are mainly listed in Hong Kong, while new-energy-related materials and equipment companies are primarily traded in A-share markets.

  • The electric-vehicle supply chain

The penetration of EVs continues to rise – especially given the subsidies introduced in Europe and the US. The EV market has evolved from one driven by government subsidies to one led by consumption. With many EVs produced by traditional automobile manufacturers due to hit the market in 2022, EV sales should maintain high levels of growth throughout the year. Many companies that provide materials and equipment to EV supply chains are listed on the A-share market.

  • Semiconductors

The replacement of imported semiconductors with those locally produced in China will be an industry trend lasting several years. In 2021, the semiconductor industry was highly cyclical, and we are optimistic about capital spending in 2022. Overall, then, we are constructive on semiconductor equipment companies. The higher penetration of EVs and solar energy will enhance the structural demand for power-management semiconductors (i.e., semiconductor components related to power and voltage control). As such, the outlook of power semiconductor companies is also more favourable.

2. Hong Kong equity market

Although Hong-Kong listed Chinese equities trailed China A shares and Taiwan equity by a considerable margin in 2021, we need to consider the valuation of the Hang Seng Index over the past five years and a price-to-book (P/B) ratio of less than one, which signals a bottoming out. As of end December 2021, the historic P/B ratio of Hong Kong equities was 0.97, implying that downside risk is limited. Catalysts for Hong Kong’s equity market include an increasing number of IPOs, especially those returning from the US.

Besides, the China Securities Regulatory Commission recently announced that if companies meet compliance requirements and use the variable interest entities (VIE) structure, they will be allowed to list offshore after registration. As the US Securities and Exchange Commission has passed a new rule ordering the delisting of foreign companies that fail to comply with audit regulations for three consecutive years, we expect the number of China concept stocks heading to Hong Kong for IPOs or homecoming listings to grow continuously. This should provide a liquidity boost for Hong Kong equities.

Finally, growth expectations for the large-cap internet and e-commerce sectors have been reset, and we believe that current valuations price in most of the negative news flow. Looking ahead, the long-term drivers of technology and digitalisation remain intact. Catalysts for re-ratings in 2022 could be further clarity on the approval of gaming titles and time-spent limits, strong growth among new retail offerings (e.g., group community purchase), and the increasing penetration of fresh food and grocery e-commerce services. We believe that any risk is on the upside.   

3. Taiwan equity market

After experiencing rapid growth in 2021 (projected at 6%), Taiwan’s GDP is set to expand by 3.3% in 2022, which is slower than 2021 but higher than pre-COVID levels. Corporate earnings may slow to 0–3%, with negative growth in the materials sector and cyclical equities being the leading detractors. The earnings prospects for most electronics companies remain bright. For example, semiconductor and server companies, as well as automotive electronics, are expected to achieve double-digit earnings growth.

Stock-picking rather than market selection should be in favour throughout 2022. Corporate profits may recede in the second quarter of the year, and the Fed is widely anticipated to raise interest rates. Historical data suggests that Taiwan equity performance would, to a large extent, be negatively correlated to Fed policy, meaning we may see Taiwan equities peak in the first quarter of 2022. Key investment themes include mid-cap electronics such as integrated-circuit (IC) designers, servers, EVs, and the metaverse-related names; banks that can benefit from rate hikes; and stocks that will be boosted by the post-pandemic recovery.

We believe the ongoing semiconductor shortage will extend into the first half of 2022, with Taiwan’s IC foundries emerging as major beneficiaries. Given chip prices are set to rise further in the first quarter of 2022, gross margins are expected to trend upwards. Meanwhile, IC design companies can also gain from the shortage. The substitution effect has begun to occur, with Taiwan chips gradually replacing supplies from Europe and America, implying that IC prices have room for upward adjustments.

Having borne the brunt of the pandemic in the third quarter of 2021, Southeast Asia is showing signs of recovery. Downstream electronics account for most of the Taiwanese manufacturers in China, and their production has not suffered severely thanks to redeployment strategies and an easing of power rationing measures since the final quarter of the year. Manufacturers have also taken steps to lower the risks associated with power rationing. Furthermore, the current factory utilisation rate of Taiwanese manufacturers in Southeast Asia, most of them being textiles and shoe producers, has rebounded by over 80%. Manufacturers are also actively diversifying to avoid overexposure to Vietnam.

