Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

Bright outlook: 9 takeaways from a strong quarter for U.S. banks

26 May 2021

US bank portfolio management team

With each passing quarter since the pandemic began to disrupt the economy in early 2020 and the outlook for U.S. banks was upended, the industry has managed to successfully retrench and position itself to help lead the economy’s broader recovery. Nearly all publicly traded U.S. banks have released first-quarter results as of this writing, and the industry as a whole continues to exceed our expectations. Based on our analysis, here are nine salient points about the current state of banks and the implications for equity investors.

  1. Strong overall results, improved outlook―The vast majority of U.S. banks exceeded Wall Street analysts’ first-quarter earnings expectations; 97% that had reported results as of April 23 had surpassed analysts’ estimates,1 while the overall backdrop for U.S. banks remained robust.
  2. Better than forecasted operating earnings per share (EPS)2―First-quarter operating EPS growth rose 11% over last year’s fourth quarter and surged 72% relative to the first quarter of 2020,1 when the pandemic-driven economic slowdown was at its worst. These gains have been driven largely by improving trends regarding credit, expense efficiency, and fee income.
  3. Credit metrics came in strong―Two categories of negative credit metrics that banks track―nonperforming assets and net-charge-offs―both declined in the latest quarter.1 These gains, coupled with improved economic assumptions in 2021 and beyond, drove banks to release some of the specific loan loss reserves they had built up last year to manage negative credit trends. Assuming the U.S. vaccine rollout continues to progress and economic normalization occurs, we expect to see further loan loss reserve releases in coming quarters.
  4. Loan growth was relatively muted―Banks saw a massive inflow of deposits as a result of the congressionally approved economic stimulus distributed in the quarter. While this dampened loan growth in the short run as borrowers paid down loans, the stimulus should provide a catalyst for economic growth as COVID-19-related restrictions are rolled back. We expect loan demand to build as we enter the second half of 2021, fueling accelerated revenue growth for banks.
  5. Average deposits continue to increase―This metric grew 24% from a year earlier.1 As a result, banks have excess liquidity, and we expect that deposit pricing will continue to trend downward.
  6. Fee revenues were strong―These revenues rose 19% over the same quarter a year earlier, and mortgage- and capital markets-related activities were again robust during the quarter.1 We expect mortgage volume to remain healthy.
  7. Expense management remains a focus―Non-interest expenses were well contained, in our view. We expect to see continued positive operating leverage as technology investments drive improvement.
  8. Capital management activity should accelerate throughout 2021―Most banks have now resumed share buyback activity that regulators had suspended in the wake of the pandemic. More recently, the U.S. Federal Reserve declared that its temporary restrictions on bank dividends and the amount of share repurchases allowed will end on June 30, 2021.3
  9. Significant acceleration in merger-and-acquisition (M&A) activity in 2021―M&A has resumed following a pandemic pause, and we expect this to continue as banks have become more comfortable performing due diligence and executing deals in the current environment. M&A is a long-term trend in U.S. banks and is supportive of efficiency improvement and future earnings.

U.S. banks' capital levels have surged since a 2009 low

U.S. banks' ratio (%) of tangible common equity to risk-weighted assets, 2001–2020


Source: Federal Deposit Insurance Corp., January 2021. A tangible common equity to risk-weighted assets ratio is used to assess the potential for future bank financial stress based on commonly measured capital ratios. 

 

U.S. banks appear to us to be fundamentally strong, with historically high levels of capital and liquidity. As the economy has reopened, credit fundamentals have been materially better than had been expected a year earlier. Strong results from regulators’ latest round of stress tests to assess major banks’ abilities to weather further economic shocks triggered a further loosening of restrictions related to share buybacks. We view these developments as a testament to the industry’s capital strength and improved underwriting. In addition, we believe that the most recent stimulus package that Congress approved in March should further support the economy and reduce credit costs. As these trends persist, we expect U.S. bank earnings to accelerate throughout 2021.

 

Download full PDF

 

 

1 “KBW Bank Earnings Wrap-Up 1Q21, v. 2: Banks Continue to Deliver EPS Beats on Mostly Favorable Credit Trends,” Keefe, Bruyette & Woods, April 23, 2021. 

2 Earnings per share (EPS) is a measure of how much profit a company has generated calculated by dividing the company's net income by its total number of outstanding shares. 

U.S. Federal Reserve press release, March 25, 2021.

  • US inflation outlook

    We’re entering a period where concerns about inflation have reached fever pitch. Here's our outlook for US inflation.

    Read more
  • U.S. dollar outlook—moving from strength to weakness

    The strength that the U.S. dollar displayed in Q1 caught many investors off guard; however, data suggests the currency may resume its long-term downward trend soon.

    Read more
  • How likely is food price inflation?

    Investors haven’t worried about food price inflation for years. Is that likely to change soon? We examine which economies are most likely to be affected.

    Read more
See all
  • US inflation outlook

    We’re entering a period where concerns about inflation have reached fever pitch. Here's our outlook for US inflation.

