Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

Making sense of China bond market defaults

27 July, 2021

Fiona Cheung, Head of Global Emerging Markets Fixed Income Research
 

With better economic news being offset by headlines about defaults and missed payments, investors would be forgiven for thinking that the credit backdrop in China is somewhat gloomy. Yet, when viewed over a longer time frame, we believe these developments will ultimately be a force for good. The Chinese authorities see these events as an opportunity to tackle lingering issues and develop a sustainable corporate-bond market positioned for long-term growth.

 

Key takeaways:

  • China is allowing more debt defaults, but in a controlled manner. SOE defaults should mostly come from those with low strategical importance or weak fundamentals.
  • China aims to promote market-oriented debt resolutions for state owned enterprises (SOEs).
  • A new three-year reform programme should play a vital role in developing the onshore bond market.
  • China's offshore US-dollar-bond default risk is considered manageable.
  • Recent funding curbs on China’s property developers aim to manage housing-market risk.
  • Manulife Investment Management's onshore and offshore research presence fills the information gap and provides us with an additional layer of detail on each issuer.

Despite the recent increase in credit events, we believe the case for investing in Chinese corporate bonds remain strong, with the search-for-yield theme very much in play. Along the way, we acknowledge the issue of Chinese corporate-debt defaults and explain that, with careful credit selection, the country’s credit market can remain a good opportunity for investors. China’s economic and market resilience with a spread premium over developed-bond markets places it in a unique global position (Chart 11).

Chart 1: China US dollar credit can offer a spread pick-up versus US corporate bonds


The big picture: recent credit events and the continuing credit clean-up

During the first half of 2021, we saw an increasing number of onshore and offshore credit events, with YTD onshore bond default numbers already exceeding 50% of the full-year total for 20202. Instead of “kicking the can” down the road, we believe the Chinese government is allowing more debt defaults in a controlled manner, as a continuation of the credit clean-up that has been taking place over the past few years. We think this move is positive for the financial health of the corporate sector, especially property and state-owned enterprises (SOEs). Policymakers now have a higher tolerance of defaults amid the sustained recovery in China’s economy that has materialised since the second quarter of 2020. Also, we see an increasing willingness to let creditors bear losses, a shift from the prior belief that the government would bail out bondholders of failed financial institutions. More market-driven and orderly defaults should lead to credit-risks pricing that is more reflective of credit fundamentals.

While these defaults may lead to market jitters and a widening of credit spreads, our base case is that the SOE defaults will likely come from those with low strategical importance or weak fundamentals and may not cause systemic risk3. In our view, the recent trend of large and high-profile SOE defaults highlights the importance of fundamental credit analysis and credit selection – especially in the China onshore bond market where there is limited credit differentiation, and government support is taken for granted. Our Asian fixed income team practices what it preaches – with a robust credit process and onshore and offshore presence, it has avoided all these Chinese credit defaults4.

SOE reforms amid rising onshore defaults

While market dynamics are resulting in a healthier and more sustainable credit environment, government reform also plays an increasingly indispensable role in developing the onshore bond market. In June 2020, President Xi Jinping approved a new three-year reform programme5. This move has kick-started a new round of mergers and asset restructuring among central and local-level SOEs in areas such as steel and the infrastructure space. In summary, the programme is designed to help SOEs become more competitive and market-driven, while solidifying the central government’s influence on SOEs and, in turn, SOEs’ influence in those strategic industries aiming to achieve national goals e.g., carbon neutrality by 20606.

Chart 2: Issuers’ total notional amount of onshore bonds outstanding at the time of default, as a percentage of total corporate bonds outstanding at the start of the year7


As the COVID situation in China has stabilised and the economy is broadly recovering, onshore defaults could pick up moderately. Based on the latest guidance, the central government aims to promote more market-oriented debt resolutions for SOEs, with a greater tolerance for insolvent local government financing vehicles (LGFVs) to default. While we expect the process to be gradual, we believe that the so-called “zombie” SOEs and LGFVs could be default candidates. “Zombie” attributes include very weak fundamental profiles, limited strategic functions, and exposure to highly polluting industries, e.g., coal mining. Having said that, with an overall default rate of less than 1%7, SOE default risk should remain manageable given the efforts by local government to smoothen the process without causing a systemic impact on local funding channels. We believe there are more opportunities in SOE issuers with sound credit profiles, consistent financial policy, and the ability to ride through cycles with manageable fallen-angel risk. Also, we believe issuers with clear strategic importance to warrant government support to offset any fundamental weakness arising from their policy function.

