Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

After four interest-rate hikes, what will the Fed do next?

10 August 2022

Frances Donald, Global Chief Economist and Head of Macroeconomic Strategy

Eric Theoret, Global Macro Strategist, Macroeconomic and Strategy Team, Multi-Asset Solutions Team

On July 27, the U.S. Federal Reserve hiked interest rates for the fourth time this year, raising them by another 75 basis points. What does this tell us about the FOMC and what will it do next? 

Fed pivot? We don’t think so

You’d think markets would’ve reacted negatively to such an aggressive policy action from the U.S. Federal Reserve (Fed); instead, equities rallied, the U.S. dollar weakened, the yield curve steepened, and market-based measures of inflation rose. The markets seemed to have zeroed in on the idea that the Fed will take a more data-dependent approach to interest-rate decisions instead of being singularly focused on tamping down inflation at all costs.

Given that it’s now widely accepted that growth could slow meaningfully through the rest of the year, conventional wisdom would in theory imply that the pace of rate hikes will slow in the coming months. It’s no doubt a logical assumption, but we wouldn’t be so quick to categorize what transpired at the last Fed meeting as a pivot that changes the narrative.

In our view, the Fed has retained its hawkish bias and will continue to raise rates into year end even as headline inflation eases a touch while remaining uncomfortably high. That said, the story will become more complex in 2023 when economic growth and the inflation level are likely to have slowed much more substantially—only then do we expect the Fed to begin an easing cycle. Ultimately, the central bank has introduced a significant amount of uncertainty in regard to future interest-rate decisions and the indicators it’ll be using to guide its thinking. Fed Chair Jerome Powell noted that the FOMC will be “nimble in responding to incoming data and the evolving outlook”—economists and strategists should too. 

The importance of being back at neutral

July’s rate hike was significant in that it brought the federal funds rate within the range of the Fed’s estimation of the neutral rate, that is, the rate at which monetary policy is neither expansionary nor contractionary. This is an important milestone for two reasons.

First, it means that any rate hikes from here on out would be considered restrictive from a growth perspective. Many Fed officials have been clear that they believe in the need to move above neutral in order to contain inflation, and that’s one of the reasons why we expect the Fed to continue to raise rates into year end. That said, the bar for future rate hikes is now much higher and we expect the magnitude of forthcoming hikes will be smaller. The key question for investors going forward is the extent to which the Fed might change the magnitude of its rate hikes (i.e., from 75bps to 50 bps or 25bps) and just how much further the Fed can hike without inflicting meaningful damage to the economy. As of now, we expect the Fed to hike 50bps in September, 25bps in November, and end its hiking cycle with a final 25bps hike in December; however, the risks to our forecast are for fewer hikes of a smaller magnitude as the Fed climbs higher and higher above the neutral rate.

Second, the Fed has historically struggled to raise rates much above the neutral rate and has had to reverse course fairly quickly in the past. Historically, the median time between the last rate hike and the first interest-rate cut is seven months. In light of the highly recessionary environment we’re likely to experience in end-2022 and early 2023, it makes sense that markets are pricing in rate cuts (as measured by Secured Overnight Financing Rate curves) beginning in 2023 and continuing into 2025. Likewise, we anticipate rate cuts to begin next year, but only midyear as we believe inflation—while slowing—will remain too high for the Fed to pivot before then. We’re also expecting bigger cuts than markets have currently priced in.

Secured Overnight Financing Rate futures

Secured Overnight Financing Rate futures

Source: Bloomberg, Macrobond, Manulife Investment Management as of July 28, 2022.

From forward guidance to data dependence

Speaking at the press conference following July’s FOMC decision, Chair Powell implied that the Fed will be moving away from forward guidance and toward meeting-by-meeting decisions that reflected incoming data. This begs the question: What data is the Fed watching and what would it take for the central bank to truly pivot?

On one hand, Chair Powell’s opening statement reiterated that inflation remains a top priority and that he was looking for compelling evidence of improvements in inflation. In the past, he has referenced both month-over-month declines in headline inflation and inflation expectations (both consumers’ and markets’). In regard to the latter, the Fed can probably begin to breathe a sigh of relief since market-based measures of inflation, known as breakevens, have eased materially from earlier this year despite remaining above prepandemic levels. Problematically, official headline inflation (both the Consumer Price Index and Personal Consumption Expenditure) is likely to stay uncomfortably high to year end, leaving the Fed with little flexibility to stop hiking altogether.

On the other hand, the FOMC acknowledged the recent slowdown in economic activity in its July statement, which makes sense since nearly every leading indicator of U.S. growth pointed downward, with jobs being the only exception. In the past year, the Fed has only needed to worry about the inflation aspect of its dual mandate, but we expect that to change soon as leading indicators such as initial jobless claims suggest that the labor market’s about to enter a much shakier period. Indeed, we believe the United States will enter a formal recession by early 2023, accompanied by higher unemployment. That should kick-start the U.S. central bank’s transition back toward its dual-mandate setting. The seeds of that shift have been sowed; now, we wait for the jobs data to shift decisively, enabling the Fed to make a genuine (and sustained) pivot.

