Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Manulife Financial Planning Manager

Assessing the impact of the Comprehensive Capital Analysis and Review on US banks

2 July, 2020 

The results of the 2020 Comprehensive Capital Analysis and Review (CCAR) stress tests of the largest US banks have revealed that despite COVID-19 and the prospect of pandemic-led loan losses, the sector remains in good shape. In this investment note, our US bank portfolio management team takes a closer look.

On Thursday 25 June, the US Federal Reserve Board (the Fed) announced the results of the 2020 CCAR stress test of the country’s largest banks, which this year included additional analysis given the ongoing pandemic1. The supplementary analysis sought to assess how resilient banks are to the current downturn, as it differs from a more typical business–cycle-led-recession. All of the banks passed the stress test; however, the initial market reaction was negative, given investor caution about the recent increase in global coronavirus cases.

Although there will be a range of opinions, the outcome was largely in line with our expectations. Fed Vice Chairman for Supervision Randal Quarles observed that “the banking system has been a source of strength during the crisis and the results of our sensitivity analyses show that our banks can remain strong in the face of even the harshest shocks.”1 This is an important differentiator from the global financial crisis when the banking system was at the heart of the downturn. After the first round of Fed stress tests in 2009, the banks were collectively told to raise US$75 billion in additional capital.

As expected, the Fed kept its share buyback restrictions in place. The Street does not anticipate this will start again until 2021 when the economic recovery is expected to be more firmly established2. Prior to the Fed’s release of results, investors appeared to be more concerned about how the Fed would treat dividends, which were subsequently capped at second-quarter levels and below recent earnings. However, most of the banks should be able to maintain their current dividends under this framework. That said, it could be a limiting factor for a small group of banks. After the market close on Monday 29 June, we received clarity as individual banks announced their capital plans and the majority reaffirmed their dividends going forward, which has been positively received by the markets.

To reflect the current stress tests, an additional requirement this year is for the banks to resubmit and update their capital plans in the third quarter. We view this as appropriate, given the dynamic nature of the recovery.

We would note that the COVID-19 scenario analysis showed that the banks could suffer significant pandemic-driven loan losses. However, we believe that revenue, capital, and loan-loss reserves are sufficient to absorb these potential losses. Additionally, the stress tests scenarios were extremely severe relative to the current situation. For example, one parameter assumed that US unemployment would peak at 19.5% – meaningfully worse than today’s levels. Moreover, the Fed excluded the mitigating effects of government stimulus payments and expanded unemployment benefits that have provided significant support to the economy. Therefore, we think it is unlikely that loan losses will approach these worst-case scenarios.

What the stress-test process has shown is the strength of the banks’ balance sheets, even under extreme stress. Furthermore, valuations remain historically low on both a relative and absolute basis. As such, we believe that US banks offer long-term investors a compelling opportunity.

  • Navigating ESG integration in China A-Shares investing

    Navigating ESG Integration in China A-Shares

    Read more
  • First in, first out: North Asian equities exhibit postpandemic strength

    For emerging-market equity investors, the COVID-19 crisis helps to define a critical juncture. Some companies and geographies are showing deep vulnerabilities; others remarkable resilience. Focusing on the latter is the sustainable investment path ahead.

    Read more
  • Global healthcare the search for a cure

    The healthcare sector has emerged as one of the best-performing areas of the market this year. We look at the sector’s resilience in difficult market and economic conditions and provide compelling insights for developments in the sector.

    Read more
See all

 

 

1 Press release of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, 26 June 2020.

2 Manulife Investment Management, June 2020,” The World Bank, October 2019.

  • Navigating ESG integration in China A-Shares investing

    Navigating ESG Integration in China A-Shares

    Read more
  • First in, first out: North Asian equities exhibit postpandemic strength

    For emerging-market equity investors, the COVID-19 crisis helps to define a critical juncture. Some companies and geographies are showing deep vulnerabilities; others remarkable resilience. Focusing on the latter is the sustainable investment path ahead.

    Read more
  • Global healthcare the search for a cure

    The healthcare sector has emerged as one of the best-performing areas of the market this year. We look at the sector’s resilience in difficult market and economic conditions and provide compelling insights for developments in the sector.