    Read more
  • U.S. dollar outlook—moving from strength to weakness

    The strength that the U.S. dollar displayed in Q1 caught many investors off guard; however, data suggests the currency may resume its long-term downward trend soon.

    Read more
  • How likely is food price inflation?

    Investors haven’t worried about food price inflation for years. Is that likely to change soon? We examine which economies are most likely to be affected.

    Read more
See all
We welcome your feedback

We'd love to hear what you think of our website. Please let us know your feedback in our 1 minute survey >>

View more
We welcome your feedback

We'd love to hear what you think of our website. Please let us know your feedback in our 1 minute survey >>

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

前景亮麗:美國銀行業在季內表現強勁帶來的9大重點

31/5/2021

美國銀行投資組合管理團隊

美國經濟自2020年初開始受到疫情衝擊,當地銀行業前景亦因而受累,但隨著每個季度過去,銀行業成功收復失地,並作好部署,以助帶動經濟廣泛復甦。截至撰寫本文時,幾乎所有美國上市銀行已公布第一季業績,行業整體表現繼續優於美國銀行投資組合管理團隊的預期。根據我們的分析,以下九個重點概述銀行業現況及為股票投資者帶來的啟示。

  1. 整體業績穩健,前景改善 — 美國大部份銀行的第一季盈利表現,優於華爾街分析師預期;截至4月23日,有97%已公布業績的銀行表現超越分析員估計, 而美國銀行業的整體環境仍然強勁。
  2. 每股營運收益優於預期2  — 第一季每股營運收益的增長,較去年第四季升11%,並較2020年第一季急升72%,1因為當時正值疫情導致經濟出現最嚴重放緩。有關升幅主要源自信貸、開支效率和費用收入展現好轉趨勢 。
  3. 信貸標準穩健 — 不良資產和淨撇賬是銀行追蹤的兩類負面信貸標準,而兩者均在最近一季減少。1 這個利好因素再加上假設經濟在2021年及以後改善,促使銀行釋放於去年為應對負面信貸趨勢,而累積的部分特定貸款虧損儲備。假設美國疫苗接種計劃持續取得進展,以及經濟實現正常化,我們預期,銀行將在未來數個季度進一步釋放貸款虧損儲備。
  4. 貸款增長相對溫和 — 鑑於美國國會批准的刺激經濟措施在季內出台,銀行業出現大量存款資金流入的情況。儘管借款人償還貸款,因而在短期內遏止貸款增長,但隨著2019新型冠狀病毒(COVID-19)疫情相關的防疫限制措施逐步撤銷,刺激措施有望帶動經濟增長。踏入2021年下半年,我們預期貸款需求將會上升,推動銀行收入加快增長。
  5. 平均存款水平持續提升 — 這項指標較去年增長24%。1因此,銀行擁有剩餘流動資金,而且我們預期,存款定價將繼續呈下行趨勢。
  6. 費用收入強勁 — 這類收入較去年同季增加19%,與按揭和資本市場相關的活動亦於季內再度暢旺。1我們預期按揭金額將維持穩健。
  7. 開支管理仍是關注重點 — 我們認為,非利息開支已妥善受控。預期隨著科技投資推動改善,銀行業控制固定成本開支的前景將繼續保持正面。
  8. 資本管理活動應會在2021年加快 — 為應對疫情,監管機構曾要求銀行暫停股份回購,但現時大部份銀行已恢復有關活動。美國聯儲局最近宣布,其對銀行股息和允許股份回購金額的臨時限制,將在2021年6月30日結束。3 
  9. 併購活動在2021年顯著加速發展 — 隨著疫情緩和,各行業已恢復併購活動,在目前環境下,銀行更樂意進行盡職審查和執行交易,因此我們預期,併購活動將會陸續出現。併購是美國銀行業的一股長期趨勢,有利於提高效率和未來盈利。

美國銀行業的資本水平已從2009年低位急升


資料來源:聯邦存款保險公司,2021年1月。有型普通股權益與風險加權資產資本比率是根據常用的量度資本比率,評估銀行在未來面對財政壓力的可能性。

 

美國銀行業的基本因素看來穩健,而且資本和流動性均處於歷史高水平。隨著經濟重啟,信貸基本因素遠優於一年前的預期。為評估主要銀行抵禦更多經濟衝擊的能力,監管機構已進行最新一輪壓力測試,有關結果理想,促使股份回購限制進一步放寬。我們認為這些發展足證銀行業的資本實力雄厚,而且信貸批核水平有所提升。此外,我們相信美國國會在3月份通過的最新刺激經濟方案應可為當地經濟提供更多支持,並降低信貸成本。鑑於上述趨勢持續發展,我們預期美國銀行業的盈利將在2021年加速增長。

 

下載全份文件

 

 

1 「KBW銀行2021年第一季盈利概要,第2期:在信貸趨勢大致利好的情況下,銀行公布的每股盈利持續勝預期」,Keefe, Bruyette & Woods,2021年4月23日。 

2 每股盈利是衡量一家公司締造多少利潤的指標,計算方法是把公司淨收入除以其已發行股份總數。

3 美國聯儲局新聞稿,2021年3月25日。

  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認