Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

Asia-Pacific (ex-Japan) equities: Strategic opportunities amid a diverging landscape   

4 October 2021

Asia-Pacific (ex-Japan) equities marginally fell year-to-date (as of 24 September) amid substantial dispersion among markets1. The recent resurgence of COVID-19 cases, coupled with rising inflation across the globe and volatility in China, has raised questions about the pace of the economic recovery and the trajectory of regional equity markets. In this investment note, our Asian Equities investment team outlines the key factors that will drive equities for the remainder of 2021. Although the divergence in regional performance is expected to continue, we believe the broad Asian equity universe offers attractive opportunities for active managers to find diversification and reasonably-valued companies.

Throughout the COVID-19 pandemic, both last year and into 2021, we foresaw a divergence in the performance of Asian equity markets. In 2020, those East Asian markets with superior virus containment measures and relatively higher inoculation rates led the region, while ASEAN countries lagged due to concentrated urban populations, limited access to vaccines, and less developed healthcare infrastructure. 

Looking at regional performance year-to-date (24 September 2021), this dynamic has experienced some changes (see Chart 1). Some North Asian markets, such as Taiwan, have continued to perform, while others have fallen along with the worst-performing market, China. India has emerged as the best performing regional market, rebounding after experiencing a second wave of COVID-19 earlier in the year. Meanwhile, ASEAN markets have posted marginally negative performance. 

Chart 1: Asian equity market performance, 2021 (YTD)2


Rest of 2021: Growth divergence expected to continue 

After a sharp recovery from the pandemic-driven collapse in economic activity so far in 2021, we expect growth, both globally and across Asia-Pacific, to moderate throughout the rest of 2021. The resurgence of COVID-19 cases, particularly in India, has deferred the highly anticipated economic recovery to the latter part of the year. Even then, the hope of any significant recovery throughout the remainder of the year depends greatly on inoculation rates and each country’s ability to contain the spread of new variants.

On the policy front, the US Federal Reserve (the Fed) adopted a more hawkish tone at its June policy meeting3 and might begin the long process of tapering its monthly asset-purchase programme. This is likely to be one of the most closely watched events moving forward. Other major central banks have also indicated shifts towards a tightening bias4.

Our current macro assessment: monetary policy and inflation 

In our view, most market participants are not yet ready for tighter monetary policy globally. This is evidenced by companies with negative free cash flow trading at the highest price-to-book (P/B) values, relative to the market, in the past 20 years. The market may be pricing in excessive optimism on these companies, with growth fuelled by external capital rather than organically generated cash flows. However, this may be challenged into a sell-off as bond yields rise.

Inflation may also challenge some companies.  Rising raw material prices, freight costs, and the reduced supply of electronic components and semiconductor chips in the first half of 2021 is expected to place pressure on the corporate profits of certain downstream industries. However, we think the impact of cost-push inflation will ease when supply chains across different regions resume to more normal levels.

China: Opportunities amid increased volatility and a shifting regulatory landscape 

In China, regulatory and policy risks have recently escalated.  While the extensive rollout of new rules and regulations creates short-term pain and may impede the near-term growth of some listed companies, we believe the long-term benefits of stable and orderly development in the affected sectors far outweigh the short-term risks to earnings.

Looking ahead, China’s economic agenda will centre around the development of advanced technology, the real economy, industrialisation and decarbonisation. These are areas where we anticipate policy tailwinds. 

For example, we are positive on China’s renewable energy sector – especially companies in the power- grid network and solar-energy supply chain – where we see strong structural growth potential, driven by the government’s goal to reach carbon neutrality by 2060.

The readiness of 5G infrastructure is expected to unleash the potential of segments such as industrial automation, autonomous driving, smart cities, and artificial intelligence. Such development is expected to drive demand for cybersecurity software and services. This area remains underappreciated, in our view.

We also see opportunities in regions outside of China, i.e., Europe, the US, and other emerging markets. This includes companies exposed to the recovery in consumption and investments. 