Amid the post-COVID-19 recovery, we expect an improving operating environment, and the broad price recovery in commodities should alleviate some of the pressure on privately owned enterprises (POEs). Since the weaker POEs have already defaulted, we believe that the rate should moderate from the record high in 2019.

Offshore credits: Policy tightening may lead to consolidation for property developers

Overall, we think the China offshore US-dollar-bond default risk is manageable (see Chart 3), as China’s offshore high-yield (HY) market is dominated by local property developers8. As the Chinese government continues with its more proactive approach to managing systematic risk in the sector, we do not expect sharp credit deterioration or widespread defaults. Given the significance of property in terms of its economic contribution and citizens’ store of wealth, we believe it is in China’s interest to promote healthy and sustainable development within the sector instead of an abrupt intervention that could lead to sharp price correction and drastic surge in defaults. In fact, we are already seeing some uptick in single B-rated9 developer default.

Chart 3: China G3 HY bond market default rate (weighted by outstanding amount)

Source: Goldman Sachs, as of 17 June 2021.

The recent funding curbs on China’s property developers aim to manage risk in the housing market, which is showing signs of overheating. This policy tightening will inevitably lead to challenges for weaker developers with limited access to funding and financial flexibility. That said, we expect that the overall default risk in the sector should be manageable. Under the “three red lines” rule10, developers with excessive leverage will be under pressure to slow their expansion and focus on improving the quality of their growth, which we think may improve their credit profiles over time. Furthermore, we believe that larger developers with financial flexibility and access to funding should play a greater role in the industry’s consolidation over the coming years. We believe this would lead to further polarization within the sector and accelerate consolidation over the medium-to-long term.

We believe that developers with decent scale and financials to buffer the ride through various market cycles should stand out. These players tend to have ample land reserves, either nationally or in major economic clusters where they hold leading market positions. In addition, developers with access to diversified funding channels in both onshore and offshore markets should be in an advantageous position. In our view, this is critical to a developers’ liquidity position, as well as its long-term success.

The importance of both onshore and offshore research presence

China’s credit market is already the world’s second largest and still growing11. As China’s onshore and offshore bond markets continue to develop, there exists a certain information gap. At Manulife Investment Management, we take pride in our bottom-up fundamental research capabilities, with both onshore and offshore research presence, including dedicated credit analysts in Shanghai and Beijing. When assessing the creditworthiness of a local SOE or central SOE, it is essential to understand its role in the eyes of either local or national government, and their access to onshore and offshore funding. Often, movements in onshore market could be verified via the offshore presence, and vice versa, to see through the nuances. Having both an onshore and offshore presence with access to on-the-ground intelligence, therefore, fills the information gap by providing us with an additional layer of detail on the quality of each issuer. Ultimately, this market knowledge helps us identify attractive opportunities for our investors.

 

Download full PDF

 

 

1 Bloomberg, Manulife Investment Management, 30 June 2021.

2 Goldman Sachs, 21 June 2021.

3 So far, the default rate of SOEs in China is still below 1% (of total China onshore corporate bonds outstanding), a level that is low compared to other bond markets around the world. Chinese authorities have shown in the past that they are willing to take bold measures to support and restore confidence in the market to prevent any contagion risk.

4 Manulife Investment Management, as of 26 July 2021.

5 China Daily, 5 June 2020: “SOE reforms to drive economic development”. Premier Li Keqiang delivered the Government Work Report on 22 May 2020 in which it was announced that China will launch a three-year action plan for SOE reform, improve the system of State capital regulation and intensify mixed ownership reform of SOEs.

6 China pledges to be “carbon neutral” by 2060, Financial Times, 23 September 2020.

7 Goldman Sachs, 25 June 2021: As a percentage of total China onshore corporate bonds outstanding, a level that is low compared to other bond markets around the world.