    Read more
See all
We welcome your feedback

We'd love to hear what you think of our new website. Please let us know your feedback in our 1 minute survey >>

View more
We welcome your feedback

We'd love to hear what you think of our new website. Please let us know your feedback in our 1 minute survey >>

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

剖析聯儲局壓力測試對美國銀行業的影響

2/7/2020

美國聯儲局公布2020年綜合資本分析和審查(CCAR)壓力測試結果,發現最大型銀行即使面對2019新型冠狀病毒(COVID-19)衝擊及疫情導致的貸款損失,行業仍然維持良好狀況。在今期投資通訊,我們的美國銀行投資組合管理團隊作進一步的剖析。

聯儲局於6月25日(周四)公布,對美國最大型銀行進行的2020年綜合資本分析和審查壓力測試之結果。鑑於2019新型冠狀病毒疫情持續,本年的測試亦包括其他情境分析1。今次的經濟低迷有別於一般商業周期導致的衰退,有關的情境分析旨在測試銀行對當前環境的抵禦能力。所有銀行均通過壓力測試,但由於近日全球的2019新型冠狀病毒確診個案增加,令投資者保持審慎,市場最初對測試結果的反應仍屬負面。

雖然市場的意見不一,但這次測試結果大致與我們的預期相符。引用聯儲局副主席夸爾斯(Randal Quarles)的話:「在這場危機中,銀行體系一直是力量的來源,我們的敏感度分析結果顯示,即使面對最嚴峻的衝擊,我們的銀行亦保持穩健。」1這是今次危機與環球金融危機之間的一項重要分別,當時銀行體系是經濟低迷下最脆弱的一環。聯儲局於2009年進行首輪壓力測試後,要求銀行業共同籌集750億美元的額外資本。

一如預期,聯儲局這次繼續禁止銀行業回購股份。市場普遍預測,到2021年經濟復甦的基礎更形鞏固時,當局才會允許重啟回購股份2。在聯儲局公布以上消息之前,市場較為關注當局對股息的取態。聯儲局確實將股息限制於第二季的水平,派息亦不可超過近期的盈利水平。然而,在此框架下,大部份銀行仍能維持現行的股息水平。這或會對少數銀行帶來限制。在6月29日收市後,各銀行陸續宣布其資本計劃,大部份銀行重申未來的派息政策,而市場對此反應正面。

今年聯儲局另一項新增要求,是指令銀行需於第三季重新提交和更新資本計劃,以反映當前的壓力測試。考慮到經濟復甦形勢變化不定,我們認為這個要求合理。

我們注意到,2019新型冠狀病毒情境分析顯示,疫情可能會令銀行蒙受重大貸款虧損。不過,銀行的收益、資本和貸款損失撥備足以抵銷這些虧損。此外,壓力測試設定的經濟情境非常嚴峻,其中一項參數假設失業率飆升至19.5%,遠較目前水平惡劣。再者,我們認為美國政府刺激經濟的資金和擴大失業保障福利為經濟帶來重大支持,但聯儲局在測試中並無計及這些措施的紓緩效應。因此,我們相信銀行業的貸款虧損不至於出現這些最壞情況。

上述測試顯示銀行在極端壓力下,資產負債表仍然穩健。我們亦注意到,銀行業的相對和絕對估值仍處歷史低水平。因此,我們認為美國銀行業為長線投資者提供吸引的機遇。

  • 聯儲局的加息方針會否引發美國經濟衰退?

    在通脹看似持續、利率不斷上漲之際,關於衰退風險的顧慮正在加劇。探究這些顧慮的合理程度。

    閱讀更多
  • 美元飆升如何影響亞洲貨幣?

    我們的泛亞洲固定收益和股票團隊分享見解,審視美元走強所帶來的影響,以及對區內貨幣的意義。

    閱讀更多
  • 中國推出支持經濟增長的措施

    我們相信,最新支持性政策最新舉措重申中國對保持經濟穩定的立場不變,中港股市料將有機會受惠於這些支持性政策行動。

    閱讀更多
查看全部

 

 

1 美國聯儲局新聞稿,2020年6月26日。

2 宏利投資管理,2020年6月。

  • 聯儲局的加息方針會否引發美國經濟衰退?

    在通脹看似持續、利率不斷上漲之際,關於衰退風險的顧慮正在加劇。探究這些顧慮的合理程度。

    閱讀更多
  • 美元飆升如何影響亞洲貨幣?

    我們的泛亞洲固定收益和股票團隊分享見解,審視美元走強所帶來的影響,以及對區內貨幣的意義。

    閱讀更多
  • 中國推出支持經濟增長的措施

    我們相信,最新支持性政策最新舉措重申中國對保持經濟穩定的立場不變,中港股市料將有機會受惠於這些支持性政策行動。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
重要通知

如果網頁未能顯示基金資料請清除瀏覽器快取並重試。若要了解如何清除瀏覽器快取可參考此網頁

查看更多

由5月3日(星期二)起,我們位於觀塘宏利金融中心的客戶服務中心將恢復正常服務時間,即星期一至五上午9時至下午6時。

查看更多
確認