Tech in Taiwan and Korea 

While investors may be concerned about short-term weakness in the tech cycle, we believe the long-term growth outlook for the sector in Taiwan and Korea remains promising. We expect another round of tech-product upgrades to occur in 2022, as tech bellwethers introduce new chips and software that must be supported by new product specifications. Furthermore, the deployment of 5G-related applications remains at a nascent stage of growth, and we believe that momentum will gather pace in 2022. 

India: A slower rebound favours financials, materials, IT names 

India suffered a setback after COVID-19 cases spiked during the second wave. But as this appears to be easing and state governments have indicated they will take a more measured approach when easing restrictions, suggesting that a more gradual economic recovery lies ahead. We expect a downward revision in the full-year 2022 earnings estimate before seeing improvements in 2023. Given rising material and commodity prices across the globe, we think that Indian-branded consumer-goods companies face margin pressure. 

That said, we see favourable risk-reward characteristics in the following sectors: 

  1. Financials: Most large banks are well capitalised, and we expect credit costs will be under control. Furthermore, the banks are more likely to benefit from formalisation and the cyclical recovery following the second COVID wave. 
  2. Materials: We are optimistic about the domestic building materials sector, as we believe companies here could pass on cost increases at a faster rate than pure consumer companies.
  3. IT services: With US corporate earnings showing strength, IT remains cyclically well positioned. We are more positive on larger-cap names, as they are better positioned to manage salary inflation and attrition during the upturn. IT also gives protection against policy tail risk if the rupee depreciates due to changes in global monetary policy.
  4. Structural growth opportunities over the longer term: We are constructive on macro themes, such as import-substitution plays that benefit from the “Made in India” policy and the “China+1” supply-chain diversification trend5. Opportunities are present across the materials and healthcare sectors.
  • Corporate governance in Japan—progress in six key areas

    Prominent cases of corporate scandals in Japan in recent years seems to suggest that corporate governance in the country has weakened. The reality, however, is quite different. 

    Read more
  • Investment implications of the Mainland real-estate debt crisis for Greater Bay Area (GBA)

    We discuss the implications of the current real-estate debt crisis for equity investors, as well as various opportunities in the Greater Bay Area.

    Read more
  • China Credits: A challenging outlook for real estate

    We explore the implications of recent market volatility on the outlook for real-estate credits, and emphasise the need for careful research and robust credit selection to identify potential long-term opportunities in the sector and broader high-yield space.

    Read more
See all
  • Corporate governance in Japan—progress in six key areas

    Prominent cases of corporate scandals in Japan in recent years seems to suggest that corporate governance in the country has weakened. The reality, however, is quite different. 

    Read more
  • Investment implications of the Mainland real-estate debt crisis for Greater Bay Area (GBA)

    We discuss the implications of the current real-estate debt crisis for equity investors, as well as various opportunities in the Greater Bay Area.

    Read more
  • China Credits: A challenging outlook for real estate

    We explore the implications of recent market volatility on the outlook for real-estate credits, and emphasise the need for careful research and robust credit selection to identify potential long-term opportunities in the sector and broader high-yield space.

    Read more
See all

ASEAN: Opportunities amid a challenging economic landscape 

The recovery in most Southeast Asian countries now looks more subdued following the resurgence of COVID-19 cases. The spread of the more infectious Delta strain amid a relatively slower vaccination rollout has taken its toll on the region’s economy. We now expect a downward revision to growth outlooks for this year. That said, we believe that companies in the following sectors will outperform:

