Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

China’s double pivot — A major shift in China’s COVID and property sector policies

28 November 2022

Paula Chan, Senior Portfolio Manager, Asia Fixed Income

Isaac Meng, Portfolio Manager, Asia Fixed Income

Mainland China (China) recently announced a raft of policy support measures to ease COVID-related curbs, bolster financing and the property sector. Paula Chan, Senior Portfolio Manager, Asia Fixed Income, and Isaac Meng, Portfolio Manager, Asia Fixed Income, see opportunities in China credits amid the government’s property market support. They view the latest measures positively, which point to China’s economic reopening and eventual recovery of its property sector.

China recently announced a raft of policy support measures to ease COVID-related curbs, and bolster financing support with a focus on the property sector. Here are the key measures announced:

1. Adjustments to Covid-related restrictions

On 11 November, China announced 20 measures to fine-tune its zero-COVID policy.1 The seven-member Standing Committee of the Politburo of the Chinese Communist Party, China’s top decision-making body, held a meeting to discuss measures aimed at improving the country’s COVID controls.

Key announcements included:

  • A shortening of the quarantine requirement for close contacts and inbound travellers to five days of quarantine and three days of home monitoring. This replaces seven days of quarantine and three days of home monitoring.
  • A suspension of the "circuit-breaking" mechanism for inbound flights.
  • Restrictions on the unscientific approach of conducting two-to-three PCR tests per day.
  • Local officials will be held accountable for unnecessary control measures, such as suspending face-to-face classes and production, implementing traffic controls, and introducing arbitrary lockdowns.

While the default “dynamic COVID-zero policy” remains essentially unchanged, the Standing Committee asked the government to fine-tune its approach to COVID-control policies in a more “scientific and precise” way.2

2. Financing support for the property sector

On 9 November, the National Association of Financial Market Institutional Investors (NAFMII), together with the People’s Bank of China (PBoC), announced that a RMB250 billion funding facility (“the second arrow”) would provide support for private corporate-bond financing.3 This includes the purchase of property-developer bonds in both the primary and secondary markets. The RMB250 billion package, which can be increased if required, equates to roughly one-third of all private developers’ outstanding onshore and offshore bonds maturing in the next 12 months. In total, property sector bailouts have added up to about RMB600 billion, which is close to meeting the short-term liquidity needs of the sector.

On 21 November, the PBoC announced plan to issue RMB200 billion interest-free relending loans to six commercial banks through 31 March 2023, in an aim to help ensure delivery of unfinished property projects.

Also, on 23 November, the PBoC and China Banking and Insurance Regulatory Commission (CBIRC) officially issued a notice with 16 measures that will support financing for the property sector.The focus will be on developer loans to promote stability and the healthy development of the housing sector. In contrast to previous piecemeal announcements, the measures take a more comprehensive and concerted approach to addressing the financing needs of developers – the policies include guaranteed bond issuance, developer loans, trust loans, mortgages, and acquisition loans.

Regulators also called on financial institutions to support the extension of maturity dates for developer and trust loans. For loans due in the next six months, lenders have been asked to extend the repayment period by one year, while bond issuers and bondholders have been encouraged to reach agreements on repayment and loan extensions before the bonds mature. At the same time, banks are being encouraged to assume control of any high-quality developers’ problem projects via acquisition loans. National and local asset-management companies have also been asked to collaborate with developers and banks to accelerate asset disposals.

A more constructive outlook of China’s property sector

In our opinion, the recently announced zero-COVID fine-tuning (“20 measures”) and financing programs for property-sector developers (“16 measures” and “the second arrow”) support our 2023 base case. We expect further economic reopening after March, property sales and investment could bottom and stronger domestic demand to support GDP growth throughout 2023.

The “20 measures” fine-tuning of China’s zero-COVID policy is positive as it signals an eventual economic reopening. While we have observed early signs that some of these measures have been implemented in a limited number of cities, the timing and extent of reopening will depend on COVID case numbers through the winter months. In the near term, a rebound in the macro economy will likely be limited as overall COVID-control policies remain strict. Meanwhile, we already see a rise in winter cases, with daily numbers breaching 20,000 for the first time since May, although most are without symptoms.

We view the announced “16 measures”, “the second arrow” policies and the RMB200 billion relending loan plan as positive, easing the onshore debt refinancing risk of Chinese developers, particularly among the privately owned enterprises (POEs). However, we note that policymakers are focusing on safeguarding onshore stakeholders, including onshore bondholders, homebuyers, and the banking system. Offshore bondholders will indirectly benefit from POEs having lower onshore refinancing risk, including bond and bank lending. Nevertheless, these measures can help the sector find a bottom over the next 12 to 18 months. To see a sustained recovery in China’s real-estate sector, we will closely monitor the effective implementation of the announced measures and any recovery in physical market sales.