8 These make up about 46% of the JACI China High-Yield segment.

9 Considered speculative, subject to high credit risk.

10 The People’s Bank of China and the Ministry of Housing announced in 2020 that they’d drafted new financing rules for real estate companies. Developers wanting to refinance are being assessed against three thresholds: a 70% ceiling on liabilities to assets, excluding advance proceeds from projects sold on contract, a 100% cap on net debt to equity, a cash to short-term borrowing ratio of at least one.

11 Bank of International Settlements, 23 June 2021.

  • Macro anchors shaping the global growth outlook

    The current global economic recovery remains delicate. We examine key macroeconomic themes that could influence the global growth trajectory in the near term.

    Read more
  • An introduction to Asia-Pacific REITs (AP REITs)

    Asia-Pacific Real Estate Investment Trusts (AP-REITs) have become increasingly popular with investors, and deservedly so.

    Read more
  • Evolving the ESG conversation

    ESG factors are playing an increasingly important role in the formulation of investment outlooks—applying a sustainability lens to every element of macroeconomic analysis is now, in our view, mission critical.

    Read more
See all
  • Macro anchors shaping the global growth outlook

    The current global economic recovery remains delicate. We examine key macroeconomic themes that could influence the global growth trajectory in the near term.

    Read more
  • An introduction to Asia-Pacific REITs (AP REITs)

    Asia-Pacific Real Estate Investment Trusts (AP-REITs) have become increasingly popular with investors, and deservedly so.

    Read more
  • Evolving the ESG conversation

    ESG factors are playing an increasingly important role in the formulation of investment outlooks—applying a sustainability lens to every element of macroeconomic analysis is now, in our view, mission critical.

    Read more
See all
We welcome your feedback

We'd love to hear what you think of our website. Please let us know your feedback in our 1 minute survey >>

View more
We welcome your feedback

We'd love to hear what you think of our website. Please let us know your feedback in our 1 minute survey >>

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

剖析中國債市的違約情況

27/07/2021

張麗萍

環球新興市場 固定收益研究主管

 

市場出現債務違約和拖欠還款的媒體報道,抵銷利好的經濟消息,因此投資者認為中國信貸環境較為黯淡,實屬無可厚非。然而,從更長遠的角度來看,我們認為這些事態發展,最終將成為一股正面的力量。中國當局視之為一個機會解決長期市場問題,並建立一個可持續發展、有利長期增長的企業債券市場。

 

 

 

摘要

  • 我們認為中國正透過可控的方式容許債務違約增加。國營企業違約事件應會主要發生在戰略重要性較低,或基本因素疲弱的企業。
  • 中國以市場主導方案解決國企的債務問題。
  • 國企改革三年行動方案將於在岸債券市場的發展扮演重要角色。
  • 整體而言,我們認為中國離岸美元債券的違約風險受控。
  • 中國近日對房地產發展商實施融資限制,旨在管理樓市風險。
  • 中國的在岸和離岸債券市場持續發展,宏利投資管理的在岸或離岸信貸團隊,可彌補兩個市場之間的資訊差距,細緻地分析每家公司的信貸狀況。

儘管近日的信貸事件增加,我們認為尋求收益的主題至關重要,因此仍有充分理據投資於中國企業債券。在過程中,我們承認中國企業債券存在違約問題,並認為只要透過審慎的信貸挑選,中國信貸市場對投資者而言仍可繼續成為一個良好機遇。中國經濟和市場穩健,相對已發展債券市場存在息差溢價,使其在全球市場獨樹一幟(見圖11)。

圖1:相對美國企業債券,中國美元信貸能提供息差增長機遇


宏觀大局:最近的信貸事件和持續整頓信貸

在2021年上半年,我們觀察到市場出現越來越多在岸和離岸信貸事件,年初至今的在岸債券違約數目,是2020年全年總數一半以上2。我們認為中國政府並無「拖延問題」,而是透過一種可控的方式,容許債務違約增加,延續過去數年一直維持的整頓信貸方針。我們相信,此舉有利於企業的財政狀況,尤其是房地產和國營企業。中國經濟自2020年第二季開始持續復甦,決策官員現時對違約事件的容忍度提高。此外,我們認為市場日益傾向由債權人承擔損失,扭轉以往的觀點 — 即政府會為財困金融機構的債券持有人提供救助。市場主導的有序違約事件增加,應能使信貸風險定價更能反映信貸基本因素。