  1. Healthcare: During the initial stage of the outbreak, hospitals suffered from low patient flows and the cancellation of elective surgeries. Over time, these hospitals managed to pivot and have subsequently benefited from assisting the government in performing COVID tests and treating patients. Income derived from these services has helped sustain earnings growth. Post-COVID, these facilities should benefit from the normalisation of operations and a resumption in healthcare tourism.
  2. Exporters: Manufacturers in Southeast Asia should continue to do well due to solid demand from re-opening in the US and Europe. Some companies have benefited from the shift in orders from China to Southeast Asia. While restricted operations and component shortages may cause some disruption, we believe the impact will be short-lived. The exporters also tend to benefit from a stronger US dollar in the event of tapering-related anxiety.
  3. Digitisation of the ASEAN economies: As highlighted the 2021 outlook, Southeast Asian countries, particularly Indonesia, are experiencing robust growth in their digital economies. Data centres in Indonesia are rapidly expanding as digitisation gathers pace across the financial, e-commerce, and ride-hailing sectors. Demand for logistics and warehousing services has grown strongly in the region, and we see high levels of investment in these areas. We anticipate the public listings of key sector leaders in the second half of 2021, particularly in Malaysia and Indonesia, will set the benchmark for the future listing of more “new economy” businesses in Southeast Asia.

Conclusion

The divergence of Asian equities’ performance thus far in 2021 is poised to continue. North Asian economies and Singapore with higher vaccination rates and better containment measures should have a longer runway for growth. In contrast, the recovery for many ASEAN markets has been delayed and may not occur until the end of 2021 or early 2022. This divergence offers a unique opportunity for active managers to choose quality companies throughout the region.  

 

Download full PDF

 

1 MSCI Asia-Pacific fell 2.58% through 24 September 2021) but there was significant divergence between the best-performing market (India) and worst-performing one (China).

2 Bloomberg, as of 24 September 2021.

3 Transcript of Chair Powell's Press Conference -- June 16, 2021 (federalreserve.gov).

4 People’s Bank of China, European Central Bank, Bank of England, and Reserve Bank of Australia.

5 Multi-national companies based in China to look for another supply chain centre in Asia to diversify supply chains.

We welcome your feedback

We'd love to hear what you think of our website. Please let us know your feedback in our 1 minute survey >>

View more
We welcome your feedback

We'd love to hear what you think of our website. Please let us know your feedback in our 1 minute survey >>

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

亞太區(日本除外)股票:走勢分歧下的策略機遇

04/10/2021

2021年年初至今,亞太區(日本除外)輕微回落(截至9月24日),各個市場之間的表現存在顯著差異1。近日全球新型冠狀病毒確診個案回升,加上環球市場通脹升溫和中國股市波動,令投資者質疑經濟復甦的步伐和區內股市走向。在今期投資通訊,亞洲股票投資團隊闡述今年餘下時間推動股市表現的主要因素。雖然各個地區料將繼續表現分歧,但我們認為,亞洲股票的廣泛投資領域為主動型經理提供吸引機遇,可在區內進行分散投資,並發掘估值合理的公司。 

在去年疫情至2021年期間,我們已預期亞洲股市表現分歧。於2020年,防疫措施奏效和接種率(相對)較高的東亞市場在區內表現領先,而東盟市場則由於城市人口集中、疫苗供應受限和醫療基建相對落後而表現遜色。 

從年初至今(9月24日)的地區表現來看,上述動態大致持續(見圖一)。部分北亞市場繼續表現出色(例如台灣),而其他市場則跟隨表現最差的中國股市而回落。印度的表現最為突出,自本年較早時經歷第二波疫情後一直回升,是區內表現最佳的市場。 東盟市場則錄得輕微跌幅。 

圖一:亞洲股市表現,2021年初至今2


2021年餘下時間:預期增長繼續分道揚鑣 

在2021年至今,經濟活動自疫情影響急跌後大幅回升,我們預期在2021年餘下時間,全球和亞太區經濟增長將會放緩。疫情再度升溫,特別是在印度,使市場憧憬的經濟復甦推遲到今年較後時間才出現。儘管如此,今年餘下時間,經濟若要出現任何顯著復甦,很大程度上取決於疫苗接種率,以及各國防控新變種病毒擴散的能力。

政策方面,美國聯儲局在6月的政策會議 採取較強硬的立場,並可能展開縮減每月資產購買計劃的漫長過程。這很可能是下半年最受市場關注的事件之一。其他主要央行亦表示傾向收緊政策 。

