Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

Asia-Pacific REITs: Resilience amid strong fundamentals

7 January 2022 

Hui-Min Ng, Portfolio Manager, Equities

Asia-Pacific REITs (AP-REITs) continued to show resilience in 2021, as regional markets gradually reopened, albeit at different speeds. Meanwhile, all economies emerged from technical recession. In tandem with the Asia real estate sector, dividend income also continued to recover strongly. In this 2022 outlook, Hui-Min Ng, Portfolio Manager, outlines why although uncertainty exists, especially with the emergence of the Omicron variant, the fundamentals of this asset class remain strong, and it is poised for continued rebound in 2022.

 

AP-REITs rebounded in 2021 after a difficult 2020. Regional economies re-opened at different speeds, as mobility and travel restrictions were gradually reduced. And given continued robust fiscal and monetary policies, all regional economies were able to come out of recession.

The situation in Hong Kong has improved due to tight border controls, and tenant sales have shown a healthy recovery boosted by the issue of consumption vouchers. In Singapore, a high vaccination rate of 88% has been instrumental in boosting consumer confidence.

However, the situation remains fluid, as the emergence of the Omicron variant has led Singapore and Thailand to tighten quarantine-free travel. Elsewhere, some territories have reinstated mobility restrictions.

Let’s take a deeper dive into various dynamics for AP REITs:

  • From a real estate segment perspective, rental support measures and reliefs have remained well contained versus 2020. We saw retail landlords guiding for stabilisation in rental-reversion trends with further improvements expected as we move into 2022.
  • The global industrial and warehousing sector stands out in terms of low vacancy rates and cashflow resilience. Capital values have continued to appreciate over the past six months due to strong demand for the asset class.
  • Despite border closures and higher interest rates, the cap rates (rate of expected yield) for Australia logistics assets have also compressed due to active transactions. Given tight vacancy rates in Australia, rental rates are improving, further enhancing the market’s capital-allocation attributes.
  • From an asset-class perspective, investors need to remember that dividend returns remain an essential feature of REITs. And regardless of the market environment, dividend return has remained positive. In times of market drawdowns, dividends help compensate for any losses. When markets move higher, dividend augments total return. Over the past 10 years, dividend return has made up over half of the AP-REITs total return1.

Even in 2020, when the impact of COVID was at its greatest, the dividend returns from REITs were still positive. This was primarily underpinned by office and industrial REITs that enjoyed high rental- collection rates.

Chart 1: Asia REITs (ex-Japan) outperformed broad market and real-estate stocks in 2021 with lower volatility (Index level rebased at 100)

Source: Bloomberg, as of 29 December 2021. Asia REITs represented by FTSE/EPRA Nareit Asia ex-Japan index (capped); Asia equities represented by MSCI Asia ex-Japan index; Asia real-estate stocks represented by MSCI Asia ex-Japan real-estate index.

 

Overall, we saw 2021 as a recovery year for dividends. This is likely to continue going into 2022, as rental holidays end, occupancy rates improve augmented with full year dividend contribution from new acquisitions done in 2021. For 2021 dividend estimates, it has recovered by 24% from the low point in October 2020. And for 2022, estimates for the same period have recovered by 17-18%; both are above the highs seen at the beginning of 2020 (see Chart 2).

2022: Recovery amid a fluid situation

As we look ahead to 2022, there are several reasons to be optimistic about the global recovery.

With higher global vaccination rates, the economic risk of the pandemic is likely to fade. However, this will depend on the trajectory of the Omicron variant. Compared to a year ago, governments now have more solutions to help fight the pandemic, such as booster rollouts and effective anti-viral drugs.

Key markets, like Singapore and Australia, have achieved high vaccination rates and began reopening borders in the fourth quarter of 2021.

Yet, the Hong Kong vaccination rate remains comparatively low (especially among the elderly), and the city isn’t expected to relax its border controls until 2022.

As more territories accept COVID-19 as endemic, there should be an end to disruptive lockdowns or tightening. Consequently, rental support and relief may be considerably lower year-on-year.

Transactions support capital values

Despite COVID-related disruptions in 2021, we continue to see healthy transactions in Asia’s commercial real estate market that will support capital values. 2022 may be a year when we see a more globally synchronised re-opening of borders, with the most tightly controlled, China, looking at a potential border reopening in 2022. We believe there will be greater confidence regarding travel and the resumption of cross-border business activities like leasing negotiations and due diligence on asset acquisitions.