儘管上述違約事件可能導致市場波動,甚至信貸息差擴闊,但根據我們的基本情況預測,國營企業違約事件,很可能主要發生在戰略重要性較低或基本因素疲弱的企業,不會引發系統性風險3。我們認為,最近備受觸目的大型國企出現違約趨勢,突顯信貸基本因素分析和信貸挑選的重要性,尤其是中國在岸債市的信貸質素差異不大,而且市場視政府支持為理所當然。我們的亞洲固定收益團隊透過嚴謹的信貸程序,以及遍布國內外的業務實踐理念,成功迴避所有上述中國信貸違約事件4

在岸債券違約增加下的國企改革

雖然市場動力正營造更穩健和更可持續的信貸環境,但政府改革對在岸債市發展亦發揮日益重要的作用。在2020年6月,中國國家主席習近平審定國企改革三年行動方案5。此舉令鋼鐵和基建等行業的中央及地方國企,展開新一輪併購和資產重組。總結而言,這方案旨在協助國企提高競爭力,更以市場主導,同時鞏固中央政府對國企的影響力,繼而加強國企對若干有助協助國家目標(例如2060年實現碳中和6)等戰略行業的影響力。

圖2:發行人在違約時的未償還在岸債券名義總額,佔年初未償還企業債券總額百分比7


隨著中國新冠肺炎疫情穩定,經濟廣泛復甦,在岸債券違約率可能溫和回升。根據最新的指導意見,中央政府旨在推動國企採取更市場主導的債務解決方案,並提高對無力償債的地方政府融資平台(LGFV)違約的容忍度。我們預期,政策進程將循序漸進,同時認為「殭屍國企」和地方政府融資平台可能違約。「殭屍國企」的特徵包括基本因素非常疲弱、戰略功能有限,以及投資於採煤等高污染行業。然而,在整體違約率低於1%7的情況下,地方政府致力為政策進程鋪路,同時防止地方融資渠道出現系統性影響,因此國企的違約風險應維持受控。我們專注於信貸狀況良好、財務政策一致,以及能在企業被降至非投資級別風險受控的情況下、能駕馭不同市場周期的國企發行人。此外,我們相信具明確戰略重要性的發行人;這些發行人可獲政府支持,能夠抵銷政策所導致的任何基本因素弱點。

在疫後經濟復甦的情況下,我們預期,經營環境將會改善,而且商品價格廣泛回升,有望緩和民營企業的部份壓力。由於實力較弱的民營企業已出現違約,我們認為,違約率應會從2019年的紀錄高位回落。

離岸信貸:政策收緊或導致房地產發展商整合

整體而言,我們認為中國離岸美元債券的違約風險受控(見圖3),因為中國離岸高收益市場由本地房地產發展商主導8。隨著中國政府繼續透過更積極的方式管控該行業的系統性風險,預期信貸不會嚴重惡化或廣泛違約。鑑於房地產業在經濟貢獻和居民累積財富方面舉足輕重,我們認為,促進行業穩健和可持續發展符合中國利益,而非採取可能導致價格急跌和違約率上升的突發性干預措施。事實上,信貸評級為「B」級9的發展商違約況正在增加。

圖3:以美元、歐元和日圓計價的中國高收益債市違約率(按未償還金額加權)

資料來源:高盛,截至2021年6月17日。

中國近日對房地產發展商實施融資限制,旨在管理目前出現過熱跡象的房市風險。政策收緊勢必為實力較弱的發展商帶來挑戰,導致其融資渠道和財務靈活性受限。然而,我們預期該行業的整體違約風險應會受控。在「三條紅線」規則下10,槓桿比率過高的發展商將面臨壓力,需要放慢擴張步伐,專注於提高增長質素。我們認為這些公司的信貸狀況將隨著時間而改善。再者,我們認為具備財務彈性、擁有融資渠道的大型發展商,應能在未來數年的行業整合中,擔當更重要角色,我們相信,上述的發展能促使行業進一步兩極化,加速中長期的整合步伐。