Greater choice in a varied asset class

Given its increasingly diverse range of investment opportunities, the Greater China equity universe will be best approached from a bottom-up, stock-picking perspective rather than by focusing on a narrower band of individual markets. We are encouraged by developments across all share types, most notably the swift growth in renewables, Hong Kong’s burgeoning IPO sector, and changes in the semiconductor supply chain. Furthermore, China’s expanding middle class and its desire for domestic brands provides us, as active managers, with a deeper well of ideas from which to draw. Lastly, we believe that the most stringent regulatory measures are now behind us. This, coupled with a hoped-for easing of COVID-related concerns, should see investor confidence accelerate in 2022.

Download full PDF

 


Bloomberg. Total return in USD, as of 27 December 2021. MSCI China Index measuring performances of large-to-mid cap SOEs, red chips, A-shares, B-shares and Chinese stocks listed overseas fell 22.62%; MSCI Hong Kong Index declined 4.31%, MSCI China A-share Index rose 3.38%; MSCI Taiwan Index increased 25.18%. Past performance is not indicative of future performance.

On 24 July 2021, the “Opinions on Reducing Homework Burden and After-school Tutoring Burden of Students in the Compulsory Education Stage” (aka "Double Reduction" policy) was officially released by Chinese government. Ministry of Housing and Urban-Rural Development of the People’s Republic of China, 23 July 2021. The Cyberspace Administration of China (CAC) announced a cybersecurity inspection on certain ride-hailing platforms in early July soon after the IPOs of a few concerned companies in the US.

 

  • Global Macro Outlook Q3 2022: Navigating the gathering storm

    Find out how shifts in the macro backdrop could affect the global economy in the third quarter and where resilience can be found.

    Read more
  • Global Macro Outlook Q2 2022: An unexpected turn of events

    Mounting inflationary pressure, soaring Geopolitical tensions, and rising interest rates—recent developments have necessitated a reassessment of growth. We examine how they might shape global capital markets in the coming months.

    Read more
  • Long-term structural strengths and resilience of Indian economy to continue despite cyclical challenges

    Although significant cyclical challenges will likely persist in India over the short-term, the longer-term story based on deepening formalisation and a growing digital economy and manufacturing base remains intact.

    Read more
See all
  • Global Macro Outlook Q3 2022: Navigating the gathering storm

    Find out how shifts in the macro backdrop could affect the global economy in the third quarter and where resilience can be found.

    read more
  • Global Macro Outlook Q2 2022: An unexpected turn of events

    Mounting inflationary pressure, soaring Geopolitical tensions, and rising interest rates—recent developments have necessitated a reassessment of growth. We examine how they might shape global capital markets in the coming months.

    read more
  • Long-term structural strengths and resilience of Indian economy to continue despite cyclical challenges

    Although significant cyclical challenges will likely persist in India over the short-term, the longer-term story based on deepening formalisation and a growing digital economy and manufacturing base remains intact.

    read more
see all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

大中華股票:充滿選股機遇

14/1/2022

大中華區股票部高級組合經理 謝企剛
 

大中華股市經歷了不平凡的2021年:首季在宏觀經濟數據勝預期的推動下,投資者追捧中國股票;下半年過後,內地政府推出多項針對性的行業監管措施,市場氣氛轉淡,投資者轉趨謹慎及觀望,拖累離岸中資股票市場在第三至第四季大幅回落。相反,內地A股市場保持相對平穩,台灣股市更在科技股帶動下屢創新高。大中華區股票部高級組合經理謝企剛相信,中國市場經歷如疫情般前所未見的轉變,令中國加速轉型的步伐,投資者可透過「自下而上」的選股策略,捕捉在岸(A股),港股及台股的潛在投資機遇。

市場回顧

2021年大中華股票市場表現迥異,特別是中港股市。離岸及在岸中國股票走勢持續分歧,前者受2019-新型冠狀病毒疫情回升及監管憂慮拖累而顯著調整,包含國企、紅籌、離岸上市中資股的MSCI明晟中國指數,累積下跌逾22%。反觀內地A股受應對經濟下行風險的政策支持,錄得輕微升幅。台灣股票表現一枝獨秀,累積升幅達25%1
 

圖1: 2021年中港台股市表現

彭博資訊,截至2021年12月28日。

房地產、資訊科技平台的監管憂慮

政府連番推出及重申行業監管措施,以及著名房地產發展商出現流動性緊絀,引發違約憂慮,均成為2021下半年市場關注的焦點。在第三季,政府對課後培訓、物業管理服務、互聯網平台等個別行業板塊的監管政策收緊,導致部份板塊出現顯著拋售。自第四季以來,情況略見緩和,市場亦已消化大部份嚴厲措施的影響。

