Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Manulife Financial Planning Manager

Multi Assets: Building resilient portfolios through market cycles 

13 January, 2021

In this 2021 outlook, Luke Browne, Head of Asset Allocation (Asia) highlights how investors’ interests can be well-served by focusing on macro themes and combining these with capital market asset-allocation views within a risk-management framework. By capturing opportunities while navigating and managing downside and upside risks, Luke Browne and the Multi-Asset Solutions Team believe that this should provide investors with sustainable and resilient solutions that can withstand market cycles.

2020 review – Asset classes show a stronger rebound than the underlying macro economy

2020 was a year nobody expected but most quickly adapted to. In March, the pandemic drove an indiscriminate market sell-off. In our view, this was less about systemic risk, and more a coping mechanism when faced with a crisis of uncertain depth and duration. 

Governments and central banks reacted quickly. The Federal Reserve (Fed) cut rates by 150 basis points (bps), bringing the target range down to 0–0.25% and enacted extensive liquidity-provisioning measures1. Trillions of dollars in stimulus, including wage subsidies and furloughs, were also approved by governments across the globe. These measures supported global economies at the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic; capital markets, however, reacted a lot more positively: strong momentum in risk assets drove equity performance, as well as gold, which breached the US$2,000/ounce mark2 for the first time. Meanwhile, GDP figures unveiled the full depth of the recession, with the G20 area seeing a 6.9% fall in growth for the second quarter3. The US experienced a 31.4% decline4, while the UK5, Japan6, and India saw drops of 19.8%, 27.8%, and 23.9%7, respectively. China was the exception, returning to modest growth in the same period8.

However, in September and October, we saw sentiment dim as uncertainty surrounding the US presidential election came to the fore. In the period following the vote, risk assets rallied strongly, particularly with the addition of positive vaccine news to the mix. Risk assets extended gains in the post-election rally: for equities, the MSCI US and Asia ex-Japan indices outperformed9. Sector-wise, information technology and consumer discretionary led throughout the year, as COVID-related lockdown drove increased demand for higher growth equities and those corporates with online eco-systems that could sustain their business models better during the pandemic. Towards the year-end, market breadth expanded to cyclicals and value stocks. Within bonds, global corporate bonds took the lead gaining 9%, while the broader Global Aggregate index gained 7.8%. Global high-yield and emerging-market bonds delivered 5% returns10. The latter part of the year also saw dollar weakness which, on top of some rotation out of US growth assets towards global cyclicals and value, also added to the investment thesis of an increased exposure to non-US dollar assets.

As the world breathed a sigh of relief that 2020 was finally over, the reality of 2021 still looms. The worst may be behind us, but uncertainty persists. In our view, one of the most critical features of the COVID-19 recession is that it has more disproportionately impacted the services side of the economy, while being much less painful for the manufacturing sector, which has recovered more quickly, promoting a ”K-shaped” recovery. Successfully navigating this unprecedented environment will require specific near-term asset class, regional, and sectoral tactical shifts, underpinned by a longer-term strategic view. Looking at the opportunity set in 2021, taking a balanced approach could prove sensible with a tilt towards sectors that are poised to benefit from a continued economic recovery, while incorporating some more cyclical areas that look undervalued. 

Tactical equities – A cyclical rotation with preference for the US and Asia

On the equity front and geographically speaking, we believe that market liquidity will continue to support US share prices in 2021, especially as short-term risk factors, such as US political uncertainty, dissipate. Global politics, however, will continue to grab the headlines, particularly between the US and China, even under a new Biden administration. Emerging-market stocks, bolstered by supportive monetary policy and heavily levered towards global trade and manufacturing, should also continue to outperform in the recovery. Two regions – US and Asia (largely China) – are preferred when considering tactical positioning. 

On a sectoral basis, we could see the IT sector continue its leadership trend; however, the sector may come under further tax and regulatory scrutiny under a new Biden administration. Consumer discretionary is another sector in focus, despite elevated valuations. From a style perspective, we are aware that further stimulus and the re-opening of economies could spur a second wave of rotation away from growth into value and cyclicals. Value sectors may be relatively cheap, but our concern is that they remain just that. As such, having some exposure at this stage is, we believe, the right approach. Supported by low interest rates, a growth bias still holds favour – although in the near term, some of the cyclical and value-oriented markets, such as Europe and Japan, are worth considering.

