Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Manulife Financial Planning Manager

Greater China equities: A resilient way forward

31 December, 2020 

The Greater China equity market has finished the eventful 2020 on a high note on the back of steady economic activities and quick recovery from the pandemic-driven downturn seen in the first quarter. Kai Kong Chay, Senior Portfolio Manager, Greater China equities, believes that China continues to deliver differentiated growth, even after the pandemic, and opportunities can be found through careful, bottom-up stock selection, especially in the tech and consumption sectors.

As the world continues to grapple with the coronavirus pandemic, Greater China equities have emerged relatively unscathed, outperforming emerging, developed, and regional markets in 20201. In particular, Taiwan and China equities have gained 28% and 26% year-to-date respectively, while Hong Kong has posted double-digit returns. The better visibility of earnings growth and diversification benefits have attracted inflows both home and global investors driving all three market indices all-time highs2

Economic data also appears to support the performance of China equities. With effective measures to control the spread of the pandemic, China was the first major economy to recover, posting positive growth for the second and third quarters of 20203. Caixin’s manufacturing Purchasing Managers’ Index posted seventh straight month of expansion since May. Corporate earnings have also been healthy, with the latest third-quarter data showing most MSCI China constituents reporting better-than-expected or in-line numbers. Taiwan also recorded positive GDP growth for the third quarter, primarily on the back of robust demand for electronic exports4

A Biden administration – China’s pre-emptive response

Throughout 2020, US-China tensions lingered in the background. With a Biden administration, we believe that the relationship between the two countries could remain under pressure. As such, we will adopt a wait-and-see approach in order to assess how the situation develops. However, we believe that the impact on Chinese equities should be well-contained supported by an estimated earnings growth of 15–20% in 20215.

Furthermore, China has already mapped out a response with its 14th five-year plan (2021–2025). The emphasis is now on growth through a “dual circulation” strategy led by “internal circulation” – in other words, moving toward a self-sufficient economy supported by home-grown innovation and domestic consumption. “External circulation”, as a supplementary driver, should extract China’s growth potential via allowing the domestic and foreign markets to lift one another. 

When combined, these factors make it probable that China’s growth can continue to show a clear and positive differential compared to the rest of the world. The nature of the post-pandemic economy, although still fluid, is likely to amplify this gap.

Positioning for an increasingly self-sufficient China

With China having laid out a clear path toward an internally driven economy, opportunities are now arising in the technology and consumer sectors. On the technology front, more home-grown innovation in areas like biotech is anticipated. These efforts will likely be bolstered by additional fiscal and policy support, such as tax incentives and low-cost funding to boost local R&D and reduce reliance on imports. 

There are numerous opportunities along the tech supply chain, especially in areas that are crucial for fuelling the drive toward self-sufficiency. For instance, the upstream semiconductor equipment supply chain has a low level of localisation, which has spurred targeted and supportive policies. Electric vehicle (EV) development is another attractive theme, backed by both domestic demand and the local industry’s increasing presence in the global EV supply chain. A few domestic mid-end models tailored to Chinese consumers have been very well received, showcasing the capability of Chinese EV brands to adapt and cater for local needs and tastes. 

On the consumption front, there is still plenty of unmet demand for lifestyle-related services. Increasing e-commerce penetration is another catalyst that is seeing both product-category expansion and wider age-group adoption. Online fresh grocery is one of the examples where growth can continue to be fuelled by shifting from offline, product premiumisation and expansion to the elder generation.

In both areas, investors should remain focused on the long-term fundamentals and seek to benefit from secular themes, such as those stemming from consumption upgrades, innovation, and policy tailwinds. The opportunity set has also been expanded by the inclusion of mid-cap China A-Shares into the MSCI index. This move offers unique investment opportunities not available in the offshore universe, with a focus on under-researched ideas with stable growth outlooks. After all, we believe the global indices inclusion have raised the profile of China equities as a whole, arousing interests from global investors to tap into the structural growth opportunities in the onshore and offshore China equities space. 

Niche competitive advantages should benefit the Greater Bay Area

Within mainland China, the competitive advantages in the Greater Bay Area (GBA) – including ample policy support – can sustain strong and tangible long-term growth for the region, and reward investors by way of corporate earnings. The central government pledged to deepen economic integration by enhancing inter-cities infrastructure, talent mobility, logistic and investments within GBA. Furthermore, the push for smart-city implementation and management in the GBA, led by Shenzhen, shall create opportunities for infrastructure, education, healthcare, and more. The investment case for the GBA can continue to benefit from cross-provincial initiatives in wealth management, insurance, and property-connect programmes in the GBA region. Regional champions with their own growth dynamics will probably be best placed to exploit such opportunities. 