對於互聯網平台,在10月份的政治局集體學習會議上,中央政府呼籲應該兼顧互聯網平台的監管與發展,並表示數碼經濟對於提升生產力及國際競爭力至關重要。其後,部份主要平台的反壟斷罰款結案,投資者認為行業的利淡因素可望緩減。從基本因素來說,我們認為第三季的監管整頓導致股市從年初至今出現調整,目前中國股市內相關板塊已經開始呈現價值。

房地產方面,儘管可能發生的信貸事件繼續備受關注,但中國政府表示個別大型發展商的債務危機及骨牌效應風險受控,金融機構對房地產企業的融資行為已恢復至正常狀態。數據顯示,10月和11月份內地住房按揭貸款及房地產發展商放貸的規模持續增加,而且預期動力會維持。

2022年展望

雖然不少投資者聚焦各項負面因素所帶來的市場波動,行業監管亦令投資者對持保留態度,但宏觀而言,中國經濟經歷了出口反彈、外匯儲備增加、人民幣穩步升值的2021年,經濟的確從疫情中回升。

除了內部的宏觀經濟有利因素,在岸及離岸的中國股票仍可潛在受惠於寬鬆的貨幣政策。美國聯儲局於12月展開放慢買債行動,中國人民銀行(人行)則擇機於今年內第二次降低存款準備金率,並啓動20個月以來第二次減息,令在岸的股票市場流動資金隨即增加。雖然行業陸續出現調整,但政府正透過較寬鬆的政策以支持企業。另外,中國正在加速結構性轉型,展望中國股票市場仍有不少具潛力的行業及發展機遇,可以歸納為五個大主題:「5C」,以下分析相關受惠行業。

 

第一個「C」:COVID-ZERO清零政策

推動工業生產

  • 2020起中國一直維持清零及隔離政策,並於早期開始嚴控疫情,令中國在2020年成為最早走出疫情的國家之一。在2020年中開始,全球產業鏈受到疫情影響的時候,中國的政策保證工業生產已經恢復。所以在疫情後半段時間,實際上是受益的,具體例證包括,中國上半年佔全球的出口份額提升到14.6%。中國出口也拉動中國整體經濟在2020年超預期,直到11月的宏觀數據顯示,中國的出口勢頭仍保持良好。基於過去的成功經驗,我們認為中國政府會維持嚴控疫情。

第二個「C」 :Common prosperity共同富裕

推動本土消費和創新

  • 中央財經委員會於去年8月召開了第十次會議,會議強調共同富裕是社會主義的本質要求,要合理地調節高收入和整頓收入分配秩序,透過高質量發展促進共同富裕。我們相信「共同富裕」旨在縮窄個人、地區及城鄉之間的差距至可接受水平。企業仍可維持盈利能力和資本積累,但增長率將會受限。「把蛋糕做大做好」是共同富裕的基礎,而中國整體經濟可透過本土消費和創新「把蛋糕做大做好」。
  • 事實上,雙循環戰略的例子正好說明新經濟的運作模式。一方面,本土經濟增長將成為推動增長的主要因素,本土消費和創新(例如數碼經濟、生物科技等)仍會是支持中國從目前階段向前邁進的關鍵基礎。另一方面,中國銳意加強作為環球製造業中心在高增值領域上的影響力,先進科技帶動的工業自動化和製造業升級將成為重點。

圖2: 中國的本土創新漸見成效,電動車電池生產商的全球市場佔有率已超過一半

中信證券,彭博資訊,2020年8月。

第三個「C」:Co-existence of regulation & development for IT and e-commerce科技及電子商貿監管與發展並存

推動數碼化長遠發展

雖然現在斷言收緊監管措施已經結束可能為時尚早,但我們相信大部份嚴厲措施已經推出,市場亦已消化有關消息。相關平台及行業亦迅速修正其業務與營運模式,讓增長預測得以重設。  我們重申,科技和數碼化可帶來的長遠推動力。