Tactical fixed income – The hunt for yield

We expect the Fed to keep rates at the zero-lower bound, without dipping into negative territory. However, such a low-yield environment is a recipe for anaemic fixed income returns in developed-markets. 

Therefore, emerging-market debt and global high-yield issues are in scope. The former boasts improved valuations, plus the potential of even greater yield for local-currency issues (albeit at the expense of higher volatility). Similarly, continued near-term uncertainty should offer investors attractive entry points for global high yield. Corporates are seeing better access to capital, which should improve their credit-risk metrics and ameliorate default-rate expectations.

As we shift beyond this near-term tactical view and explore longer-term strategic ideas, specific themes become more prominent.

Structural themes – Weakening dollar, retreating globalisation

Structurally, the Fed’s liquidity-boosting measures and persistently low rates will see the US dollar gradually weaken over time. This should present a moderate tailwind for emerging-market assets, further supporting our strategic overweight towards such assets. 

That said, we bear in mind that the US-China dispute will remain a key talking point, even under the Biden administration. Assuming a smooth transition to a new US administration on 20 January, we do not expect any material change in US foreign policy towards China, nor do we anticipate an imminent unwinding of the tough measures imposed by the Trump administration, e.g., trade tariffs, revoking of visas, sanctions, and travel restrictions. Indeed, the Biden administration prioritising climate change and human rights may present new challenges for the US-China relationship. Meanwhile, the potential for “financial decoupling” has risen, if the US follows through with additional financial sanctions on Chinese corporates as well as threats of further action. 

Beyond just the US, the larger Western trading blocs’ perception of China will also have geopolitical implications. Deglobalisation is likely to continue rearing its head as we move forward, and may push economies towards smaller, more regional trading groups.

These structural themes reflect long-term strategic views – some of which differ from more tactical considerations.

Strategic views – Looking towards emerging markets

For our five-year strategic outlook, investors can favour emerging markets, both within equities and fixed income. Continued supportive monetary policies, a more synchronised global cyclical rebound, and a weaker US dollar should allow emerging-market equities to maintain a robust growth profile with attractive long-term valuations. A vaccine will be a game-changer for the economies of Latin America, Indonesia, and India. However, a medical solution is unlikely to drive a robust and rapid economic solution. Fiscal stimulus is unlikely to be enough for a rapid economic recovery, as a return to pre-COVID growth rates is likely to be pushed into 2022. Nevertheless, on a relative strategic basis, we see higher equity and fixed income returns in emerging markets (EM) versus developed markets (DM).

Among emerging markets, Asia is more attractive given its healthier economies versus Latin America and emerging Europe. A relatively stronger starting point in Asia versus the rest of the broad EM space, lends to a higher probability of targeted stimulus measures and the relaxation of credit standards. In the US, higher valuations and a weakening US dollar mean that investors can be strategically more neutral on its equity sector over a longer time horizon.

From a multi-asset perspective, in a world where investors are feeling increasingly compelled to reach for yield, we believe that the most attractive opportunities lie outside of the sovereign debt space, making investment-grade global credit and high-yield issues a preference. While investors must keep an eye on particular sectors that have a much more binary outcome determined by the path of COVID 19, such as energy and healthcare, we believe there’s adequate room to run within this segment over the next five years.

Conclusion: Where uncertainty and opportunity collide

2020 saw investors embrace risk, despite one of the most distressed macro environments in a century. 2021 should be about balancing what feels like market complacency with rising risks. The key market drivers for 2021 are likely to be the Fed and the US dollar, government stimulus efforts, China and the pathway of COVID-19, and vaccine success. We expect the Fed to be more reactionary than it was back in Spring 2020, in anticipation that an end to COVID-lockdowns will release pent-up economic demand, spurring a consumer and economic led recovery. The expansion of the Fed’s balance sheet has stalled and growth in balance -sheet expansion has been sideways since June 2020. 

Geopolitics will remain a headline risk – we don’t expect the Biden administration to remove Phase 1 tariffs on China, with expectations of a similar policy in the near term. The US and Europe, however, could see improved relations under Biden.

