Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

AP-REITs: A return to fundamentals

28 December 2022

Hui-Min Ng, Portfolio Manager

Like all risk assets, Asia-Pacific REITs (AP REITs) experienced a volatile 2022. Higher rates globally were driven by surging energy prices and inflation, and there were concerns of cap rate expansion leading to pressure across the asset class. Moving into 2023, Hui-Min Ng, Portfolio Manager, believes that given a potentially more normalised macro landscape, investors should refocus on the region’s fundamentals, such as strong balance sheets, positive rental growth, and sustainable dividend payouts.
 

2022 was a challenging year for all asset classes, but AP REIT fundamentals remained resilient despite the risk-off environment. This was evidenced by their earnings results and guidance. In addition, asset values remained buoyant, driven by healthy rental growth and growth in distribution following the cessation of rental relief measures.

We believe that investors will shift their attention in the new year to the underlying fundamentals of AP REITs – as the volatile interest rates that dented overall REIT performance in 2022 begin to stabilise. In turn, this should pave the path for a more normalised market environment.

From an asset-class perspective, investors should remember that dividend returns are a central feature of the REIT asset class – when markets decline, dividends help compensate for any price losses. And regardless of the market environment over the past decade, dividend return has remained positive (See Chart 1). So, when markets move higher, dividends augment total return.

Chart 1: AP REITs total return: 2010-2022 (YTD)1

Source: Bloomberg as of 30 November 2022 Asia ex-Japan REITs are represented by FTSE EPRA/NAREIT Asia ex Japan REITs Index (capped). Performance in USD.

2022: Higher rates amid inflationary pressures

Worries about the impact of both higher rates and energy costs on the asset values and profitability of AP REITs characterised a challenging 2022. This translated into market uncertainty about the ability of these asset managers to maintain their distributions to investors.

As interest rates rose over the year, investor concerns persisted on potentially lower asset values due to rising cap rates. However, we felt the level of drawdown priced into AP REITs, due to higher rates, was not indicative of their underlying operational performance (See Chart 2).

Chart 2: AP REITs total return by market, December 2021-Nov 20222

Additionally, the re-opening tailwinds in Asia over the year provided some ballast for the asset class, but these are expected to fade (except for Hong Kong SAR and mainland China) heading into 2023.

From a geographic perspective:

  • Australian REITs tend to be more sensitive to movements in 10-year bond yields than other major REIT markets. The first half of 2022 made this dynamic clear: the Australian 10-year government bond yield started at 1.67%, reaching a peak of 4.2% by mid-June. The rapid and largely unanticipated increase in rates, which reflected the Reserve Bank of Australia’s aggressive monetary stance, weighed on the REIT sector – the region’s weakest performer through the first half of 2022.
  • Hong Kong REITs were impacted by negative investor sentiment toward China for most of the year. Despite the continued loosening of COVID-19 measures locally, the financial distress in the mainland’s property sector and the closure of the China-Hong Kong border spilt over into related sectors, including REITs.
  • Singapore REITs were the relative outperformer in Asia-Pacific, despite broader concerns about the asset class. Singapore REITs benefited from the reopening of the economy, leading to expectations of a recovery in the retail and hospitality sectors, given more convention and exhibition activity. Notwithstanding renewed optimism stemming from the post-COVID economic recovery, macro concerns outweighed operationally positive data points.

Central bank policy still a factor in 2023 – but largely priced in

Moving into 2023, the US Federal Reserve is likely to gradually reduce the quantum of rate hikes and should pause as upward inflationary pressures decelerate. However, the risk of persistent sticky inflation and lower growth in the US and abroad still exists, particularly in the second half of next year. Any potential easing of global inflation and labour markets (rising wage pressure) could offer central bankers more monetary room to balance growth versus inflation.

Although the impact of higher rates and energy costs should still be felt in 2023, the impact has been well communicated by corporates.

Indeed, as interest-rate volatility starts to normalise, it may provide a better environment for risk assets, including REITs. As such, we believe the incremental impact of higher rates on interest costs should subside and investors can focus more on AP REITs’ operational performance and underlying fundamentals.

Operating fundamentals should drive performance in 2023

We currently do not see balance sheet or liquidity risk for AP REITs given healthy levels of leverage and, more importantly, the ability to service debt. As highlighted in Chart 3, current interest coverage ratios (ICR) for key Singapore REITs are well above the typical minimum threshold (Adjusted EBITDA 2 times interest payments).

Chart 3: Interest coverage ratio for key Singapore REITs3

Even if we factor in the possibility of higher interest rates, refinancing risks are staggered over a few years. Additionally, rising net property income would help mitigate the overall impact of higher rates on ICR4.