Overall, we view the latest policy announcements positively, as they should pave the way for economic reopening and an eventual recovery in the property sector from the second quarter of next year. That said, near-term market volatility should remain high as economic activity is expected to stay sub-par for another few quarters.

Stay disciplined amid increasing policy support

Leading up to these policy pivots, the China bond team closely monitored developments that could lead to a more constructive tone in China credit. This included the prospects for “The Reopening Trade” and “All in Policy Bazooka” to support China’s economic recovery (refer to our previous Investment Note – China bonds: a potentially resilient risk diversifier, 18 October 2022).

While we may not be there yet in terms of an “all in” effort by the government to boost economic growth, we view the latest developments as a significant and favourable shift in policy towards China credit. To date, investors might have taken advantage of the market rally to trade and rebalance property exposure across their portfolios tactically. Looking ahead to the year's end, we believe remaining disciplined and maintaining credit beta at around current levels would be rewarding. However, as we gain more visibility and conviction around China’s economic recovery, investors can seek opportunities to add risk.

We continue to take a disciplined approach to our property exposure. We see increasing policy support as constructive for China property and the broader China credit universe, given the improved prospects for economic recovery as we enter 2023. Following the steep declines experienced by property-sector bonds in 2022, valuations are now attractive for those developers explicitly backstopped by government funding support. As sentiment towards the sector continues to improve, we would expect asymmetric upside potential for the performance of our China bond strategies over the next few quarters.

Conclusion

In our view, the latest developments indicate a significant shift in policy direction, which could potentially be favourable towards China’s credit market. Despite this, we remain disciplined towards year-end, until China’s economic recovery shows more visibility. For actively managed China bond strategies, we expect to see more upside than downside potential over the next few quarters.

 

Download full PDF

 


1 Bloomberg, 11 November 2022.

2 China Daily, 15 November 2022.

3 Global Times, 9 November 2022.

4 CBIRC, 23 November 2022.

  • The Fed reiterates its hawkish bias

    Hopes that the U.S. central bank will make a dovish policy pivot soon were more or less dashed at the final FOMC meeting of 2022; however, our Fed watcher believes an interest-rate cut could still materialise in 2023.

    Read more
  • How can multi-asset investing help today's income-seekers?

    As higher inflation outpaces income growth, multi-asset investing helps to generate and protect income streams against volatility, while keeping capital stable and lasting longer. 

    Read more
  • What does a strong U.S. dollar mean for global growth?

    As the world's dominant reserve currency, movements in the U.S. dollar can have important implications for the world economy. Our experts identify three channels through which dollar strength can shape growth. 

    Read more
See all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

中國政策雙轉向 — 防疫及房地產政策重大調整

28/11/2022

亞洲定息產品高級投資組合經理 陳珮珊

亞洲定息產品投資組合經理 孟原

中國近期宣布一系列政策紓困措施,相繼放寬防疫限制、加強金融支持和提振房地產業。隨著中國政府出台措施支持房地產市場,亞洲定息產品高級投資組合經理陳珮珊和亞洲定息產品投資組合經理孟原均看好中國信貸市場帶來投資機遇,並對近期推出的措施感到樂觀,有關舉措預示中國經濟將陸續重啟及房地產業將最終將可復甦。

中國近期宣布一系列政策紓困措施,相繼放寬防疫限制,並針對房地產業加強金融支持。以下是公布的主要措施:

1. 調整防疫限制措施

11月11日,中國公布20條優化措施,微調清零政策。1中共中央政治局常務委員會舉行會議,商討部署多項旨在優化防控工作的措施。

公告重點包括:

  • 縮短密切接觸者和入境旅客的隔離檢疫要求,由「7天集中隔離 + 3天居家健康監測」改為「5天集中隔離 + 3天居家隔離」;
  • 取消入境航班「熔斷機制」;
  • 糾正「一天兩檢」、「一天三檢」等不科學做法;
  • 地方官員須對不必要的管控措施問責,例如禁止封校停課、停工停產、未經批准阻斷,以及隨意封控。

雖然當局對「動態清零政策」的既定立場基本上維持不變,但會議要求各地政府需以「科學精準」方式優化防控疫情政策。2

2. 金融支持房地產業

11月9日,中國銀行間市場交易商協會宣佈,在中國人民銀行(人行)的支持下,將提供2,500億元人民幣融資額度(「第二支箭」)支持民企發債融資3,其中包括在一級和二級市場購買房地產發展商債券。這2,500億元人民幣融資額度(當局或在有需要時擴容)等同於所有民營房企未來12個月到期的未償還在岸及離岸債券規模的約三分之一。房地產業的紓困措施合共累計約6,000億元人民幣,接近滿足行業短期流動性需要。