From ambiguity always arises opportunity. We believe that investors’ interests can be well-served by focusing on macro themes and combining these with capital market asset-allocation views within a risk-management framework. This should point the way to capturing opportunities while managing potential downside and upside risks and providing investors with sustainable and resilient solutions that can withstand market cycles.  

 

Download full PDF

  • Rising bond yields and market correction

    In this note, we share our thoughts on rising bond yields, global liquidity, and the implication for equities.

    Read more
  • Global Healthcare: Thrust into the spotlight amid the pandemic

    Through the development of diagnostics, therapeutics, and vaccines, healthcare companies worldwide are striving to develop toward solutions that identify, treat, and contain COVID-19.

    Read more
  • 2021 Outlook: India’s growth comeback

    India, like many markets in the pandemic, experienced a difficult 2020, with its economy contracting the most since 1952. However, recent data points to the conclusion that the worst may be over as new COVID-19 cases decline and economic activity accelerates.

    Read more
See all

 

 

1 “Federal Reserve announces extensive new measures to support the economy”, Federal Reserve, 23 March 2020.

2 Bloomberg, as of 28 July 2020.

3 “Unprecedented falls in GDP in most G20 economies in second quarter of 2020”, OECD, 14 September 2020.

4 Bureau of Economic Analysis, 29 October 2020.

5 Office for National Statistics, 30 September 2020.

6 Japan’s Cabinet Office, 17 August 2020.

7 National Statistical Office India, 2 September 2020.

8 National Bureau Statistics of China, 17 July 2020.

9 Factset, as of 30 November 2020. MSCI US and MSCI Asia Pacific ex-Japan equities gained 16.6% and 15% versus MSCI World gained 11.72%) year-to-date respectively.

10 FactSet, as of 30 November 2020.

  • Rising bond yields and market correction

    In this note, we share our thoughts on rising bond yields, global liquidity, and the implication for equities.

    Read more
  • Global Healthcare: Thrust into the spotlight amid the pandemic

    Through the development of diagnostics, therapeutics, and vaccines, healthcare companies worldwide are striving to develop toward solutions that identify, treat, and contain COVID-19.

    Read more
  • 2021 Outlook: India’s growth comeback

    India, like many markets in the pandemic, experienced a difficult 2020, with its economy contracting the most since 1952. However, recent data points to the conclusion that the worst may be over as new COVID-19 cases decline and economic activity accelerates.

    Read more
See all
We welcome your feedback

We'd love to hear what you think of our new website. Please let us know your feedback in our 1 minute survey >>

View more
We welcome your feedback

We'd love to hear what you think of our new website. Please let us know your feedback in our 1 minute survey >>

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

多元資產:建立穩健投資組合,駕馭不同市場周期 

13/1/2021

在本文,亞洲資產配置主管Luke Browne分享為何專注研究宏觀主題,並在風險管理框架內結合周詳的資本市場資產配置策略,能有效照顧投資者的利益,Luke Browne及多元資產配置團隊相信,透過把握把握市場機遇,駕馭和管理升市和跌市中的風險,應能在不同市場周期為投資者提供可持續及穩健投資方案。

2020年回顧 — 資產類別的回升幅度優於宏觀經濟狀況

雖然2020年發生的事件無人能料,但大部份人都能迅速適應。在3月份,疫情大流行,導致市場出現不分優劣的拋售。我們認為這情況並非源自系統性危機,而是市場的一種應對機制,以應付一場無論在深度和持續時間也不確定的危機。

各國政府和央行迅速採取行動。美國聯儲局減息150基點,把目標利率區間調低至0%至0.25%,並推行廣泛措施以提供流動資金1。刺激經濟措施的規模達數以萬億美元,包括工資補貼和休假計劃,在全球各地均獲政府通過。上述措施對疫情初期的經濟提供支持,然而,資本市場的正面回應更為明顯:承險意慾高漲,帶動股市場上升,黃金亦顯示強勁動力,金價歷來首度升穿每安士2,000美元的水平2。另一方面,國內生產總值數據全面反映經濟衰退的幅度,20國集團的第二季經濟增長下跌6.9%3。美國經濟收縮31.4%4,而英國5、日本6和印度經濟亦分別下跌19.8%、27.8%和23.9%7。但中國的情況例外,當地經濟於同期重拾溫和增長8