我們現時對宏觀經濟的評估:貨幣政策及通脹 

我們認為,大部分市場人士仍未為環球收緊貨幣政策作好準備。過去20年,一些自由現金流為負數的公司市帳率相對大市處於最高水平,便可印證投資者尚未作好準備的觀點。市場可能對這些公司的預期過分樂觀,它們由外部資本推動增長,而非依賴公司內部產生的現金流。不過,隨著債券孳息率上升,有關觀點可能會受到挑戰,驅使投資者拋售這些公司。

此外,通脹亦可能對一些公司構成挑戰。在2021年上半年,原材料價格和貨運成本上漲,加上電子零件和半導體晶片供應減少,預期將會令部分下游行業的企業利潤受壓。然而,我們認為在橫跨不同地區的供應鏈恢復較正常的水平時,由成本帶動的通脹影響將會減緩。

中國:波幅加劇和監管格局變化帶來的機遇 

近期,中國的監管和政策風險升溫。雖然政府推行大量新規則和規例,令市場陷入短期困境,並可能窒礙部分上市公司的短期增長,但我們認為,受影響行業平穩有序發展的長遠效益,遠遠大於短期盈利風險。

展望未來,中國的經濟議程將以先進科技、實體經濟、工業化和減碳的發展為重心。我們預計某些領域將受惠於政策利好因素。 

例如,我們看好中國的可再生能源業,特別是電網網絡和太陽能供應鏈。在政府訂立於2060年前實現碳中和的目標推動下,我們認為這些領域蘊藏強大的結構性增長潛力。

5G基建準備就緒,預料可釋放部份板塊,例如工業自動化、自動駕駛、智慧城市和人工智能的潛力。預期這些發展將推動對網絡安全軟件和服務的需求,我們認為這些領域仍然被市場低估。

此外,我們也在中國以外地區(即歐洲、美國和其他新興市場)找到機遇,包括能受惠於消費和投資復甦的公司。 

台灣和韓國的科技業 

投資者或會憂慮科技周期在短期呈現弱勢,但我們認為,台灣及韓國的科技業長期增長前景仍然可期。隨著科技龍頭企業推出一些必須由新產品規格支持的新晶片和軟件,預計2022年將出現另一輪科技產品升級。此外,5G技術相關應用的部署仍處於增長的初期階段,我們認為這股勢頭將在2022年加快發展。 

印度:經濟復甦減慢,看好金融、原材料和資訊科技公司 

印度在第二波疫情肆虐期間確診個案激增,令當地經濟受挫。隨著第二波疫情似乎有所緩解,各邦政府已表示在放寬限制措施上,將採取更謹慎的方式,意味經濟在未來的復甦步伐將更循序漸進。我們預期2022年全年盈利預測將會被調低,隨後在2023年有所改善。鑑於全球原材料和商品價格上漲,相信印度消費品公司將會面臨利潤率壓力。 

儘管如此,我們認為以下行業的風險回報特性向好: 

  1. 金融:大部分大型銀行資本充裕,我們預期信貸成本將可受控。此外,這些銀行很可能受惠於第二波疫情後的正常化和周期復甦。 
  2. 原材料:我們看好印度本土建材業,因為相對純消費公司,本土建材公司能較迅速地轉嫁成本升幅。
  3. 資訊科技服務:美國企業盈利表現強勁,資訊科技業仍在目前周期穩佔優勢。我們較看好大型股,因為這些公司在經濟上行期間具備較佳條件,能管理工資上漲和人員流失。如果全球貨幣政策變化導致印度盧比貶值,資訊科技業也可防範政策尾端風險。
  4. 長期結構增長機遇:我們對宏觀主題保持樂觀,例如受惠於「印度製造」政策和「中國加一」供應鏈多元化趨勢的進口替代公司5。原材料和康健護理業也存在機遇。
  • 日本的企業管治正在改善

