Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

The case for China bonds: A potential hedge against rising inflation

18 January 2022

Paula Chan, Senior Portfolio Manager, Asia Fixed Income  

Isaac Meng, Portfolio Manager, Asia Fixed Income

As global inflation trends higher, investors would like to look for potential hedges against the erosion of real returns. In this investment note, Paula Chan (Senior Portfolio Manager, Asia Fixed Income) and Isaac Meng (Portfolio Manager, Asia Fixed Income) outline their key observations and explain why they think China government bonds and the Chinese renminbi (CNY) have the potential to act as hedges against US inflation. 



According to conventional wisdom, there is a belief that US inflationary pressures can be negative for the Chinese yuan (CNY). This is because, historically, US inflationary pressures have led the Federal Reserve to tighten monetary policy, and US Treasury yields then to move higher as investors became concerned about inflation. Consequently, the yield advantage of China’s interest rates over US Treasury yields would narrow, as the latter rises while the former remains stable. The yield advantage of China bonds has been one of the key drivers for global investors to invest in China bonds, which has helped the CNY to appreciate. Therefore, if the yield differential declines, investors could pull funds away from China bonds leading to a weaker CNY against the US dollar.

Contrary to the above expectations, we have noticed that US inflationary pressures did not necessarily lead to an underperformance in the CNY. In fact, the two charts below show that the CNY had tracked US inflationary pressures quite closely, as indicated by US 5-Year breakeven rates, which is a gauge of the market’s expectations for US inflation (Chart 1). Meanwhile, the CNY had also tracked the official annual US CPI rate on an ex-post basis (Chart 2). Both charts tell us that as US inflation ticked higher, the CNY appreciated against the US dollar during these periods.

Chart 1: CNY appreciated against USD as US inflationary expectation (US 5-year break-even rates) moved higher

Bloomberg, data as of 30 November 2021.

Chart 2: CNY appreciated against USD as US inflationary (official annual CPI) moved higher

Bloomberg, data as of 31 October 2021.

Thinking this through, we believe it could make sense for China onshore bonds (and the CNY) to be a positive-yielding hedge against inflationary pressures due to the following reasons:

1. Strong US inflation reflects an overall expansionary stance in US economic policy

In response to the global pandemic, the US Federal Reserve has been dovish and is still expanding its balance sheet well into the first quarter of 2022 despite tapering. Even with the market pricing in +0.75% in rate hikes for 2022, negative US real rates will prevail with CPI running above 5%.

2. US inflation may not be transitory

We believe higher US inflation may not be transitory in nature that only reflects temporary supply shocks. Rather, higher inflation is likely a consequence of stronger US demand and goods consumption. Higher consumption and imports in the US are positive contributors to China’s trade surplus which is positive for the CNY.

3. US inflation is outpacing that of China

With US inflation currently outpacing China inflation, the value of the CNY (in real terms) is likely to be closer to fair value compared with the US dollar. The latter is more likely to be overvalued due to its higher inflation based on the real effective exchange rate (REER). The REER is a measure of a currency’s value against those of its major trading partners after adjusting for inflation.

4. The market is in a “risk-on” mode

A market environment with higher breakeven rates and low-to-negative real yields is generally associated with a “risk-on” mode, i.e., global investors are more likely to allocate away from US Treasuries to higher-risk asset classes in this environment. Hence, on this basis, a greater allocation to CNY assets can be expected.

As inflation has ramped up in the last 12 months, we have seen US Treasury inflation-linked bonds outperform US Treasuries over this time. Similarly, China bonds (unhedged) have performed strongly and kept pace with the performance of US Treasury Inflation-linked bonds over the same period, giving support to our thesis that China bonds can provide investors with a hedge against US inflation.

Chart 3: 5-year returns of China bonds (unhedged) vs. US Treasury inflation-linked bonds

Bloomberg, data as of 30 November 2021.

Conclusion

We have highlighted some of our key observations and explained why we think China government bonds and the CNY Chinese renminbi have the potential to act as hedges against US inflation. China bonds are already an attractive asset class, given their higher nominal and real yields and diversification benefits due to a lower correlation with other assets. However, the potential for China bonds to be a positive-yielding asset that also hedges against rising global inflation further enhances their appeal. We believe there is now an even stronger case for considering China bonds as a key part of global investors’ portfolios.

 

Download full PDF

 

 

  • How is the surging US dollar affecting Asian currencies?

    We draw insights from our pan-Asia fixed income and equity teams, who examine the impact of US-dollar strength and what this means for currencies in the region.

    Read more
  • China rolls out measures to support economic growth

    We believe that the latest supportive measures reiterate China’s stance on economic stability and see opportunities in China and Hong Kong equities that could benefit from these policy actions.

    Read more
  • Sri Lanka’s difficult road ahead

    Sri Lanka's imminent default holds lessons for investors and underscores the value of a sustainable investing framework.

    Read more
See all
  • How is the surging US dollar affecting Asian currencies?