Further, rental reversions are likely to be positive in the industrial, hospitality, and retail sectors in 2023. Given the high occupancy and continued demand in e-commerce and logistics warehousing, we could see continued positive rental reversions, which should help partially mitigate the impact on asset values from cap rate expansion.

Finally, we also expect dividend growth to continue. After downward revisions in analyst expectations, given some of the challenges mentioned, there are still expectations for DPU growth through 2024 (see Chart 4).

Chart 4: Dividend growth tapped to increase5

2023 sector outlook: Positive on industrials and retail over offices

We are more constructive on industrials and retail than offices in 2023 (see Chart 5).

  • Retail: In Hong Kong, neighbourhood malls have generally outperformed during times of economic uncertainty given its non-discretionary nature. The upward adjustment for minimum wage in 2023 should also provide support. In Singapore, the continued recovery in tourist arrivals should continue to drive an increase in traffic and revenue for malls. The strong rebound in tenant sales has brought down occupancy cost to healthy levels which allows for more room for potential upside to rental rates.
  • Industrials should continue to perform. High occupancy and amplified demand for e-commerce and third-party logistics warehousing should continue into the new year. Longer WALEs should provide some defensive to cash flows with more visible rental income.

Chart 5: 2023 AP REIT segment outlook6

  • We believe that offices should face a challenging year across the region. In Australia, the segment is suffering from a slower-than-expected return to the workplace. Hong Kong should experience a muted recovery with significant supply coming online in 2022-2023. Singapore could see a slowdown in leasing demand and slower pace of rental growth.

 

Conclusion

After a difficult 2022, investors in AP REITs should likely look at the asset class’s robust underlying fundamentals in the new year, which we consider as core earnings and cashflow strength, strong capital management, and quality real estate which generally provides greater resilience to rental rates during times of economic uncertainty – all factors which provide support to sustainable dividend payouts.

 

Download full PDF

 


1  Source: Bloomberg as of 30 November 2022 Asia ex-Japan REITs are represented by FTSE EPRA/NAREIT Asia ex Japan REITs Index (capped). Performance in USD.

2  Source: Bloomberg, 30 Nov 2022. Singapore REITs measured by FTSE ST Real Estate Investment Trusts Total Return Index, Hong Kong REITs measured by Hang Seng REITs index; Australia REITs measured by S&P/ASX 200 A-REIT Total Return Index. USD, total return.

3  Source: Bloomberg, as of 30 November 2022. 

 Source: Manulife Asset Management Analysis and company reports.

5  Source: Bloomberg consensus estimate, as of 24 October 2022. Asia REITs measured by FTSE/EPRA Nareit Asia ex Japan index (capped).

6  Source: Manulife Asset Management analysis. RevPAR = revenue per available room. MICE = meetings, incentives, conferences, and exhibitions.

 

  • China Fixed Income: sailing into a year of reopening and policy pivots

    We explain why China's favourable policy climate coupled with attractive long-term fundamentals, could help onshore and offshore China fixed income harvest positive returns in the 12 months ahead.

    Read more
  • Multi-Assets: Opportunities await as global rates take new turns

    Despite elevated inflation and higher interest rates, investors can watch for key events in 2023 that can present opportunities. We describe our dynamic and strategic asset allocation views and how a multi-asset outcome-oriented approach may help investors during market uncertainty.

    Read more
  • Greater China Equities: Pivots, positioning and pace forward

    It has been an eventful year for Greater China stock markets, with domestic and global events triggering broad-based weakness and elevated volatility in Mainland China (China), Hong Kong, and Taiwan. In this 2023 outlook, we describe the 3 Ps that set the tone for the new year: pivots, positioning and pace forward.

    Read more
See all
  • China Fixed Income: sailing into a year of reopening and policy pivots

    We explain why China's favourable policy climate coupled with attractive long-term fundamentals, could help onshore and offshore China fixed income harvest positive returns in the 12 months ahead.

    read more
  • Multi-Assets: Opportunities await as global rates take new turns

    Despite elevated inflation and higher interest rates, investors can watch for key events in 2023 that can present opportunities. We describe our dynamic and strategic asset allocation views and how a multi-asset outcome-oriented approach may help investors during market uncertainty.

    read more
  • Greater China Equities: Pivots, positioning and pace forward

    It has been an eventful year for Greater China stock markets, with domestic and global events triggering broad-based weakness and elevated volatility in Mainland China (China), Hong Kong, and Taiwan. In this 2023 outlook, we describe the 3 Ps that set the tone for the new year: pivots, positioning and pace forward.