Stock market reforms in Hong Kong and Mainland presents more opportunities

In Hong Kong, we believe that capital-market liberalisation will continue to provide investment opportunities for investors and attract further capital inflows. Since the introduction of new listing regimes in 2018, we have already seen a growing number of pre-profit biotechnology companies listing on the market6, some of which are already industry leaders. The relaxation of the rules has also brought CRO (contract research organisations) and CDMO (contract development manufacture organisations) companies to the market, which has helped to fund their development. The investment choices could be further enriched by the secondary listings of Chinese American Depository Receipts (ADRs) and companies with weighted voting rights (WVR) structures. The expanding connectivity and investor base can also be witnessed by the recent announcement of Stock Connect Programs expansion to include biotech companies and Shanghai STAR board stocks. 

Taiwan equities – a key beneficiary of the tech race 

For the Taiwan market, COVID-19 does not appear to have impacted economic growth and corporate earnings in 2020. As we expect the US-China tech conflict to continue, with US policy focusing on the protection of intellectual property and high-end technology, Taiwan equities should remain the key beneficiary under this macro backdrop. This explains the market expectation of earnings per share to grow by 18% in 2021, from an already high base of 10% year-on-year growth in 20207

In 2021, we have a positive view toward the technology sector, especially semiconductors. Taiwan is well-positioned in the semiconductors industry, as it has the largest share of the global foundry market8. The localisation of the region’s technology supply chain, coupled with Chinese companies reducing their reliance on US suppliers, should benefit the semiconductor supply chain, foundry industry, and integrated-circuit-design companies in Taiwan. Meanwhile, the demand and development of high-speed transmission continues. We anticipate investment opportunities to emerge given a robust new-product cycle in the tech sector, with developments such as new-generation wireless transmission for high-quality video and livestreaming.

In a similar vein to China equities, EV is an investment theme that we consider when looking at Taiwan equities. There are numerous upstream players with interesting opportunities in the EV market, especially power-related components.

Conclusion – well-positioned in a digitalised and de-globalised world

Even before the pandemic, we saw a pullback in globalisation trends. This has only been accelerated by recent events, which have combined with existing geopolitical tensions to push companies in the direction of shorter and more regional supply chains.  The Greater China region is prepared for this shift. 

China’s differentiated growth expectations and capital market liberalisation initiatives are likely to attract more foreign capital to renminbi-denominated assets or high-growth and well-managed Chinese enterprises. We believe investors are becoming more confident about the growth trajectory of China’s economy. With uncertainty remaining elevated where search for sustainable growth may prevail, it is vital to identify stock drivers with a bottom-up approach that seeks to uncover long-term fundamentals supported by secular themes like consumption upgrades, innovation, and policy tailwinds. 

 

Download full PDF

  • Multi Assets: Building resilient portfolios through market cycles

    By focusing on macro themes and combining these with capital market asset-allocation views with a risk-management focus, we believe investors' interest can be well-served.

    Read more
  • Asian fixed income: Optimism amid new focus on sustainable investing

    Why we envisage that Asian fixed income can continue to perform on the back of a supportive global backdrop and continued policy support.

    Read more
  • Asia-Pacific REITs: Past, present, and future

    We explain why investors traditionally have chosen REITs, and outlines why it should be an attractive investment for next year and beyond.

    Read more
See all

 

 

1 Bloomberg: MSCI Zhong Hua Index posted a 21.38% gain, while MSCI Emerging Market Index was up 10.51%, MSCI World Index up 11.72%, MSCI Asia-Pacific ex Japan Index higher by 15.06%. Total returns in US dollars, as of 30 November 2020. Past performance is not indicative of future performance.

2 Bloomberg: MSCI Taiwan Index rose by 28.48%, MSCI China Index was higher by 26.18%, and MSCI Hong Kong Index was up by 12.18%. Total returns in US dollars, as of 30 November 2020. Past performance is not indicative of future performance.

3 Bloomberg, 7 December 2020. China economy grew 3.2% and 4.9% year-on-year in Q2 2020 and Q3 2020 respectively.

4 Bloomberg, 7 December 2020. Taiwan economy grew 3.92% year-on-year in Q3 2020, after shrinking 0.58% in Q2 2020.

5 Manulife Investment Management, December 2020.

6 On 30 April 2018, Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited added new listing rules, under Chapter 18A, to permit listings of biotech issuers that do not meet any of the Main Board financial eligibility tests. As of 30 September 2020, there is a cumulative of 40 biotech companies listed in Hong Kong under Chapter 18A.

7 Manulife Investment Management, December 2020.

8 Source: McKinsey, July 2019.

  • Multi Assets: Building resilient portfolios through market cycles

    By focusing on macro themes and combining these with capital market asset-allocation views with a risk-management focus, we believe investors' interest can be well-served.