第四個「C」:Carbon peak and carbon neutrality碳達峰及碳中和

推動新能源行業

  • 繼早前提出中國目標於2030年達碳達鋒和2060年達碳中和後,國務院於10月份提出「2030年前碳達峰行動方案」,敦促各省、自治區、直轄市人民政府,國務院各部委、各直屬機構貫徹行,目標為2030年非化石能源消費比重達到25%左右,單位國內生產總值二氧化碳排放比2005年下降65%以上,實現2030年前碳達峰目標。
  • 由於可再生能源業是獲得政府資助的重點策略行業,我們預期該板塊將有穩健的投資機會。由於政府加快發行債券,並推行支持可持續發展的政策,風電和太陽能(光伏)基地的建設已經加速進行。長遠來說,我們認為, 2030年實現碳達峰的路線圖,意味着當局將在更制度化的框架下推行減碳措施。進一步來說,若中國能夠繼續創新、透過製造和生產技術來應對上述能源問題,相信有助達致碳達峰及碳中和。

第五個「C」:Changing demographics人口結構轉變

  • 人口結構的轉變,正不斷重塑相關投資主題及機遇,更重要的是改變本土品味。面向青年和老年的產品/品牌都逐漸演變,足以反映有關請況。
  • 其中,消費升級的概念已由產品轉向服務,能快速迎合本地口味的企業成為贏家。消費需求現時更側重於配合生活方式(例如物業管理服務)和創造體驗(例如旅遊)的優質服務。
  • 消費品方面,可迅速迎合本土品味的企業應可成為贏家。  事實上,曾有不少本土品牌成功從外資品牌搶佔市場份額,例如運動服裝、護膚和化妝品等範疇。

圖3: 中國本地品牌佔化妝品市場的份額 (%)

Euromonitor,瑞銀,截至2021年9月。 

大中華股票:三地的獨特機遇

以下我們會再就個別在岸及離岸市場的相關機遇,作綜合分析和前瞻。

1. 在岸股票市場:A股

A股具備三個比較獨特的投資機會:

  • 新能源,尤其是新能源設備公司

在碳中和的目標下,太陽能(光伏)和風電的裝機有望在未來幾年保持比較高的增長速度。雖然,太陽能裝機於2020年受到原材料價格影響,導致2021年的新增裝機量低於預期,然而,我們相信2022年全球裝機量將會有明顯增長。在太陽能價格持續高企下,新能源營運商對風電的態度較以前更積極,因此2021年和2022年的裝機數量有望超出預期。

值得一提的是,新能源的推動衝擊電網行業,為了迎接競爭,相信電網的資本投資將會超預期。投資機會方面,港股中較多新能源營運商,而新能源材料和設備公司,則基本上都於A股市場交易。

  • 電動車產業鏈

電動車滲透率提升不斷提升,尤其是獲歐美補貼效應帶動。電動車已經從一個補貼驅動的行業,演變成消費拉動驅動的行業。隨著傳統車企的電動車型在2022年大量上市,預期2022年電動車銷量仍會維持一個比較高的增長。電動車產業鏈很多相關的材料和設備企業都是A股上市公司。

  • 半導體

半導體的國產替代,將會是持續幾年的一個行業趨勢。2021年,半導體的周期性景氣度非常高,我們對2022年半導體行業的資本開支持正面的看法,因此也看好半導體設備公司。電動車和太陽能滲透率的提升,提升功率半導體(即與電源、電力控制應用有關的半導體元件)的結構性需求,功率半導體相關公司前景可以看高一線。

2. 港股

雖然港股於2021年大幅跑輸A股及台股,參考過去五年恒生指數的估值範圍,一旦市帳率跌至低於1倍便是觸底的訊號,而截至2021年12月底時,港股2021年的歷史市帳率是0.97倍,顯示下行風險有限。至於推動港股躍升的催化劑,包括更多公開股票市場集資(IPO),尤其是從美國市場回歸的上市公司。

另外,中國證監會最近表示,滿足合規要求的VIE(可變利益實體)架構企業,在備案後可赴境外上市,加上美國證券交易委員會通過實施新規定,連續三年未符合上市審計規則的外國公司需要退市,我們預期中概股來港/回流上市的數目會持續增加,為港股帶來資金支持。

最後,市場對於大型互聯網和電子商貿股的增長預期已作重設,而我們認為,目前的估值水平已反映大部份利淡因素。展望未來,科技和數碼化仍然具備長遠推動力。促使2022年出現估值重估的因素,可能包括:政府進一步釐清遊戲版號審批和使用時間的限制,新零售服務(例如社區團購)展現強勁增長,以及新鮮食品和雜貨的電子商貿滲透率日益提升等。我們認為,市場忽略這些利好因素可能會錯失捕捉上升的機會。