    read more
see all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

亞太房託:回歸基本因素

28/12/2022

股票部投資組合經理 黃惠敏

一如所有風險資產,亞太區房地產投資信託(亞太房託)在2022年表現波動。能源價格和通脹急升帶動全球利率上揚,而市場憂慮資本轉化比率提高,為亞太房託帶來壓力。踏入2023年,在可能進一步正常化的宏觀環境下,投資組合經理黃惠敏認為投資者應重新聚焦於區內基本因素,例如強勁財政狀況、租金增長和可持續派息。

 

 

在2022年,所有資產類別均備受挑戰,但在避險環境下,亞太房託的基本因素保持穩健,從其盈利業績和指引可見一斑。此外,受惠於租金增長穩健和租金紓困措施結束後的分派增長,資產值維持向好。

隨著於2022年削弱整體房託表現的波動利率走勢開始靠穩,展望未來一年,預期投資者的焦點將轉向亞太房託的相關基本因素,從而有助市場環境更趨正常化。

從資產類別的角度來看,投資者應謹記股息回報是房託資產類別的中心特質 — 當市場下跌時,股息有助補償價格虧損。綜觀過去十年,不論市場環境如何,股息回報一直維持於正數水平(見圖1)。因此,當大市上升時,股息可提升總回報。

圖1:亞太房託總回報:2010-2022(年初至今)1

2022年:通脹壓力導致利率上升

投資者憂慮利率和能源成本上升對亞太房託資產價值和盈利能力的影響,令亞太房託在2022年備受挑戰,並導致市場質疑資產管理人能否維持對投資者的分派。

隨著利率在年內上升,投資者對資產價值可能下跌的憂慮揮之不去,原因是資本轉化比率上升。然而,我們認為亞太房託因利率上升而錄得的價格跌幅並不反映其相關營運表現(見圖2)。

圖2:亞太房託總回報(按市場劃分),2021年12月至2022年11月2

此外,年內亞洲經濟重啟的利好因素為該資產類別提供支持,但預期有關助力將於2023年減退(香港和中國內地除外)。

從地區的角度而言:

  • 與其他主要房託市場比較,澳洲房託偏向對10年期債券孳息率走勢較為敏感。這情況在2022年上半年清晰展現:澳洲10年期政府債券孳息率在年初報1.67%,並於6月中升至4.2%的高位。利率急升及普遍出乎市場意料,反映澳洲儲備銀行的積極貨幣政策立場,並導致房託領域受壓,因而成為2022年上半年區內表現最弱的環節。
  • 在年內大部份時間,香港房託受中國投資氣氛向淡所影響。儘管本港防疫措施持續放寬,但內地房地產行業的財務受困、中港邊境關閉的影響,擴散至包括房託等相關領域。
  • 綜觀亞太區,新加坡房託相對表現領先,縱使市場對有關資產類別普遍感憂慮。新加坡房託受惠於經濟重啟,促使市場預期會議及展覽活動增加將帶動零售和酒店業回升。儘管疫情後的經濟復甦帶動樂觀氣氛重現,但宏觀憂慮蓋過正面的營運數據。

央行政策在2023年仍是重要因素,但已大致反映於價格

踏入2023年,美國聯儲局的加息步伐可能逐步放緩,並可能因應通脹上行壓力減退而暫停加息。然而,通脹居高不下以及美國和其他地區增長持續放緩,尤其是在下半年。若全球通脹和勞工市場(薪酬上升壓力)出現紓緩空間,可能為央行官員帶來貨幣政策空間,以平衡經濟增長與通脹。

雖然利率和能源成本上漲的影響可能繼續於2023年浮現,但企業已就有關影響充份溝通。

事實上,隨著利率波幅開始正常化,可能為房託等風險資產提供較佳環境。因此,我們認為利率上升對利息成本的遞增影響可能減弱,投資者可進一步聚焦於亞太房託的營運表現和相關基本因素。

營運基本因素應可帶動2023年表現

鑑於亞太房託的槓桿水平穩健,而更重要是其有能力償還債務,故我們認為現時並無財政狀況或流動性風險。如圖3所示,目前主要新加坡房託的利息覆蓋率遠高於傳統下限(已調整息、稅、折舊及攤銷前利潤為利息付款的兩倍)。

圖3:主要新加坡房託的利息覆蓋率3

即使計入利率上升的可能性,再融資風險在過去數年攤分。另外,淨物業收益上升應有助紓緩加息對利息覆蓋率的整體影響4

與此同時,工業、酒店和零售領域在2023年的續租租金調整可望向好。由於出租率偏高以及電子商貿和物流倉儲的需求持續,續租租金調整可能保持正面,應有助降低資本轉化比率對資產價值的部份影響。