    Read more
  • Asian fixed income: Optimism amid new focus on sustainable investing

    Why we envisage that Asian fixed income can continue to perform on the back of a supportive global backdrop and continued policy support.

    Read more
  • Asia-Pacific REITs: Past, present, and future

    We explain why investors traditionally have chosen REITs, and outlines why it should be an attractive investment for next year and beyond.

    Read more
See all
We welcome your feedback

We'd love to hear what you think of our new website. Please let us know your feedback in our 1 minute survey >>

View more
We welcome your feedback

We'd love to hear what you think of our new website. Please let us know your feedback in our 1 minute survey >>

View more
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

大中華股票:走進具韌力的增長路

 

31/12/2020 

大中華股市經歷了波動多變的2020年:首季受疫情大流行拖累而下挫,其後經濟活動回復穩定並迅速復甦,帶動市場在年底走高。大中華區股票部高級組合經理謝企剛相信,即使在後疫情時代,中國經濟增長將繼續優於環球市場,而投資者可透過審慎的「由下而上」選股策略發掘箇中投資機遇,尤其是科技和消費行業。 

隨著全球繼續致力應對新型冠狀病毒疫情,大中華股票相對未受太大影響,在2020年表現優於新興市場、已發展市場和亞洲區市場1。具體而言,台灣和內地股市年初至今分別累升28%和26%,香港股票亦錄得雙位數升幅。憑藉企業盈利增長前景漸趨明朗,加上具有分散投資效益,大中華股票吸引區內和環球投資者資金流入,推動三地市場指數創新高2。 

經濟數據看來亦為內地股市帶來支持。內地防控疫情的措施奏效,成為首個出現復甦的主要經濟體,2020年第二季和第三季均錄得正增長3。自今年5月以來,財新製造業採購經理指數連續七個月處於擴張水平。此外,企業盈利穩健,MSCI明晟中國指數的成份股當中,大部份最新公布的第三季業績均優於或符合預期。在電子產品出口需求強勁的主要推動下,台灣第三季本地生產總值錄得正增長4。 

拜登政府成立   中國未雨綢繆

中美關係在2020年持續緊張。隨著拜登政府即將成立,我們相信兩國緊張關係仍會維持。因此,我們將持觀望態度,以評估局勢發展。然而,我們認為在2021年企業盈利增長預測介乎15%至20%5的支持下,兩國關係對中國股票的影響應可妥善受控。

此外,中國亦已制定對策,公布「十四五」規劃(2021年至2025年)。目前,中國強調以「內循環」帶動「雙循環」戰略,從而刺激經濟增長。換句話說,是以自主創新和本土消費支持經濟走向自給自足。藉著國內與國際市場相輔相成,作為輔助動力的「外循環」將可促進內地發揮增長潛力。 

綜合而言,上述因素料可支持內地經濟增長繼續跑贏環球其他地區。儘管疫後經濟仍有變數,但很可能令增長差距擴大。

作好部署   迎接更趨自給自足的中國

隨著中國已就發展內部主導型經濟制定清晰的路線圖,科技和消費行業正將湧現投資機遇。科技業方面,預期生物科技等領域將加強自主創新。為推動有關發展,當局很可能加推財政措施和政策扶持,例如提供稅務優惠和低息融資,從而刺激本土研發,減少倚賴進口。 

市場出現不少與科技供應鏈相關的投資機遇,特別是對推動自給自足至關重要的領域。舉例說,現時上游半導體設備供應鏈的本土自給率偏低,觸發當局推出針對性及扶持政策。由於內需及本土產業於環球電動車供應鏈的參與漸增,電動車發展是另一項吸引的投資主題。個別為內地消費者度身訂造的本地中價車款相當受歡迎,反映內地電動車品牌具有能力應對及迎合本地的需求和品味。 

至於消費層面,與生活方式相關的服務需求缺口仍然顯著。電子商貿滲透率日益增加是另一催化劑,促進產品種類擴張和消費者年齡層擴闊。網上新鮮雜貨店是其中一個例子,其增長可持續受惠於服務從線下轉移至線上、產品高端化及在年長一代逐漸普及的趨勢。

對於上述兩大領域,投資者宜繼續專注於長期基本因素,致力從長期主題獲益,例如消費升級、創新和利好政策衍生的投資主題。隨著內地中型A股獲納入MSCI明晟指數,相關投資機遇亦得以增加。MSCI明晟指數擴容提供離岸市場欠缺的獨特投資機遇,而且擴容聚焦於市場研究不足,但增長前景穩定的投資概念。畢竟,我們相信環球指數擴容已令中國股票整體形象提高,增加環球投資者涉足在岸及離岸中國股票領域的意欲,以把握結構性增長投資機遇。  