Of course, this assumes no further deterioration in the COVID-19 situation.

 

Chart 2: Asia REITs (ex-Japan) dividend recovery poised to continue in 2022 (index dividend value)

Source: Bloomberg, as of 29 December 2021. Asia REITs represented by FTSE/EPRA Nareit Asia ex-Japan index (capped); Asia equities represented by MSCI Asia ex-Japan Index; Asia real-estate stocks represented by MSCI Asia ex-Japan real-estate index.

Industrial segment and reopening plays may benefit in 2022

Healthy demand in the industrial and warehousing sector should continue. This has already reduced vacancy rates in major markets to low levels. The strong rental growth trend could be an additional performance driver.

Reopening plays remain attractive, as we anticipate a synchronised loosening of global borders. In particular, city and discretionary malls are operating below pre-COVID levels due to the work-from-home trend and limited leisure travel. As such, they can offer more recovery upside in 2022.

Inflation remains a concern, but fundamentals are healthy

In mid-2021, global inflationary pressures began to build. As a result, we saw heightened volatility in the share prices of REITs due to stagflation fears. Recent inflationary data has been robust due to higher oil prices, supply-chain disruptions and a strong recovery in demand. However, in recent weeks, central banks like the Bank of England have increased interest rates, and the US Federal Reserve (Fed) has signalled the potential for up to three rate hikes in 2022. Our forecast is still on the dovish side, even though we’ve pulled forward our expectation of rate hikes: we have two rate hikes pencilled in for the second half of 2022.

Over the long-term, our house view has not changed: we think that interest rates should remain lower for longer. Low rates have been supportive for real estate, given the comfortable income pick-up buffer over the cost of borrowing. It has also helped REITs make accretive acquisitions as debt has remained affordable.

We think that every tapering exercise is different, and the market’s reaction this time will not be the same as before. To put things in perspective, the Fed cut rates to zero and aggressively expanded its balance sheet in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. The US economy is recovering strongly as the country re-opens, so it makes sense to reduce quantitative easing. In this cycle, the Fed’s messaging has been more transparent than in the 2013 ‘taper tantrum’ episode and it appears that the market has priced in a lot of the Fed hawkishness into 2022.

We continue to focus on the fundamentals of REITs, such as core earnings and cashflow resilience, strong capital management, and quality real estate to command better rental rates in times of economic recovery.

Conclusion

AP-REITs are poised for a continued rebound in 2022 on the back of gradual economic reopening and recovery in dividends. While the recent emergence of the Omicron variant may introduce greater uncertainty, the resilient fundamentals of the asset class should continue to propel it in the new year.

Download full PDF

 


1  Bloomberg, as of 30 November 2021, Asia ex-Japan REITs is represented by FTSE EPRA/NAREIT Asia ex-Japan REITs Index. Performance in US dollar.

  • Global Macro Outlook Q2 2022: An unexpected turn of events

    Mounting inflationary pressure, soaring Geopolitical tensions, and rising interest rates—recent developments have necessitated a reassessment of growth. We examine how they might shape global capital markets in the coming months.

    Read more
  • Long-term structural strengths and resilience of Indian economy to continue despite cyclical challenges

    Although significant cyclical challenges will likely persist in India over the short-term, the longer-term story based on deepening formalisation and a growing digital economy and manufacturing base remains intact.

    Read more
  • Global Healthcare: Spotlight continues to shine on the sector

    We discuss our recent findings regarding the COVID-19 pandemic and outline why the healthcare sector’s underlying fundamentals warrant a long-term allocation.

    Read more
See all
  • Global Macro Outlook Q2 2022: An unexpected turn of events

    Mounting inflationary pressure, soaring Geopolitical tensions, and rising interest rates—recent developments have necessitated a reassessment of growth. We examine how they might shape global capital markets in the coming months.

    Read more
  • Long-term structural strengths and resilience of Indian economy to continue despite cyclical challenges

    Although significant cyclical challenges will likely persist in India over the short-term, the longer-term story based on deepening formalisation and a growing digital economy and manufacturing base remains intact.

    Read more
  • Global Healthcare: Spotlight continues to shine on the sector

    We discuss our recent findings regarding the COVID-19 pandemic and outline why the healthcare sector’s underlying fundamentals warrant a long-term allocation.