然而,在9月和10月,市場注視美國總統大選的不明朗因素,因此利淡投資氣氛。大選結束後,風險資產大幅上揚,而且進一步受到疫苗利好消息的支持。風險資產延續大選後的升勢:股票方面,MSCI明晟美國和亞洲(日本除外)指數均表現領先9。行業方面,抗疫封鎖措施帶動對高增長股票、一些於疫情中能持續其網上商業營運生態的企業的需求,資訊科技和非必需消費品業在年內表現優秀。臨近年底前,市場升勢擴大至周期股和價值股。債券方面,環球企業債券表現最佳,錄得9%的升幅,而較廣泛的環球綜合指數則升7.8%。另外,環球高收益和新興市場債券均錄得5%回報10。2020年中後期,市場開始由美國增長型股份,轉持環球周期性股份和價值股,加上美元弱勢轉趨明顯,加深了投資非美元資產的論據。

當全球為2020年終於結束舒一口氣,2021年的現實境況卻又逐步迫近。最壞的情況可能已經過去,但不明朗因素仍然持續。綜觀2019新型冠狀病毒引起的經濟衰退,我們認為最重要的特徵之一,是疫情尤其不成比例地打擊經濟內的服務業,而製造業所受的影響明顯較少,所經歷的復甦也較快,形成「K形」經濟復甦。要成功駕馭這前所未見的環境,我們需要根據長期策略性觀點,於資產類別、地區分布及行業選擇等各方面,作出特定的短期戰術性調整。在捕捉2021年的投資機遇方面,採取均衡的投資策略實屬合宜,並側重於可受惠於經濟持續復甦的行業,並加入個別估值偏低的周期股。 

戰術性部署股票 — 偏好於美國及亞洲的周期性調配

股票方面,從地區角度來看,我們認為市場的流動資金將會在2021年繼續為美股股價提供支持,特別是隨著短期風險因素(例如美國政局不明朗)逐步減退。然而,環球的政治局勢會繼續成為新聞標題,特別是中國與美國之間的發展 (即使是由拜登領導的政府) 。新興市場股市受惠於寬鬆的貨幣政策,並倚重環球貿易和製造業,因此亦可望繼續表現優於經濟復甦。作為戰術性的配置,兩個主要地區包括美國及亞洲 (主要是中國)較值得投資者偏好。

行業方面,我們可能見到資訊科技業繼續表現領先,然而,這個行業或會在拜登政府下面對進一步稅務及監管審查。雖然非必需消費品業的估值偏高,但該行業仍是市場焦點。從投資風格的角度來看,我們注意到若各地政府加推刺激經濟措施,以及重啓經濟活動,可能觸發新一輪的資產調配潮,促使資金從增長股,轉投價值和周期股。價值型行業的估值或許相對便宜,我們的憂慮是此行業除了便宜便沒有其他相對優勢,故此,適當地持倉目前仍是合適的做法。雖然在短期內,部份周期性及價值主導市場例如歐洲及日本頗值得關注,但增長股仍受惠於低息環境,投資者可繼續偏好。

戰術性部署固定收益 — 追求收益

我們預期美國聯儲局將會維持利率區間下限於零水平,而不會把利率降至負水平。 然而,低孳息率環境意味著已發展市場固定收益領域的回報疲弱。 

故此,我們聚焦於新興市場債券和環球高收益債券。前者的估值轉佳,而且本幣債券的孳息率有潛力進一步提升(儘管波幅亦較高)。同樣地,基於短期不明朗因素揮之不去,可望為環球高收益債券帶來具吸引力的入市良機。不同的企業將可獲更多渠道籌集資金,應有助改善信貸風險指標,和遺約率的期望。

隨著我們從短期戰術性觀點轉移目光,以發掘長期策略性投資意念,特定投資主題顯得更形重要。

結構性主題 — 美元貶值、全球化退潮

在結構性層面,美國聯儲局推行措施以注入流動資金,並維持低息政策,將促使美元在未來逐步貶值。這環境為新興市場資產帶來溫和動力,進一步支持我們策略性地偏重有關資產。 

縱使如此,我們謹記即使在拜登政府下,中美貿易紛爭仍將是一項關鍵議題。假設美國新政府於1月20日順利過渡,我們預計美國對華外交政策不會出現任何重大轉變,美國亦不會立即解除特朗普政府實施的強硬措施,例如貿易關稅、吊銷簽證、制裁和入境限制。事實上,民主黨政府將氣候變化和人權議題作為優先關注事項,可能為中美關係帶來新挑戰。另一方面,隨著美國繼續對中國企業實施更多金融制裁,並威脅採取進一步行動,「金融脫鈎」的可能性持續升溫。