獨特競爭優勢有利大灣區發展

環顧內地市場,大灣區在充份的政策支持下具備競爭優勢,料可延續其強勁及實質的長期增長,並透過反映在企業盈利的方式,為投資者帶來回報。中央政府承諾深化大灣區內經濟融合,加強城際基建、人才流動、物流和投資。此外,由深圳牽頭的大灣區智慧城市執行及管理計劃,將可為基建、教育和康健護理等行業創造機遇。跨省份的財富管理、保險和物業互通計劃亦將繼續利好大灣區的投資前景。擁有自身增長動力的區內龍頭公司具備最佳條件,可望把握上述發展帶來的機遇。 

中港股市改革帶來更多機遇

香港市場方面,我們相信開放資本市場將繼續為投資者提供投資機遇,並吸引更多資金流入。自2018年引入上市新規以來,尚未錄得盈利的生物科技公司來港上市的宗數持續上升6,當中部份屬於行業龍頭。放寬規定亦吸引合同研究組織(CRO)和合同開發及製造組織(CDMO)赴港上市,此舉有助公司進行研發融資。吸引以美國預託證券形式上市的中概股「回歸」作第二上市,及准許同股不同權的公司上市,亦可進一步豐富港股的投資選擇。此外,近期當局宣布擴大滬深港通計劃,涵蓋生物科技公司和上海證券交易所科創板成份股,反映兩地互聯互通和投資者基礎擴張。

台灣股票: 科技競賽的主要受惠者  

台灣市場方面,2019新型冠狀病毒看來並未對2020年經濟增長和企業盈利帶來影響。我們預期中美科技爭端將會持續,美國政策將聚焦於保護知識產權和高端科技,在這宏觀環境下,台灣股票預期繼續成為主要受惠者。因此,市場預期台灣股票每股盈利增長,由2020年已屬高基數的按年10%,進一步增至2021年的18%7。  

展望2021年,我們看好當地科技業,尤其是半導體業。台灣佔環球代工製造的最大市場份額 8,因此其半導體業坐擁充份優勢。隨著中國公司減少依賴美國供應商,區內科技供應鏈的本土化發展應利好台灣半導體供應鏈、代工製造產業及集成電路設計公司。與此同時,高速傳輸技術的需求和發展勢頭維持不變。鑑於科技業的新產品周期穩固,加上用於高畫質短片和即時串流的新一代無線傳輸技術等發展,我們預期投資機遇將隨之湧現。

與內地股票相似的是,電動車也是台灣股票的投資主題。當地電動車市場擁有不少值得注意的上游企業投資機遇,尤其是電池相關零部件的廠商。

總結:處有利位置   迎數碼化和去全球化趨勢  

即使在疫情爆發前,全球化趨勢已見倒退。近期事件令去全球化趨勢步伐有增無減,而且本已存在的地緣政治緊張關係,亦驅使企業趨向縮短並於區內部署供應鏈。大中華區已就上述轉變作好準備。 

內地經濟增長預期突出,加上推出措施促進資本市場開放,有望吸引更多外資流向人民幣計價資產,或具有良好管治的高增長中資企業。我們相信投資者對內地經濟增長趨勢的信心與日俱增。鑑於前景仍甚不明朗,而且投資者普遍尋找可持續增長,如要發掘股票增長引擎,採用「由下而上」的策略便更為重要──聚焦長期基本因素,尋找長期增長的投資主題,例如消費升級、創新和利好政策。  

 

下載全份文件

  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部

 

 

1 彭博資訊:MSCI明晟中華指數升21.38%,MSCI明晟新興市場指數升10.51%,MSCI明晟世界指數升11.72%,MSCI明晟亞太區(日本除外)指數升15.06%。總回報以美元計算,截至2020年11月30日。過往表現並非日後表現的指標。

2 彭博資訊:MSCI明晟台灣指數升28.48%、MSCI明晟中國指數升26.18%、MSCI明晟香港指數則錄得12.18%升幅。總回報以美元計算,截至2020年11月30日。過往表現並非日後表現的指標。

3 彭博資訊,2020年12月7日。內地2020年第二季和第三季經濟分別按年增長3.2%和4.9%。

4 彭博資訊,2020年12月7日。台灣經濟在2020年第二季收縮0.58%後,在第三季按年增長3.92%。

5 宏利投資管理,2020年12月。

6 於2018年4月30日,香港交易及結算所有限公司在上市規則第18A章加入新規例,准許不符合任何主板財務資格測試的生物科技公司發行人上市。截至2020年9月30日,累計有40家生物科技公司根據上市規則第18A章於香港上市。

7 宏利投資管理,2020年12月。

8資料來源:麥肯錫,2019年7月。

  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認