我們認為,較具規模和財政狀況良好的發展商,能緩衝不同市場周期的衝擊,應能被看高一線。上述發展商在國內、甚至經濟重地均擁有充足的土地儲備,並雄踞市場領導地位。此外,在岸和離岸市場擁有多元化融資渠道的發展商,應能佔更大的優勢,我們亦相信,融資渠道多元化對發展商的流動資金狀況和長遠成功至關重要。

在岸及離岸市場研究的重要性

中國信貸市場現已位居全球第二,並正不斷增長11。中國的在岸和離岸債券市場持續發展,因此存在若干資訊差距。無論是在岸或離岸研究,宏利投資管理都對內部的「由下而上」基本因素研究實力引以為傲,在岸研究團隊包括駐上海和北京分析員。在評估地方國企或中央國企的信貸質素時,必須了解其在地方或國家政府眼中所擔當的角色,以及其擁有的在岸和離岸融資渠道。在岸市場的變動,通常亦可透過離岸市場進行驗證,以洞悉細微之處,反之亦然。因此,同時具備在岸和離岸的分析團隊,可取得實地情報,深入了解每個發行人的質素,從而填補資訊差距。這些市場資訊,最終有助我們為投資者發掘吸引的機遇。

 

下載全份文件

 

1 彭博資訊、宏利投資管理,截至2021年6月30日。

2 高盛,2021年6月21日。

3 目前,中國國營企業的違約率仍低於1%(佔中國未償還在岸企業債券總額),違約水平低於全球其他債券市場。中國政府過去曾表明,願意採取果斷的措施,支持並恢復市場信心,以防出現蔓延風險。

4 宏利投資管理,截至2021年7月26日。

5 《中國日報》,2020年6月5日:「國企改革推動經濟發展(SOE reforms to drive economic development)」。2020年5月22日,中國國務院總理李克強發表《政府工作報告》,宣布將實行「國企改革三年行動方案」,完善國家資本監管體系,加強國企混合所有制改革。

6 金融時報China pledges to be “carbon neutral” by 2060,2020年9月23日。

7 高盛,2021年6月25日:在中國未償還在岸企業債券總額的佔比,水平低於全球其他債券市場。

8 約佔摩根大通亞洲信貸指數 — 中國高收益指數的46%。

9 屬於投機性,較高信貸風險的債券。

10 在2020年,中國人民銀行與住房和城鄉建設部宣布,已就房地產企業草擬新融資規則。計劃進行再融資的發展商將根據三個門檻進行評估:資產負債率上限為70%(剔除按合約所出售項目的預收款項);淨負債比率上限為100%;現金短債比率至少為1。

11 國際結算銀行,2021年6月23日。

  • 日本的企業管治正在改善

    近年日本出現顯見的企業醜聞,似乎代表該國的企業管治水平正下滑。然而,現實卻是另一回事。

    閱讀更多
  • 內房債務危機對大灣區的投資啓示

    我們探討內房債務危機對投資者的啟示,並評估在大灣區內的不一樣投資機遇。

    閱讀更多
  • 亞太區(日本除外)股票: 走勢分歧下的策略機遇

    雖然各個地區料將繼續表現分歧,但我們認為,亞洲股票的廣泛投資領域為主動型經理提供吸引機遇,可在區內進行分散投資,並發掘估值合理的公司。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 日本的企業管治正在改善

    近年日本出現顯見的企業醜聞,似乎代表該國的企業管治水平正下滑。然而,現實卻是另一回事。

    閱讀更多
  • 內房債務危機對大灣區的投資啓示

    我們探討內房債務危機對投資者的啟示,並評估在大灣區內的不一樣投資機遇。

    閱讀更多
  • 亞太區(日本除外)股票: 走勢分歧下的策略機遇

    雖然各個地區料將繼續表現分歧,但我們認為,亞洲股票的廣泛投資領域為主動型經理提供吸引機遇,可在區內進行分散投資,並發掘估值合理的公司。

    閱讀更多
查看全部

我們重視您對網站的意見。只需一分鐘回答幾條簡單問題可助我們為您提供更佳的使用經驗。提供意見 >>

查看更多

我們重視您對網站的意見。只需一分鐘回答幾條簡單問題可助我們為您提供更佳的使用經驗。提供意見 >>

查看更多
確認