    Read more
See all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

亞太房託:基本因素強勁展現復原力

7/1/2022 

股票部投資組合經理 黃惠敏

回顧2021年,隨著區內市場陸續重啟經濟,儘管步伐各異,但亞太區房地產投資信託(亞太房託)持續展現韌力。與此同時,全部經濟體都擺脫技術性衰退的困境。隨著亞洲房地產業表現出色,股息收益亦持續強勁回升。儘管陰霾揮之不去,尤其是Omicron新冠變種病毒出現,但這類資產的基本因素保持穩健,並有望在2022年持續反彈,股票部投資組合經理黃惠敏在這篇2022年前景展望文章探討箇中原因。

 

 

經過2020年的困境後,亞太房託在2021年迎來反彈。隨著出行和旅遊限制逐步撤銷,區內各地以不同步伐重啟經濟。受惠於政府持續推行強而有力的財政和貨幣政策,區內所有經濟體均能夠走出衰退。

香港出入境管制措施嚴格,因此疫情得以改善,而港府推出的消費券計劃刺激商戶銷售穩健復甦。 新加坡的疫苗接種率高達88%,有利於提振消費信心。

然而,Omicron 變種病毒疫情令新加坡和泰國收緊免檢疫入境旅遊安排,可見市況仍存在變數。此外,部份其他地區再度實施防疫出行限制。

下文將深入剖析亞太房託的各項動態:

  • 就房地產領域而言,對比2020年,租金津貼和寬減明顯持續受到抑制。零售收租業引領續租租金調整趨勢靠穩,相關趨勢有望在2022年進一步改善。
  • 就低空置率和強健現金流而言,環球工業和倉庫業表現突出。這類資產的需求殷切,帶動資本值在過去六個月不斷增長。
  • 儘管澳洲關閉邊境,而且利率趨升,但當地物流資產的資本轉化比率(預期收益率)亦因交投活躍而收縮。基於澳洲的空置率甚低,租金持續上升,當地市場作為資本配置的特質進一步增強。
  • 從資產類別角度來看,投資者需緊記股息回報始終是房託的關鍵。無論市場環境如何,股息回報一直處於正數。在大市下跌時,股息有助彌補各方面的損失。當大市上升時,股息可以提升總回報。回顧過去十年,股息回報佔亞太房託總回報超過一半1

圖1:2021年亞洲(日本除外)房託表現優於大市和房地產股,而且波幅較低 (指數水平重訂至100)

資料來源:彭博資訊,截至2021年12月29日。亞洲房託以富時/EPRA Nareit亞洲(日本除外)房託指數(設有上限)代表;亞洲股票以MSCI明晟亞洲(日本除外)指數代表;亞洲房地產股以MSCI明晟亞洲(日本除外)房地產指數代表。

即使在2020年,當疫情的影響最為嚴竣時,房託仍錄得股息正回報。這主要由收租率高企的辦公室及工業房託所支持。

整體而言,股息在2021年回升。這股趨勢有望延續至2022年,因為租金寬免期結束,加上出租率改善,而且2021年完成的新收購項目帶來全年股息貢獻增益。根據2021年的估計,股息已從2020年10月低位回升24%。至於2022年,同期估算已回升17%至18%,兩者均高於2020年初的高位(見圖2)。

2022年:市況存在變數下復甦

展望2022年,多個原因驅使我們對環球經濟復甦前景感到樂觀。

隨著環球疫苗接種率日漸上升,疫情帶來的經濟風險有望減退。不過,這仍要取決於Omicron 變種病毒的擴散走勢。對比一年前,政府現時有較多抗疫方案,例如疫苗加強劑接種計劃及有效的抗病毒藥物。

新加坡和澳洲等主要市場已實現高水平的疫苗接種率,並在2021年第四季陸續重開邊境。

然而,香港的疫苗接種率仍然相對偏低(以長者尤甚),預期在2022年前不會放寬出入境管制。

隨著越來越多地區以風土病看待2019-新型冠狀病毒,干擾性的封鎖措施或收緊防疫限制應會告一段落。因此,租金津貼和寬減的規模或會較去年同期大幅降低。

交投活動為資本值提供支持

儘管疫情在2021年對經濟造成衝擊,但亞洲商業房地產市場的交投活動持續穩健,為資本值提供支持。展望2022年,當環球各地或會更趨一致地重開邊境,管制最嚴厲的中國亦有望在2022年對外通關。對於旅遊出行及恢復跨境商業活動,例如租務洽談和資產收購的盡職審查,我們相信市場將會抱持更大信心。