    近年日本出現顯見的企業醜聞,似乎代表該國的企業管治水平正下滑。然而,現實卻是另一回事。

    閱讀更多
  • 內房債務危機對大灣區的投資啓示

    我們探討內房債務危機對投資者的啟示,並評估在大灣區內的不一樣投資機遇。

    閱讀更多
  • 中國信貸:房地產前景面臨挑戰

    我們探討近期市況波動對房地產信貸的影響,同時強調審慎研究和挑選優質信貸的重要性,以識別房地產業和更廣泛高收益領域的潛在長線機遇。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 日本的企業管治正在改善

    近年日本出現顯見的企業醜聞,似乎代表該國的企業管治水平正下滑。然而,現實卻是另一回事。

    閱讀更多
  • 內房債務危機對大灣區的投資啓示

    我們探討內房債務危機對投資者的啟示,並評估在大灣區內的不一樣投資機遇。

    閱讀更多
  • 中國信貸:房地產前景面臨挑戰

    我們探討近期市況波動對房地產信貸的影響,同時強調審慎研究和挑選優質信貸的重要性,以識別房地產業和更廣泛高收益領域的潛在長線機遇。

    閱讀更多
查看全部

東盟:嚴峻經濟環境下的契機 

鑑於疫情再度爆發,現時大部分東南亞國家的經濟復甦顯得較為疲弱。疫苗接種步伐相對較慢,加上更具傳染性的Delta變種病毒擴散,對區內經濟造成損害。現時,我們預計本年增長前景預測將會被調低,但以下行業的公司有望造好:

  1. 康健護理:疫情初期,醫院的病人流量低,非緊急醫療程序也被取消。隨著疫情發展,這些醫院成功扭轉局面,並藉著協助政府進行新型冠狀病毒檢測和治療患者而受惠,來自這些服務的收益有助維持盈利增長。這些服務在疫情後將受惠於營運恢復正常和醫療旅遊復甦。
  2. 出口商:由於美國和歐洲經濟重啟帶來殷切需求,東南亞製造商應繼續表現良好。訂單從中國轉至東南亞的趨勢令部分企業受惠。雖然營運受限和零件不足或會造成一些干擾,但我們認為這些影響僅屬短暫。如果央行縮減量寬的不安情緒導致美元走強,亦往往會令出口商得益。
  3. 東盟經濟體數碼化:正如在2021年展望中提及, 東南亞國家(尤其是印尼)的數碼經濟正在強勁增長。隨著金融、電子商貿和網約車行業加快推進數碼化,印尼的數據中心正迅速擴張。當地對物流和倉儲服務的需求強勢增長,業界在這些領域作出龐大投資。展望2021年下半年,部分主要行業龍頭公司將會上市招股(特別是在馬來西亞和印尼),預期這將為未來更多「新經濟」企業在東南亞上市訂立基準。

總結

亞洲股市在今年上半年表現分道揚鑣,預料分歧的趨勢將於下半年持續。北亞經濟體和新加坡的疫苗接種率較高,而且防控疫情措施的成效較佳,經濟應可維持長期增長;相反,許多東盟市場的經濟延遲復甦,可能要到2021年底或2022年初才會出現。各地復甦步伐分歧,為主動型經理提供在區內發掘優質公司的獨特機遇。   

 

下載全份文件

 

1 MSCI明晟亞太區指數上升1.39%(截至2021年9月10日),但北亞與東盟市場之間存在重大差異。

2 資料來源:彭博資訊,截至2021年9月10日。

3 聯儲局主席鮑威爾在新聞發布會上的演說 -- 2021年6月16日 (federalreserve.gov)

4 中國人民銀行、歐洲央行、英倫銀行、澳洲儲備銀行。

5 總部設於中國的跨國企業在亞洲另覓供應鏈中心,以實現供應鏈多元化。

我們重視您對網站的意見。只需一分鐘回答幾條簡單問題可助我們為您提供更佳的使用經驗。提供意見 >>

查看更多

我們重視您對網站的意見。只需一分鐘回答幾條簡單問題可助我們為您提供更佳的使用經驗。提供意見 >>

查看更多
確認