11月21日,人行宣布擬在2023年3月31日前,向六家商業銀行提供2,000億元人民幣免息再貸款,務求確保「保交樓」。

此外,11月23日,人行與中國銀行保險監督管理委員會正式發布「金融16條」的通知,用以支持房地產業融資。4有關通知的重點在於促進向發展商放貸,以推進樓市穩定健康發展。有別於以往逐次針對性公布政策,「金融16條」以更全面的方式來解決發展商的融資需要,涵蓋擔保發債、開發貸款、信託貸款、個人房貸和併購貸款等。

監管當局也要求金融機構支持延長開發貸款和信託貸款限期。針對六個月後到期的貸款,當局要求放貸銀行延長還款期一年,並鼓勵債券發行人和債券持有人在債券到期前就還款和貸款延期達成共識。與此同時,當局推動銀行透過併購貸款取得優質發展商問題項目的控制權。全國性和地方資產管理公司也要按要求與發展商和銀行合作,加快資產處置。

中國房地產業前景轉趨樂觀

我們認為,近期宣布的優化新冠肺炎疫情防控措施(「20條措施」)及支持內房發展商的金融舉措(「金融16條措施」、「第二支箭」),為我們2023年基本情況預測加強佐證:經濟在明年3月後重啟、房地產銷售和投資可能見底、內需反彈從而帶動來年國內生產總值增長好轉。

「20條措施」屬於利好訊號,預示經濟最終步向重啟。從我們觀察所見,初步跡象顯示落實若干「20條措施」的城市有限,而且重啟經濟的時機和規模將取決於今冬的疫情數據。短期而言,基於整體控疫政策仍屬嚴厲,宏觀經濟復甦的力度可能有限。另一方面,入冬以來確診病例增加,每日個案突破20,000宗,是5月以來首次,儘管大部份屬於無症狀感染。

當局相繼公布「金融16條措施」、「第二支箭」政策及2,000億元人民幣再貸款計劃,我們認為這均屬於利好跡象,有利紓緩內房發展商在岸債務再融資的風險,尤其是對民企而言。然而,我們注意到政策官員聚焦於保障境內持份者,包括境內債券持有人、置業人士及銀行體系。境外債券持有人可間接受惠於民企在岸再融資風險降低,例如發債和銀行貸款等。雖然如此,上述措施仍可能需要未來12至18個月方能協助行業真正見底。我們將密切注視公布的措施是否有效落實及實體物業銷售有否回升,才可判斷中國房地產業的復甦勢頭能否維持。

整體而言,我們對近期公布的政策感到樂觀,有關舉措應可為明年第二季經濟重啟和房地產業最終復甦奠定基礎。不過,預期經濟活動仍會在未來數季維持於常態之下,因此短期市況或會持續急劇波動。

隨著政策面支持加大,投資者宜謹守紀律

在相關政策轉向前,我們的中國債券團隊已密切關注可能刺激中國信貸投資氣氛轉趨樂觀的發展,包括「經濟重啟」的憧憬及促進中國經濟復甦的「全速推進政策支持」(請參閱上期投資通訊《中國債券具分散風險的韌性》,2022年10月18日)。

雖然中國政府仍未「全力」刺激經濟增長,但我們認為最近的事態發展是對中國信貸市場舉足輕重的利好政策調整。目前為止,投資者可能把握近期大市升勢,進行交易,以及戰術性重整投資組合的房地產業配置。臨近年底,我們相信謹守紀律,並維持信貸風險於目前水平,可令投資者獲益。然而,隨著中國經濟復甦前景日益明朗及帶來更多信心,投資者或可擇機而行,增加承險水平。

我們會繼續對房地產配置採取嚴謹投資取向。考慮到隨著2023年將至,經濟復甦的前景改善,我們看好政策面支持加大將惠及中國房地產業和廣泛中國信貸領域。房地產業債券在2022年表現急挫後,明確獲政府融資支持作最後擔保的發展商債券現時估值吸引。鑑於內房投資氣氛持續改善,預期我們的中國債券策略表現可望在未來數季呈現不對稱的升勢。

總結

我們認為最新事態發展意味政策方向出現重大轉變,或將利好中國信貸市場。儘管如此,在中國經濟復甦趨於明朗之前,我們仍會嚴守紀律迎接年底市況。展望未來數季,預期主動管理型中國債券策略的上升潛力高於下行。

 

下載全份文件

 


1 彭博資訊,2022年11月11日。

2 C《中國日報》,2022年11月15日。

3 《環球時報》,2022年11月9日。

4 中國銀行保險監督管理委員會,2022年11月23日。

  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場

    閱讀更多
  • 在當前環境下,多元資產投資如何協助收益型投資者?

    閱讀更多
  • 強美元對環球經濟增長有何影響?

    美元作為全球主要的儲備貨幣,其走向可能會對全球經濟增長帶來重大影響。我們的專家從三方面剖析,強美元如何影響環球經濟前景。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認