    We draw insights from our pan-Asia fixed income and equity teams, who examine the impact of US-dollar strength and what this means for currencies in the region.

    read more
  • China rolls out measures to support economic growth

    We believe that the latest supportive measures reiterate China’s stance on economic stability and see opportunities in China and Hong Kong equities that could benefit from these policy actions.

    read more
  • Sri Lanka’s difficult road ahead

    Sri Lanka's imminent default holds lessons for investors and underscores the value of a sustainable investing framework.

    read more
see all
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Important notice

If you are having problems viewing fund information, please clear your browser cache and try again. Click here for information on how to clear the cache on your browser.

View more

Effective Tuesday, May 3, our Customer Service Centre at Manulife Financial Centre, Kwun Tong will resume normal operating hours: Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. 

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

中國債券:具備對沖通脹升溫的潛力

18/1/2022

亞洲定息產品高級組合經理 陳珮珊

亞洲定息產品組合經理 孟原

隨著全球通脹趨升,為免實際回報被蠶食,投資者皆希望尋求能潛在對沖的工具。在今期投資通訊,亞洲定息產品高級組合經理陳珮珊和亞洲定息產品組合經理孟原闡述他們對市況的主要觀察,並解釋他們認為中國政府債券及人民幣具對沖美國通脹潛力的原因。

 

 

根據傳統智慧,市場相信美國通脹壓力不利人民幣匯價。從過去可見,這是由於美國通脹壓力促使聯儲局收緊貨幣政策,而鑑於投資者憂慮通脹,美國國庫債券孳息率隨之被推高。故此,在美國國庫債券孳息率上升,但中國利率保持平穩的情況下,中國利率的孳息優勢便會相對收窄。孳息優勢是環球投資者投資於中國債券的主要動力之一,有助人民幣升值。因此,若孳息差距收窄,投資者可能從中國債券撤資,導致人民幣兌美元走弱。

與上述市場預期相反,我們注意到,美國通脹壓力並不一定導致人民幣表現遜色。事實上,以下兩個圖表顯示,從美國5年平衡通脹率(量度市場對美國通脹預期的指標)可見,人民幣匯價走勢相當緊貼美國通脹壓力(圖1)。與此同時,若以事後基礎觀點分析,人民幣匯價亦緊貼官方公布的年度美國消費物價指數(圖2)。兩個圖表均顯示在所示期間,隨著美國通脹升溫,人民幣兌美元升值。

圖1:隨著美國通脹預期(美國5年平衡通脹率)趨升,人民幣兌美元升值

彭博資訊,截至2021年11月30日。

圖2:隨著美國通脹(官方公布的年度消費物價指數)趨升,人民幣兌美元升值

彭博資訊,截至2021年10月31日。

仔細考量後,我們有理由相信中國在岸債券(及人民幣)是提供正孳息率、且有助對沖通脹壓力的工具,原因如下:

1. 美國通脹強勁,反映當地經濟政策的整體擴張立場

為應對全球疫情大流行,美國聯儲局一直採取溫和立場,儘管逐漸減少買債,但仍在2022年首季繼續擴大資產負債表規模。即使市場價格反映2022年將加息0.75%,但消費物價指數高於5%,美國的實質利率仍繼續處於負水平。

2. 美國通脹可能並非暫時性質

我們相信美國通脹升溫並非暫時性質,不止於反映供應面對短暫衝擊。相反,通脹升溫可能是當地的需求及貨品消費轉強所致。美國消費及進口上升,為中國的貿易順差帶來正面貢獻,繼而有利人民幣匯價。

3. 美國通脹高於中國

鑑於目前美國通脹高於中國,因此與美元比較,人民幣的價值(以實質基礎計)可能已接近公平價值。以實質有效匯率計算,由於通脹趨升,美元更有可能估值過高。實質有效匯率量度某國貨幣在經通脹調整後,相對其主要貿易夥伴的價值。

4. 市場處於「承險」狀態

在平衡通脹率上升及實質孳息率偏低至負水平的環境,市場通常處於「承險」狀態,即在這樣的市況下,環球投資者較可能沽售美國國庫債券,轉持較高風險的資產。就此而言,預期人民幣資產配置可能增加。

鑑於通脹在過去12個月升溫,美國通脹掛鈎國庫債券在期內表現領先一般美國國庫債券。同樣,中國債券(非對沖)表現強勁,同期表現與美國通脹掛鈎國庫債券一致,為我們的理據提供支持,換言之, 中國債券可為投資者對沖美國通脹。

圖3:中國債券(非對沖)對比美國通脹掛鈎國庫債券的5年期回報

彭博資訊,截至2021年11月30日。

總結

上文闡述我們對市況的一些主要見解,並解釋我們認為中國政府債券及人民幣具對沖美國通脹潛力的原因。中國債券的名義和實質孳息率較高,加上與其他資產的相關性較低,擁有分散投資優勢,因此已成為一個具吸引力的資產類別。此外,中國債券是提供正孳息率且有助對沖環球通脹升溫的工具,進一步提高其吸引力。現時,考慮把中國債券納入環球投資組合,以成為一項重要配置的理據更強勁。

 

下載全份文件

 

 

  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認