3. 台股

經歷了2021年的高增長後(預期為6%),台灣市場2022年GDP預測將會將下降至3.3%,但仍高於疫情前水平,企業盈利的增長速度,可能會放慢至0-3%,主要為原材料以及周期性股份錄得負增長所拖累。大部份電子股盈利景仍為正面,例如,半導體/伺服器,以及汽車電子股份的盈利增長可望有雙位數增長。

2022年將是一個選股不選市的一年。企業盈利於2022年的第二季有可能回落,加上市場預期聯儲局會加息,分析過往聯儲局加息及台灣股市表現的數據,我們預期台灣股市的指數高位,將會分別出現在第一季及第四季,主要投資重點為中型電子增長股 (IC設計、伺服器、電動車、Metaverse相關股份) ,以及可受惠於加息的銀行股、以及疫情後受惠股。

我們預期,目前半導體晶片荒問題將延續到2022年上半年,台灣主要受惠者為晶圓片代工,由於預期價格於2022年的第一季將持續上升,毛利率可望持續上揚;另外,晶圓片(IC)設計亦會受惠,原因為台灣晶片正漸漸取代歐美晶片,令短缺晶片的問題已開始出現替代效應,令晶圓片價格有更多調高空間。

東南亞疫情於2021年的第三季受到擊後,正逐漸緩解,台灣在內地的廠商多為電子下游,第四季以來,大部份廠商利用生產調配方式,加上限電措施大幅減緩,減低了對生產的衝擊,廠商未來亦考慮分散生產地以降低限電風險。而且,台灣在東南亞的廠商主要為紡織、製鞋商,目前使用率已恢復至80%以上,廠商正持續將生產地分散,以降低過度集中於越南的風險。

大中華股票的各項發展帶來更多選擇

鑑於投資機遇日益多元化,投資大中華股票市場的最佳方針便是採取「由下而上」的選股角度,而非專注於較狹窄的個別市場。我們對各類股票的發展感到鼓舞,最明顯的是可再生能源股急速增長、香港IPO行業發展蓬勃及半導體供應鏈的轉變。此外,中國中產階層持續擴大及對本土品牌的渴求,在奉行主動管理方針下,為我們提供更豐富的投資意念。最後,我們相信最嚴格監管措施的時期已成過去,加上市場憧憬疫情相關憂慮有所緩減,因此投資者信心有望在2022年加速提升。

下載全份文件

 


1 資料來源:彭博資訊。總回報以美元計算,截至2021年12月27日。反映大中型國企股、紅籌股、內地A股、B股及海外上市中資股表現的MSCI明晟中國指數跌22.62%、MSCI明晟香港指數跌4.31%,MSCI明晟中國A股指數升3.38%,MSCI明晟台灣指數升25.18%。過往表現並非日後表現的指標。

2 在2021年7月24日,中國政府正式發布《關於進一步減輕義務教育階段學生作業負擔和校外培訓負擔的意見》(又稱「雙減」政策)。中華人民共和國住房和城鄉建設部,2021年7月23日。若干網約車公司於美國上市後不久,中國國家互聯網信息辦公室(網信辦)在7月初宣布對有關網約車平台進行網絡安全檢查。

  • 全球宏觀展望2022年第2季:形勢變化 出乎意料

    通脹壓力攀升、地緣政治摩擦增加及息口上升,最近事態發展令人不得不重新評估經濟增長的前景。我們剖析這些事件如何未來數月影響環球資本市場。

    閱讀更多
  • 儘管面臨周期性挑戰,印度經濟保持長期結構性優勢和抗逆力

    儘管印度短期內可能持續面對重大周期性挑戰,但經濟正規化持續深化和數碼經濟增長的長期主題保持不變。

    閱讀更多
  • 環球康健護理業:繼續成為市場焦點

    我們就新冠病毒的最新研究發現進行探討,並說明為何康健護理業的基本因素值得長期配置。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 全球宏觀展望2022年第2季:形勢變化 出乎意料

    通脹壓力攀升、地緣政治摩擦增加及息口上升,最近事態發展令人不得不重新評估經濟增長的前景。我們剖析這些事件如何未來數月影響環球資本市場。

    read more
  • 儘管面臨周期性挑戰,印度經濟保持長期結構性優勢和抗逆力

    儘管印度短期內可能持續面對重大周期性挑戰,但經濟正規化持續深化和數碼經濟增長的長期主題保持不變。

    read more
  • 環球康健護理業:繼續成為市場焦點

    我們就新冠病毒的最新研究發現進行探討,並說明為何康健護理業的基本因素值得長期配置。

    read more
see all
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
確認