U.S. break-even yields

U.S. break-even yields

Source: Bloomberg, Macrobond, Manulife Investment Management, as of July 28, 2022.

The Fed’s balance sheet’s shrinking and no one’s quite sure how to think about it

The Fed massively expanded its balance sheet in the depths of the COVID-19 crisis, buying U.S. Treasuries and mortgage-backed securities as a means of injecting liquidity into the financial system. These asset purchases continued well into the recovery, ending only in March this year. The central bank has since reversed course and is now engaging in quantitative tightening (QT), shrinking its balance sheet by not reinvesting a portion of its maturing securities. The Fed is scheduled to shrink its balance sheet at an accelerating pace until it reaches a US$95 billion monthly pace by September.

The challenge here is that the impact of QT isn’t well understood, particularly when compared with the impact of rate hikes and conventional policy tightening. The Fed’s last (and only) experience with QT took place between 2017 and 2019, a period that coincided with greater equity market volatility and lower yields. This introduces substantial uncertainty into the environment and important questions will need to be considered: Will engaging in QT in such an environment produce liquidity issues? Will the Fed have to slow its rate hikes sooner in order to accommodate balance sheet tightening? Once again, we’re left with considerable uncertainty around the Fed’s policy outlook that shouldn’t be underestimated. 

 

Download full PDF

 

 

  • The Fed remains hawkish, but easing could occur before the end of 2023

    The Fed’s decision to raise US interest rates by 75 basis points to a target range of 3%-3.25% was well priced into the markets.We describe the factors contributing to the Fed’s increasingly hawkish tone and explain why easing could occur before the end of 2023.

    Read more
  • The high-yield market isn't signaling a recession

    Through the interest-rate volatility and higher inflation so far in 2022, we haven't seen a reason to abandon high yield. If anything, the higher-quality segment of this market could provide a welcome boost to a portfolio's risk-adjusted return potential.

    Read more
  • U.S. banks’ fundamentals continue to strengthen despite the economic slowdown

    The latest quarterly earnings reports from U.S. regional banks confirm the favorable investment outlook as loan growth and an improved interest-rate environment provide a tailwind for the industry, in our view.

    Read more
See all
  • The Fed remains hawkish, but easing could occur before the end of 2023

    The Fed’s decision to raise US interest rates by 75 basis points to a target range of 3%-3.25% was well priced into the markets.We describe the factors contributing to the Fed’s increasingly hawkish tone and explain why easing could occur before the end of 2023.

    read more
  • The high-yield market isn't signaling a recession

    Through the interest-rate volatility and higher inflation so far in 2022, we haven't seen a reason to abandon high yield. If anything, the higher-quality segment of this market could provide a welcome boost to a portfolio's risk-adjusted return potential.

    read more
  • U.S. banks’ fundamentals continue to strengthen despite the economic slowdown

    The latest quarterly earnings reports from U.S. regional banks confirm the favorable investment outlook as loan growth and an improved interest-rate environment provide a tailwind for the industry, in our view.

    read more
see all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

聯儲局四度加息後,下一步有何行動?

10/8/2022

環球首席經濟師兼環球宏觀經濟策略部主管Frances Donald

環球宏觀策略師Eric Theoret

美國聯儲局在7月27日宣布再度加息75基點,是今年第四次調高利率。聯邦公開市場委員會的加息決定,對我們有何啟示?這對增長有何影響?

聯儲局改變立場?我們認為不然

您可能認為,市場會對美國聯儲局如此進取的政策行動反應負面,但情況正好相反:股市上升,美元走弱,孳息曲線變得陡斜,以市場為基礎的通脹指標上漲。市場似乎已注意到,聯儲局將會轉向採取數據行事的利率決策方式,而非只著眼於「不惜一切代價抑制通脹」。

雖然市場目前已普遍接受,經濟增長將在今年餘下時間大幅放緩,但根據傳統智慧,未來數月的加息步伐理論上將會放緩。這個假設無疑合乎邏輯,但我們不會立即把上次議息會議的決策,視作聯儲局改變立場的轉捩點。

我們認為,聯儲局將保持強硬立場,即使整體通脹輕微回落,但仍處於令人不安的高水平,估計局方將繼續加息至年底。儘管如此,2023年的情況將變得更加複雜,經濟增長和通脹水平可能在明年大幅放緩;屆時,我們才會預期聯儲局展開寬鬆周期。最終,聯儲局在未來的利率決策,以及指引當局考量的指標方面增添大量不明朗因素。聯儲局主席鮑威爾表示,聯邦公開市場委員會將「靈活應對未來的經濟數據和不斷變化的前景」;經濟師和策略師也應如此。