當然,這個假設是基於疫情不會進一步惡化。

 

圖2:亞洲(日本除外)房託股息可望在2022年持續回升(指數股息水平)

資料來源:彭博資訊,截至2021年12月29日。亞洲房託以富時/EPRA Nareit亞洲(日本除外)房託指數(設有上限)代表;亞洲股票以MSCI明晟亞洲(日本除外)指數代表;亞洲房地產股以MSCI明晟亞洲(日本除外)房地產指數代表。

工業領域和重啟經濟概念或在2022年受惠

工業和倉庫領域的需求應會維持殷切,令主要市場的空置率降至低水平。租金增長趨勢強勁,或可進一步推動表現。

預料環球將一致放寬邊境管制,因此重啟經濟概念仍然吸引。特別是,由於在家工作普及,加上休閒旅遊受限制,市區的購物中心和售賣非必需品的商場仍未回復疫前的營運水平。因此,這兩個領域有望在2022年把握經濟復甦帶來的更大上升空間。

通脹仍然令人憂慮,但基本因素穩健

自2021年中以來,環球通脹壓力逐漸升溫。因此,市場憂慮出現滯脹,令房託股價加劇波動。近期,油價上升、供應鏈中斷及需求強勁回升使通脹數據熾熱。然而,英倫銀行等央行在最近數周上調利率,美國聯儲局更表示可能在2022年加息最多三次。我們的預測仍偏向溫和,即使已調高加息預期:我們初步認為2022年下半年將加息兩次。

長遠而言,我們的內部觀點未有改變:利率應在一段較長時間維持偏低水平。考慮到收益水平能帶來高於借貸成本的不俗空間,因此低息環境一直利好房地產市場。鑑於債務維持於可承受水平,上述環境亦有助房託進行增值收購交易。

我們認為,每次縮減買債的計劃不盡相同,這次的市場反應亦會有別於以往。客觀來看,為應對疫情,聯儲局減息至接近零水平,並大規模擴表。隨著美國經濟重啟,其復甦步伐強勁,因此縮減量寬規模不無道理。在當前周期,聯儲局釋放的訊息較2013年「縮減量寬恐慌(taper tantrum)」更清晰透明,現時市場定價看來反映,當局將在2022年大致維持強硬立場。

我們繼續聚焦於房託的基本因素,例如核心盈利與現金流的穩健性、卓越的資本管理及優質房地產,以把握經濟復甦時租金改善的良機。

總結

鑑於經濟逐步重啟,加上區內市場房地產業復甦以及股息回報反彈、亞太房託股有望在2022年持續反彈。近期出現的Omicron 變種病毒疫情可能加劇陰霾,但這類資產的基本因素強韌,應可在新一年繼續支持其表現。

詳情請下載全份文件

 


彭博資訊,截至2021年11月30日,亞洲(日本除外)房地產投資信託由富時EPRA/NAREIT亞洲(日本除外)房地產投資信託指數代表。表現以美元計算。

  • 重塑投資組合,迎接投資環境變局

    重塑投資組合,迎接投資環境變局

    閱讀更多
  • 大中華股票:充滿選股機遇

    中國市場經歷如疫情般前所未見的轉變,令中國加速轉型的步伐,我們相信,投資者可透過「自下而上」的選股策略,捕捉在岸(A股),港股及台股的潛在投資機遇。

    閱讀更多
  • 孳息率趨升下的收益為本方案

    隨著投資者繼續追求收益,我們認為目前環境有利於收益為本方案,但於三個不同資產類別部份(固定收益、股票和期權)的戰術性配置,將會成為締造表現回報的關鍵。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 重塑投資組合,迎接投資環境變局

    重塑投資組合,迎接投資環境變局

    閱讀更多
  • 大中華股票:充滿選股機遇

    中國市場經歷如疫情般前所未見的轉變,令中國加速轉型的步伐,我們相信,投資者可透過「自下而上」的選股策略,捕捉在岸(A股),港股及台股的潛在投資機遇。

    閱讀更多
  • 孳息率趨升下的收益為本方案

    隨著投資者繼續追求收益,我們認為目前環境有利於收益為本方案,但於三個不同資產類別部份(固定收益、股票和期權)的戰術性配置,將會成為締造表現回報的關鍵。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認