在美國以外地區,整體西方國家貿易集團對中國的取態亦將產生地緣政治影響。去全球化的浪潮可能繼續抬頭,或會把不同經濟體推向規模更小和更地區性的貿易集團。

我們把這些結構性主題融入長期策略性觀點,當中某些有別於戰術性觀點。

策略性觀點 — 注視新興市場

中期的五年策略性展望方面,我們看好新興市場股票和固定收益。政府持續推行寬鬆的貨幣政策,環球周期性復甦更趨同步,加上美元貶值,應有助新興市場股市維持強勁的增長水平和具吸引力的長期估值。疫苗將有助拉丁美洲、印尼和印度扭轉經濟形勢。然而,醫療解決方案難以衍生出穩健和迅速的經濟解決方案。財政刺激措施應不足以支持經濟迅速復甦,因為增長率很可能推遲至2022年才可重返疫前水平。儘管如此,從相對策略的基礎來看,新興市場股票和固定收益的回報高於已發展市場。

綜觀新興市場,我們認為亞洲較具吸引力,因為區內經濟相對拉丁美洲和新興歐洲國家穩健。亞洲經濟的起步點高於其他廣泛新興市場,因此有較大機會推行定向刺激經濟措施和放寬信貸標準。美國方面,由於估值偏高和美元貶值,我們對美國股票持較中性的長期觀點。

從多元資產的角度而言,隨著投資者更迫切需要追求收益,我們認為最吸引的投資機遇須在主權債券領域之外尋找,因而持續偏重投資級別的環球信貸和高收益債券。雖然我們必須持續監察個別行業,以關注其因應疫情狀況而出現的發展,(例如能源業及康健護理),但該領域可望於未來五年提供充份的升值空間。

總結:陰霾中見機遇

儘管2020年面對一個世紀以來最艱難險阻的宏觀環境,但投資者仍然願意承受風險。在2021年,投資者應在市場鬆懈的情緒與持續升溫的風險之間取得平衡。2021年的主要市場動力很可能是聯儲局政策與美元走勢、政府刺激措施、中國與新冠肺炎疫情發展,以及疫苗成功遏制疫情。我們預期聯儲局的取態將比2020年春季較為被動,因為封鎖措施一旦解除,將會令經濟釋放積壓需求,從而刺激由消費和經濟帶動的復甦。自2020年6月起,聯儲局已暫停擴大資產負債表,增張步伐平穩。

地緣政治仍然是一項主要風險,我們預料拜登政府不會撤銷第一階段對華關稅,預計短期內會維持類似政策。然而,拜登執政下的美歐關係有望改善。

儘管局勢也許未明朗,陰霾中總會出現機遇。我們相信,在風險管理的框架下,專注研究宏觀主題,並結合周詳的資本市場資產配置策略,能有效照顧投資者的利益。更進一步來說,藉此把握市場機遇,透過管理潛在的升市和跌市風險 ,應能在不同市場周期為投資者提供可持續及穩健的投資方案。

 

下載全份文件

  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部

 

 

1 「聯儲局宣布廣泛的新措施支持經濟」,美國聯儲局,2020年3月23日。

2 彭博資訊,截至2020年7月28日。

3 「大部份G20國家2020年第二季本地生產總值出現前未見的下跌。」經濟合作及發展組織,2020年9月14日。

4 美國商務部經濟分析局,2020年10月29日。

5 英國國家統計局,2020年9月30日。

6 日本內閣府,2020年8月17日。

7 印度國家統計局,2020年9月2日。

8 中國國家統計局,2020年7月17日。

9 FactSet,截至2020年11月30日。自年初至今,MSCI明晟美國和MSCI明晟亞太區(日本除外)股票指數分別上升16.6%和15%,而MSCI明晟世界指數則升11.72%。

10 FactSet,截至2020年11月30日。

  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認