此外,我們亦預期股息增長延續。繼分析師基於上述若干挑戰調低預測後,市場仍然預期每單位派息在2024年將錄得增長(見圖4)。

圖4:股息增長將會加速5

2023年行業展望:看好工業和零售多於辦公室

展望2023年,我們看好工業和零售多於辦公室(見圖5)。

  • 零售:香港方面,由於民生區的商場具備日常消費特質,因此一般在經濟不明朗時表現領先。最低工資在2023年調高亦可望帶來支持。新加坡方面,到訪旅客人數持續回升應繼續帶動購物商場的人流和收益提高。租戶銷售額大幅回升,使租用成本降至穩健水平,並為租金帶來更大上升空間。
  • 工業領域應持續表現良好。出租率偏高以及電子商貿和第三方物流倉儲需求增加的走勢應會延續至2023年。加權平均租賃期(WALE)延長有助租金收益前景更趨明朗,應為現金流提供防守性。
  • 我們認為區內辦公室可能在來年備受挑戰。澳洲方面,重返辦公室的步伐較預期緩慢,導致該領域受壓。香港將於2022年至2023年出現龐大供應,因此回升幅度可能不大。另外,新加坡的租賃需求放緩及租金增長可能減慢。

圖5:2023年亞太房託領域展望6

  • 我們認為區內辦公室可能在來年備受挑戰。澳洲方面,重返辦公室的步伐較預期緩慢,導致該領域受壓。香港將於2022年至2023年出現龐大供應,因此回升幅度可能不大。另外,新加坡的租賃需求放緩及租金增長可能減慢。

總結

經過艱難的2022年後,亞太房託投資者在新一年應會聚焦於資產類別的穩健基本因素(我們視之為盈利和現金流的核心動力)、資本管理強勁及在經濟不明朗時期一般提供較穩健租金的優質房地產,這些因素都為可持續派息提供支持。

 

下載全份文件

 


1  資料來源:彭博資訊,截至2022年11月30日,亞洲(日本除外)房託由富時EPRA/NA房託亞洲(日本除外)房地產投資信託(上限)指數代表。表現以美元計算。

2  資料來源:彭博資訊,2022年11月30日。新加坡房託以富時海峽時報房地產投資信託總回報指數量度;香港房託以恒生房地產基金指數量度;澳洲房託以標普/ASX 200澳洲房託總回報指數量度。以美元及總回報計。

3  資料來源:彭博資訊,截至2022年11月30日。

 資料來源:宏利資產管理分析及公司報告。

5  資料來源:彭博資訊普遍預測,截至2022年10月24日。亞洲房託以富時/EPRA Na房託亞洲(日本除外)(上限)指數量度。

 資料來源:宏利資產管理分析。

 

  • 中國固定收益:在新一年迎來經濟重啟及政策轉向

    我們將在本文剖析中國利好的政策環境和具吸引力的長遠基本因素,如何有助推動在岸及離岸的固定收益市場在未來12個月內締造正回報。

    閱讀更多
  • 大中華區股票:政策轉向、行業部署、邁步前行

    中國內地(中國)、香港和台灣的股市經歷了不平凡的2022年:本地市場以至全球均發生連串事件,導致市場普遍偏弱而且波幅擴大。在2023年的投資展望中,我們將會剖析為新一年定調的三大因素:政策轉向、行業部署、邁步前行。

    閱讀更多
  • 亞洲股票:尋找市場獨特優勢 捕捉增長機遇

    疫情的影響將會消退,經濟有望取得增長,但升幅將遠低於過去20年的平均水平。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 中國固定收益:在新一年迎來經濟重啟及政策轉向

    我們將在本文剖析中國利好的政策環境和具吸引力的長遠基本因素,如何有助推動在岸及離岸的固定收益市場在未來12個月內締造正回報。

    閱讀更多
  • 大中華區股票:政策轉向、行業部署、邁步前行

    中國內地(中國)、香港和台灣的股市經歷了不平凡的2022年:本地市場以至全球均發生連串事件,導致市場普遍偏弱而且波幅擴大。在2023年的投資展望中,我們將會剖析為新一年定調的三大因素:政策轉向、行業部署、邁步前行。

    閱讀更多
  • 亞洲股票:尋找市場獨特優勢 捕捉增長機遇

    疫情的影響將會消退,經濟有望取得增長,但升幅將遠低於過去20年的平均水平。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認