回歸中性利率的重要性

7月份加息的意義重大,因為此舉使聯邦基金利率處於聯儲局對中性利率的預測範圍內,即貨幣政策既非擴張也非收縮的利率水平。這次加息是一個重要的里程碑,原因有二。

第一,這意味此後的任何加息都會被視為限制經濟增長。不少聯儲局官員已明確表示,有必要將利率調高至中性以上,從而抑制通脹,這也是我們預期當局將在年底前繼續加息的原因之一。然而,目前聯儲局將日後加息的門檻設於甚高水平,我們預期未來加息的幅度將會較小。展望未來,投資者面對的關鍵問題是,聯儲局改變加息幅度(即由75基點減至50或25基點)的可能性有多大,以及在避免重創經濟的情況下,聯儲局加息空間還有多大?截至目前,我們預期聯儲局將在9月加息50基點,在11月加息25基點,在12月最後一次加息25基點,並結束加息周期;然而,我們的預測存在風險,隨着聯儲局逐步調高利率至中性利率之上,加息次數將會減少,幅度也會收窄。

第二,回顧歷史,聯儲局難以把利率上調至遠高於中性利率的水平,而且不得不迅速逆轉利率走向。根據過去調整息率數據,最後一次加息相隔第一次減息的中位數時間為七個月。鑑於我們可能在2022年底和2023年初陷入高度衰退的經濟環境,市場正反映減息周期(以有抵押隔夜融資利率曲線衡量)將於2023年展開,並持續至2025年,這個觀點不無道理。我們亦預計聯儲局將在明年開始減息,但要待至年中才會展開,因為我們認為,儘管通脹放緩,但仍將居高不下,使聯儲局無法在年中前改變立場。此外,我們也預料減息幅度將超過市場目前的預期。

有抵押隔夜融資利率期貨

有抵押隔夜融資利率期貨

資料來源:彭博資訊、Macrobond、宏利投資管理,截至2022年7月28日。

由前瞻性指引到數據行事

在7月份聯邦公開市場委員會公布議息決定後的新聞發布會上,鮑威爾暗示,聯儲局不再側重於提供前瞻性指引,而是逐次會議作出反映未來經濟數據的決定。問題在於:聯儲局正注視甚麼數據?當局根據甚麼因素才會改變由緊縮到寬鬆的貨幣政策?

一方面,鮑威爾在開場發言時重申,應對通脹仍是首要任務,並希望有確切跡象反映通脹降溫。他過往曾以整體通脹按月跌幅和通脹預期(消費者及市場)作為參考指標。就通脹預期而言,儘管以市場為基礎的通脹指標(即平衡通脹率)仍高於疫前水平,但已較年初大幅回落,或可讓聯儲局開始鬆一口氣。然而,官方整體通脹(消費物價指數和個人消費開支)可能在年底前繼續處於令人不安的高水平,令聯儲局靈活結束加息的空間不多。

另一方面,聯邦公開市場委員會在7月議息聲明承認,近期的經濟活動放緩,鑑於幾乎所有美國增長領先指標均呈下行趨勢,只有職位數據例外,因此當局的言論不無道理。在過去一年,聯儲局只需要顧慮雙重任務之一的通脹,但我們預期這個情況即將改變,原因是從首次申領失業救濟金人數等多項領先指標可見,美國勞工市場即將步入更波動的時期。事實上,我們相信美國將在2023年初正式陷入衰退,失業率會隨之攀升。聯儲局或會因而重新兼顧雙重任務。改變的種籽已經播下,現時仍有待就業數據大幅逆轉,聯儲局才會確切(並持續)調整立場。

美國美債平衡通脹率

美國美債平衡通脹率

資料來源:彭博資訊、Macrobond、宏利投資管理,截至2022年7月28日。

聯儲局著手縮表,但影響未明 

聯儲局在疫情危機嚴峻時大規模擴張其資產負債表,買入美國國庫債券和按揭抵押證券,藉此為金融體系注入流動資金。有關資產購買計劃延續至經濟復甦期間,於今年3月才結束。此後,聯儲局扭轉政策方向,目前正推行量化緊縮,縮減資產負債表規模,不會再投資於部份即將到期的證券。按照計劃,當局將逐漸加快縮表步伐,直至9月份每月縮減950億美元為止。

現時的挑戰在於,市場並未充分理解量化緊縮的影響,尤其是與加息和常規收緊政策的影響相比。聯儲局上一次(也是唯一一次)推行量化緊縮是在2017年至2019年間,當時正值股市加劇波動及孳息率走低。這情況為市場環境帶來顯著不明朗因素,我們需必考慮一些重要問題:在這種市場環境下推行量化緊縮,會否產生流動性問題?聯儲局是否有必要提前減慢加息步伐,以配合縮表政策?總括而言,聯儲局的政策前景充滿變數,投資者不應予以輕視。

 

下載全份文件

 

 

  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認